The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

DSM_05

Re: Official Old School Spotters Thread

Postby DSM_05 » October 14th, 2011, 6:35 am

I'd imagine this is a repost, plus I got it off a FS site....but hey, it's worth a second look!

http://www.trinidad-cars.com/Trinidad-C ... /2389.html

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 14th, 2011, 6:43 am

:| You go through all that trouble to restore that VW Bug and that is how you would leave that plastic trim on the seat? Blue? You mean the owner could not ask the upholstery shop to give him the plastic trim while they were re-upholstering the seat so that he could get it painted in a matching colour? This reminds me of those people who go and spend thousands of dollars re-painting their cars and then leave on the old beat up number plate.

And what's up with those Gary the Snail floor mats?

Looks good otherwise.

moti

Postby moti » October 14th, 2011, 8:16 am

it's a ladybug mat

my intension is to have one of these powered by a subaru engine and drivetrain
yup awd an all.

Postby MG Man » October 14th, 2011, 8:40 am

would have been nice to see the original seats....granted the originals are damn uncomfortable compared to those, but still.....wonder if it's legit or a plate swap...

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » October 14th, 2011, 7:01 pm

the guy said it was a returning resident's car from back in the day. car hardly ever came out of the garage.

Postby MG Man » October 14th, 2011, 7:48 pm

shoulda asked him bout the seats

Postby Monk BANzai » October 23rd, 2011, 1:00 pm

not an "old school" but defn not a new school spotter...so it goes here....

Friend of a Friends car.....immaculate....down to the service history booklet....

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 23rd, 2011, 10:51 pm

if i had that car i would become a drug dealer

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 24th, 2011, 8:04 pm

and paint in black and crims it dong normel! :D

Postby MG Man » October 25th, 2011, 3:21 pm

yuh know, sometimes de quest to dig up nice old cars does really start gettin irritating
is either 'Barrett-Jackson' syndrome or 'my car extra special' or a combination of those
just yesterday I was enquiring about a Jaguar that I knew to be stashed away at a certain location
the man start prattling on and on about it being the only one in the country, so I kindly pointed out at least six of that model that I am aware of.......'yeah but dis one is de fuss one ever come in de country'
'no sir, yours is a Series III.........there are Series I and IIs that came in the country brand new......
'yeah yeah but we one is ah special one blah blah blah'

all this just to have a peek at the car, which I wasn't able to do
sometimes it eh worth de prayers..as my mechanic likes to say.......

Postby cinco » October 25th, 2011, 8:31 pm

unnastan
sometimes i wish they would open the importation for consumers to bring one car every 5 years or so
import the same dam car in better condition for pennys
let them keep their prize scrap heap

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » October 25th, 2011, 11:41 pm

u could bring in watever u want just cant licence it...trailer it to car shows and events...drive it in ur backyard....half ah dem classics doh leave home anyhow

i always dream of owning a testarossa just have it in a climate controlled garage just to sit in admire rev the engine...feel it up a bit then go drive a beater

Postby MG Man » October 27th, 2011, 9:47 pm

everything else is second to THIS
I been stalking this car for years..............it's been like this over a decade....always same story: yeah we fixin it....
owner currently working on a T-bird...........no accounting for taste...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » October 27th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Price? how much my kidneys worth?

Postby MG Man » October 27th, 2011, 9:52 pm

usual story..............nuh for sale.......dey restorin it

Postby cinco » October 28th, 2011, 7:08 am

DOH MAKE FORKIN BAKE
be still my beating heart
who d ass paint that yellow anyway

d spike

Postby d spike » October 29th, 2011, 12:52 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

Why does this shot make me think of Zodi's Colt? :lol:

zodiaque wrote:Price? how much my kidneys worth?

Considering that you always liming with wagonrunner (and know how he drinks) I figure $5.00 for one if you throw in the other for free...
There was a lad named Zodi
who drank 'til he ruined his kidney.
It shriveled and shrank
while he sat there and drank...
but he has lots of fun doing it, didn' he?

cinco wrote:who d ass paint that yellow anyway

MG Man might know who would do such a jaundiced thing... :mrgreen:

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » October 30th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Enjoy hope alyuh know wha is >>
IMG00024-20111030-0808.jpg

Hot Rod

Postby Hot Rod » October 30th, 2011, 10:09 pm

IMG00025-20111030-0809.jpg
IMG00026-20111030-0809.jpg

moti

Postby moti » October 31st, 2011, 8:13 am

nice car

that's the correct rim for that period?

d spike

Postby d spike » October 31st, 2011, 12:41 pm

Hot Rod wrote:Enjoy hope alyuh know wha is >>

Isn't this a kit-car that uses the VW "Beetle" as a donor car?

psychokid

Postby psychokid » October 31st, 2011, 9:13 pm

Bezman wrote:Pauls KE Corolla
Dev Lutchman's Blue Laser
Andre's 240z
Sean's Blue MK1 Escort
George & Geralds GSR Turbo lancers
Smally's Lancer (which eventually became SKF after the highway race with the lambo and 911)
Jason's (Puff & Stuff) Black 1st Gen (which became the race car also)

these were the cars that I used to droll over when i was 15 riding around west moorings and bumming rides with my girlfriend older brother to drags at the savannah at night...

anyone has any pics of these?

Postby MG Man » October 31st, 2011, 9:59 pm

Hot Rod wrote:Enjoy hope alyuh know wha is >>

beetle with a MG TF kit, and some ridiculous horns on the hood

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 1st, 2011, 6:51 am

Smally's Lancer (which eventually became SKF after the highway race with the lambo and 911)

I remember asking R.G. about that once - I could have sworn he said that SKF was actually a different lancer to that one from the race.

I could be wrong tho.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 1st, 2011, 7:26 am

Saw this down penal, couldnt find the owner to get more info on it :(

Postby wagonrunner » November 1st, 2011, 11:54 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image
Saw this down penal, couldnt find the owner to get more info on it :(

The owner sees the body in that condition, yet has those rims. unless cane field rat rod IS the look he's going for.

Postby cinco » November 1st, 2011, 1:22 pm

TBH it looks like he goin for that rat rod look
because the nickel on the car is impeccable (from what i see in th epic)

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 1st, 2011, 3:26 pm

cinco wrote:TBH it looks like he goin for that rat rod look
because the nickel on the car is impeccable (from what i see in th epic)

Indeed, I posted the pic to the facebook and turns out one of my friends is the owners cousin in law or something so.. Said the engine bay has an immaculate v8, will try to get more pics

Postby MG Man » November 1st, 2011, 8:21 pm

raj rod?

ram&sons

Postby ram&sons » November 8th, 2011, 1:26 pm

these two cars are from the penal area
P1060512.JPG
this classic rover is being restored in penal
P1060510.JPG
ke30 toyota corolla(12a 6 port rotary project)
P1060508.JPG