rollcage in 10-12 sec street cars **now effective 2008**

ok do you think the 10-12sec street cars should have rollcage (skyline, subaru, evo, ect)

yes
49%
no
51%

Total votes: 63

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:49 pm

HUTRINI wrote:NarendZORCE, are you positive-that you also heard 12 and under requires ROLL CAGE...(not ROLL BAR) :?: :?: :?:

Are you sure you yourself didn't misquote...just asking :idea:

Because what I stated comes straight from the FIA :|

TTASA kept saying full roll cage. And I was actually taking written notes last night.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 3:52 pm

I think they should simply follow FIA or NHRA rules.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 23rd, 2007, 4:08 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:In addition to which W2J's car is front wheel drive which is less likely to spin, get sideways and flip on a 1/4 mile....

?????

correct narrend...

W2J would you be willing to go with a roll bar or 1/2 cage?

NO.

Flick TTASA mudda crunt and they bogus rules. And for all u monkeys that going out there to race and put on a show for Roger Boynes and his TTASA VVIP good for you and TTASA politcal show.

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 4:16 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:I think they should simply follow FIA or NHRA rules.

EXACTLY...stop tailoring rules to suit Trinidad and Tobago :idea:
You want to be recognised internationally? Fine then use International rules FULL STOP :!:
This is leading to too much confusion and misunderstandings...
Just follow the FIA guide and call it a day...

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » October 23rd, 2007, 4:17 pm

W2J wrote:
NarendZORCE wrote:In addition to which W2J's car is front wheel drive which is less likely to spin, get sideways and flip on a 1/4 mile....

?????

correct narrend...

W2J would you be willing to go with a roll bar or 1/2 cage?

NO.

Flick TTASA mudda crunt and they bogus rules. And for all u monkeys that going out there to race and put on a show for Roger Boynes and his TTASA VVIP good for you and TTASA politcal show.

i'm loving your stance on this. 8-)

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 4:17 pm

Krazy Kustoms can do roll cages with FIA-spec or better material. I also heard that Bert, who used to work there is now on his own.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 4:18 pm

I'm for safety eh, not taking any political sides on this one.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 23rd, 2007, 5:14 pm

OK

Just got off the phone with Jameer. The roll cage rules are as FIA specifies and to take effect in 2008. For now we have a grace period based on the difficulty and costs involved in getting this done.

Gerard, Yancy, come thru!

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » October 23rd, 2007, 6:26 pm

No one has bothered to raise the point that in the event of an accident on the street, a role cage could potentially increase the likelihood of trauma to the head since no one is wearing a helmet.

Let's say races happen twice a month...just for argument sake. That means 2 days out of 31. Thus you have to raise the question, why should owners modify their daily driver and jeopardize them self and family members when the car will be used on the street 93% of the time or more. In such a case, which applies to most daily drivers/weekend racers, it's statistically more likely that an accident would happen on the street than the track. :idea:

My $0.02 ---> cages for cars 10.99 and faster.
Last edited by R. Mutt on October 23rd, 2007, 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 23rd, 2007, 6:38 pm

Some vehicles now with minor upgrades and proper tuning do 12s easily and can still be used as a safe daily driven street car, adding a rollcage now means the owner can no longer use it as a daily driver without a helmet, example a owner of a Ferrari or Porsche after waiting so long to get their hand on the vehicle they decide I want to run the thing all out and he decides to go to the track and is refused because they dont have a rollcage and their car is capable of doing more that 13s, this rule should be made depending on the set up of your vehicle if it is gutted rollcage, but one question, What happens to someone that can only afford to have one car and it is their baby and it is used as a daily driver, but has equipped it with some serious power because he loves the sport and can do 11s & 12s? :?

Postby X_Factor » October 23rd, 2007, 6:54 pm

^^ they'll say it have reform or d cross or where ever else they try to street race

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » October 23rd, 2007, 7:37 pm

HUTRINI, & (honda crew) HONDAS ARE SLOW, LIGHT , WANNABE RACE CARS
stop try match it up with GTR's

Skyline GTR 700 h.p. 10 sec
Civic B18 swap 500 h.p. 9 sec
:roll: :roll: plz wake up from that dream

Anyways
I realize this organization don't consider people with no money
Why u think everyone racing sr20's , rb's ,b16 and 20 valve engines is cause its reasonable
with everything on the rise (food,health, clothing ,ect) where people gettin money and the time to put in role cages, pay 3 something to reg. to race then put gas to race and all that
Role cage is necessary for maybe 10sec cars but 12secs?? i think should be given more time , maybe it can be a gold to set for 2009

ps (honda crew HYMC :lol: )

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 23rd, 2007, 7:45 pm

W2J wrote:Lets forget cars like ferrari, lamborghini and porsche a man who buy a Evo 9 Mr which should be a 12 second car instock trim from the showroom should he install a role cage in it aswell to race ? I waiting to see the outcome sunday with Yancy, Juman and them let see who come with role cage and who don't and get to race.

Yuh hadda get connections like shamu, :lol: chromoly in stock. Saftey switches in stock by Friday. :lol:

ziig

Postby ziig » October 23rd, 2007, 8:26 pm

as i posted in a different thread...if you desiogn your cage to be right next to your head...you deserve to hit it.....a cage can be designed in to have more than enough clearance for you head.......
point to note:
why do you think they pad the dash?> its for your head....the steeering is soft? for your head? head rest? for your head...all things that are there for astetics...but can damage your head.....

BUT the one thing for safety you worried about your poor head...LOL

if you use high desity foam it is more protection for you head on a cage than the cheap low density.....which goes for a $1-$2
the better one is about $10 a roll. but will protect great.....

W2J

Postby W2J » October 23rd, 2007, 9:00 pm

Porn Star wrote:
W2J wrote:Lets forget cars like ferrari, lamborghini and porsche a man who buy a Evo 9 Mr which should be a 12 second car instock trim from the showroom should he install a role cage in it aswell to race ? I waiting to see the outcome sunday with Yancy, Juman and them let see who come with role cage and who don't and get to race.

Yuh hadda get connections like shamu, :lol: chromoly in stock. Saftey switches in stock by Friday. :lol:

yeah bro like I rubbing shoulders with the wrong indians :D is best I sell my soul and start kissing the geriatric bell belly smart men arse.

ziig

Postby ziig » October 23rd, 2007, 9:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:in terms of safety what exactly does a roll cage do for a 10-12 sec. car thats basically designed to go in a straight line?...
then its best u say all cars in dex/drifting should have a cage also? arnt they more likely to flip?

IMO, and from my experience...............NO. to roll, would require lateral traction. even when a wheel looses its firm grip during a turn, the moment isnt carried into body roll, but understeer (inability to turn), which to stay competitive, most dexers would back off to regain traction. If for some reason you stay on the throttle, you slide more out of the course, or apply throtle unevenly, fishtail. i have mainly FWD experience.

OK a low CG car will be more likely to spin out rather than flip...this is proven however, this calculation is done with no other factors involved, such as wind direction or other obsticles that will change its course...IE another car or wall or anysuch addition force....so while you going in a straight line you will only slip and spin at most, while drag racing there are many other variables included....what about the drive shaft breaking off and jacking the car? or another car running into you , or a tire blow out while your in a spin?

Safety first

ziig

Postby ziig » October 23rd, 2007, 9:18 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:Some vehicles now with minor upgrades and proper tuning do 12s easily and can still be used as a safe daily driven street car, adding a rollcage now means the owner can no longer use it as a daily driver without a helmet, example a owner of a Ferrari or Porsche after waiting so long to get their hand on the vehicle they decide I want to run the thing all out and he decides to go to the track and is refused because they dont have a rollcage and their car is capable of doing more that 13s, this rule should be made depending on the set up of your vehicle if it is gutted rollcage, but one question, What happens to someone that can only afford to have one car and it is their baby and it is used as a daily driver, but has equipped it with some serious power because he loves the sport and can do 11s & 12s? :?

sorry to tell you this ehh but all ferrari and porshe come with triple reinforced body panels, carbon fiber monoque chassis etc. because they are designed for race ready trim.....thats why they cost more money...than a civic...

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2007, 10:26 pm

lancer_noobs wrote:HUTRINI, & (honda crew) HONDAS ARE SLOW, LIGHT , WANNABE RACE CARS

Anyways
I realize this organization don't consider people with no money
Why u think everyone racing sr20's , rb's ,b16 and 20 valve engines is cause its reasonable with everything on the rise (food,health, clothing ,ect) where people gettin money and the time to put in role cages, pay 3 something to reg. to race then put gas to race and all thatRole cage is necessary for maybe 10sec cars but 12secs?? i think should be given more time , maybe it can be a gold to set for 2009

ps (honda crew HYMC :lol: )

roflmao

at this post

never hang your hat where u cant reach it

since when is installing an sr20 or rb20 in a lancer priority over food colthing etc?? just to race on the street..........

get your priorities straight

racing costs money if you cant afford to abide by the safety rules set by the governing body/bodies then dont race

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 10:33 pm

lancer_noobs wrote:HUTRINI, & (honda crew) HONDAS ARE SLOW, LIGHT , WANNABE RACE CARS

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

*gasp*

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Where the hell have you been for the past 5 years :lol:
500+ h.p. 9 sec street hatchs are VERY real :arrow:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Y13kKNTIBYc
http://youtube.com/watch?v=rwSI86lg4O8
http://youtube.com/watch?v=8-yIZ-lNRvs
http://youtube.com/watch?v=4SQxjbq1ERk

Postby X2 » October 23rd, 2007, 10:56 pm

ziig wrote:as i posted in a different thread...if you desiogn your cage to be right next to your head...you deserve to hit it.....a cage can be designed in to have more than enough clearance for you head.......
point to note:
why do you think they pad the dash?> its for your head....the steeering is soft? for your head? head rest? for your head...all things that are there for astetics...but can damage your head.....

if you use high desity foam it is more protection for you head on a cage than the cheap low density.....which goes for a $1-$2

Gotta disagree with u there. Many cars cannot have special cage designs to get it far from your head. Even the best damn cage man can only put it right up against the factory trim and in most of todays small coupes and sedans... that means its right by ur head. you get in the right type of accident at speed with a standard seatbelt and you will drastically increase the odds of getting ur skull cracked. NO kind of high desity foam that is thick enough to wrap a cage will stop that.

The dash is not a metal skeleton... just foam and plastic, the headrest and steering wheel are tough but can give... more risk of a neck injury than a buss head.

Cages in a street car is dangerous... but we are PAYING to race with FIA sanction correct ? Then we are PAYING to race under FIA rule.

If yuh want me to race under FTA rule... refund meh $50.00

Postby SR » October 23rd, 2007, 11:02 pm

FIA BAH HUMBUG

refund everyone who paid for temp FIA license with the promise of driving school

at the meeting held at the LINX rest

where u had to sign as being present and registering

where is that book that everyone signed and paid for a bogus fia license that did nothing for racing that year

if you enforce the must be an fia memebr then stick to fia's drag racing rules

and while at it
stick to fia's track specifications

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » October 23rd, 2007, 11:11 pm

JUS pullin ya legs meg
VTEC is deh shiet yow 0X

Postby RASC » October 23rd, 2007, 11:13 pm

lancer_noobs wrote:JUS pullin ya legs meg
VTEC is deh shiet yow 0X

yeah man surrreeee

WD40

Postby WD40 » October 23rd, 2007, 11:17 pm

X2 wrote:
ziig wrote:as i posted in a different thread...if you desiogn your cage to be right next to your head...you deserve to hit it.....a cage can be designed in to have more than enough clearance for you head.......
point to note:

Gotta disagree with u there. Many cars cannot have special cage designs to get it far from your head. Even the best damn cage man can only put it right up against the factory trim and in most of todays small coupes and sedans... that means its right by ur head. you get in the right type of accident at speed with a standard seatbelt and you will drastically increase the odds of getting ur skull cracked. NO kind of high desity foam that is thick enough to wrap a cage will stop that.

The dash is not a metal skeleton... just foam and plastic, the headrest and steering wheel are tough but can give... more risk of a neck injury than a buss head.

Cages in a street car is dangerous... but we are PAYING to race with FIA sanction correct ? Then we are PAYING to race under FIA rule.

If yuh want me to race under FTA rule... refund meh $50.00

Fine. So what about using high-density foam for a cage with a five-point seatbelt?

Postby X2 » October 23rd, 2007, 11:33 pm

well that is much safer !

But imagine... you are tightly packed into your old school RX-7... you got ur padded cage with the special yashio factory pink foam all blingin'.... Yo 5 point Takata harness is looking MADDD with those new neon green rays rimz you picked up.... and some jack a fewl T bones you with his mom's primera.... guess what samurai ? Yo head is still 6" away from that 4340 cage.... best hope you have some Tylenol handy. 0X

I'm not against cages for safety... but IMHO... just to race one or two days a month, it's tough for a street car because it's a package deal if you really want to be safe... cage, harness, helmet.... GREAT for a monster at the track... but you will look kinda silly pulling up to the light on the way to KFC lookin like this:

**Umm what did u say ? Open face helmets are not... ***INTERNET CONNECTION DISRUPTED***

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 23rd, 2007, 11:54 pm

its simple really.....presley will have the "TTASA official" fastest car in the land....and everybody else will be bouncing off twelve seconds and mashing brakes and pulling e brakes at the finish line at the 1320 before they put a sticker on your windshield telling you you need a rollcage to collect your trophy and prize money cuz you running less than twelve seconds

join the 13second crew

have 13 second mines ecus for sale........ :D :D :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 23rd, 2007, 11:58 pm

but its known that using a roll cage while not wearing a helmet is "deadly" for a number of reasons.

I dont own a 11sec car or anything but i know there are street cars that range in this bracket and to wear a helmet all the damn time while driving during the week and thing, thats just stress.

Postby RASC » October 24th, 2007, 12:01 am

Ppl these are FIA rules WRT 10.99 and under requiring full roll cage...How do you expect to reach international standards without following international rules/regs :|

WD40

Postby WD40 » October 24th, 2007, 12:56 am

X2,

It would be silly for me to argue that all of the things we discussed PLUS a helmet WOULDN'T be safer. But what about the flipside to this equation. Would you rather a serious collision with a padded cage and a five point belt or with no extra safety devices at all?

A Porsche RUF and Noble GTO for example, comes standard with a padded cage. Certainly, the makers can't expect the driver to wear a helmet at all times?

ziig

Postby ziig » October 24th, 2007, 8:37 am

HMMMMM to end this all can anyone tell me what a Apillar is made of ..or just 6 inches from my head the B pillar? not steel? my head can hit that too.......come on...the fact is that even my professor had to aggree with me when I asked why roll cages are not in all cars...that it was the safest way to go.....he has a PHD in engineering and does crash test analysis for F1 and GM.......agrue with him why dont you......

the bottom line is most production cars dont want to increase the cost factor.....if you run a cage along your B pillar you have only increased the head injury factor by maybe 1.5 inches closer to your head.......you th :wink: ink with good padding and a proper seat belt that would be acceptable..... :wink: