The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 3:36 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^^Fantastic shots there bub - ride looks clean with nice reflections. Bet you'll like AG and other brands even more.

Thanks dude, when/if I get it I will use it and put up some comparison pics

trvs

Postby trvs » September 7th, 2012, 6:26 pm

Very nice pics DVSTT

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 6:48 pm

trvs wrote:Very nice pics DVSTT

Thanks dude! Nice amp!

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Where can I get paper car mats???

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 7th, 2012, 7:58 pm

^^If you're concerned about preserving your OEM floormats, why not do what I do - get a set of "cheaper" mats (which match your interior of course), and place them over the existing mats if possible.

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 8:03 pm

DSM_05 wrote:^^If you're concerned about preserving your OEM floormats, why not do what I do - get a set of "cheaper" mats (which match your interior of course), and place them over the existing mats if possible.

Bel- Air had some large and thick rubber mats on sale a while ago (the one for the back floor was one long one so it covered everything) , you could check them, think they still have.

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Thanks for the info.

Postby DVSTT » September 7th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:Thanks for the info.

No prob dude!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 7th, 2012, 11:22 pm

DSM-05 based on your statements i think you do more detailing behind the computer rather than working on actual paint.

My statements are based on facts and regular discussions with the technical representatives of the respective companies mainly Farecla, Meguiar’s, AutoGlym and the International Detailing Association.

1.My question to you - if you disagree with the fact that “All compounds, polishes, glazes and waxes do have fillers in them. How much fillers it depends. “Why are you wiping down the vehicle with ps21s? The reason why professional detailers wipe down after is to remove all fillers (polishing oils) that the product left behind. Any internet detailer will tell you that.

Furthermore if you are recommending that you use like products with like products why in your last post you recommend the tuner to use Autoglym with other brands?? You need to be consistent to what you are suggesting.

You are confusing the readership.

2. I would be glad if everyone is well educated about what is detailing and how they should detail a vehicle . The reason for this is that people don’t know what detailing entails and they don’t want to pay going rate. A well educated customer is very good for business as they know what the job entails while an uneducated customer is bad for business and we spend more time educating them about detailing.

DSM_05 Based on your above statement and others prior to this post I don’t think you have the proper knowledge about detailing. This is not only my personal view but the view of others.

3. At the professional level detailing is more of a science, an art, a process. It’s more than going to the shop and buying a bottle of product and following the instructions. According to Renny Doyle owing a polisher does not make you a professional, its learning how to use it.
At my level, detailing more than rocket science It’s about understanding how the products work. This is why at every detailers training course I attend they always do the theoretical component before you do the practical.

DSM_05 the reason why i am writing this is to make you aware that some of the things you post here concerns me as a professional detailer as it may not be correct and it can lead the uninformed astray. So please if you need any advice please feel free to give me call as i am willing to assist you or anyone who have questions about detailing.
Last edited by Karim Khan on September 8th, 2012, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 11:37 pm

Dragged!

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 8th, 2012, 8:46 am

Karim I have always complimented you and your work, and have recommended you wholeheartedly to 'tuners who have themselves become your loyal customers. I was even eager to meet you at Lubetech (IIRC, I was told by Aaron you frequent there/work there after you left NP)....often passing in quite a few times to have the chance to meet you in person.

In short, I'm a fan of your work.

It's frankly disheartening, and saddening, to see the stance you've taken against my posts, with you even going as far as calling me an internet detailer. To me, that's really a low blow, and that type of derogatory comment is uncalled for.

Why?

Well that means that by calling my an "interent detailer" (and I am/was a potential customer of yours), you've in effect branded all of the other persons in this thread "internet detailers" as well.

That, to me, does not hark to good customer service or treatment.

I expected more support and a kinder approach from you, even if I was wrong in what I posted.

Someone who's truly passionate about detailing wants to help others without bashing or derogatory comments...and doesn't seek to belittle others as you have. A simple PM would have sufficed.

1.My question to you - if you disagree with the fact that “All compounds, polishes, glazes and waxes do have fillers in them. How much fillers it depends. “Why are you wiping down the vehicle with ps21s? The reason why professional detailers wipe down after is to remove all fillers (polishing oils) that the product left behind. Any internet detailer will tell you that.

I did that to prove to myself that no fillers really existed.

I would have thought that this would have been obvious.

Before and after the P21S, the panel looked the same to my eyes. Hence, not much fillers existed with either of those polishes IMHO. I was interested in seeing the "true" condition of the finish, and that's what I got with Ult Compound. ANd since, there was no change with the P21S (or Griots Pre-Wax CLeanser), the polishes I used most likely had near zero fillers.

If I'm wrong in my deduction, please highlight my error.

DSM_05 the reason why i am writing this is to make you aware that some of the things you post here concerns me as a professional detailer as it may not be correct and it can lead the uninformed astray. So please if you need any advice please feel free to give me call as i am willing to assist you or anyone who have questions about detailing.

Honestly, after this, I'm highly hesitant to contact you regarding questions, because I don't know what hostility I'll be met with, nor what type of individual I"ll be dealing with.
If you have to resort to bashing me on a public forum, I shudder to think how I"ll be treated in person.

I've said time and again, that I'm no detailer, I'm NO professional, nor do I want to be. I advise based on what little experience I have. I have never compared myself to you, or even suggested such.

There's a way to correct someone, and there's also respect of someone else's opinions.

I'm a believer in different approaches to the same goal. Not because your stance doesn't match what others say, means that you're wrong, Karim. I've used what I think works, and what as advised to me by your very own Meguiars peeps and people like Mark @ AG.

Again, I'm truly sorry that this thread had to go down this way, but I know when I'm not welcome.

I'm not here to fight, so I'm out - and as Mike Phillips always says, "Keep on Shining!".
Last edited by DSM_05 on September 8th, 2012, 9:27 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby Stephon. » September 8th, 2012, 9:05 am

Rip

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 8th, 2012, 9:14 am

Almost forgot: managed to secure this pictures last night. These are from one of my few attempts at someone's car oterh than my own.

Items used:

Pinnacle Wash Mitt
Mothers Cal Gold Car Wash
P21S TAW (used as a stripping agent)
Mothers Clay kit
Megs Ultimate Compound
M205 (will explain later)
PC7424XP w/ LC white and green pads
P21S TAW (used as a stripping agent)
MOthers Pure Carnauba Wax

I worked on this car at the owner's garage (had to trek all the way to south :lol: ) and used what lighting I could get + my brinkmann. Car didn't seem to be in too bad shape, apparently someone had tried to detail it before. After claying and stripping (not in that order), I found that some panels seemed to have more swirling than others. The bonnet had lots of fine scratches, almost like if soeone washed with rocks or steel wool :lol:

My approach was to find the "system" that worked. So I tried two different test spots on two different areas- one small area using Megs Ultimate Compound (4 passes), and another with M205 (4 passes). I found that on the bonnet, the M205 did little, but the Megs was amazing. ON the doors and trunk, M205 seemed to give decent results after 4 + 4 passes. Both were used with the white LC pad as a trial.

Here are the results - all pics taken in direct sunlight:

Close up of the paint - tried my best to show that no swirls existed after the detail.

Anyway, that's it for me folks. Cheers!

Postby Rainman » September 8th, 2012, 10:05 am

DSM_05 wrote:Well that means that by calling my an "interent detailer" (and I am/was a potential customer of yours), you've in effect branded all of the other persons in this thread "internet detailers" as well.[/i]

I won't go so far as to say that I am a fan of Karim's work, but I am impressed with his level of expertise. However, I do agree with your statement above. I may not be a commercial detailer nor have I the training, but I do maintain 4 vehicles and I do take pride in my work. Most of the things I learned came from the Internet and the main caveat Of getting your advice on the Internet is that you do so at your own risk. A person will post their experience in working with a specific product, there is no guarantee that another person using the same product will yield the same results.

I Am bewildered at the fact that Karim would refer to someone as an Internet detailer when in fact he is offering advice on the Internet. Is his advice superior to all other sources? I doubt it. I think the low point of the thread for me was the commercialization, the ole talk forum generates s lot of traffic and this thread is now being used to sell services such as "I can send you a quote to remove sticky tape residue" it's far from a car care thread.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 8th, 2012, 11:47 am

Well Whey. Plenty ting happen in a few days of not checking. Ok. From the top.

1. I agree that all products do have some measure of filling, but some so low that it doesn’t do too much. And keep in mind that the more you correct a problem, the less there is to fill also. Of course a product with even very low fillers won’t do anything if there’s nothing to fill. Saw this clearly even up to yesterday using Menzerna SF4500.
2. I disagree somewhat with both DSM and Karim on the wording of if products of the same brand should be used together. I think it’s safer to say that all products that leave something on the paint should be of the same line. For polishing with an IPA wipedown after, it won’t matter if the polish and wax are the same brand I believe. It only really matters for AIO’s/glazes/wax/sealants. Correct me if you think otherwise here. Personally I’ve used and seen SRP used as a base for many different products. It’s just great all around, but the general rule is expect your top coat to lose longevity and in bad cases become uneven or not shine quite as intended.
3. DSM, I don’t think anyone’s comments here are based solely on where they work or what they sell. Of course having a business in the field and using a certain line may sometimes skew an opinion if it comes down to little or no difference between two products to do the same thing. But I myself have spoken to Karim when I’ve had some issues and he is quite helpful and does even recommend things outside of any of the brands he uses here. I think that sometimes for the same issue he’ll just recommend an easier OTC application first here out of what he knows of those currently available products. The same goes for you; we’ve also discussed many a time detailing aspects and have had varying opinions, sometimes came to the same conclusion, but at the end of the day I think this thread should be all about learning. If someone asks what product to use for something, people normally recommend what they’ve used, OR from a line of products they have faith in. You know very well that I favor a few brands of products. Even some that you hate. I don't sell any currently, but it's just personal preference. Sometimes however, a preference can be wrong, and there's no harm in pointing it out. Just how it is. If someone is selling their services also and it’s their way of life and they’re good at it that really shouldn’t be too much of an issue for everyone. If it is for someone they could simply ignore and look for general consensus. Actually I believe in this thread we should all look for both the professional opinions and the amateur. One of the main reasons being that what a professional might find easy to use might seriously upset the average user at times. The main reason we don’t get that very well is because we have relatively low activity on this thread and very few have tested a wide variety of products. Or at least few post a wide variety even if they’ve used it. In other words, we should all find what works for us and not just stick to one product because of branding or because a specific person uses it.
4. Karim, I also have great respect for your work and have many a time had discussions with you about products and detailing process. I do think however that you should have probably posted what you thought was wrong with DSM’s posts and just left it at that this time. I think DSM knows he isn’t a professional, as do I, and many others here. But the internet is still great for knowledge, and with a lot of practice and training can produce some people who do great work I believe. I’m sure even here on just one thread a lot of people have learnt different ways to do things and yes, also been advised on what products to use. In all honesty I don’t see any issues with you advertising your services here, it’s your job and the end results people are always pleased with, so the more people know, the better.

I’d say things got a little out of hand, but keep in mind guys that everyone here is reading to learn and show their work when they’re proud. No harm in that. Don’t believe there should be any attacks on people though. If you don’t like what someone wrote, write your opinion and say why the other was wrong. When something is right people always figure it out. And in that event the original poster would be learning also.
Last edited by nemesis on September 8th, 2012, 11:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 8th, 2012, 11:51 am

Also, how you find that M205 is on cut? (If you still here)
The Menz 4500 much lower.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » September 9th, 2012, 8:30 am

Karim Khan wrote:DSM-05 based on your statements i think you do more detailing behind the computer rather than working on actual paint.

My statements are based on facts and regular discussions with the technical representatives of the respective companies mainly Farecla, Meguiar’s, AutoGlym and the International Detailing Association.

You are confusing the readership.

DSM_05 Based on your above statement and others prior to this post I don’t think you have the proper knowledge about detailing. This is not only my personal view but the view of others.

An you hit Alpha_2nr (DSM_05) for 6!

He only repeat straight off the net no set of pics like what u do.

Postby r3iXmann » September 9th, 2012, 8:58 am

this thread will be cleaned up soon

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 10th, 2012, 12:08 am

Before you clean up this thread, I would like to publically apologise to DSM_05 and other tuners for making the statement “Internet Detailer” my tone and choice of words was probably too strong and I apologise for this.

To the readership, I do not distribute or work for any company that sells any detailing products nor do they give me any incentive(s) to promote any brand. I recommend products based on my 14 years of experience, knowing what will work for the enthusiast detailer and what is easily available in Trinidad and Tobago.

Some detailing issues will arise on this thread and will be more than what an enthusiast detailer can handle in terms of not having the correct equipment or not having the skill set to treat with the issue. When this happen I will offer my services. Sometimes it’s better to have someone do the job for you than you do it yourself. Trust me i know (one time i tired to play bess mechanic and mess up lol ended up paying more in the long run). With respect to the sticky tape issue on the dashboard you need to use a heat gun to help remove it. If you don’t know what you are doing you can cause more damage than good.

TO DSM_5, lets be big men and put the pass behind us and move forward. I know we both probably went overboard a bit, but sometimes we all have our bad days. In light of this I am willing to either delete or edit my previous post if you are also so willing. Lets refocus on the purpose of this thread by using our pass experiences to assist others become better detailers and be more humble and open when it comes to learning. :mrgreen:

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » September 10th, 2012, 7:33 am

Done using DA Buffer, Meguiars ultimate compound & Auto Glym SRP. Wax still to be applied.

trvs

Postby trvs » September 10th, 2012, 9:17 am

^ shiny :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2012, 10:52 am

Guys, can someone recommend me a glass cleaner or compound to remove water stains etc?

I wastoldto uses clay bar and clean the glass? Is that recommended?

Postby Rainman » September 10th, 2012, 2:33 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Guys, can someone recommend me a glass cleaner or compound to remove water stains etc?

I wastoldto uses clay bar and clean the glass? Is that recommended?

My method was a bit unconventional but it worked, I used a clay bar and then polished with Klasse AIO, it wont remove scratches or anything though; for that you will need a dedicated glass polishing product like the diamondite line. Can't guarantee that your experience will be similar to mine

Postby tr1ad » September 10th, 2012, 2:43 pm

where can i get a clay bar? the van have a lot of water stains on the front windscreen

Postby Rainman » September 10th, 2012, 2:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:where can i get a clay bar? the van have a lot of water stains on the front windscreen

yuh eh need to buy a whole bar, just find somebody to break you off a lil' summin summin :|

Stop off next time yuh passing thru.

Postby tr1ad » September 10th, 2012, 3:06 pm

what about the option for a sideline job?

Postby Rainman » September 10th, 2012, 8:22 pm

tr1ad wrote:what about the option for a sideline job?

dat eh no scene, lil busy this week. But weekend yuh cud vibes meh.

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2012, 6:43 am

ζђίΰД™ wrote:Done using DA Buffer, Meguiars ultimate compound & Auto Glym SRP. Wax still to be applied.

Car looks gud dude!

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2012, 6:38 pm

Wonder if this would work with the ICE and Meguir's car shampoos?

Postby DVSTT » September 15th, 2012, 7:43 pm

Bought new Ice shampoo to try, smells different to the old one. Will see how well it works compared to the old one tomorrow.