TriniTuner v3.0

trvs

Postby trvs » December 4th, 2009, 8:35 pm

You all will not have to re-register if Duane and dem do it right.

If they are moving from phpbb to a reputable system all data can be ported and converted and your user name and posts will be intact.

After they port and convert, you will have to reset your password so just keep you e-mail address on your profile updated so can receive email notifications on how to do so...

No worries :P

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2009, 9:26 pm

^ yup

TriniGT wrote:Always wanted the feature to allow for the post to be seen from the initial link, meaning if you were to place the pointer over the topic link it will show the beginning of the body of the post.

this will never happen as ads are shown on pageview and that is how we pay the bills. Each rollover preview means one less ad is shown or seen.
We will not be implementing this feature. Sorry.

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:classifieds needs a form to be filled before the info is posted to become a thread as i seen other forums have it.

For example, if you were to post a FS thread, you'd have to full out certain fields like name, contact, item for sale and description of it

Kinda getting fedup of the posts where men put something and u PM and have to wait wait wait bcuz they put no contact

yes this is what we plan to do for the classifieds. This also helps to make ads better formatted and easier to search.

honda hoe wrote:would we have to rejoin the new site?

or will our accounts be transferred?

no not at all!
you will not have to re-register
everything will be here - all the posts, post counts, classified posts, your PMs, everything.
just with new features and hopefully a better and easier to use design.

DF1_2nR wrote:Would like to see a system similar to iTrader implemented so users can leave feedback for transactions done on the site.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=102965

feedback yes but perhaps limited to a star rating.
Any user with enough sales to warrant a rating should have powerseller. There will be ratings for powersellers. We will limit it to star ratings as actual comments can be slanderous.

equipped2ripp wrote:would we have to re-register new forum names for V3.0?

because you know there are gonna be the wicked ones who would make fake profiles to "steal" users' names from V2... if you get what i'm talking about.

see above, no one will have to re-register since we will be using the same forum database we have now and the "glitch" will be fixed.
We will be cracking down on multiple accounts even more!

keep the suggestions coming!

Postby M_2NR » December 4th, 2009, 10:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, i hope u remember my suggestion about user search wrt posts and threads (if that is even possible) and user info like post count in a thread, etc. :D
I think those are basic features?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 4th, 2009, 10:22 pm

also, as seen on TSOC, where you click the PM button on a person's profile in a thread where they posted, and the subject of the PM is automatically linked to the topic where the post is made....

will v3 be this way with regards to PMing a person in relation to their post in a thread?

I think that feature is in the newer phpBB software, if you're using phpBB for v3.

Postby Sinister_Audio » December 4th, 2009, 10:32 pm

Fred Tyre Shop - ask for Fred, tell him Andy sent you

ah went buh fred doh kno andy... :?

well done bro!!

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » December 4th, 2009, 10:39 pm

So if someone has a bad rating as a power seller after selling 20 or so items, will mods get together and decide whether to remove the person as a Power Seller, or is it strictly if they pay for the status it does not matter if they 'rippin off tuners'?

Emil

Postby Emil » December 4th, 2009, 10:42 pm

The traffic updates and flood warnings etc. is really really useful, dedicated sticky or webcam feed in the future would be nice....that could attract some sponsors and advertising revenue for you guys as well.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 4th, 2009, 10:44 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:also, as seen on TSOC, where you click the PM button on a person's profile in a thread where they posted, and the subject of the PM is automatically linked to the topic where the post is made....

will v3 be this way with regards to PMing a person in relation to their post in a thread?

I think that feature is in the newer phpBB software, if you're using phpBB for v3.

that is right about phpBB v3, so if they updating the forum, this will happen

originalbling

Postby originalbling » December 4th, 2009, 11:31 pm

I am guessing V3 will also cater for users browsing from a phone or other handheld device?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 4th, 2009, 11:53 pm

:faint: :faint:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2009, 8:41 am

^ it makes no sense us investing in developing a mobile version of trinituner. Mobile devices are getting better and better at rendering websites properly. iPhone, HTC, Nokia and Blackberry all continue to set high standards in web page representation in their browsers.

We will have RSS and other XML based feeds if your mobile device is less than capable.

equipped2ripp wrote:also, as seen on TSOC, where you click the PM button on a person's profile in a thread where they posted, and the subject of the PM is automatically linked to the topic where the post is made....

yes this is a standard feature of phpbb v3 which will be implemented

TriniGT wrote:So if someone has a bad rating as a power seller after selling 20 or so items, will mods get together and decide whether to remove the person as a Power Seller, or is it strictly if they pay for the status it does not matter if they 'rippin off tuners'?

We have denied or removed powersellers, or refused renewal to powersellers who we have gotten numerous complaints from int he past.

However we cannot investigate users and their practices. We are not the police or the court.

I think if a powerseller has a bad rating from user votes then it would be wise to be cautious when buying from that individual.

Like the newspaper classifieds, we sell advertising space only. We do not get involved in the sale process nor endorse powersellers.

This will not change.

the rating system is to help users make up their own mind.

Emil wrote:The traffic updates and flood warnings etc. is really really useful, dedicated sticky or webcam feed in the future would be nice....that could attract some sponsors and advertising revenue for you guys as well.

Yes I agree - we want to improve and encourage more of this activity as it is very helpful to all.

As stated in the first post, those alerts will show on the homepage AND in a fixed bar at the base of your browser window when looking at trinituner.

We will also introduce a trinituner toolbar that you install in your browser all the time, regardless of which site you are on. The tool bar will also allow you to see how much PMs you have and allow you to follow trinituner threads for new messages or replies to your posts.

great stuff - keep the suggestions coming!

Agent RORO reminded me that we were looking at a feature in the classifieds to allow the OP to moderate their own thread. That way they can remove bumps, negative comments etc. They will not be able to edit other users' posts, only remove them.

We are working on this.

Postby Rooki3 » December 5th, 2009, 9:13 am

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:classifieds needs a form to be filled before the info is posted to become a thread as i seen other forums have it.

For example, if you were to post a FS thread, you'd have to full out certain fields like name, contact, item for sale and description of it

Kinda getting fedup of the posts where men put something and u PM and have to wait wait wait bcuz they put no contact

This is a really good suggestion..................this will minimize the amount of incomplete FS posts thaty lacks basic info.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 5th, 2009, 9:15 am

well done Duane!
congrats on the 10 years of local automotive innovation!!

great ideas put forward for 3.0, cheers man.

-n

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 5th, 2009, 12:19 pm

Agent RORO reminded me that we were looking at a feature in the classifieds to allow the OP to moderate their own thread. That way they can remove bumps, negative comments etc. They will not be able to edit other users' posts, only remove them.

We are working on this.

sounds nice....i like this idea.........but it reminds me of a car that was being sold here that rolled a few times and was then repaired........if it was not for the posts of users in the thread.....i dont think the owner would have said anything........so sometimes those posts that the poster is removing may actually be helpful to the public..........

i guess the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence :lol:

Postby RASC » December 5th, 2009, 12:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, Political Forum???

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 5th, 2009, 12:47 pm

Congrats Duane!

Safety & Security Forum
1. Bulletins/Flashes (Real-time)
2. S&S Guidelines and Procedures
3. Auto Theft (BOLOs)
4. Fire Prevention, Protection and Response
5. Theft Prevention, Protection and Response
6. Traffic Alerts/Advisories, Detours
7. T&T Motor Vehicles & Road Traffic Act, Ch.48:50
8. Laws of T & T: Ch.**.**
9. Incidents - Kidnapping, Abduction
10. All other relevant material.

Postby Damien » December 5th, 2009, 1:08 pm

RASC wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, Political Forum???

Postby Damien » December 5th, 2009, 1:09 pm

no official threads to :|

Postby RASC » December 5th, 2009, 1:24 pm

Damien wrote:
RASC wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, Political Forum???

No joke seriously.
It was great during the last general election. Kept ALOT of clutter off the 'ole talk section.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2009, 2:14 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:

We are working on this.

sounds nice....i like this idea.........but it reminds me of a car that was being sold here that rolled a few times and was then repaired........if it was not for the posts of users in the thread.....i dont think the owner would have said anything........so sometimes those posts that the poster is removing may actually be helpful to the public..........

true - but its pointless providing a service for ppl to sell their items when 90% of the comments do not help the sale. Its one or the other.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 5th, 2009, 4:58 pm

pioneer wrote:Make pioneer a mod again.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 5th, 2009, 10:29 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:

We are working on this.

kinda like a certain E7 for sale on the forum, vehicle crashed about 3 times and flip already too...

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2009, 1:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:true - but its pointless providing a service for ppl to sell their items when 90% of the comments do not help the sale. Its one or the other.

if 90% of the comments are negative, wouldnt that reflect on the seller & the quality of their goods? I mean we also want users to receive an overall unbiased opinion-what if a seller selling some goods that inferior and buyers complain but he only keeping the few posts that are in his favour? if sellers confident about their products they wont have to hide anything-of course im assuming only buyers are commenting on the item they themselves bought

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2009, 9:04 am

redmanjp wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:true - but its pointless providing a service for ppl to sell their items when 90% of the comments do not help the sale. Its one or the other.

if 90% of the comments are negative, wouldnt that reflect on the seller & the quality of their goods? I mean we also want users to receive an overall unbiased opinion-what if a seller selling some goods that inferior and buyers complain but he only keeping the few posts that are in his favour? if sellers confident about their products they wont have to hide anything-of course im assuming only buyers are commenting on the item they themselves bought

How can WE know who actually bought the product in question?

unfortunately, just like the newspaper classifieds, we cannot get involved in the details of a transaction between buyer and seller. We can only offer advertising space.

TriniTuner Co. Ltd. can get tied up in serious legal implications if we get involved in sales and allow negative comments of businesses or individuals.

Unlike Amazon or Ebay, we do not make on each sale and so the process is out of our hands. We cannot take that kind of risk for free and we want to keep the classifieds free for users.

So while we can offer a place for ppl to advertise, search for stuff, meet and find what you are looking for for free - you are just going to have to figure out the best ppl to buy from on your own.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 6th, 2009, 10:25 am

equipped2ripp wrote:
cacasplat3 wrote:

We are working on this.

kinda like a certain E7 for sale on the forum, vehicle crashed about 3 times and honda hoed already too...

fixed

see above, no one will have to re-register since we will be using the same forum database we have now and the "glitch" will be fixed.
We will be cracking down on multiple accounts even more!

bess

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » December 6th, 2009, 12:56 pm

1. Tuner directory – user populated parts places and shops with referrals and personalized contacts (e.g. Fred Tyre Shop - ask for Fred, tell him Andy sent you)

^ Can we include one for reputable taxi services with ctc info, cost service areas etc? or maybe a part of powersellers? seeing as most of us are drunkards and with the breathalysers coming soon we need this kind of info and reviews from users as well

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2009, 1:20 pm

^ ideally the directory can have anything that would be useful to other users.

it should work well once users dont abuse the service trying to use it for free advertising.

QG

Postby QG » December 6th, 2009, 1:28 pm

this is great, i would like to see an improvement in the search bar area. :D .

and keep up the good work tuners

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2009, 1:29 pm

^ yes the search will be functional for the entire site and with more comprehensive search results

QG

Postby QG » December 6th, 2009, 1:40 pm

great! that's good news