The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Ruff

Re: Official Old School Spotters Thread

Postby Ruff » September 7th, 2010, 9:14 pm

Pontiac Parisienne (Canadian)

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2010, 11:17 pm

saw this on Sunday
my wife look at me and say 'yeah dais you in 30 years'
I had a chance to buy of these (might be this same damn car) some years back for 8k, but it wouldn't fit in my garage :-(

Postby SUPAstarr » September 8th, 2010, 7:47 am

Does this 944 still have the original powerplant? 2.5/2.7 or 3.0

interesting story about the 944 tho, via wiki

The Porsche 924 had originally been a project of VW-Porsche a joint Porsche/Volkswagen company created to develop and produce the 914 which was sold in Europe as both a Porsche and a Volkswagen. In 1972 a replacement for the Volkswagen version of the 914, code named EA-425 began development. The model was to be sold as an Audi as part of the VW-Audi-Porsche marketing arrangement. Although testing had begun in the Spring of 1974 Volkswagen decided to cancel the program due to the expense of production as well as the feeling that the recently released Volkswagen Scirocco would fill the sports coupe sufficiently. At the time Porsche was considering introducing their own water cooled front engine 2+2 coupe to replace the 912E and their model of 914 and Volkswagen's cancellation provided an opportunity. Porsche purchased the design and finished development. The vehicle drove and handled exceptionally well and received positive reviews, but was criticized for the Audi-sourced 2 litre engine; Porsche introduced a Turbocharged 924 to increase performance, but the price was considered too high for the time, which hampered sales. Rather than scrap the design , Porsche decided to develop the 924, as they had with generations of the 911; although model numbers would change, the 924 would provide the basis for its replacement.

The 944 was on Car and Driver's Ten Best list from 1983 through 1985, and the Turbo made the list for 1986.
In 1984, Car and Driver named the 944 the Best Handling Production Car in America.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » September 13th, 2010, 11:57 am

Dragist wrote:The original Cobra had a Ford 427 that is a Chev engine in there just not sure what config ,

Yes, the big V8 was the sideoiler 427, and the little one was the 289, both Fords. This car has a small-block Chevy V8, most likely a 350 or 305. Looks great, I would have gone with the Ford 5.0 engine though.

Postby MG Man » September 13th, 2010, 3:59 pm

you still alive mamoo?

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2010, 7:57 pm

Toco on Sunday

Postby wagonrunner » September 14th, 2010, 8:06 pm

that damaged?
or is the owner no longer amongst the living?

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2010, 8:15 pm

din macko it too closely

Postby MG Man » September 14th, 2010, 8:17 pm

opened a 1975 Newsweek today and found this

Postby cinco » September 15th, 2010, 8:02 am

^^ nice mazda powaaa
just noticed the PCR ES civic in that pic with the porsche :?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 20th, 2010, 7:38 pm

MG Man wrote:Toco on Sunday

van looks like one that was owned by a co-worker of mine that works at Republic Bank Computer Center (back in the day)

WHO CYAR IS DIS?

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » September 25th, 2010, 4:31 pm

seen that yellow 1600 on the highway when i was in trinidad back in june....thats a badass car..sweet!!

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2010, 11:00 pm

triniluvr wrote:Took a shot of this Jaguar in downtown Port of Spain.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » September 25th, 2010, 11:24 pm

this was my uncle's old left hand ke30 corolla 2 door...he bought it from a lady from la romaine...was in the princes town area until he sold it in 2004. i believe it had a 1.8 engine and 4 fwd gearbox....i used to have a blast driving this car.
scan038.jpg
scan037.jpg

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2010, 11:39 pm

nice
my 1st car was a PU reg KE30

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 26th, 2010, 1:53 am

SUNNYB310GUY wrote:this was my uncle's old left hand ke30 corolla 2 door...he bought it from a lady from la romaine...was in the princes town area until he sold it in 2004. i believe it had a 1.8 engine and 4 fwd gearbox....i used to have a blast driving this car.

nice.. that wouldve beenn quite fun to drive back in the day

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2010, 2:04 am

would be fun all now!

Ruff

Postby Ruff » September 26th, 2010, 9:45 am

SUNNYB310GUY wrote:1.8 engine and 4 fwd gearbox....i used to have a blast driving this car.

3TC/G... One helluva old school 4-banger. The powerplant that started it all.
Thank you,
Ruff

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » September 26th, 2010, 3:33 pm

yeah that was a really fun car...i liked driving that more than my 120y...ppl used to look at it whenever we went...most of dem never saw a 2 door lhd corolla...the body was a lil rusted but it was still solid...my uncle said the ppl who bought it fixed it up and painted it and was selling it for $4000...if i was living down dey i would buy it for sure and swap a 4ag in it.

Postby MG Man » September 27th, 2010, 6:22 am

it still around?

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » September 27th, 2010, 5:59 pm

5 points for d first man who figures out wat engine that is.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » September 27th, 2010, 6:25 pm

toyota 2c? diesel?...............nah :faint: :faint:

Postby shogun » September 27th, 2010, 6:52 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

So sweet

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » September 27th, 2010, 8:57 pm

MG Man wrote:it still around?

yeah its still on de road...my uncle say it somewhere in sando now.

Postby MG Man » September 27th, 2010, 10:11 pm

MD, is de wrong one

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 27th, 2010, 10:32 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:

van looks like one that was owned by a co-worker of mine that works at Republic Bank Computer Center (back in the day)

Nah Shurland's jeep was a CJ-7 long bed ... (tray) ... so not this.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » September 28th, 2010, 11:20 am

bigchief3679 wrote:toyota 2c? diesel?...............nah :faint: :faint:

correct, 2c diesel turbo. i couldnt believe it myself. sigh. some ppl really know how to spoil a good car yes..

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2010, 1:13 pm

doh fret
it's not the only one like that
but think about it..............you get a nice old Jag that's been ruined by someone else.........what do yo do? The cost to ship a working XK engine out of the US or UK is staggering

What upsets me is those guys who ruin the car themselves either through neglect or stupidity and then do a swap..............

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 28th, 2010, 1:56 pm

[NP] Don't change yuh engine! Change yuh oil! [/NP]

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » September 28th, 2010, 2:00 pm

MG Man wrote:doh fret
it's not the only one like that
but think about it..............you get a nice old Jag that's been ruined by someone else.........what do yo do? The cost to ship a working XK engine out of the US or UK is staggering

What upsets me is those guys who ruin the car themselves either through neglect or stupidity and then do a swap..............

yea but a 2C diesel ? oh gosh man .. it had much better things to swap in .... some sort of straight six or V8 or something.. not a god damn diesel!