T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 2:35 pm

Lot's of people don't know that most vehicles in America from the dealer that cost around that 15k bracket doesn't come with a lot of features that we get here in Trinidad. My sister brought an Elantra n Arizona recently, she paid around 26k and the advertised prices was around 16k. The 16k model came without airconditioning, without steering mounted controls, without fog lights, no sunroof, no bluetooth, no navigation, manual transmission etc. After she choose the fully loaded with all the features we get locally plus navigation, etc. the price jumped from 16k to 26k. Can you imagine they still sell cars without air conditioning in America :lol: :lol:

The last model of base model BT-50s didn't come with air-conditioning either, southern sales put them in when they touch down in Trinidad

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 23rd, 2012, 2:51 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I wouldn't look to the US market for pricing info though. Or at least if I had to compare models I would need to look at trim and engine etc. US philosophy is to have open market on fuels and no engine tax. So the initial vehicle price is cheaper but you end up spending a sheitload on fuel afterwards. Fuel is subsidized here and the mvt rises exponentially based on engine size so no surprise the Q7 with a large engine is taxed like that. It's a form of governance to *try* to not let the fuel subsidy go out of control.

I also think you should compare our cars to those in other RHD markets. Take the UK for example. A jetta there costs more than it does here. A jetta in the US costs substantially less on surface value. Why? They are different trims with the US version being a skimped down version. When you're checking price differences you may need to dig a bit deeper to see what exactly is being offered.

I dunno about roro though. That's used so I don't think you can be surprised the new vehicle costs more than the 4 to 5 year old one.

I take your point. Very valid.
However, now that subsidies are slowly being lifted... what's the justification?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 23rd, 2012, 3:06 pm

Bring on the hybrid with no tax and maybe even an incentive!
I will want one !

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 3:18 pm

Stephon. wrote:Lot's of people don't know that most vehicles in America from the dealer that cost around that 15k bracket doesn't come with a lot of features that we get here in Trinidad. My sister brought an Elantra n Arizona recently, she paid around 26k and the advertised prices was around 16k. The 16k model came without airconditioning, without steering mounted controls, without fog lights, no sunroof, no bluetooth, no navigation, manual transmission etc. After she choose the fully loaded with all the features we get locally plus navigation, etc. the price jumped from 16k to 26k. Can you imagine they still sell cars without air conditioning in America :lol: :lol:

The last model of base model BT-50s didn't come with air-conditioning either, southern sales put them in when they touch down in Trinidad

yeh but u fail to say
your sister could have more or less gotten that 26k elantra for 19k out the door with haggling we dont have that luxury here so your statement is invalid
oh and look
http://www.larrymillerhyundai.com/new/H ... 950fab.htm

and also
even in the states alot of "standard" features are AT PORT installed including sunroofs, leather interior, a/c, navigation

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 3:28 pm

WTF is haggling?

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 3:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:WTF is haggling?

yes that is all you got from my explanation? they should ban you from life yes

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 3:36 pm

Well I could respond to the bits that were in English, like the fact that you posted a link to an Elantra with, less features and customization to the one bought for 26k but alright then.

Ya tried and ya tried hard tho

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 3:40 pm

Stephon. wrote:Well I could respond to the bits that were in English, like the fact that you posted a link to an Elantra with a smaller engine, less features and customization to the one bought for 26k but alright then.

smaller engine?
your sister got the only elantra in the us with a different engine other than the ONLY 1.8 right right
https://www.hyundaiusa.com/vehicles/201 ... mance.aspx?

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 3:43 pm

btw good try on the edit but you failed

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 3:49 pm

I thought the one you linked was the 1.6 judging on the features that came with it, so I took that bit out. Explain the fact that the Elantra that you linked had a lot less features than the actual one she purchased tho, seeing that 1 - you know everything 2 - you're so affected by me and 3 - you obviously think the Elantras in Trinidad are overpriced lol

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 5:06 pm

Still waiting on an answer mr know it all try hard lol. Its so funny when people that aren't even in the business talk as if they know that the dealership gets vehicles for next to nothing and put a 200k mark up on them zzzzz your opinion is overplayed and boring as well as invalid please stop talking.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 23rd, 2012, 5:16 pm

speaking of waiting on an answer:
tourniquet wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the new bt50 have already won two awards in the design depertmant and was even called the most beautiful pick up in the world?
that's cool, would you mind sharing the links to those awards?

Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the price hike in the new bt50 happened all around the world and not just Trinidad, jumping from 30 grand to 50 grand in the us.
wow I didn't realize that :o I didn't even know they started selling the BT-50 in the US :|

Stephon. wrote: Do you know that the fully loaded bt50s come with a flare kit, better handling than any other pick up in the market (this is proven) and the best off roading capable pick up in the market even when compared to the new ranger???
again, could you share the links?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 23rd, 2012, 5:17 pm

DJ Q wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I wouldn't look to the US market for pricing info though. Or at least if I had to compare models I would need to look at trim and engine etc. US philosophy is to have open market on fuels and no engine tax. So the initial vehicle price is cheaper but you end up spending a sheitload on fuel afterwards. Fuel is subsidized here and the mvt rises exponentially based on engine size so no surprise the Q7 with a large engine is taxed like that. It's a form of governance to *try* to not let the fuel subsidy go out of control.

I also think you should compare our cars to those in other RHD markets. Take the UK for example. A jetta there costs more than it does here. A jetta in the US costs substantially less on surface value. Why? They are different trims with the US version being a skimped down version. When you're checking price differences you may need to dig a bit deeper to see what exactly is being offered.

I dunno about roro though. That's used so I don't think you can be surprised the new vehicle costs more than the 4 to 5 year old one.

However, now that subsidies are slowly being lifted... what's the justification?

The new drive for the future will be pushing the population to adopt cng as environmentally cleaner than gasoline and diesel. Removing the subsidy pushes masses towards cng which will be priced cheaper and possibly have other incentives to get a person to switch. They may likewise leave the MVT on gas and diesel vehicles to further push you to buy a cng vehicle by say not putting an MVT on it.

All of this will take time. Years because it takes time to adjust subsidies (political suicide) and year to put cng infrastructure in place but it is coming.

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 7:03 pm

tourniquet wrote:speaking of waiting on an answer:
tourniquet wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the new bt50 have already won two awards in the design depertmant and was even called the most beautiful pick up in the world?
that's cool, would you mind sharing the links to those awards?

Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the price hike in the new bt50 happened all around the world and not just Trinidad, jumping from 30 grand to 50 grand in the us.
wow I didn't realize that :o I didn't even know they started selling the BT-50 in the US :|

Stephon. wrote: Do you know that the fully loaded bt50s come with a flare kit, better handling than any other pick up in the market (this is proven) and the best off roading capable pick up in the market even when compared to the new ranger???
again, could you share the links?

http://news.drive.com.au/drive/car-of-t ... 1ns6z.html

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 23rd, 2012, 7:20 pm

stephon so you saying she paid 26k for an elantra from an arizona dealership? 10k more than the advertised price? lie.

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 8:04 pm

They do the same thing in Trinidad. They advertise a corolla for 170k and when you go to TTTL the one in the picture is actually 210 - 215k. Don't act like you don't know the sales strategies that goes on

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 23rd, 2012, 8:06 pm

while u guys argue over the price of a us elantra, which would u choose the veloster or i30?

allon4

Postby allon4 » October 23rd, 2012, 8:18 pm

I personally prefer the veloster

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 9:13 pm

The velesotor. It's one of the better looking vehicles on the road.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 23rd, 2012, 9:24 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:while u guys argue over the price of a us elantra, which would u choose the veloster or i30?

I30 because it slightly more practical

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 24th, 2012, 12:11 am

Depends on your use for the vehicle really.
Iz ah bachelor and would go for the veloster.. ESP if N&M bring the turbo model.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 24th, 2012, 12:49 am

Dunno why any1 would want to buy a car called Veloster with a pokey 1.6l engine....especially for the crazy price Massey asking for it

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2012, 6:34 am

Because its about the design, the design sells itself. I wouldn't buy a vel for the speed tbh, I'd buy it based on looks alone.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 24th, 2012, 7:45 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
DJ Q wrote:

The new drive for the future will be pushing the population to adopt cng as environmentally cleaner than gasoline and diesel. Removing the subsidy pushes masses towards cng which will be priced cheaper and possibly have other incentives to get a person to switch. They may likewise leave the MVT on gas and diesel vehicles to further push you to buy a cng vehicle by say not putting an MVT on it.

All of this will take time. Years because it takes time to adjust subsidies (political suicide) and year to put cng infrastructure in place but it is coming.

I take all of your points. They are all very valid and are all very good information.
Thanks for that.

However I have yet another question:
If we are heavily charged taxes to avoid abuse of the subsidy, and the subsidy is lifted... why are we still heavily charged for those same cars?
Why is the government encouraging us to move backwards to CNG? The move forward would be to hydrogen, electrically powered cars or even simple hybrids.

I'm not targeting anything at you personally, I just don't understand the thought process involved here.

But I must reiterate, you have very good info there.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2012, 9:01 am

DJ Q wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
DJ Q wrote:

I take all of your points. They are all very valid and are all very good information.
Thanks for that.

However I have yet another question:
If we are heavily charged taxes to avoid abuse of the subsidy, and the subsidy is lifted... why are we still heavily charged for those same cars?
Why is the government encouraging us to move backwards to CNG? The move forward would be to hydrogen, electrically powered cars or even simple hybrids.

I'm not targeting anything at you personally, I just don't understand the thought process involved here.

But I must reiterate, you have very good info there.

I'm still learning about the process myself but the idea behind CNG is that it is viewed as a step forward (I know I know :agrue: ) with respect to the environment when compared to gasoline and diesel just like how gasoline and diesel are viewed as environmentally cleaner than coal and fuel oil. CNG burns cleaner than gasoline and diesel.

Also don't view the move to CNG as the be all and end all. Switches to promote new technoligies take time and alot of planning needs to take place hence the long period to promote hybrids and electrics.

Food for thought: electrics need a fuel and in TnT it would be CNG anyway (via Powergen/T&TEC). It's just multiple ways of moving towards a common goal of CNG at the moment. Hybrids can be battery + gasoline/diesel or battery + CNG. They may very well promote hybrids that use CNG instead of those that use diesel/gasoline.

While the subsidy has been lifted on premium the rhetoric from the Government is that if you could afford a Premium gas burning vehicle you could afford to buy expensive vehicles anyway regardless of the taxes. I don't buy that rhetoric. The real agenda is that they want to promote CNG vehicles in future. Removing the taxes on premium gas vehicles doesn't promote CNG vehicles in any way. It would just send people back to their comfort zone i.e. buying more premium and increasing the size of the fuel subsidy.

It should be noted that hydrogen vehicles are even scarcer than CNG ones on the world market. Why? Less fueling stations and probably the tech isn't as fleshed out versus CNG. Hydrogen creation is also very energy intensive right now so you may end up putting more greenhouse gases or in the case of TnT you end up using more CNG anyway. Add in risk of explosions and you have a few things to deal with in an area where you have less experience technology wise. Simpler to just go CNG route.

To get post mildly on topic the only Velostar I would contemplate is a turbo charged one. Ok people say they would pay for style but why pay so much for style? It really costs Hyundai that much extra to re-sculpt an elantra?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 24th, 2012, 10:25 am

cinco wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Well I could respond to the bits that were in English, like the fact that you posted a link to an Elantra with a smaller engine, less features and customization to the one bought for 26k but alright then.

smaller engine?
your sister got the only elantra in the us with a different engine other than the ONLY 1.8 right right
https://www.hyundaiusa.com/vehicles/201 ... mance.aspx?

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2012, 10:45 am

Still waiting on a reply from him seeing that he was there with her when she signed the papers lol

Postby cinco » October 24th, 2012, 11:45 am

reply to what?
its easy to oversell a car to stupid ppl in the states i know ppl who paid in excess of 45k for camrys
btw i have nothing to prove to u
anyone who wants real facts about car sales in the US can contact me :lol:

Postby honda hoe » October 24th, 2012, 12:01 pm

cinco wrote:reply to what?
its easy to oversell a car to stupid ppl in the states i know ppl who paid in excess of 45k for camrys

IS CHUPID U SAY D MAN SISTER CHUPID DEY?

Postby Stephon. » October 24th, 2012, 12:12 pm

cinco wrote:reply to what?

Oh so you're admitting that you don't have an answer as to why the car you linked has less features than the one purchased, you're embarrassing.