Project S14.5 Spec R, Part II VE-T In the Making Page 26!!!

Conrad

Re: Project S14.5 Spec R, She's Home For a Bit!!!

Postby Conrad » January 13th, 2011, 9:43 pm

^^^ This man talks sense.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » January 14th, 2011, 1:10 am

i just waiting to see a 4wd RB26 powered S chassis locally.. its more than possible... question is...

who's gonna do it ?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2011, 1:56 am

man o man!!! speechless!!

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » January 14th, 2011, 3:14 am

indeed...

well executed and on point with the fitment.... nice poke, nice stretch.....

jus need to lose the gap a little :D

props man!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 14th, 2011, 10:59 am

Thanks, as for the AWD project nah just too much to do for that, would be like starting over. As for the RB26 it could be possible as I have the parts to make it drop in but right now I need a little breather from it all and just relax and enjoy. Hoping to get insurance by tomorrow but with the old certified copy from five years ago I ain't sure they will give it to me. I have debated a Full Race R14.5 for the longest time but just don't have the money to throw behind it. Glad people love it, people on the other forums I frequent call BS on the build and tell me it's an S15, I am glad they are convinced it's an S15, they asking for VIN plate and whether I dropped an entire S15 shell on my chassis :D. Once out and about I am sure I am gonna get people wanting to know how an S15 is on PBB plates :lol:.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 14th, 2011, 11:31 am

Ah some ole ones I found,

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 14th, 2011, 11:36 am

Your family not laughing at you for selling it? :lol: :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 14th, 2011, 12:01 pm

Dem not really much into it, my brother yes but my mom just wants me to sell the black car and keep the Skyline. Somehow she is under the impression that the black car is some sort of drag car and does not want me to drive it :lol:.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 14th, 2011, 12:32 pm

i cud kick you for selling that.

1kick.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 14th, 2011, 12:59 pm

Haha, it's now a dingy dark blue with no spoiler and lots of scrapes, just an eyesore, but the guy paid his money so what do I care right :(.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 14th, 2011, 3:06 pm

you should have never sold it, and when ya was selling it I should have bought it instead of buying that stupid ranger.... i have the same feeling whenever i see my old S13.. last i saw, i twas chocolate "morning after eating hops a black pudding" brown and sputtering and looking beat out.. :(

but say what... but i'll sit back and let ya enjoy the car for the while and wait for the post saying ya dropping in the RB2six ;)

Postby Morpheus » January 14th, 2011, 3:07 pm

TriniGT wrote:Haha, it's now a dingy dark blue with no spoiler and lots of scrapes, just an eyesore, but the guy paid his money so what do I care right :(.

^^Really? That's a shame. Casue that car was a head turner "as is". No tweeks were needed IMHO. Steups :? .

legoRB

Postby legoRB » January 14th, 2011, 5:30 pm

I am truly hoping that I get a glimpse of this in the flesh when I go back to UWI later in the month...used to see the the GTT ever so often.... 8-)

Again superb rides man....well executed and from the hard work seen in this thread...well deserved...

Kudos...you are an inspiration.

Postby ..77. » January 15th, 2011, 12:53 am

Seeing the car on the first page , then skipping to the last page . Then You go back a few pages to check out the pics . And its like man theres no way these can be the same car . When u see the car in black it makes you go back an read thru the whole post .Congrats on picking a car and a plan and sticking with it . Excellent results ..77.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 15th, 2011, 10:18 pm

well not much done as today was a bit hectic with run around with the wifee but tonight I did fit the Cuzco Carbon Layered Strut Bar, was a bit fiddly but got it fitted alright. Clearance with the valve cover is close but I still need to slacken the center bar bolts and raise it a bit. Finally the engine bay is taking a little shape. Still have to clean the interior thoroughly and fit the turbo timer and boost controller and Apexi Power FC. Soon to be hunting for a Z32 MAF as the two I have are problematic, have resoldered one and no go but I am gonna try the other and see what happens.

Same time I will drain the regular startup oil I had (some shell Helix) and replace with Redline and a new filter as well. Other news, she is insured :D , so now I can get her aligned. I just need to fit license plates now. The front is still a problem as the mounting bracket is one existent as I want it to the side like the EVO. May just get Jimmy to fab an aluminum one for me and reinforce it, trying to have it facing straight and not with the line of the bumper. Next weekend she is gonna be booked in to have the S15 molding replaced with an OEM one so it will look proper and the cowl panel will finally fit properly and then I can fit the wipers and then have the car looking complete.

Once that is all done I will look into wiring and fitting the Defi gauges, not sure which one to use so if at all possible I would love to get the Defi DIN panel setup in RHD and amber colour to match the Nismo Instrument Panel and also have 60mm Defi amber to be fitted to the A pillar as well. Anyway enough jabber, here are two pics of the engine bay thus far, sorry for the night shots.

P1000037 (800x531).jpg

P1000038 (800x531).jpg

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 15th, 2011, 10:27 pm

Also to be added will be the Koyo Radiator and Black Samco/Mishimoto Rad Hoses. Will also be sending the engine bay intercooler pipes to get chromed and having the lower pipes primered and sprayed in VHT wrinkle black and see if I can bring some stealth back to the engine bay by changing all silicone hoses and lines to black and replacign any weak clamps with T-bolt clamps.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 15th, 2011, 10:28 pm

[envy]It aight...[/envy]

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » January 15th, 2011, 10:31 pm

it really does hurt to know what became of the spec r s15, damn Jason had you said you were still selling i was sure it'd be in my garage right now... though if it was in my possession i'd certainly say yuh woulda be proud when you saw her again!

it always goes like this, happened to me, not everyone takes the time/money/effort to ensure she runs/looks like a charm... they never put in the hrs/time/sweat so what do they care...

*EDIT Goddam man the engine bay looks sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeettt!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 16th, 2011, 9:18 am

Hoss you in a real predicament...i hope i never end up in one like that...lol
If it was me i would have sold the older of the two.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 16th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Installed the Battery tray in the trunk area. Drilled one big hole that couldn't work so tomorrow I will be treating it with some redoxide and then primer and black paint and then fitting it with a plastic blank. Same time I will remove the battery tray and rub and treat and prime and paint black as well. Still trying to locate the battery hooks and clamp to secure the battery itself and I wanna run some sort of circuit breaker for the battery connection seeing as the cable is run all the way to the back, there is a fuse already but I want it secure as possible.

Right now I need to get a spare to clear the brembos up front and then make a cover to hide it and then go Pricesmart and pick up some of the trunk matting and trim to suit. Have to remove the mats and give them a wash and also replace the current front seat belts as they are dirty and I have a mint spare set. Next on the agenda will be the music and running the antenna amplifier wiring and changing the speakers with the ones in the skyline and getting a nice single amp to push the mids and the small sub. We will see how that goes. Then lastly and quite importantly need to get the A/C gassed as I am gonna try and daily it.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » January 16th, 2011, 7:58 pm

^u lookin to cause accident round the savannah yes :lol: :lol:
Congrats followed this thread from page 1 :wink:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 17th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Haha, finally kinda blanked the unnecessary hole drilled and got the battery fitted. Thinking about swapping in the Oddessey Battery from the Skyline and putting the Bosch as a replacement. Being that the Oddessey is gel filled one I think it is better suited for the trunk as I think the heat from the engine bay does it no justice. I will leave the Bosch to battle engine temps and see how it goes. All left currently to do is fix the license plates and take the car to have the front windscreen removed and the new windscreen molding fitted and the windscreen fitted, then the cowl panel and the wipers.

Weekend I will have the A/C regassed and run the radio antenna amp wiring awaiting the rest of the stereo setup. I may same time install a relay in the trunk area to allow the Walbro to operate at full voltage and supply the needed fuel. I have fitted the standard boost gauge for now but soon enough the Defis will be installed. Mor epics and updates to follow.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 20th, 2011, 8:25 am

So I took her for her first real outing legally on our roads, only problem is that I was not able to fix the number plate to the front bumper and it being a 'dog bone' plate I didn't want to wedge it in between the dash and the front windscreen in fear that it would damage the dashboard. Decided I would leave it on the front seat and chance taking the car for a drive up to Curepe to see about the A/C. On reaching the Dinsley Junction traffic lights waiting for the green at the same place where I was parked with my Skyline when the twat rear ended me I look to the opposite side of the lights and there was a police patrol waiting as well luckily they were going for gas and turned off not noticing the missing plate.

On first impression, the R33 auto 4.36 is aggressive and quick off of the clutch, once the throttle is squeezed the cars rpm climbs noticeably fast causing the wheels to break traction easily, may also be a combination of bad camber as well. On to the next thing, my camber and alignment is off as expected, the car is all over the place so I need to ge tthat sorted as soon as and also I fine that the steering on turning does release the lock easily like on the other cars I have driven and I find myself having to manually remove the lock coming out of a turn. Other than that and having the car this low, it is a little bumpy but something I can live with as at that height the coilovers are very comfortable. Only problem I have is after the drive the coilovers have settled even more and she scrapes entering my yard so I am gonna need to do something about that very soon.

So I come on to the highway and by Pasea traffic lights I decide to throttle it a bit and on breaking traction in first I shift to second and 'POP' the car starts to idle very lump and becomes very difficult to drive. I pull to the left by the savannah opposite Moonan and as I suspected one of the intercooler pipes popped off, a combination of the shitty hose clamps and short silicone hoses caused this. I need a longer silicone hose to fit fully over the two pipe on the coldside and I am gonna swap all clamps to T-bolt clamps same time as that was the original plan. This will all be done when the pipes come off to be chromed and painted and same time I am going to be changing all silicone hoses/vacuum lines to black to give the engine bay a stealthier look.

Got the car gassed and I now have A/C so one other thing off the list of To-Do's, system was thoroughly vacuumed and then gassed and needed oil for compressor was filled, so far it is only comfortable on the lowest speed anything higher and my balls are frozen. Next on the list is to have the front windscreen removed and the molding fitted and then refitted and only then can I fit the cowl panel and the wipers and same time run new silicone water hoses for my front windscreen washers. Saturday as well I will be fitting my components to the doors and changing the rear speakers to higher powered ones as I want to fit an amplifier. Will also wire up the turbo timer and boost controller as well and fit my AEM wideband for future tuning. That's all for now but by next week will have lots more to report.

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » January 20th, 2011, 6:14 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

man o man!!! speechless!!

man pull out the Teddy Bruckshot clap!!!!!

but wow

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 21st, 2011, 7:11 am

Scheduling her for the windscreen removal and alignment, anything can happen after that. Hopefully speakers and turbo timer and boost controller and gauges will be installed shortly after. Then after that a quick oil change and hopefully by then I will have an Aluminum radiator and that should be it for now until I can afford to get some other tweaks.

Still need to get the front license plate installed :cry: :cry: :cry: .

$m@llboy

Postby $m@llboy » January 22nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

Well done man!!!!!!!!

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » January 22nd, 2011, 3:44 pm

hey jason, i was thinking you can try L300 panel van's number plate holder, they're side mount and few seldom use it... was gonna use one on one of my builds... you can look into it!

trouble is you have to find one.... hmmmmm... good luck!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » January 22nd, 2011, 9:34 pm

Hmmm will check around, wonder is Massy sels them boy. Will inquire.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » January 22nd, 2011, 11:15 pm

^if you don't get any.. you could always fabricate a bracket, I've seen it done a couple times.. Not bad atall.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 23rd, 2011, 10:54 am

http://www.frsport.com/Cusco-220-550-L- ... _3098.html

looks like an option, should cost under 350tt landed