pew pew inside?

psykomorf

pew pew inside?

Postby psykomorf » April 25th, 2011, 12:57 pm

From BBC:
Car engines could soon be fired by lasers instead of spark plugs, researchers say.
A team at the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics will report on 1 May that they have designed lasers that could ignite the fuel/air mixture in combustion engines.

The approach would increase efficiency of engines, and reduce their pollution, by igniting more of the mixture.
A team from Romania and Japan has now demonstrated a system that can focus two or three laser beams into an engine's cylinders at variable depths.
more @:http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-13160950

lostallos101

Re: pew pew inside?

Postby lostallos101 » April 25th, 2011, 1:54 pm

hmmmmmmmmm interesting concept

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 25th, 2011, 2:15 pm

very interesting... now man goh hadda pay relll $$ for spark plugs!

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » April 25th, 2011, 3:50 pm

maybe but i think it may last alot longer than the normal spark plugs

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 25th, 2011, 4:03 pm

I really cant see the benefit of this. IMO it is not working any different to an MSD ignition that sends 8/9 sparks to ignite a mixture which makes it more efficient than a regular ignition system. But im not a scientist. anyway i can't wait to see the "benefits" in its implementation and how much more complicated they intend to make the automobile. :D

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 25th, 2011, 4:48 pm

if it ain't broke, don't fix it.....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 25th, 2011, 8:55 pm

^^ that!!
well they say it will give better fuel economy and less emissions! hmmm! everybody goin "Green" yes... fuh all yuh kno it cud be just another Money making scheme! guess we have to wait and see.. and yeaa they did say it will last much longer than your average Spark plug... we shall see..

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2011, 8:40 am

PEW PEW PEW>>>

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 26th, 2011, 9:54 am

you fellas is kix..

if the motto "if it aint broke dont try to fix it" was true we would still be in horse drawn carriages and relying on telegraph to send messages...

this is progress and efficiency, they already said ti would help with gas conservation/emissions and performance

but i guess allya like old ting that no good anymore :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 26th, 2011, 10:46 pm

i'll stick with what works..

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 26th, 2011, 11:05 pm

Bezman wrote:you fellas is kix..

if the motto "if it aint broke dont try to fix it" was true we would still be in horse drawn carriages and relying on telegraph to send messages...

this is progress and efficiency, they already said ti would help with gas conservation/emissions and performance

but i guess allya like old ting that no good anymore :lol:

So spark plugs doh work or wat bezman??
You know how many grand ideas that plagued the automotive world over the decades that were supposed to work as the guys in the white coats said they were supposed to work like and didn't...im not saying this wont work. My question is how different is this from a multi spark ignition system?? We all ready have GDI systems with Variable valve and cam timing. FSI systems etc. Cant wait to see its implementation though. 8-)

psykomorf

Postby psykomorf » April 27th, 2011, 2:02 am

trini mk5 wrote: My question is how different is this from a multi spark ignition system?? We all ready have GDI systems with Variable valve and cam timing. FSI systems etc. Cant wait to see its implementation though. 8-)

Not sure about this. But offhand I think the line "A team from Romania and Japan has now demonstrated a system that can focus two or three laser beams into an engine's cylinders at variable depths" might be a difference since a regular msd fires multiple sparks in the same spot (from the plug) but they claim to have multiple points of ignition within the cylinder. I imagine this would result in several simultaneous flamefronts moving in the fuel/air mixture that might result in faster and more complete combustion than flamefronts from a single point.
It could also be an effect something like the leading/trailing plug setup on a rotary engine where a trailing plug is used to assist the combustion and also reduce emissions.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 27th, 2011, 4:23 pm

psykomorf wrote:
trini mk5 wrote: My question is how different is this from a multi spark ignition system?? We all ready have GDI systems with Variable valve and cam timing. FSI systems etc. Cant wait to see its implementation though. 8-)

Not sure about this. But offhand I think the line "A team from Romania and Japan has now demonstrated a system that can focus two or three laser beams into an engine's cylinders at variable depths" might be a difference since a regular msd fires multiple sparks in the same spot (from the plug) but they claim to have multiple points of ignition within the cylinder. I imagine this would result in several simultaneous flamefronts moving in the fuel/air mixture that might result in faster and more complete combustion than flamefronts from a single point.
It could also be an effect something like the leading/trailing plug setup on a rotary engine where a trailing plug is used to assist the combustion and also reduce emissions.

boy you trying to make sense here!!!??!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 27th, 2011, 5:13 pm

psykomorf wrote:

yuh make sense, but as i said before will wait to see how effective it can be.

Turbo

Postby Turbo » April 27th, 2011, 8:03 pm

crazybalhead wrote:PEW PEW PEW>>>

PEW PEW PEW PEW

inside dem cylinders go look like a trance session in a club :shock:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 27th, 2011, 8:14 pm

^^ :lol: :lol:

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 28th, 2011, 12:20 am

lol @ turbo

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 28th, 2011, 8:22 am

Turbo wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:PEW PEW PEW>>>

PEW PEW PEW PEW

inside dem cylinders go look like a trance session in a club :shock:

Aftermarket Plexi Heads FTW !!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 1st, 2011, 2:06 pm

success will be determined by the OEM market.....
if a manufacturer choose to use it, it may catch on, if nobody tries it, it may die off and another "what-if"

with the cost of a good spark plug at around $80 which lasts 100,000km easily.....manufacturing them will have to be very cheap for it to catch on..........