Knight1 wrote:i know evos will cost less to get more HP out of them but them transfer casses
How do you figure that?...i think ah sti with some water injection , tuning , boost controller
Please. Boost controller my foot. Engine Management or EcuTEK/COBB/Xede maybe.
Your computer is programmed from the factory to control the boost that the turbocharger makes based on RPM and load (how hard the engine is working). It takes those two factors into account and determines how much fuel to put into the engine to reach a desired AFR. It also adjusts your timing to get the best performance while still avoiding knock (detonation).
Partial throttle full boost is the biggest danger associated with boost controllers. We have already discussed how the ECU regulates boost based on rpm and load. A boost controller does not factor load or rpm into the equation. It works on pressure only. It will allow your turbo to reach full boost at 3000 rpm or 7000 rpm. And, it will allow it at 10% load or 100% load, or anywhere in between. At full throttle it may be okay, because the computer is still adding the fuel it thinks the car needs. But, at partial throttle it is adding very little fuel, because it thinks the car is only making a small amount of boost, which leads to extremely lean conditions. I have seen AFR's in the 19:1 range pretty commonly with a boost controller at partial throttle.
So, just say no to boost controllers.
Maybe that, together with ECU Flash will be much cheaper alternative for either car?
Knight1 wrote:Why use an ECU flash and a boost controller...that's almost a bit redundant.
You can raise your boost by doing an ECU refalsh...by adjusting wg settings etc etc...and that would be the safer route, as you can factor load, rpm, ign etc into that...and thus build a "safer" way to run your car on elevated boost (takes the guess work out when using a boost controller IMO).
But...at the end of it all, I'm sure you're gonna disagree with me anyway Sanctifier...so...say what
Knight1 wrote:Any issues with clutches etc? Just asking
Take it easy, padna. I asked for your opinion, it wasn't an excuse for an argument.
I wouldn't use an EBC to turn up the boost... but to turn it down.
Yup, different... but IMHO (as a buget option only) if I can't afford another EMS then tune
for realistic, safe maximum at high boost level (ECU Flash)... then use EBC to lower boost
when crusing especially on a hot day.... at least until I could afford Water/Meth Injection. Comments please knight.
Opps!... I forgot. Yup plenty. OEM clutch is like boiled macaroni...
n.f.g. for "spirited" launches in the "traffic light Grand Prix."
Tried HKS "twin" in an E6 already. Didn't like it. Light-switch... ON... or OFF... no feathering.
That's why I broke the bank and went to cerametallic, twin-plate Exedy.
Only 8-10 lb heavier pedal than stock. Feather all day long. Hills etc. no issues
... but for the rest of the drivetrain, the AYC may be weaker than transfer case IMHO.
After driver control, that's the main reasons I choose an RS instead of a GSR... strength, reliability and easy maintenance.
Knight1 wrote:...Won't you run the risk of putting more strain on your gears/synchros etc by using a clutch which has more "grip" than stock? The way I see it is that when the clutch "bites" harder...yes it's great for launches on the strip, but it transfers all that shock to the gearset anyways...which means more wer and tear, and greater risk of breakage. IMO, that type of driving would require a cryo-treated gearset, or better yet, a "dogbox" for better results/more longevity (the latter has no synchros to get busted to begin with..the former has stronger gears).
That's one reason why I never launch my car. And I stick to the stock Daikin/Exedy clutch too