T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 10:48 am

Like. Don't want to sound rude or anything but the opinions on the new bt50 are the dumbest I've read in a while and sometimes just repetitive to the point where its so predictable as to what a Trinidadian would say when they lay their eyes on a vehicle that isn't in the "ordinary"

Do you know that the new bt50 have already won two awards in the design depertmant and was even called the most beautiful pick up in the world? Do you know that the price hike in the new bt50 happened all around the world and not just Trinidad, jumping from 30 grand to 50 grand in the us. Do you know that the fully loaded bt50s come with a flare kit, better handling than any other pick up in the market (this is proven) and the best off roading capable pick up in the market even when compared to the new ranger???

But why I call you predectable is that it seems to always be a problem with new vehicles to you locals lol.

New elantra - ew the lights are too big and it looks like an alien

New Tucson - it looks like a rodent

New mazda 3 - the smiley face grill is ugly

New cx-5 - too expensive

New lancer - it looks like it tried too hard to look angry

New Subaru anything - too expensive

New Audi - its a euro so it won't last long

New Kia - omg its amazing (even tho it looks exactly like what we are accustomed seeing) not discreditig Kia at all but you catch my drift.

Just seems funny to me that people are saying that the elantra pulls off their look well but when it was the new kid on the block everyone was hating on the new look like they're doing now with the new bt50 and the justification is just so discreding.

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 10:57 am

Reminds me of when a guy came in the south southern sales branch and saw the new Mazda 3 and like a typical trini said "da real ugly, de corolla nicer" then a week later ended up making a down payment on one claiming its because his brother liked it. Okkkkkkkkkkkkk

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 22nd, 2012, 11:02 am

^If you dislike Trinidad and it's locals that much... you're on the wrong site, my friend :)

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 11:05 am

I don't dislike Trinidad locals but it's just so predictable that vehicles like Elantra, Mazda and Lancer have all won design awards around the world but the second they touchdown in Trinidad everyone fights the designs down as if their opinions are even valid at that point

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 22nd, 2012, 11:11 am

Fifty shades of grey
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.
That automatically means they're all great?

Shut up Stephon. Go back to school.

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 11:26 am

DJ Q wrote:Fifty shades of grey
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.

You're comparing a gay movie and two other movies that I have never head about to mechanical vehicles that we in Trinidad and Tobago drive on a daily basis, yeah you don't sound like a complete idiot right now that is grasping at straws.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 22nd, 2012, 11:53 am

DJ Q wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Renaldo25 wrote:is it cheaper to import your own or to go through a foreign used dealer?

If you have the capital upfront it is cheaper to do it yourself.

A dealer will always demand a profit.

One advantage a dealer gives is you not having to pay for the importation of the vehicle upfront and getting financing.

Buying a vehicle on your own means you have to pay the entire cost of the vehicle in the other country without financing from the bank in most cases.

Usually the dealer foots this bill upfront for you and you pay back the bank over a period.

Note that if you import a vehicle on your own you cannot sell the vehicle after for 3 years.

There are import agents that assist with the process.
Not as expensive as dealers, but they really help when it comes to financing.

You can also check a credit union about importing your own vehicle. They might be able to help.

Good to know. Never knew about import agents before. Always figured it was you or the dealer. Is it that with an import agent you still end up not being able to sell the car within 3 years of purchasing?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 22nd, 2012, 11:57 am

Stephon if is any consolation I like the new lancer and did not pay down on a hyundai anything after saying I don't like their designs. Also Subaru really are too expensive. You really think the new impreza is worth 60K more than your Mazda 3? It isn't.

jaceson

Postby jaceson » October 22nd, 2012, 12:37 pm

tiger balm wrote:
jaceson wrote:spoke to a rep from hyundia and they said the new i30 will be hitting our shores next month at a whopping 229k :shock:

imagine the tucson is less than 10k more...

Hopefully what happened when they first brought down the 2007 i30 will happen again. Hardly anybody brought it and they reduced the price.

The way you say it sounds funny but it's a tactic trinis need to take up. Voting with your wallet is more powerful than many realise. 229K for an i30 is garbage.

Now i was actually checking out this vehicle because the price currently is approx 160k. In my mind i was thinking this would be a 25k more for the new model.

this version comes with all the bells and whistles but i still don't see the value for that price.

I30 1.6 GLS Well equipped HATCHBACK
Seven airbags
17” Alloy wheels - 225/45/R17
E.C.M + Rear camera display
Full size alloy spare
Power windows, mirrors and locks
Bluetooth handsfree
Side repeater mirrors
Electric stability control
Radio & CD player, Auxiliary input
Personal IC card
Sunroof
Power seat & Lumbar support
Leather steering wheel & TGS
Electric Folding mirrors
Keyless Entry & Alarm
RR Arm rest
Luggage under box
Console mood lamp
Ash tray w/ illumination
Immobilizer
Auto light system
Electric parking brake
Cruise control
Metal Pedal
Rain sensor
Back warning system
Leather interior
Hood insulator
Mud Guard (FR & RR)
Full auto a/c

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 22nd, 2012, 12:55 pm

Stephon, first of all I find it hard to take an opinion seriously from someone who can't spell. No offense man.
Secondly, your opinions are just based on all the positive remarks and good ratings Mazda received and you're biased to Mazda as always but.. If u think about it, almost every well known vehicle would receive an award or two somewhere in the world.. So I don't really take those awards crap seriously at all. Even self.. Awards come down to the preference and opinion of the ppl providing them.
The Mazda bt50 is ugly as hell at first glance; however it may or may not grow on me.. We'll see.
And.. Amongst all the reviews I've read of it (4).. ALL said it was, in a nutshell, ugly ('a face only a mother could love' etc). However almost all said that DESPITE ITS LOOKS it would be foolish to dismiss it. So far all the comments made here on the bt50 where based on its looks and so far is consistent with other popular opinion worldwide. So dunno where u get this talk bout trini ppl doutish for saying the bt50 ugly :?
Whereas the pricing is concerned.. I just expected that it should be around the same as the ranger but haven't looked into it in depth compared with the rest of the world.

And seriously, you don't know what's fifty shades of grey? U doh know female friends? :lol:
But you know brokeback mountain.. Hmmm :?

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 1:13 pm

I always give other vehicles credit where it is due, I gave the Kia, the Audi and Isuzu vehicles credit all where it was due, where do you see me being biased?

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 1:25 pm

jaceson wrote:
tiger balm wrote:
jaceson wrote:spoke to a rep from hyundia and they said the new i30 will be hitting our shores next month at a whopping 229k :shock:

imagine the tucson is less than 10k more...

Hopefully what happened when they first brought down the 2007 i30 will happen again. Hardly anybody brought it and they reduced the price.

The way you say it sounds funny but it's a tactic trinis need to take up. Voting with your wallet is more powerful than many realise. 229K for an i30 is garbage.

Now i was actually checking out this vehicle because the price currently is approx 160k. In my mind i was thinking this would be a 25k more for the new model.

this version comes with all the bells and whistles but i still don't see the value for that price.

I30 1.6 GLS Well equipped HATCHBACK
Seven airbags
17” Alloy wheels - 225/45/R17
E.C.M + Rear camera display
Full size alloy spare
Power windows, mirrors and locks
Bluetooth handsfree
Side repeater mirrors
Electric stability control
Radio & CD player, Auxiliary input
Personal IC card
Sunroof
Power seat & Lumbar support
Leather steering wheel & TGS
Electric Folding mirrors
Keyless Entry & Alarm
RR Arm rest
Luggage under box
Console mood lamp
Ash tray w/ illumination
Immobilizer
Auto light system
Electric parking brake
Cruise control
Metal Pedal
Rain sensor
Back warning system
Leather interior
Hood insulator
Mud Guard (FR & RR)
Full auto a/c

Sounds like the stole a lot of features from the Cx-5 and the Mazda 3 and put it into one vehicle, I think the price is high especially for a Hyundai which is supposed to be a Korean brand so their price isn't really justified seeing that Korean was always the go to people for a vehicle for a price a bit cheaper than Jap.

I guess I was proven wrong for the first time in this thread..

scotty_buttons wrote:Again and again I'll say it. They will continue to get customers; mainly the ones who doh know better; until people take a friggin stand n dont buy them, it'll just get worse and other dealerships would follow suit. Just now Hyundai wouldnt be the affordable alternative.

Stephon. wrote:Scotty that is not true wrt Hyundai vehicles. Hyundai and Kia are both Korean brands and their vehicles will always be a bit less than their jap cousins.

scotty_buttons wrote:well, this is Trinidad. We'll see what happens..not saying it will but I definitely wont be surprised if it does.

OOP!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 22nd, 2012, 3:39 pm

Stephon. wrote:I always give other vehicles credit where it is due, I gave the Kia, the Audi and Isuzu vehicles credit all where it was due, where do you see me being biased?

Hmmm.. Southern sales, Mazda. Same thing. :lol;
But never really saw your opinion on Kia or isuzu or Audi before though. Maybe missed it somewhere. My bad

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 22nd, 2012, 3:53 pm

But personally I like the Mazda 3 and 6 and are decently priced especially the present 6. So I ain't anti Mazda either

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 22nd, 2012, 6:51 pm

thanks again great info guys

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » October 22nd, 2012, 6:54 pm

since we biggin up mazda the 2013 3 and 6 look suhweet hope they dont overprice it because of the looks as some are wont to do....but i have a question...since the veloster and the i30 are potentially the same price which would u buy? both hatches both well equipped and both hyundai lol...

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 22nd, 2012, 7:55 pm

Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the new bt50 have already won two awards in the design depertmant and was even called the most beautiful pick up in the world?
that's cool, would you mind sharing the links to those awards?

Stephon. wrote:Do you know that the price hike in the new bt50 happened all around the world and not just Trinidad, jumping from 30 grand to 50 grand in the us.
wow I didn't realize that :o I didn't even know they started selling the BT-50 in the US :|

Stephon. wrote: Do you know that the fully loaded bt50s come with a flare kit, better handling than any other pick up in the market (this is proven) and the best off roading capable pick up in the market even when compared to the new ranger???
again, could you share the links?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 22nd, 2012, 11:58 pm

Even the mazda rep i spoke to admitted that the cx-5 is overpriced and was willing to give a huge chunk off, as it is NOT selling well and SSL is aware that they need to lower drastically. It simply isnt worth the price...not like there's much value for money out there right now anyway.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 23rd, 2012, 7:58 am

worksux why are you surprised? Take for example the Tribute, CX7 and CX9 and now the CX5. What do they all have in common locally? Market failure! The Mazda 3 not even selling 1/4 of what it used to be and the Mazda 6 is now officially a govt fleet sales car. With the advent of the new BT-50 and price increase, what was once the commercial pickup of choice would soon be surpassed by Frontier and D-Max sales. Mazda is a good brand (remember a few yrs back before Stephon was born, I mean joined the board, I was labelled a fanboy) but SS like they want to give up the brand. Let's hope LSM, NM or ANSA take the franchise.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 23rd, 2012, 8:07 am

I'm not surprised, but i'm sure others would be

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 8:56 am

i ahve been seriously contemplating writing a letter to mazda and kia global about SS terrible service, over pricing and lack of part stock.
when i get around to it i will let you all know im so tired of their shite its not even funny
"yeh bhai dah comin in ah container dey we eh open it yet it supposed to have"
3 months later same story

Postby noshownogo » October 23rd, 2012, 8:58 am

It is very true that the current Mazda3 has failed miserably compared to the outgoing in terms of sales numbers, proof is on the roads.

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 9:46 am

Mazda is doing great but I would say that when put up against the cerato and even the a4 in 2012, it actually brought in the least amount of money for southern sales (fact) got the numbers a couple weeks ago which is crazy to me because the 3 is better than both vehicles.

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 9:57 am

And just an fyi so we are all on the same page. The mazda 3 is above 200 grand and only comes in one trim. The elantra comes in 500 trims and it has a starting price at 160 - 170, cheaper than a fully loaded cerato which is at 181. I mean, I won't say that mazda is failing. I'd simply say that the only people that are buying it are the ones that can really afford it. The last Mazda 3 was 170 - 190 hece why there are more Mazda 3s from that year on the road.

Evidently when something is more expensive the demand would decrease (you learn this in the 8th grade) so the mazda hate and justification isn't really valid. Do you think if the mazda 3 was under priced at 175000 today you would still see few of them on the road?

Postby noshownogo » October 23rd, 2012, 1:23 pm

Called it at the beginning of the year for the 2012 Honda Civic and warned people about purchasing them, a refresh is coming already. Dealers around the world are being told to move old stock now.

http://www.autoblog.com/2012/10/23/hond ... -emergenc/

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 23rd, 2012, 1:35 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.

You're comparing a gay movie and two other movies that I have never head about to mechanical vehicles that we in Trinidad and Tobago drive on a daily basis, yeah you don't sound like a complete idiot right now that is grasping at straws.

[/conversation]

If they could only reduce the tax on vehicles... life would be so much nicer...
I mean really... how does it equate that a car should come out to 4x the purchase price to put it on the road before insurance?!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 23rd, 2012, 2:05 pm

DJ Q wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.

[/conversation]

I mean really... how does it equate that a car should come out to 4x the purchase price to put it on the road before insurance?!

That engine tax is to help prevent abuse of the gas subsidy basically. Also where do you get that 4x figure from?

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 2:13 pm

noshownogo wrote:Called it at the beginning of the year for the 2012 Honda Civic and warned people about purchasing them, a refresh is coming already. Dealers around the world are being told to move old stock now.

http://www.autoblog.com/2012/10/23/hond ... -emergenc/

I feel bad for people with the new Honda Civics.

In other news, The new D-MAX would be in showrooms in a month and a half and it is a really nice looking vehicle, in my opinion and it doesn't look that much different from the last model so it would be received nicely by the general public here. It's not as adorable as the BT-50 but it definitely is up there as far as designs. I'd say Isuzu, Mazda and Kia have been really lucky recently with the new designs with the vehicles because they're all at the top of their game right now...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 23rd, 2012, 2:14 pm

DJ Q wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.

[/conversation]

That engine tax is to help prevent abuse of the gas subsidy basically. Also where do you get that 4x figure from?

The average roro vehicle works out to be 4x the purchase price to have it on the road
Also here's an example of the first car that came to mind:

Audi Q7 [Basic] - US$40,000
However here - TT$850,000

Mazda 3 [Basic] - US$15,000
However Here - >TT$220,000 [more than double]

Hilux - US$26,000
Here - >TT$300,000

*if these new car figures wrong feel free to correct. I used google.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 23rd, 2012, 2:24 pm

DJ Q wrote:
DJ Q wrote:
Stephon. wrote:
Two Broke Girls
Brokeback Mountain

Those all won awards.

[/conversation]

The average roro vehicle works out to be 4x the purchase price to have it on the road
Also here's an example of the first car that came to mind:

Audi Q7 [Basic] - US$40,000
However here - TT$850,000

Mazda 3 [Basic] - US$15,000
However Here - >TT$220,000 [more than double]

Hilux - US$26,000
Here - >TT$300,000

*if these new car figures wrong feel free to correct. I used google.

I wouldn't look to the US market for pricing info though. Or at least if I had to compare models I would need to look at trim and engine etc. US philosophy is to have open market on fuels and no engine tax. So the initial vehicle price is cheaper but you end up spending a sheitload on fuel afterwards. Fuel is subsidized here and the mvt rises exponentially based on engine size so no surprise the Q7 with a large engine is taxed like that. It's a form of governance to *try* to not let the fuel subsidy go out of control.

I also think you should compare our cars to those in other RHD markets. Take the UK for example. A jetta there costs more than it does here. A jetta in the US costs substantially less on surface value. Why? They are different trims with the US version being a skimped down version. When you're checking price differences you may need to dig a bit deeper to see what exactly is being offered.

I dunno about roro though. That's used so I don't think you can be surprised the new vehicle costs more than the 4 to 5 year old one.