Nic's Toyota 2JZ - Tercel

RoTaRyBoYz

Re: Nic's Toyota 2JZ - Tercel

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 4th, 2011, 10:14 am

turbosingh wrote:^^No but that shows how retarded some people can be,an we dont even have a track.

I disagree with your way of thinking... Essentially what you're saying is crime high, so doh leave yuh house because yuh guh get rob. Deadly accidents are an epidemic in Trinidad, so doh drive because yuh fraid yuh ded.. Don't let certain things stop yuh from living yuh life fella. Dem men have the dream and money to race on any of the tracks in the region.. Now is the perfect time for a developer to recognize the need for a racing facility in Trinidad because the demand now has never been higher

Thank god everyone else doh live in ah bubble because Trinidad would of been seriously underdeveloped

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » April 4th, 2011, 2:03 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Is there a competent "local" that could build a chassis to this caliber?

There are local builders that can build a car of that caliber.

Tweety Too, Barry Bee, Monster Sunny, Richie Rich, SKF Lancer, Rug Doctor are all locally built.
So the expertise is available.

Having said that, It is usually better and easier, cost wise and stress wise to buy a car that is already built by somebody else.
I know what the asking price on that car was, and you couldnt build it new for that price.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 5th, 2011, 12:11 am

Red Dawg wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Is there a competent "local" that could build a chassis to this caliber?

Tweety Too, Barry Bee, Monster Sunny, Richie Rich, SKF Lancer, Rug Doctor are all locally built.

Having said that, It is usually better and easier, cost wise and stress wise to buy a car that is already built by somebody else.
I know what the asking price on that car was, and you couldnt build it new for that price.

I beg to differ...

I do agree with 2nd hand projects being somewhat cheaper to buy rather than building it yourself, but that's not the case all the time. Lots of times race cars are badly damaged in Accidents etc and the owners do a quick repair to offload it on an unsuspecting buyer for a "good" price.. In cases like that, the candle cost more that the funeral... You wouldn't believe how often this stuff happens, and most of the times it's an innocent international buyer is the one that get's the shaft.
I love this car... I like the way it sits, I like the color and I like the combo.. It's not a Jerry Bickel, Tim McAmis or Rick Jones built chassis, but that's ok because it will still run the numbers once they get the right guy to tune the suspension.
As wicked as this car is, the real show stopper is coming soon!! :twisted:

nigie

Postby nigie » April 5th, 2011, 12:26 am

hummm.......I hope the showstopping will be in performance...

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 5th, 2011, 12:33 am

nigie wrote:hummm.......I hope the showstopping will be in performance...

Definitely.... Because yuh know we cyah rely on the V8's to impress the crowd... :rofl:

Nigie, I'll have to buy yuh ah stag when I come down there in a few weeks... Yuh does make meh laugh to bad :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 5th, 2011, 7:10 am

Any hints on the showstopper, say engine-wise, rotary, SR, JZ???? We want details not the platform. Wait nah allyuh bringing one of the cars down or sold it to someone locally???

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » April 5th, 2011, 11:35 am

^ none of the above

nigie

Postby nigie » April 5th, 2011, 12:00 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Definitely.... Because yuh know we cyah rely on the V8's to impress the crowd... :rofl:

Nigie, I'll have to buy yuh ah stag when I come down there in a few weeks... Yuh does make meh laugh to bad :lol:

:mrgreen: ask Grenadians who impressed them...mention flambo..and richie rich...im sure these are the names they are familiar with...and mind u this is not the first time flams got fastest time....come over rotaryboyz come over to greener pastures....lol

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 5th, 2011, 2:13 pm

What brand?... is it a 2RZ Toyota?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 5th, 2011, 2:28 pm

nigie wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

:mrgreen: ask Grenadians who impressed them...mention flambo..and richie rich...im sure these are the names they are familiar with...and mind u this is not the first time flams got fastest time....come over rotaryboyz come over to greener pastures....lol

u do know the lighting system was not working properly on sunday right?

a stockish evo 3 on pumpgas from south did a 9.3 on sunday
a couple other cars did some weird no.s too

the only times that held were the ones done on saturday and fastest being the tercel.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » April 5th, 2011, 5:51 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
Red Dawg wrote:

I beg to differ...

I do agree with 2nd hand projects being somewhat cheaper to buy rather than building it yourself, but that's not the case all the time. Lots of times race cars are badly damaged in Accidents etc and the owners do a quick repair to offload it on an unsuspecting buyer for a "good" price.. In cases like that, the candle cost more that the funeral... You wouldn't believe how often this stuff happens, and most of the times it's an innocent international buyer is the one that get's the shaft.
I love this car... I like the way it sits, I like the color and I like the combo.. It's not a Jerry Bickel, Tim McAmis or Rick Jones built chassis, but that's ok because it will still run the numbers once they get the right guy to tune the suspension.
As wicked as this car is, the real show stopper is coming soon!! :twisted:

I agree with your point, you need to be really careful when buying a used race car.
But due to NHRA Rules requiring that every chassis be re-certified or rebuilt every year, then there alot of good cars up for sale every year.
I know of one foreign built local race car that had a fault in the chassis which would have required the rebuilding of the entire chassis from scratch, the car ran well but never ran exactly straight.
I like the car, maybe I can get up here on my track later this year.

calleocho

Postby calleocho » April 5th, 2011, 8:54 pm

el monstruo de 2jz dominará todos...

"el show stopper"

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 5th, 2011, 10:27 pm

copper_shot wrote:
nigie wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

the only times that held were the ones done on saturday and fastest being the tercel.

That's my car... yup times were crazy on SUNDAY... I think was a 9.1 actually.. LOL.. after seeing that I didn't run again.. it made no sense.....

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 6th, 2011, 12:56 am

^ yuh lie! yuh turn up the boost and open the bokkle!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 6th, 2011, 8:21 am

southside crew has the fastest time and he got the time slip to show it

so 4G643 > V8

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 6th, 2011, 9:58 am

kiran kumar...winner of the 9 sec bracket at grenada :!:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 6th, 2011, 10:35 am

next event we lining up kiran and flambo for a grudge match then??

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 6th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote::rofl:

so we data logged the car YESTERDAY (yes monday) when no1 was at the track, jut before we left to head to the port....

apparently the car did 9.7 on 9psi....

now THATS one for the haterz :lol:

we learnt a TON of things about the car this meet, but unfortunately this car will not return to grenada due to inappropriate track conditions... the car simply outperforms the track conditions...

it should be heading to possibly curacao later on this year to clock some better times... the car did better passes than the 9.7 on sunday, but the timing system was PHAWKED.... so no slip...

are you tuning the car?

nigie

Postby nigie » April 6th, 2011, 2:39 pm

hummmm like some people went 2 a diferent drag meet in Grenada ....the best time officially as recorded by the officials was 9.1 sec done by none other than Flambo...in his V8 altered Rail..get that 9.1....FLAMBO......V8 :mrgreen:

Postby zoom rader » April 6th, 2011, 3:11 pm

nigie wrote:hummmm like some people went 2 a diferent drag meet in Grenada ....the best time officially as recorded by the officials was 9.1 sec done by none other than Flambo...in his V8 altered Rail..get that 9.1....FLAMBO......V8 :mrgreen:

So Flambo does 9.1 on the same track and does not have a problem with the track
How come the Tercel does 9.7 and has problems with track?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 6th, 2011, 4:28 pm

nigie wrote:hummmm like some people went 2 a diferent drag meet in Grenada ....the best time officially as recorded by the officials was 9.1 sec done by none other than Flambo...in his V8 altered Rail..get that 9.1....FLAMBO......V8 :mrgreen:

So Flambo does 9.1 on the same track and does not have a problem with the track
How come the Tercel does 9.7 and has problems with track?

Sinister_Audio wrote: the car simply outperforms the track conditions...

:angel:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 6th, 2011, 5:08 pm

southside crew wrote:
copper_shot wrote:

That's my car... yup times were crazy on SUNDAY... I think was a 9.1 actually.. LOL.. after seeing that I didn't run again.. it made no sense.....

^ man just said his stockish evo 3 did 9.1 and he has the timeslip to show, i saw it myself in grenada

we talking bout a full street car with a/c eh

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 6th, 2011, 11:31 pm

9.115 ... Plus I backed off to avoid collision with the Green Vincy Integra!! Ricardo with the black 3rd gen was about a car length infront and did a 9.2 I think... lol.. so BOTH lanes were CRAZY!!!! he was infront and did a slower time...

nigie

Postby nigie » April 6th, 2011, 11:38 pm

WOW so the integra probably did a 9.6 or 9.4....double WOWWW impressive...

tarzan

Postby tarzan » April 6th, 2011, 11:39 pm

wat times did the blue subaru from Trinidad put down??

southside crew

Postby southside crew » April 7th, 2011, 7:02 am

The Integra was Crossing the Track!!! ( well just after the 1/4 mile) if it was a RWD or faster car in my lane that would have been the last run in that event.... it would NOT have been a fender bender... !

Bottom line the timing system was faulty ! The track safety was crap!

I am not the fastest car that went across... ( I am prob the only one with STOCK Turbo ,Cams , pump fuel etc... )

But all the cars that went didn't pay money to go and hear..( amm we didn't get a time the system reset) or when you do get one.. it's fricking INSANE!!!

However when next have drags i'll Still be there... :).....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 7th, 2011, 11:00 am

Why they still calling that a Tercel?
Great pics.. Great looking fabrication and overall project.

nigie

Postby nigie » April 7th, 2011, 11:38 am

southside crew wrote:The Integra was Crossing the Track!!! ( well just after the 1/4 mile) if it was a RWD or faster car in my lane that would have been the last run in that event.... it would NOT have been a fender bender... !

Bottom line the timing system was faulty ! The track safety was crap!

I am not the fastest car that went across... ( I am prob the only one with STOCK Turbo ,Cams , pump fuel etc... )

But all the cars that went didn't pay money to go and hear..( amm we didn't get a time the system reset) or when you do get one.. it's fricking INSANE!!!

However when next have drags i'll Still be there... :).....

So u saying we cant trust the Grenis timing system...hummm so its posible that Flambo did a 8 sumthing.... :mrgreen:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 7th, 2011, 11:43 am

flambo did a 7.1 nigie , confirmed

Postby Rooki3 » April 7th, 2011, 11:53 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Why they still calling that a Tercel?
Great pics.. Great looking fabrication and overall project.

what is it??