Converting from FWD to RWD HELP!

rere31

Converting from FWD to RWD HELP!

Postby rere31 » November 20th, 2012, 9:55 am

How much would it cost to convert a cs2 lancer form fwd to rwd? And is it safe?

Re: Converting from FWD to RWD HELP!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 20th, 2012, 1:37 pm

i lol"ed when i saw this ... not gonna lie

but the truth is .. it's not impossible .... just not practical

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 20th, 2012, 2:03 pm

why don't you buy the kit?
Jokes aside if you were AWD it could've been done , I won't say easier, but with less ulcers.
You're pertty much making a whole other car dude. Ball park say using EVO rear end and floor pan,
100k.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 20th, 2012, 2:45 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:why don't you buy the kit?
Jokes aside if you were AWD it could've been done , I won't say easier, but with less ulcers.
You're pertty much making a whole other car dude. Ball park say using EVO rear end and floor pan,
100k.

and thats more than the value of a cs lancer

also more than a s13

Postby cinco » November 20th, 2012, 4:17 pm

well if the cs has the floor pan with a drive shaft hump
some creative work will make it happen there was one selling here a while ago

nigie

Postby nigie » November 20th, 2012, 4:49 pm

100 thousand seems very steep 4 that conversion ???

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 20th, 2012, 8:05 pm

drivetrain for the transplant ?

rere31

Postby rere31 » November 20th, 2012, 10:56 pm

yea 100k does seem very steep, i'm thinking if to convert to rwd or leave it fwd and run a sr20 det fwd on it but i'm not too sure if there is any tip tranny that can handle about 350 hp or maybe more

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 21st, 2012, 9:00 am

of course it's steep, it's an abstract number to show how much you can spend doing this.

Op what are you really trying to accomplish. Don't take this the wrong way but it sounds like you don't know much about cars and should sit and talk with someone about the basic layouts or engines and power trains and what a conversion consists of.

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2012, 12:41 pm

rere31 wrote:yea 100k does seem very steep, i'm thinking if to convert to rwd or leave it fwd and run a sr20 det fwd on it but i'm not too sure if there is any tip tranny that can handle about 350 hp or maybe more
`

if yo can't even contemplate manual, stick with fwd.........least you get yourself killed

moti

Postby moti » November 21st, 2012, 1:50 pm

doooo ettt

post updates eh.

but really if you have extra cash to trow away; it will best to start with a 4wd lancer

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2012, 3:49 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:of course it's steep, it's an abstract number to show how much you can spend doing this.

Op what are you really trying to accomplish. Don't take this the wrong way but it sounds like you don't know much about cars and should sit and talk with someone about the basic layouts or engines and power trains and what a conversion consists of.

:( ....spoil sport....
aye that 100k estimate was obviously 2 numb u....agreed get some information ..hence knowledge...then do it :lol:

nigie

Postby nigie » November 21st, 2012, 3:50 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:of course it's steep, it's an abstract number to show how much you can spend doing this.

:( ....spoil sport....
aye that 100k estimate was obviously 2 numb u....agreed get some information ..hence knowledge...then do it :lol:

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 22nd, 2012, 10:30 am

you cyah do this ,yuh cyah do dat. trini thinking is like in the box ,nothing outside the box

plan what you want to do and then carry it out.

moti

Postby moti » November 22nd, 2012, 10:40 am

roadracer7 wrote:you cyah do this ,yuh cyah do dat. trini thinking is like in the box ,nothing outside the box

plan what you want to do and then carry it out.

no one is saying that it cant be done...

just that it will cost more than just buying a factory RWD car thats on the road already.

i remember a B13 was done like this already; barbados i think?

viewtopic.php?p=4352774

as i said, do it and post updates as you go along

rere31

Postby rere31 » November 23rd, 2012, 1:18 am

hmmm i'm still considering it, i wanted to make an evo cross breed powerd by nissan to eat up other evos like nothing, it's a great big investment and i cant sleep well at night till i get everything sorted out

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 23rd, 2012, 9:44 am

^^^^^lol...

nothing is impossible with the right resources and deep pockets

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 23rd, 2012, 11:52 am

if you want a properly done conversion, and have all your parts, have about 25K to do the conversion. You can use ANYTHING you want and NO its not hard, its just time consuming, expect a 4-6 months wait. If you have EVERYTHING, you will be a happy customer when its done. Its just to carry it Pt. Fortin.

My Cedia lancer was just FWD, i did the entire evo7 body conversion, and its full rwd. The engine is not mitsu either and its built to make 600+WHP, the turbo is capable of more but the engine is not gonna cross more than 600.

You can use ANY Rearend you want, any brakes you want, custom driveshaft etc. My mechanic made a hatchback civic 4wd with an s13 rearend. He has pics but has not sent me it yet.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 23rd, 2012, 12:59 pm

Remember the Monster Sunny that used to run in Wallerfield? That was rwd with a 13b if I eh mistakin.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 23rd, 2012, 1:05 pm

SUNNYB310GUY wrote:Remember the Monster Sunny that used to run in Wallerfield? That was rwd with a 13b if I eh mistakin.

doubt that counts...tube frame chassis business ent street legall

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 23rd, 2012, 2:45 pm

Anything can be done....and how you want it, street legal, full race, to be used on roads for weekends etc...

My project was built and reenforced for street daily use. But also a custom rollcage where half can be removed and the other half permanently on the car reasons for using it for daily and for racing. Also had layout of how to do the a/c system as well to be fully functional street car, no lesser features. Those plans scrapped however since my life turned around personally so im basically throwing away my project at 35K$....a loss of 50K or more if i really add up everything properly and detailed.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » November 23rd, 2012, 4:25 pm

rwd eg civic
img_0301dngf.jpg

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 23rd, 2012, 5:23 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
SUNNYB310GUY wrote:Remember the Monster Sunny that used to run in Wallerfield? That was rwd with a 13b if I eh mistakin.

doubt that counts...tube frame chassis business ent street legall

True but long before that this dude cant remember his name that had a FWD 626 converted RWD Rotary powered and drove to the track , oh and Panic had a RWD 120Y with a Sunny engine RWD the distributor was practically in the car used to adjust it through the firewall and Tardieu V8 man Bro had a Suzuki Jimny with a sunny engine again set up RWD on Draughts that was a regular on the street , but I aint say it was easy . I am sure more will come to me later .

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 23rd, 2012, 6:09 pm

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 26th, 2012, 7:09 pm

The RWD civic and subaru looks awesome. anything can be done once you have the right amount of funds

rere31

Postby rere31 » November 26th, 2012, 8:02 pm

Thinking now if i'm going to invest so much money into a cs2 i should just buy a more decent car and finish...this project was on my mind for sometime though..btw,

by next year august, anyone knows by how much a cs2 lancer would depreciate by? I would leave this for next year..

moti

Postby moti » November 27th, 2012, 8:55 am

subarus don't count either.
their engines comes in FR setup from factory.

a guy on my side has one (subaru) with a 13B in it.

Postby dougla_boy » December 4th, 2012, 10:43 am

moti wrote:a guy on my side has one (subaru) with a 13B in it.

why doesnt this sh!t make it to 2nr or something??? :shock: :shock: :shock: :faint: :faint: :faint:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 4th, 2012, 11:05 am

lol there are alot of cars that will be hidden. Like the rwd converted A33 with an rb26 deep down south. Only sell out with it is the brakes but u really dont see it much, the guy just did it bcuz he wanted it and he never races. Tried taking pics but there is attitude so did not bother.

moti

Postby moti » December 4th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Yup, don't really like to bother people with attitude for pictures of their car.

Never understood people who would have such behaviour in the first place.