My Car Wont Go past 150km\h -.-

XMasterX17

My Car Wont Go past 150km\h -.-

Postby XMasterX17 » October 6th, 2008, 1:35 pm

yea, i have a foreign used corolla altis.. has 23,000km on it.. 1.6 engine, no

other mods.. i drive with the overdrive [o\d] on and the ect pwr button on..

when i hit 150, i try lettin go slightly and mashin down again, still nothin..

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » October 6th, 2008, 1:40 pm

sounds like you have a problem

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 6th, 2008, 7:04 pm

is there a speed cut on the car ?

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 6th, 2008, 7:44 pm

Midnight_Demon,

speed cut???

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 6th, 2008, 7:47 pm

safe mode?

when yuh turn the ignition key before starting the car ...does the check engine light come on and then go off when yuh start the car ?

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 6th, 2008, 7:49 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:safe mode?

when yuh turn the ignition key before starting the car ...does the check engine light come on and then go off when yuh start the car ?

dunno, ill look properly in the morning

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 7th, 2008, 12:30 am

questions:

What size rims you running on your car and what type is it?
when last you changed oil, oil filter, spark plugs and air filter?
when last you did an EFI service?
what fuel do you use and where do you go?
what is your tyre pressure on all four corners?
how much people/weight did your car have at the time or currently has.
What size engine you have?

what ignorant ignis mentioned is also valid etc...eg. your engine sensors.

cause that 150 seems 30kmph off what some members getting on theirs.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 7th, 2008, 9:05 am

it good - yuh go live longer

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 7th, 2008, 4:56 pm

x2floor wrote:questions:

What size rims you running on your car and what type is it?
when last you changed oil, oil filter, spark plugs and air filter?
when last you did an EFI service?
what fuel do you use and where do you go?
what is your tyre pressure on all four corners?
how much people/weight did your car have at the time or currently has.
What size engine you have?

what ignorant ignis mentioned is also valid etc...eg. your engine sensors.

cause that 150 seems 30kmph off what some members getting on theirs.

18" rims, low profile tyres
recently
recently
premium
me alone, but i have 2 12" rfs in de trunk
1.6 engine

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 7th, 2008, 5:30 pm

^^^well.....

1) Corolla does have a history of speedometers being off a bit
2) the heavier rims slow down your car
3) you need to re-service that car
4) that music adds weight
5) you had full tank of gas?
6) you a heavy fella?
7) your floor mat or mats prolly obstructing the accelerator pedal so you prolly thinking its fully depressed.

if all above doh apply to you then I out of ideas.

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 7th, 2008, 5:47 pm

x2floor wrote:^^^well.....

1) Corolla does have a history of speedometers being off a bit
2) the heavier rims slow down your car
3) you need to re-service that car
4) that music adds weight
5) you had full tank of gas?
6) you a heavy fella?
7) your floor mat or mats prolly obstructing the accelerator pedal so you prolly thinking its fully depressed.

if all above doh apply to you then I out of ideas.

6) you a heavy fella?
lol 167 pounds

wickedestman

Re: My Car Wont Go past 150km\h -.-

Postby wickedestman » October 7th, 2008, 7:39 pm

XMasterX17 wrote:yea, i have a foreign used corolla altis.. has 23,000km on it..

highly doubt it... SDM?

:lol: jus troubling you... but seriously thats odd, as said before.. the speed cut usually kicks een at 180... but you did say you have 18"s and two rf in the back..

srsly get that checked out.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 7th, 2008, 9:55 pm

You're suffering from budget-car-itis. :|

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 8th, 2008, 11:24 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:it good - yuh go live longer

that doh matter the new thing in trindad is to jump across the medium and see how much cars you could take out on the other side.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 8th, 2008, 11:30 am

that doh matter the new thing in trindad is to jump across the medium and see how much cars you could take out on the other side.

:lol: :lol: :shock: :evil:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 8th, 2008, 11:49 am

Don't forget to pull in front oncoming vehicles to indicate you want to change direction...nevermind the speed they're coming at. :|

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 8th, 2008, 5:49 pm

yea fellas, i hit 185km when i mash down with the o\d off

Postby 3stagevtec » October 8th, 2008, 6:57 pm

that's kinda odd.. it seems like there is an electronic limiter associated with the overdrive..

did you try it with the o/d on and off at the same time? to rule out other factors...

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » October 8th, 2008, 8:46 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:it good - yuh go live longer

agreed....

XMasterX17

Postby XMasterX17 » October 8th, 2008, 9:09 pm

3stagevtec wrote:that's kinda odd.. it seems like there is an electronic limiter associated with the overdrive..

did you try it with the o/d on and off at the same time? to rule out other factors...

yea i did, it felt like gears were changing while i was doin it, when it was on it stayed at that speed.. didnt accelerate

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 8th, 2008, 9:17 pm

thats cuz the overdrive does not allow the transmissiong to go into the final gear.
i.e. if is a 5 speed tranny and overdrive is on it will stay in 4th gear alone. take it off and it will go into the 5th gear

Postby 3stagevtec » October 8th, 2008, 10:58 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:thats cuz the overdrive does not allow the transmissiong to go into the final gear.
i.e. if is a 5 speed tranny and overdrive is on it will stay in 4th gear alone. take it off and it will go into the 5th gear

amm, isn't overdrive the final gear?? so if it's on, you should have access to all gears...

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 9th, 2008, 12:23 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:thats cuz the overdrive does not allow the transmissiong to go into the final gear.

amm, isn't overdrive the final gear?? so if it's on, you should have access to all gears...

my bad ... if its on u get final gear when it off u dont

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 9th, 2008, 12:53 pm

he has a Toyota Corolla Altis NZE121 chassis which comes with a 3ZZ-FE engine and 4-speed ECT-i automatic tranny?

question: The 3rd gear in the automatic tranny was designed to take the car at top speed also right? Hence the overdrive is 4th gear to allow the rev counter to drop to about 4k rpms to save fuel but still keeping the speed. If the Corolla remains in 3rd gear running past 5k rpms it can damage the engine hence the O/D in that instance right?

I see similar set-ups in Nissan Almera, Mazda 323 and Hyundai Elantra to name a few.

Turbo

Postby Turbo » October 10th, 2008, 8:35 am

:? yuh hadda install ah VTEC solenoid :|