Basic car maintenance course

ThugG

Basic car maintenance course

Postby ThugG » November 15th, 2010, 7:11 pm

Hey guys my sister finally bought a new car, but she dont know anything about maintaining it. Anybody know about ah course that teaches some basic car maintenance?

Back2Studio

Re: Basic car maintenance course

Postby Back2Studio » November 15th, 2010, 7:41 pm

yeh UWI have a course which runs at Princes Town Senior Comprehensive it's $700 for a 60 hour classroom. I did the course from February to June. Learnt how to do things such as change oil and filter, change brake pads, valve adjustment, change water pump, clean points, injectors and throttle body, do compression test and spark plug gapping. Course involves detailed theory sessions as well as practical sessions as mentioned before. There is also a practical exam and written final exam. Collected my certificate in September. There was one girl in the class and she passed and it had some fellas who failed. Hope your sister gets thru...good luck meng.

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2010, 7:59 pm

Any classes this side (north)?

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 15th, 2010, 8:09 pm

^Not too sure bro...they usually advertise in the papers...the North campus usually is at Barataria Senior Comp if memory serves me right.

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » November 15th, 2010, 10:07 pm

I think YTEPP offers auto mechanics courses in secondary schools across the country where they pay you a stipend to come to the classes. Don't know if it might be too detailed but i figure if they paying you to learn, you can't lose.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 15th, 2010, 10:58 pm

^That's more for ppl who want to pursue auto mechanics as a career and for ppl between 16-21 years if age, you also have to write a placement/competency exam first as well as have relevant CXC passes etc.

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2010, 11:37 pm

ThugG wrote:Hey guys my sister finally bought a new car, but she dont know anything about maintaining it. Anybody know about ah course that teaches some basic car maintenance?

sooooooooooooooo.................she not taking it to the dealership for maintenance???????????

ThugG

Postby ThugG » November 16th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Back2Studio wrote:yeh UWI have a course which runs at Princes Town Senior Comprehensive it's $700 for a 60 hour classroom. I did the course from February to June. Learnt how to do things such as change oil and filter, change brake pads, valve adjustment, change water pump, clean points, injectors and throttle body, do compression test and spark plug gapping. Course involves detailed theory sessions as well as practical sessions as mentioned before. There is also a practical exam and written final exam. Collected my certificate in September. There was one girl in the class and she passed and it had some fellas who failed. Hope your sister gets thru...good luck meng.

Thanks bro. I think this would be great for her..

Postby A172 » November 17th, 2010, 11:46 pm

pick up a book.

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 12:16 am

ThugG wrote:Hey guys my sister finally bought a new car, but she dont know anything about maintaining it. Anybody know about ah course that teaches some basic car maintenance?

sooooooooooooooo.................she not taking it to the dealership for maintenance???????????

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2010, 7:30 am

at 4 freaking grand at toyota for stuff you can DIY (oil + filter, brakes, coolant, electrolyte) i don't blame him.

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 9:55 am

isn't that covered under warranty?
coolant is every 2 years, and if u don't want to deal with electrolyte, then get a maintenance free battery.........

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2010, 10:22 am

no fella. it's not covered in the warranty.
warranty is basically the labor, and some parts if found defective.

but the service, which is recommended to keep the warranty, costs that figure.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 18th, 2010, 11:10 am

But ent u is ah known DIYer MG? Or da is somebody else I thinkin bout.....?

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 5:11 pm

wagonrunner wrote:no fella. it's not covered in the warranty.

u tellin me is 4k for a basic oil change in toyota??????????????
summ nuh smellin kosher dey fadda

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 18th, 2010, 8:00 pm

^Indeed. The most I ever had to pay for a routine 5000km service at N&M was about $1500...that was before I took the course. Change oil and filter and everything else that I learnt how to on my own now.

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2010, 8:59 pm

wagonrunner wrote:no fella. it's not covered in the warranty.

u tellin me is 4k for a basic oil change in toyota??????????????
summ nuh smellin kosher dey fadda

is about 2k. but it still isnt worth it. But i think we in a sh1tz now for not upholding it... having even MORE issues now. Indoor lights and back parklight "tripping" and its not a fuse :|

I could just just drop that car back and sue their asses.

Postby MG Man » November 18th, 2010, 10:28 pm

unfortunately if u want your warranty to be valid, you have to pay the extortion scam
but 2k??????????
seriously???
we used to pay 900 for an oil change on the mini, and that's with castrol full syn and the weird cartridge oil filter element.............I do it now but it;s a bytch to do...........

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2010, 12:13 am

I'll look for the bills... The overnight service is more too. yes, for a blasted corolla.
pops afk atm and he has them somewhere. When we had our first issue, the guy/supervisor/kakahole just watch us and say, we cya nun bout dat. :|

they never saw us after that.

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2010, 6:32 am

one like woulda had consumer affairs and the media on their a.ss

ThatDamnDrunk

Postby ThatDamnDrunk » January 13th, 2011, 2:12 am

Any info? I went UWI st. augustine this week and the advisor was no help....

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2011, 8:19 am

there are lots of good books available for the DIY enthusiast
no need to pay somebody to learn how to change oil and spark plugs
Plus check this out
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=349689&hilit=haynes

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 14th, 2011, 11:03 pm

the Academy for Automechanics not functioning anymore? they offered these types of courses....