Paddle-shifting Manual vs Shifter and clutch

Postby MG Man » October 4th, 2007, 3:42 pm

I don;t want to get this lost in that other thread, so here goes.....

paddle-shifting manual boxes shift gears faster than any human ever could....brilliant.....they even programmed to blip throttle an thing...whoopie........

THing is, unless you on a track with your Semiauto F430, lined up to your buddy manual F430, where u gonna really have a chance to show the incremental gain?

In my opinion, humble as it is, I like conventional manuals because of the joy / thrill of shifting gears, double declutch down shifts etc......after I win the lotto on Saturday, my Ferrari will have a stick shift with a shiny gate, not paddles behind the steering wheel........I mean, whats the point if u cannot risk mis-shifting and blowing up your million dollar engine? :twisted:

Postby honda hoe » October 4th, 2007, 3:45 pm

buh ferrari doh have vtec :?

Postby MG Man » October 5th, 2007, 11:05 am

if by that you mean variable valve timing, er.....everybody have that

Postby honda hoe » October 5th, 2007, 1:50 pm

no... i mean "vtec" :lol:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 5th, 2007, 5:26 pm

Yup MG manual changes sweet but what about the ½ sec improvement in Solodex time?

Postby MG Man » October 5th, 2007, 9:29 pm

^^^^shifting is only one dynamic.....assuming you and the other guy equally skilled and both F430s mechanically identical, then yeah, but in the real world, there are other variables that will affect the outcome....

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 6th, 2007, 3:13 pm

I have to agree with MG Man on this one.
Paddle shifters are boring.
And before anyone asks if I have ever driven anything with paddle shifters, the answer is yes.
One of my current rides has a sequential manual gearbox with paddle shifters.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » October 6th, 2007, 3:19 pm

Well then it boils down to preference right?

Postby X2 » October 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm

Well you shouldn't really try to compare paddle shifters on a standard tiptronic transmission to manual. Very few cars on the market shift worth a damn with paddle shifters. For instance, the new lancer comes with 'paddle shifters' couldn't possibly compare to a high end transmission like the ferrari, porsche tiptronic or even the vw DSG box.

Under normal circumstances, the standard manual box is more 'maneuverable' in non race conditions... but get into aggressive driving and the split second shifting will give you that TINY edge versus even the most consistent driver.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 6th, 2007, 4:06 pm

^ ^ ^ Yup I agree. Boring, maybe... but efficient and quicker.
We'll know for sure when the first Evo X hits a local Solodex track.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » October 6th, 2007, 6:06 pm

^^lol

Zorak

Postby Zorak » October 6th, 2007, 6:53 pm

lemme see, paddle shifters behind the steering wouldn't do for me cuz i never have both hands on the wheel :mrgreen:

and to be honest, a manual is a bzillion times more fun to drive than anything else imo.
btw, i got a tiptronic familia, but had a manual almera before.....changing gears was jus alot of fun!

never actually drove a car with paddle shifters though

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 6th, 2007, 7:10 pm

Zorak wrote:never actually drove a car with paddle shifters though

Hold a dinner plate like a steering wheel with hands positioned at 3 o'clock and 9 o'clock. Grip the plate between your thumbs and index fingers and use the remaining fingers to tap the back of the plate.

Now use your vocal cords to simulate engine sounds, synchronizing the gear changes with the tapping of your fingers behind the plate. The right tap of fingers on the plate would upshift and the left tap of fingers on the plate would downshift. Remember which is which, we don't want you damaging the engine and transmission by over-revving it.

That's the novelty of these paddle shifting transmissions.

I bought a conventional manual transmission car some months back over one that was equipped with one of those shift-tronic automatic transmissions. The car they had to test drive at the firm was the shift-tronic equipped one and all the salesman was telling me during the drive was about the sporty transmission. At the end of the drive, I told the man if I going to spend this kind of money, then give me what I want and bring down a manual transmission car.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » October 6th, 2007, 10:44 pm

There are true automatics that will runs rings around other sporty manuals etc., but that is no enticement for me to run out and get one (even if I had the $$). Same deal with paddle shifting anything, no matter how much faster they are than their manual counter parts (usually only real high end stuff). I either want to change gears or I don't want to change gears - I really don't have time for an in between stage. When I outgrow the desire for a manual (heaven forbid), it is straight to auto for me thank you.

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » October 11th, 2007, 9:57 pm

give me a clutch pedel an a stick shift any day :mrgreen:

lowlife

Postby lowlife » November 2nd, 2007, 11:45 am

honda hoe wrote:buh ferrari doh have vtec :?

^^ :gay:

Tsuchiya

Re: Paddle-shifting Manual vs Shifter and clutch

Postby Tsuchiya » November 2nd, 2007, 1:18 pm

MG Man wrote:I don;t want to get this lost in that other thread, so here goes.....

paddle-shifting manual boxes shift gears faster than any human ever could....brilliant.....they even programmed to blip throttle an thing...whoopie........

THing is, unless you on a track with your Semiauto F430, lined up to your buddy manual F430, where u gonna really have a chance to show the incremental gain?

In my opinion, humble as it is, I like conventional manuals because of the joy / thrill of shifting gears, double declutch down shifts etc......after I win the lotto on Saturday, my Ferrari will have a stick shift with a shiny gate, not paddles behind the steering wheel........I mean, whats the point if u cannot risk mis-shifting and blowing up your million dollar engine? :twisted:

i agree with you here... also try kick starting a car with a bad battery with a paddle shifted g/box :lol:
plus a proper clutch pedal comes in handy when you're drifting

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 2nd, 2007, 3:18 pm

Tsuchiya, good point!

Postby noshownogo » November 7th, 2007, 3:46 pm

I want to add that certain cars are almost impossible to drive as quickly as possible with a manual box because so many of these super cars require your focus on steering input and the blur which is the road ahead hence the use of these new f1 style transmissions.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 12th, 2007, 11:14 am

No stinkin paddles, I want to play with the box myself.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 12th, 2007, 6:34 pm

zodiaque wrote:No stinkin paddles, I want to play with the box myself.

YEAH RIIIGHT!... :lol:

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » November 12th, 2007, 8:32 pm

with paddle shifters yuh cyar drive sitting rock back with the gangsta lean :lol:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » November 12th, 2007, 9:57 pm

y not?

Postby Maserati » November 12th, 2007, 11:11 pm

^how u supposed to shift then if u all slouched back in ur seat and the paddles behind the steering wheel?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 13th, 2007, 4:42 am

Maserati wrote:^how u supposed to shift then if u all slouched back in ur seat and the paddles behind the steering wheel?

If you could reach the indicator and windshield wiper control stalks with your fingers, then you could reach the paddles.

But that gangsta seating position is not a safe one in the event that you get into an accident.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » November 13th, 2007, 5:38 am

So you gonna be shuifting ALLLL the time?I does cruz..dunno bout allyuh :lol:

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » November 13th, 2007, 7:52 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Maserati wrote:^how u supposed to shift then if u all slouched back in ur seat and the paddles behind the steering wheel?

If you could reach the indicator and windshield wiper control stalks with your fingers, then you could reach the paddles.

But that gangsta seating position is not a safe one in the event that you get into an accident.

But if you do get damaged in an accident you got it looking cool :lol:

lowlife

Postby lowlife » November 13th, 2007, 10:02 am

^^^ :lol:

sirbill

Postby sirbill » November 15th, 2007, 8:37 am

The nex thing is - do the paddles follow the steering wheel around or are they fixed relative to the steering? In which case, if they are fixed, then finding them quickly when you realise you in the wrong gear for the task at hand could be tricky no?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » November 16th, 2007, 6:19 am

I wuold think they rotate with the wheel..wouldn't make sense if it didn't to me, from both safety and comfort perpectives