Old School Projects

d spike

Re: Old School Projects

Postby d spike » December 6th, 2011, 7:46 pm

NOMOSS wrote:

See the blue hillman hunter burn the tires

Wait a minute...
Wasn't this run made with the ess-arr in it????

king bob

Postby king bob » December 6th, 2011, 7:48 pm

ppl is there another gb that's compatible wid the 1725, and yeah it's still in d car

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 6th, 2011, 8:21 pm

d spike wrote:
NOMOSS wrote:

See the blue hillman hunter burn the tires

Wait a minute...
Wasn't this run made with the ess-arr in it????

Yes it was .As I recall someone nearly kissed the ground when they came out of the car

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 6th, 2011, 8:24 pm

king bob wrote:ppl is there another gb that's compatible wid the 1725, and yeah it's still in d car

I don't know king bob i'll check around

d spike

Postby d spike » December 6th, 2011, 8:32 pm

king bob wrote:ppl is there another gb that's compatible wid the 1725, and yeah it's still in d car

[serious face]a Sunbeam Lotus gearbox [/serious face] :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I take it you watched Specracing's video clips - talk about cutarse...
Kingbob, just start looking for a hunter box, nah...
Beg Zodiaque real hard...

Will go shake some branches...

PM Partsman and see (that would be a brand-new one though, although decades of dust might cause the term "brand-new" to be moot...)

MG, do you have that fellow's number?

Specracing

Postby Specracing » December 6th, 2011, 9:05 pm

The trick with the Hunter g/boxes is to use 20W/50 engine oil in them (not gear oil) they are strong boxes and alot got messed up using EP140...
(Partsman commonly known as Ghanny's 644-1153)

king bob

Postby king bob » December 6th, 2011, 9:50 pm

parts man say he have parts 4 it bt he doh have 1
so is which 1 come first
hunter gb or pinto engine

king bob

Postby king bob » December 7th, 2011, 6:58 am

wait, wait, wait, hold d phone.
so me puttin transmission fluid in d tranny could have screwed it up?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 7th, 2011, 7:07 am

Specracing wrote:The trick with the Hunter g/boxes is to use 20W/50 engine oil in them (not gear oil) they are strong boxes and alot got messed up using EP140...
(Partsman commonly known as Ghanny's 644-1153)

Depending on the design of the box yes transmission fluid could have been the culprit,its so thin that that the old style bearings with their large clearances just lets the atf flow out and not provide enough lubrication ,ep 120 ,ep140 is also kind of heavy as well and so thick that it doesn't get into tight spaces ...result no lubrication hence wear .I use a synthetic 70/90 gearbox oil in the ford 5 speed as recommended by the manufacturer but this will screw a 4 speed (trust me been there done that ).I suggest google it and get the correct spec oil for the gearbox.We must find one somewhere ask dspike if praim have one

Specracing

Postby Specracing » December 7th, 2011, 9:24 am

Alot of the older model english vehicles had to use engine oil in their g/boxes because of tolerances as NOMOSS said e.g. the mini sharing engine oil with the box etc, and many were facked up because of using heavy gear oil...Another example is the LandRover County and Defender that the police and army used, there manual gearboxes have to use transmission fluid because they have an oil pump in them and needle bearings in the gears once you put gear oil that's it end of box lol...bless

P.S. Were I work we use to specialize in Hunter and Avenger OEM parts hence the 20W/50 oil in the box

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 7th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Does anyone have pics of a cortina with a v8 installed ,,,I will be doing a project in the near future and I want to get it right the first time .

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 7th, 2011, 3:37 pm

d spike wrote:

[serious face]a Sunbeam Lotus gearbox [/serious face] :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I take it you watched Specracing's video clips - talk about cutarse...
Kingbob, just start looking for a hunter box, nah...
Beg Zodiaque real hard...

Will go shake some branches...

PM Partsman and see (that would be a brand-new one though, although decades of dust might cause the term "brand-new" to be moot...)

MG, do you have that fellow's number?

Dspike where specracing's vids??

Specracing

Postby Specracing » December 7th, 2011, 5:28 pm

On pg.25 bro...
Here's some Cortina V8 engine bay pics and a pic of a kit they use in Australia...
100_5296[1].jpg
007-12[1].jpg
7025960006_large[1].jpg
p76cortina1[1].jpg
EM017-4-body[1].jpg
EM017-4-body[1].jpg (24.34 KiB) Viewed 3923 times
tcenginebay2[1].jpg
tewagon2[1].jpg

d spike

Postby d spike » December 7th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Neat-o!!!
Correct me if I am wrong, but the firewall doesn't seem tampered with!
NOMOSS, it looks like all you will need is a shoehorn... (and a pair of heads a la nigie :lol: )

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 7th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Specracing wrote:On pg.25 bro...
Here's some Cortina V8 engine bay pics and a pic of a kit they use in Australia...

I have lots of pics of the blue Australian cortina but I cant determine if it was cut and if so where

king bob

Postby king bob » December 7th, 2011, 8:34 pm

ppl now that d bob hunter seein a completion date, can u point me to some insurance??

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 7th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Specracing wrote:On pg.25 bro...

thanks man lovely angles ,should be able to see what i need to

Specracing

Postby Specracing » December 7th, 2011, 9:03 pm

No probs bro in all that i saw it doesnt seem they touched the firewall just notched the rad panel for the radiator...

King as for insurance make sure all your lights, brakes etc. working and go to Sagicor on Abercromby St. and ask for Bridgette she will sort you out so you can go and get it inspected...

nigie

Postby nigie » December 7th, 2011, 10:32 pm

[quote="Specracing"]No probs bro in all that i saw it doesnt seem they touched the firewall just notched the rad panel for the radiator...

quote]

that is the easier way...but.... better weight distribution would b 2 send engine back...in the V8 thread there r three cortys done this way...would b nice if u post up the pics of the build in the thread.....

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 7:20 am

nigie wrote:
Specracing wrote:No probs bro in all that i saw it doesnt seem they touched the firewall just notched the rad panel for the radiator...

quote]

that is the easier way...but.... better weight distribution would b 2 send engine back...in the V8 thread there r three cortys done this way...would b nice if u post up the pics of the build in the thread.....

the drag guys are proponents of sending the engine back on the grounds of weight distribution and handling but I have spoken to some of the guys from the old days and they say that putting the engine in line with the cross member did not affect handling etc(but all things being relative these guys did not have cars that handled very well ) and the aussies and brits don't seem to install it back either .One reason with the fords is the shape of the sump pan .In order to get the engine lower, the sump has a notch for the cross-member which happens to line the engine up in a manner where you dont have to cut the firewall and I suppose these guys take that way out .But I do have concerns about weight distribution .Still doing research thanks guys..Btw looking for a starter and dizzy for a 302

nigie

Postby nigie » December 8th, 2011, 3:31 pm

I guess by now your research would guide u 2 lean on sending the engine back...for better weight distribution...if especially if handling is a concern....
and whats a dizzy?

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2011, 4:17 pm

nigie wrote:I guess by now your research would guide u 2 lean on sending the engine back...for better weight distribution...if especially if handling is a concern....
and whats a dizzy?

distributor

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 5:40 pm

nigie wrote:I guess by now your research would guide u 2 lean on sending the engine back...for better weight distribution...if especially if handling is a concern....
and whats a dizzy?

Sorry young boy talk (i out of my element there)for distributor I will eventually import a msd but for the near future any port in a storm

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 5:42 pm

cinco wrote:
and whats a dizzy?

distributor

Nigie that orange corty in specracing pics has that engine been sent back or is it centreline?

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 5:51 pm

nigie wrote:Yes Yes....im looking spike...
Nigie are you still looking for a pinto 2.o cam ..

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 5:58 pm

nigie wrote:Take a look at these (especially the second one). Bear in mind that the Chevy is a V8, while the other two are "four-bangers"... Notice that while he can pull away on the straight, he can't shake them off or outrun them easily...

Also notice that the v8 was leading the race for 99.61% of the time untill they were out of sight of the camera for 4 seconds (behind trees) and something happened...then camaro mystically lost control.... :?
Crabtree was the drivers name(escort) and ford BDA thats what happened

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 8th, 2011, 7:23 pm

NOMOSS wrote:

Heard of a 322 crane for small $$
http://youtu.be/-JRzW-Xve-M

d spike

Postby d spike » December 8th, 2011, 8:56 pm

NOMOSS wrote:

Heard of a 322 crane for small $$

SILENCE!! I KEELL YOU!!!

Yuh eh even wait tuh hear what condition it in... NOMOSS, yuh eh easy, nah... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Kingbob, in the small collection of cams, there is a mild road cam... hold onto it for you?

king bob

Postby king bob » December 8th, 2011, 9:14 pm

this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?

nigie

Postby nigie » December 8th, 2011, 9:39 pm

king bob wrote:this may sound odd, bt cam as in cam shaft?

bob behave .... :shock: