How many tuners here does use.....

Postby gt4tified » June 19th, 2008, 3:26 am

A wideband AFR device or have one of they own? Especially the tuners on boost? Ah doing a lil research.

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2008, 8:49 am

*raises hand* I do.

scientist

Postby scientist » June 19th, 2008, 10:17 am

Yes i use widebands....

Postby gt4tified » June 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm

Nice, what makes/models do you use and do you datalog or just run it standalone?

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2008, 9:09 pm

AEM UEGO for me courtesy Teknet. Works great after about 7 months or around there...no sensor accuracy loss, i compared it two days ago with a new Innovate LM1 on the tailpipe...
Haven't tried datalogging from it yet though...i'd prefer get my hands on some more capable tuning epupiment first, maybe the AEM EMS :)

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 19th, 2008, 9:18 pm

Akash, dont forget meh eh :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

JWT

Postby JWT » June 19th, 2008, 9:23 pm

you should have

an aem uego wideband
oil pressure
boost

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2008, 9:51 pm

^water temp also is useful. :)

VexXx Dogg, tmrw morning i heading up in the garage, so i'll get the stuff for you 8)

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 19th, 2008, 10:03 pm

wooohooo :twisted: :twisted:

scientist

Postby scientist » June 19th, 2008, 11:45 pm

Innovate LC-1
Zietronix ZT2

Log it through E-manage (E-manage alpha tools) and E-manage ultimate

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2008, 1:27 am

Okay, but what is the sense that a unit can't log by itself. Doesn't it just put you into more expense to get an emanage etc. That is, if you are just doing slight mods like fuel and air tuning? Again, I'm just asking to collect some opinions/data.

Razkal....I don't think the UEGO by itself is capable of datalogging....can you confirm?

W2J

Postby W2J » June 20th, 2008, 9:52 am

gt4tified wrote:Okay, but what is the sense that a unit can't log by itself. Doesn't it just put you into more expense to get an emanage etc. That is, if you are just doing slight mods like fuel and air tuning? Again, I'm just asking to collect some opinions/data.

Razkal....I don't think the UEGO by itself is capable of datalogging....can you confirm?

AEM Gauge-Type Wideband UEGO has serial data stream included for output of AFR (RS 232)you can use Hyper terminal for this. Because it has controller built in it will allow you to auto tune or log via the user programmable 0-5v volt output which will work on any engine management system.

Gerrard

btw I always have instock

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 20th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Yep AEM FTMFW!!!

Postby Razkal » June 20th, 2008, 2:45 pm

^8) no complaints with mine, Gerrard, i might ahdda talk with you to find out more about that RS232 thing, sounds like i might want it :lol:

W2J

Postby W2J » June 20th, 2008, 3:05 pm

Razkal wrote:^8) no complaints with mine, Gerrard, i might ahdda talk with you to find out more about that RS232 thing, sounds like i might want it :lol:

Akesh real real simple I suppose to be charging for thing like this eh..

[img][img]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/AEM%20Serial.JPG[/img][/img]

scientist

Postby scientist » June 20th, 2008, 5:07 pm

gt4tified wrote:Okay, but what is the sense that a unit can't log by itself. Doesn't it just put you into more expense to get an emanage etc. That is, if you are just doing slight mods like fuel and air tuning? Again, I'm just asking to collect some opinions/data.

Both those widebands come with logging suits, But to easier facilitate logging against the other data that i usually use, I just log it through the E-manage. This also reduces the amount of connectors going to my laptop, and when the laptop is not connected, the E-manage can still log wideband and other engine parameters triggered from the remote switch. This helps me with map tracing.

Also since the Innovate requires an extra rpm pickup to plot AFR against RPM, doing it through the E-Manage simplifies this.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 20th, 2008, 5:23 pm

Try live calibrating a 450-500lbft able vehicle in 3rd or 4th as the speedo rapidly hits right and wonder at what load the det was last coming from and you would understand the importance of datalogging. A good reason to invest in at least an LMA aux box.
Consider tailpipe AFRs to be a "ball park" measure of combustion λ.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 20th, 2008, 7:37 pm

Try live calibrating a 450-500lbft able vehicle in 3rd or 4th as the speedo rapidly hits right and wonder at what load the det was last coming from and you would understand the importance of datalogging. A good reason to invest in at least an LMA aux box.

The AEM does loggging all you need is a laptop and hyperterminal

Postby gt4tified » June 21st, 2008, 12:03 am

Thanks for all the replies guys. I'm getting closer to the information I need. What about affordability? Do you think the LM-1 and AEM are "bang for the buck", do you think such a device could be had cheaper or are you of the opinion that spending circa $2500 on saving your engine in any circumstance is worth it? :wink:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » June 21st, 2008, 9:43 am

W2J wrote:

The AEM does loggging all you need is a laptop and hyperterminal

Which AEM UHEGO controller/reader does logging? Thisone? 0-5v or other configuable output can be used by a data logger or engine PCM as does PLX, Innovate, Autometer and VEMS units. But I see no where in the spec sheet about their reader or controller that it logs data. You would need to pass the linear signal to an addtional channel on aftermarket PCM software to correlate with engine load and speed.
The Innovate LM-1or 2 can meaure and store AFR data and if a LMA-2 or more expensive LMA-3 is purchased you can log second by second data then download and analize via supplied software (logworks) for PC.
PLX devicesare another company that supplies affordable AFR/datalogging products for the enthusiast.
However you can use the output from most UHEGO controllers/ and some readers into exsisting aftermarket PCM interface and log the data from there.

scientist

Postby scientist » June 21st, 2008, 9:54 pm

anyone every consider the Zietronix Zt2 wideband?

Since it already has built in RPM, Boost, EGT pickup in the device. All you need is to connect those sensors.

Postby gt4tified » June 21st, 2008, 10:10 pm

thegitman,

I think he Gerry was talking about the AEM EMS. But all this data is really adding to what I'm going to present, so any additional info is really welcome. Anyone running the PLX or Zietronix(not sure of spelling)?

scientist

Postby scientist » June 21st, 2008, 11:38 pm

I've had some experience with the Zeitronix. Plan on getting one for my car as soon as i'm done building the engine