What RWD platform ?

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2008, 11:30 am

So in contemplating a new project for the future.... I want to go RWD again.... but maybe a japanese car this time.

I've had 2 main RWD cars in the past, a V8 Cougar and a Trans Am. They were both fun to drive, but bulky and hard to toss about.

I am looking for something smaller, lighter, more compact. Possibly a project car to play around with drifting and drag and looking for recommendations.

I have a few cars bouncing around in my head and want opinions or suggestions:

3rd Generation RX7
Box Lancer
S2000 (kind high price tho.... :evil: )
Older model BMW 3 or 5 series (Fun !)

Postby Razkal » February 8th, 2008, 11:38 am

Wanna buy my car? :mrgreen:
1st gen gsl-se piston powered :(

seriously, if you wanna make it a project car, i'd stay away from those more expensive jap cars, unless your budget an permit it...
something like an S13/14, 1st gen/2nd gen rx7s, box lancer is way overdone imo...nothing fun about doing something EVERYONE after grand bazaar has done :lol:
those older model bmw 3series are gorgeous!, if u can get a 2dr version better yet! what about a MKIII supra?

lotsa options...i guess u can narrow it down further by better knowng exactly what u wanna build it for...
dont get the first gen if u wanna try drifting. dont. :?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 8th, 2008, 11:51 am

:D

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » February 8th, 2008, 11:54 am

Yeo

Postby Yeo » February 8th, 2008, 12:00 pm

In trini, yuh will ketch arse wit de rotary. (depending on budget, but I'm thinking, you'll want the most bang for yuh buck)

Personally, Box Lancer, body parts easily sourced or made. You have a choice of transplants that will work in it. Recaros fit nicely into them etc.
and insurance will be cheap on it vs a 3rd gen 7 or S2000.

Postby Maserati » February 8th, 2008, 12:06 pm

true about the box lancer..always have a few popping up in the auto parts forums to sell.

Postby Maserati » February 8th, 2008, 12:07 pm

Yeo, BTW was the box lancer ever sold in N.America?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » February 8th, 2008, 12:29 pm

Nope.... if it was, I'd have bout 3 by now, EX, GL, GSR.

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2008, 12:38 pm

Well I am sure the lancer would be a winner on price of entry as will the old model bimmers. As far as what I want... somewhat general purpose, just like my civic. I would want something that I can toss around and have some drifting fun as well as be competitive in a dex or circuit if we ever have a place to circuit again. Weekend car for beach runs and so on.

I still have lots of work to finish the civic, but I want to have another platform in mind when I make that move... and the Elise shell is just too damn pricey to consider... :lol:

Surprised no one pushing the S13/14's :!:

Dragsta, I considered a pickup, but there just isn't enough rear weight for me... I am a drag man and the car MUST be able to hook on a launch or it won't be as much fun :mrgreen:

Postby Maserati » February 8th, 2008, 12:40 pm

S13/14's hard to get and the prices are a bit steep from what I've heard

no problems with a pick up man just throw a couple bag ah readymix cement and weight problem solved :lol:

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2008, 12:40 pm

Surprised no one pushing the S13/14's

find ppl selling them nah, thats the hard part, parts easy

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2008, 12:44 pm

well the silvia bodys are very trendy now and I not looking to jump on a bandwagon per se.... just to have some fun.

Also I like to see cars that are 'unexpected'.... which is why the BMW made it to the list.

As far as the MKIII... nah... my bro in law has 2 of them and while they can be made to be impressive...I don't like the body style for me...

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » February 8th, 2008, 2:40 pm

How about this, it's along the lines of my project,

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 8th, 2008, 2:47 pm

yuh wah ah kingswood to buy?

there are some nice 2door bluebirds floating around.......

like Yeo said, try to stay away from rotaries........bat in ah wheelchair, so he cyah help yuh :lol:

there is a MKIV supra on the naprima mayaro road.......think its for sale....white.
toyota altezza?

stay away from box lancers.......parts are quite expensive now due to the high demand for the cars......

Postby X2 » February 8th, 2008, 2:51 pm

actually the altezza could make it to the list yes... it's a looker and has potential in the engine bay... just need to put it on a diet....

Nick29

Postby Nick29 » February 8th, 2008, 3:28 pm

try that transplant in an alteza.2jz powa

Sanctifier

Re: What RWD platform ?

Postby Sanctifier » February 8th, 2008, 3:38 pm

X2 wrote:So in contemplating a new project for the future.... I want to go RWD again.... but maybe a japanese car this time.

... something smaller, lighter, more compact. Possibly a project car to play around with drifting and drag and looking for recommendations.

I have a few cars bouncing around in my head and want opinions or suggestions:

3rd Generation RX7
Box Lancer...

Dont know your budget. If it MUST be JDM then one of your two choices with an engine swap.

If you thinkin' outside the box...
... something smaller, lighter, more compact... to play around with drifting and drag...
What about a US kit car like a Cobra or Countach replica etc.?
Meets all your criteria and more important... Never been done here before!
More expensive than average project but ultra competitive in drags, drifting and 'dex.
Ultra reliable with alloy small-block V8 in it... and ALL parts, build info etc. available.

My $0.02¢

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » February 8th, 2008, 3:54 pm

Would you believe, I just checked out some kit cars online!

sppooooooky

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 8th, 2008, 4:18 pm

try the mk3 supras.

I know someone who is selling theirs, its original twin turbo 1g engine in top condition, with removable top. Its auto but i know a place in bamboo with the full manual conversion setup(gearbox etc) for 3000. I think he wanted 40K for the car or less, PM me and i'll check him and get the final price if you want.

I had one and i was able to spin it out easy when i wanted but by the time i wanted to drift, my stock clutch was pretty much dead lol.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » February 8th, 2008, 4:26 pm

if you're considering a lancer..let me know..

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » February 8th, 2008, 5:38 pm

altezza...IMHO
I'd go for sumthin a lil different from the norm 510 SR20, or box lancer SR20. Actually a KE70 with a 3sgte or a charmant with a 4AGZE (but charmant body parts like gold)

now a project i WILL do in the future is an old mkii with a 1UZ v8 or 1JZ 0X

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 8th, 2008, 7:20 pm

to add to what Sanctifier was saying.....and if u want to stick to a honda engine(which i guess u will know quite well) try the Ariel Atom.
its a B18 i think......u can get a superchaged version....its RWD......but its not exactly a car to carry the family in :lol:
there are used ones on their website......search it......

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » February 8th, 2008, 9:50 pm

300zx

tourniquet

Re: What RWD platform ?

Postby tourniquet » February 8th, 2008, 10:02 pm

X2 wrote:S2000 (kind high price tho.... :evil: )
Older model BMW 3 or 5 series (Fun !)
solution: E30/ E36 with a F22C :mrgreen: 8-)

Postby SR » February 8th, 2008, 11:53 pm

Dragsta wrote:Image

:D

roflmao

there will be one on the streets soon

already built for drag dex and drift

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 9th, 2008, 6:52 am

^^^ what rims are those? Loving them.

RWD with overall capability i.e. drift, drag, dex and the occasional beach lime is...

<<<< Can't get better IMO, only thing is everyone from the old man working taxi to the fella down the road who does do burn-outs by the gas-station have one.

Yes, I'm a Nissan whore.

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » February 9th, 2008, 12:11 pm

workmeister rims i believe...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 9th, 2008, 6:36 pm

X2 saw a PAY s13 for sale - 180sx model ca18det 5fwd, 744-7311

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 9th, 2008, 7:55 pm

Tsuchiya wrote:workmeister rims i believe...

nah.....work emotion.......meister is the ones they use a lot in drifting....the thick 5 spoke 2 or 3 piece........

the emotion a lot better looking IMO though :twisted:

X2 pic of the ariel atom......
8-)

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 9th, 2008, 11:41 pm

^ That sheit looking scarey to drift in.