T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

allon4

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby allon4 » July 20th, 2012, 8:15 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:^^ so the main reason a sane person would buy a q3 over a q5 would be..?
They're almost the same price no? unless the q5 raised..

I didn't price the q5 as I just assumed it would cost a bit more, but seeing as they seem to have the same 2l engine I'm guessing the q5 is just slightly bigger so would cost a little bit more. I personally would choose the q3 over the q5 although I found the q3 was small.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 20th, 2012, 9:03 pm

well if it's comparable in size to rav4/crv etc.. and wrt cargo space and interior room then i'd go with the q3 as well. if it's smaller than the japanese competitors then no way.

still a remarkable vehicle if it's anything like the q5 especially the interior quality, performance and handling; didnt know a SUV can handle so na :lol:

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 20th, 2012, 9:59 pm

q3 vs q5 reviews, gives u an idea for size
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_DWfMyD98I[/youtube]

vs

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJJbVS0SbYM[/youtube]

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 21st, 2012, 3:17 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:^^ so the main reason a sane person would buy a q3 over a q5 would be..?
They're almost the same price no? unless the q5 raised..

I believe the A3/4/5 and Q5 went up recently. So the Q3/5 are in different price brackets now.
Only the larger vehicles held the same price in the past year.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 21st, 2012, 7:08 pm

last price for the q5 (about 2 weeks ago) was $465k

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 22nd, 2012, 11:17 am

GTi Guy wrote:last price for the q5 (about 2 weeks ago) was $465k

Not bad considering the prices of a filly loaded 2.4 rav4 is well above 400 and CRV is around that same price if I'm not mistaken. Never really drove d new model CRV or model before so can't really compare. But the q5 is definitely nicer than a rav4. Then again the rav4 isn't anywhere close to the same price bracket to a q5 in any other country: 2012 2.0T q5 starts around US 35k and the 3.5 V6 rav4 starts around US 26k.. So... :?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 22nd, 2012, 5:48 pm

actually the fully loaded top of the line rav was 365, checked those out too, i was disappointed with the model options tho particularly with the 4x4 ones its either you take everything leather and all for 365 or take base model with no roof rails dual zone ac, etc for around 295, there isnt any mid spec models on offer, its very all or nothing (unless special order i guess).. crv is 410, but imo very 'not pleasing to look at'

q5 seems well priced given the market (compared to x3 and what ever else that in the stoosh bracket)

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » July 22nd, 2012, 6:03 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
GTi Guy wrote:last price for the q5 (about 2 weeks ago) was $465k

Not bad considering the prices of a filly loaded 2.4 rav4 is well above 400 and CRV is around that same price if I'm not mistaken. Never really drove d new model CRV or model before so can't really compare. But the q5 is definitely nicer than a rav4. Then again the rav4 isn't anywhere close to the same price bracket to a q5 in any other country: 2012 2.0T q5 starts around US 35k and the 3.5 V6 rav4 starts around US 26k.. So... :?

Not sure if true, but have it from a reliable resource they are investigating some issues with Q5 transmission; same issues that plagued the A4. Few disgruntled customers.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 22nd, 2012, 6:08 pm

Ohh hmm well rav4 seems more feasibe now. Kinda strange about midspec missing thing; we got our 2006 model in November 06 and its midspec as well. 4x4, Roof rails, 17inch alloy rims, dual a/c, fogs, etc.. The only thing missing from the fully loaded was the leather seats, smart key entry (with push to start) and well steering wheel controls and USB playback which are pretty much standard on all models now I think. Wasn't available back then (PCB series). And that costed 290 something almost 6yrs ago.
But those kinda options now rel disappointing for real.

I think I'm the only person who likes the new CRV design though :lol:

Anybody know if Honda would ever bring the ridgeline to compete with hilux, navara, ranger, etc?

And what is required to start a dealership? Generally speaking :lol:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 23rd, 2012, 12:20 pm

^^any major problems with the RAV4 since ownership?? I dont mean regular oil and flter changes or tire changes...like tranny problems, overheating, sensors going etc etc...

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 23rd, 2012, 1:17 pm

trini mk5 wrote:^^any major problems with the RAV4 since ownership?? I dont mean regular oil and flter changes or tire changes...like tranny problems, overheating, sensors going etc etc...

Major problems were:

1) Steering rack changed in 2010; read that it's a common problem for the 2006-2008 models and basically it's a design flaw. And currently getting back a similar steering problem again. (knocking and vibrating on steering wheel). Toyota said it's unlikely to be the steering rack since it was changed less than 2yrs ago; Have an appointment Thursday to have em check it out and fix. ($6100 + VAT for a new steering rack, that's without labour costs) but they think its another problem other than the steering rack; will let u know after Thursday if u like.

2) Alternator just stopped working, jus so last yr :? Toyota charging $10,000 for a brand new one. Luckily it was fixable; Starter Specialist in Arima - excellent guy and excellent quick and professional work.. replaced with original Toyota parts (Regulator went bad) Cost - $1850

3) Airbag light came on recently with an error telling me to check the airbag system and it never goes away. Highly annoying. Have to do a diagnostic scan to see what the problem is.. could be a bad spiral wire in the steering assembly or bad sensors or something else. Gonna check that out on Thursday.
Know two other 2006-2008 Rav4 owners with the same problem; they never bothered to go fix it :lol:

4) Two keys given by Toyota BROKE. well not the keyblade; the blade broke off from lock/unlock module leaving onlythe blade; currently im using the spare; Toyota charging close to $4000 for that key with lock/unlock module. That go stay right dey. Gonna order some programmable lock/unlock modules from amazon as soon as they get more positive feedback and I'll jus put my keyblades that were broken off into that module. It costs US$46 plus shipping, etc.

Alot of problems than I catered for for the first 6yrs, but I thnk the new models (2010-2012) supposed to address these issues. Otherwise it's really a nice vehicle :lol:

capstar

Postby capstar » July 23rd, 2012, 1:33 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:^^any major problems with the RAV4 since ownership?? I dont mean regular oil and flter changes or tire changes...like tranny problems, overheating, sensors going etc etc...

Major problems were:

1) Steering rack changed in 2010; read that it's a common problem for the 2006-2008 models and basically it's a design flaw. And currently getting back a similar steering problem again. (knocking and vibrating on steering wheel). Toyota said it's unlikely to be the steering rack since it was changed less than 2yrs ago; Have an appointment Thursday to have em check it out and fix. ($6100 + VAT for a new steering rack, that's without labour costs) but they think its another problem other than the steering rack; will let u know after Thursday if u like.

2) Alternator just stopped working, jus so last yr :? Toyota charging $10,000 for a brand new one. Luckily it was fixable; Starter Specialist in Arima - excellent guy and excellent quick and professional work.. replaced with original Toyota parts (Regulator went bad) Cost - $1850

3) Airbag light came on recently with an error telling me to check the airbag system and it never goes away. Highly annoying. Have to do a diagnostic scan to see what the problem is.. could be a bad spiral wire in the steering assembly or bad sensors or something else. Gonna check that out on Thursday.
Know two other 2006-2008 Rav4 owners with the same problem; they never bothered to go fix it :lol:

4) Two keys given by Toyota BROKE. well not the keyblade; the blade broke off from lock/unlock module leaving onlythe blade; currently im using the spare; Toyota charging close to $4000 for that key with lock/unlock module. That go stay right dey. Gonna order some programmable lock/unlock modules from amazon as soon as they get more positive feedback and I'll jus put my keyblades that were broken off into that module. It costs US$46 plus shipping, etc.

Alot of problems than I catered for for the first 6yrs, but I thnk the new models (2010-2012) supposed to address these issues. Otherwise it's really a nice vehicle :lol:

WTF :shock:

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2012, 1:38 pm

ah thought toyota supposed to be the most reliable brand in t&t :roll:

ibtfanboys

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 23rd, 2012, 2:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:ah thought toyota supposed to be the most reliable brand in t&t :roll:

ibtfanboys

well, old man's first car was a KE70 corolla and NEVER gave any real problems like that. NEVER. same engine, same gearbox, same core parts. only thing that stopped worked was the speedometer. and it was a 30 something yr old vehicle; one owner. Sold it a couple years back. He eventually got himself a 2010 Camry from TTTL in December 2010 cuz he still firmly believes in Toyota. (He chose that over a Merc C200)
but so far no problems at all (knock on wood) hopefully it stays that way.

It seems as though this particular model Rav4 problematic. Rel hoping this doesnt give any more problems after this cuz then it'll be high time for a sale.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 23rd, 2012, 3:16 pm

crazychinee wrote:Not sure if true, but have it from a reliable resource they are investigating some issues with Q5 transmission; same issues that plagued the A4. Few disgruntled customers.

That's not the transmission itself, it's just the transmission control module. And that was the B6 model A4 (2002-2005), the newer ones haven't had any problems. Any Q5 having that problem would be covered under warranty.

scotty_buttons wrote:4) Two keys given by Toyota BROKE. well not the keyblade; the blade broke off from lock/unlock module leaving onlythe blade; currently im using the spare; Toyota charging close to $4000 for that key with lock/unlock module. That go stay right dey. Gonna order some programmable lock/unlock modules from amazon as soon as they get more positive feedback and I'll jus put my keyblades that were broken off into that module. It costs US$46 plus shipping, etc.

Some of those keys aren't made properly. Had the same problem with a 2012 Camry rental I had earlier this year, the blade started to break off from the plastic.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 23rd, 2012, 3:26 pm

Wasn't that TCM A4 problem restricted to the earlier CVT models? Haven't heard of the same problem with the newer trannys.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 23rd, 2012, 3:40 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
Some of those keys aren't made properly. Had the same problem with a 2012 Camry rental I had earlier this year, the blade started to break off from the plastic.

New model Camry u speak of there? How is it?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 23rd, 2012, 6:43 pm

^^yeah let us know how it goes with TTTL wrt the steering rack

Postby gt4tified » July 23rd, 2012, 8:26 pm

Anyone know the price of the KIA Optima?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 23rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

Took a look at the elantra today. Good stuff. What do you guys prefer between this and the cerato koup and why?

Postby equipped2ripp » July 24th, 2012, 12:57 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:

New model Camry u speak of there? How is it?

It was a Hertz rental I had for a couple of days.. same XLE 2.5 4cyl as the 2010 model I had 2 years ago. The interior was semi vinyl/fabric, kinda sporty. The headunit is the same in the 2012 Hilux and should be the same in the new 2012 high end Toyotas. This one had a 6 speed transmission with sport mode and tiptronic with paddle shifters. Acceleration is fair for a 2.5, I managed to touch 100mph with it. This one had 17" wheels and a body kit on it, the ones from TTTL here don't have the body kit as standard on the mid-spec, I'm sure you know.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 24th, 2012, 10:37 am

Whoa man.. Paddle shifters, 6 speed transmission.. A first for Toyota :lol:
But seriously sounds like a overall better car! Never saw any on the road here though.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 24th, 2012, 9:39 pm

So anyone know the prices of a the 4door evoque currently?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 24th, 2012, 9:40 pm

starts at 650 apparently

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 26th, 2012, 6:57 pm

So just to update yal concerning the rav4 checkup

Problems encountered were:
Replace steering coupling
Replace intermediate shaft
Replace right side engine mount
Replace spiral cable (airbag light problem)
Replace belt tensioner

All those parts and labour costing around 11gran. Must admit I expected it cost more with such a longish list of things to replace.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 26th, 2012, 7:02 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:So just to update yal concerning the rav4 checkup

Replace belt tensioner

All those parts and labour costing around 11gran. Must admit I expected it cost more with such a longish list of things to replace.

How long you've had this vehicle?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 26th, 2012, 7:50 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Whoa man.. Paddle shifters, 6 speed transmission.. A first for Toyota :lol:
But seriously sounds like a overall better car! Never saw any on the road here though.

Allyuh does real be hating on a brand for nothing eh.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 26th, 2012, 7:51 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Whoa man.. Paddle shifters, 6 speed transmission.. A first for Toyota :lol:

Allyuh does real be hating on a brand for nothing eh.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 26th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Not sure why you're complaining Nemesis?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 26th, 2012, 11:19 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:So just to update yal concerning the rav4 checkup

Replace belt tensioner

Cant see why its costing so much and what is an intermediate shaft?
Oh well im sure you can import those parts for way less anyway.