2008 Lexus IS-F teaser

Val

2008 Lexus IS-F teaser

Postby Val » December 7th, 2006, 2:35 pm

RS200, Altezza576 and other Altezza lovers, lemme hear allyuh....

Toyota will stage the world premiere of the 2008 Lexus IS-F at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit this January. The IS-F is a high-performance version of the popular Lexus IS 250/350 sport sedan.

Toyota acknowledges the car will feature "unique styling and a substantial boost in power from a V8 powerplant," but the company didn't provide specifics.

Toyota also said it will unveil a Lexus "exotic sports concept" at the show. It's unclear if the vehicle is related to the LF-A/H supercar project, an IS coupe, or something else entirely

http://www.leftlanenews.com/2006/12/06/ ... n-the-way/

:wink:

plex

Postby plex » December 7th, 2006, 3:46 pm

sweet...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 7th, 2006, 3:48 pm

you know it was an IS350 that amde me sell the Silvia, and get the Altezza, and i am hoping this new one has the 4.3L or 4.6L V8 from the LS.. sweeet, watch out M3 ;)
Last edited by Bezman on December 7th, 2006, 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 7th, 2006, 3:53 pm

more:

A V-8 version of the current IS sedanthat will go head-to-head with the next-generation V-8-powered BMW M3. The ISF will use the 4.6-liter V-8 from the new LS460 and should also feature that car's new, eight-speed transmission, probably with paddle shifters. Not surprisingly, a manual gearbox will not be offered. Expect the usual round of go-fast body modifications and a sticker price somewhere north of $50,000, arriving in 2007. Lexus mulled over various consonants to affix to the IS prefix in arriving at a special badge for its V-8 sport sedan, but F, as in ISF, likely will get the nod. Lexus has a history with the letter f, as the original LS400 was known internally as the F1, for Flagship 1.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 7th, 2006, 3:54 pm

more:

TOKYO, Dec 4 (Reuters) - Toyota Motor Corp.'s (7203.T: Quote, NEWS , Research) high-end Lexus brand will launch a performance brand late next year to compete with Mercedes-Benz's AMG and BMW's M divisions, industry paper Automotive News reported on Monday. The offensive will start with the IS sedan, which will get a retuned version of the LS600h's hybrid engine, the paper said, citing dealer sources.

The car, to be called IS-F, with F standing for "fast", will debut at an auto show next month in Detroit and go on sale in December 2007, the paper said. The 425-horsepower car will be priced in the low $50,000 range, it said.

A Toyota spokeswoman declined to comment on the report, saying the company would announce plans for the Detroit auto show in the coming days.

Automotive News quoted a dealer as saying Lexus will likely follow the IS-F with a GS-F sedan and IS-F coupe.

Japan's top auto maker filed a stylised "F" logo on Oct. 9 and a trademark for IS-F on Nov. 8 and with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 7th, 2006, 3:55 pm

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » December 8th, 2006, 2:28 pm

i dont really like it

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 8th, 2006, 4:45 pm

i don't like it either, more euro, less JDM, i miss the 86 :(

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » December 8th, 2006, 6:57 pm

hmm..how much for it RORO?

i like it

Postby 3stagevtec » December 8th, 2006, 11:51 pm

Good car to challenge some german machines... this is interesting

infared

Postby infared » December 9th, 2006, 12:19 am

hmmm looks nice. damn what i would do to even get a lil drive in dat eh lol

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 11th, 2006, 10:30 am

blacktop, i bet you money, $100, that if you sit in one you publicly post your apology, they are SO sweet when you see and sit in it. and you saw the best motoring with them testing and drifting it and it on the touge?? you'll be impressed..

dunno if i am growing up, but i really like this new IS series, and anything NA and V8 JDM makes me giggle recently.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 11th, 2006, 10:33 am

the IS350 (3.5 305hp Dual VVTi V6) would be about 240k+ RORO the IS250 (which you can get 6 speed manual RWD Dual vvti ;)) would be about 175-200K..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » December 11th, 2006, 10:55 am

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » December 11th, 2006, 5:48 pm

I sat in these cars at Team Lexus HQ when I went down to pick up my V160 getrag.
Let me tell you, they are quite impressive. the stock IS350 is a nice car and has come a long way since the Altezza.

AE86's time has come and gone. It was good for its day, but you cant constantly live in the past. You have to move forward.

I will wait and see what Lexus brings to the Table. I am considering purchasing the 2008 Nissan GTR. Unless Lexus/Toyota drops a MK5 Supra or coupe ISF. I may buy Nissan.

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 4th, 2007, 7:51 pm

that's one wicked machine meng!!! germs have some comp

Postby equipped2ripp » April 5th, 2007, 3:30 am

oh no, it's back...

lookin good!!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 5th, 2007, 8:31 am

not too keen on the exterior, but i love the interior and power :twisted:

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » April 13th, 2007, 12:21 pm

IS-F looks nice, and will have decent power. There will be many upgrade options coming for that motor from what I have been told by local tuning shops.

Usually cars looks strange on paper/pics but when you see the real product - its atotally different impression. I am going to the AutoShow this afternoon and I will take my glance at the IS-F up close.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 13th, 2007, 12:34 pm

:oops:

Postby Greypatch » April 13th, 2007, 1:26 pm

car boi.....lordy

lowlife

Postby lowlife » April 13th, 2007, 1:44 pm

Not too impressed, but the car looks good, especially the interior.