Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

TriniGT

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, She's Home For a Bit!!!

Postby TriniGT » March 18th, 2011, 1:22 pm

Hahaha boy right now I piecing together my setup. Next on the list is probably a headgasket, Mazworx headstuds and some cams and a GTX3071R T2 flanged V-Band. Let's see how that list gets chopped down, it's gonna be a while. I placed a deposit on a Blitz Clutch Kit and hopefully will pay in full by end of next week. Good thing with this single disc setup is that you can easily make it a twin if needed by adding a next disc setup to it. Let's see how it works.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 21st, 2011, 12:18 pm

Some professional pics from the Silvia Meet @ Gulf City lastnight, it was a nice time. More to come,

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 21st, 2011, 12:27 pm

Yuh doh do them teeeeng...man on work.

Looking great.

Postby turbosingh » April 21st, 2011, 1:32 pm

Saw this yesterday looks good man!

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » April 21st, 2011, 8:23 pm

This Car Just Sweet

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 22nd, 2011, 1:08 am

beautifull!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 26th, 2011, 6:54 am

Thanks fellas, more things soon to come as a certain individual only pushing me. Interior upgrades are still on the way and still looking for a good set of Bride seats. Money for the Silvia is quite slow as I have the daily waiting to go into the shop for a repaint and then to reinstall everythin back into the car. If the GTT gets sold anytime soon I can use a little of the cash to fund the daily and also to help the Silvia but at this point things are creeping but for now the car is working without problems, just need to have the rear axle boot changed and also the front wheels need speed balancing badly as at 120Km the car does not feel right.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 1st, 2011, 9:33 pm

Well so there is a part II, after a little persuasion by a good friend I am looking at doing some more upgrades to the power. I have started looking at doing a VE-T upgrade sooner than I thought. Did not take long before I found a post on Tuner with a damaged VE for sale, got the complete engine for $1500, well at least what I needed, which is really the head, solenoids, fuel rail, oil pump, oil pickup. Now the hunt for the block, at this point it does not matter, S13/S14/S15 block, but I am wondering what to do, stock forged build or 2.2/2.3l from Mazworx. This is my ponder now, money is definitely the determining factor so depending on the quote from Mazworx I will then decide what to do.

I have to order, headstuds, solenoid relocators and the water pipe and I may order and entire rod, piston combo depending on the combo i go for form them. I really like the idea of the custom crank, wider main bearings, grooved and drilled and 1/2" headstuds and whatnot to make the setup solid but it comes at a price. I haev located an S14 block in the US that can be shipped across and then the work done and from there shipped to me. I can the swap my Greddy Sump and drill the VE headstud holes wider on the head and do the head job. Anyway, got the VE engine and removed the head, then stripped the head and got it ready for a thorough cleaning, took the balance of the afternoon to clean and it still is not how I would like it but for now it will do, will try again but I am not trying at this point to remove the rod/rocker setup to give it more bling. Here are some pics thus far. VE Valve Cover still soaking, I filled a sink with a mix of CleanOff and Water and have the VE cover soaking over night, hopefully it will get it nice and clean and hopefully not remove the VE badging form the plaque.

VE as I got it, thanks Stay Tuned,
The Subject Matter
Head Removed
Extras Removed for Some Cleaning
Intake Items
Gaskets, Cams, Gears, headstuds etc.
Head back from Initial Cleaning with HKS T2 Top Mounted Manifold and VE Lower Intake Test Fitted
VE Lower Intake Kinda Cleaned

Conrad

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26

Postby Conrad » May 1st, 2011, 10:01 pm

Good luck with the VE build.

Why not keep it 2.0 forged? You can do most of the work yourself and keep that precious cash towards other items of higher priority.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 1st, 2011, 11:57 pm

Well we'll see once the quotation is in.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 2nd, 2011, 1:27 am

niceee!!

CARVtech

Postby CARVtech » May 2nd, 2011, 4:09 am

N1 Cams available if you like?

http://www.carvtechpc.com/stock.html

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 2nd, 2011, 8:16 am

Not with the VE-T application. The20 ve cams are the ones to go with ona boosted application.
There was a nice chart showing the overlap.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 2nd, 2011, 8:57 am

I will be going with the P12 20V cams eventually,

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 2nd, 2011, 10:08 am

I meant anything but the SR16 cams or Sr16-N1 . The 20Ve + 20V-Ve are what get best results.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » May 2nd, 2011, 2:40 pm

Wow..from 228 to 278 :cool:

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » May 2nd, 2011, 2:54 pm

^yesh plenty lift and duration for stock cams huh :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 4th, 2011, 10:20 am

Still awaiting the quotation, Mazworx sticking. Will have to call them to give them a reminder. Anyway, my stock pile thus far,

SR20VE Head
HKS T2 Top Mount Tubular Manifold
VE Lower Intake Manifold
SARD 850CC injectors
VE Fuel Rail
VE Oil Pump
VE Oil Pickup/Strainer
Blitz Active Clutch Setup - Picked it up yesterday :D.
Greddy Sump
Apexi Power FC - May swap it out for an AEM/Vipec Setup

Things to order/source:
Xcessive RWD Intake Mani for VE
P12 20V CAS
P12 20V Cams
P12 20V Valve Cover
Bare S13/14/15 Block
Mazworx Solenoid Relocators
Mazworx Headstuds
Forged Pistons with Valve Reliefs
Strengthened Rods
Main and Rod Bearings
Headgasket
Numerous braided/Teflon Lines

Also thinking of trying an ITB setup from an E46 M3 setup on the VE head will see what can if I can find it locally for a decent price.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 5th, 2011, 9:52 pm

A couple of pics of some things that came in, the wheel is new and the clutch used but imported on my own due to high local prices. My fabric is in, carbon stereo surround, just need some gauges and to order some engine build parts. Need to save first though.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » May 6th, 2011, 7:50 am

wheys dat clutch ting looking kool!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 6th, 2011, 9:03 am

I bought the Blitz as it is a single but if it can't take the power then I can simply buy the plates and clutch discs for a twin setup and fit it without changing the flywheel and pressure plate. Brought in a couple items for the daily driver project I have but no need to mention that here. That will be going into paint Sunday and should be back with me by month end. Forgot to mention oh what a difference a speed balance makes, I had a horrible shim at 120Km and now it has disappeared, also replaced my leaking rear axle boot and cleaned all the grease that spewed allo over the Driftworks Arms and gas tank, what a mess but that's all done. Only issue I have currently is that my car is overboosting a bit, checked for pin holes or leaking vacuum lines and wastegate line but they look fine and most have been replaced with silicone replacements. Car is swinging RPMs effortlessly, cannot imagine the feeling with the VE head. Will be scrapping the front of the block for the oil pump and oil pickup/strainer if not today then tomorrow and open the pump to shim it and do the needed mods and then refit the back oil pump cover with loctite. Not rushing this build as I need to get the daily up so money has to be spent there first as the GTT may be going in a bit so need to get a replacement immediately if not before the GTT goes.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 6th, 2011, 9:11 am

Great build man.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 6th, 2011, 9:13 am

I love that Nardi!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 6th, 2011, 9:51 am

Thx yeah was the one I was after, looking for someone that does excellent fabric work as I need to get my entire door panels done over, the skins as well as the fabric inserts. I have the fabric for inserts but need to get replacement fabric for the rest of the door panels. Also need to get someone to change the fabric on the rear seats, wanna change it to black and I have fabric for the center areas. I think some people know where I am coming from but needs to be excellent workmanship, everything must line up properly on both sides and even as well. JDM is the go!!!! Looking at some choice JDM interior parts and then if money permits I wanna eventually do an entire body makeover once the engine transplant is done, looking at wider body and major lip or -mm offset wheels. Still need to order my Defi DIN Gauges :( and also install my Apexi Power FC for now along with my AEM wideband gauge to monitor my mix and adjust to suite.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 6th, 2011, 10:05 am

Waaaait, is notes yuh taking notes from Broadfield there?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 6th, 2011, 10:27 am

Haha, nah I bought a couple things off him but the guys work is flawless, wish mine could be half of what his is, his gauge setup and engine bay is yummy but he has gone LS1/2 I think.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 6th, 2011, 2:02 pm

Choice parts there. I 'll tell you this, you better check people's bags and pockets when they visit you.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » May 6th, 2011, 2:44 pm

Haha, no visitors allowed. You come here you stay here and work for free MUHAHAHAHA!!!!

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » May 7th, 2011, 12:29 am

dry have a VE-T in d white now

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » May 7th, 2011, 4:05 am

I'm pretty sure Dry is the one that gave the "lil persuasion" to dive into a ve-t build...