Sequential shifters

IMPREZZING

Sequential shifters

Postby IMPREZZING » February 2nd, 2007, 12:50 pm

can be seen here http://www.avoturboworld.com/content/view/60/31/
looks interesting,some guys may take a second of their ET's 8-)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 2nd, 2007, 3:36 pm

Ikeya Formula make them for many popular JDM models for years now.

http://www.ikeya-f.co.jp/en/index.html

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » February 2nd, 2007, 4:40 pm

yeah thats who it's made by. will like very much to get my hands on one.

Sneaky Pete

Postby Sneaky Pete » February 2nd, 2007, 7:40 pm

Hey, I see they make one for the Evo's. I also read that you still use the clutch, is this true? It will have to be a quick one while you shift.

This is so cool :D It be nice to add one. Does anyone the price for Evo IX's?

SP

TRINIOUTLAW

Postby TRINIOUTLAW » February 2nd, 2007, 9:56 pm

DAMN!! :shock: ...add that to my wish list. Definately worth looking into getting!

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2007, 12:23 am

some guys may take a second of their ET's

nuh ah WHOLE second
but yea it might better some ET's,
but doesnt work out well for ALL cases...
for example...
rugrat.. dale myers,,,1st gen rx7,,,13B...
he HAD normal g.box...ET = 10.8 - 11.0
with sq box.... ( or something like it...) 11.3 - 11.8

sooo not ALLL cases...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 3rd, 2007, 6:27 pm

what do they call the other gear box where the shifter in the middle and u just push down and it does go back to the middle but it change a gear, and then when u push it up it does gear down?

i see tam have one and workin good on the skyline. I me self been trying to find out who does sell them or bring them, i want one for my car

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 3rd, 2007, 8:02 pm

I me self been trying to find out who does sell them

um no1
u gotta bring that shyt

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 5th, 2007, 10:32 am

Hey, I see they make one for the Evo's. I also read that you still use the clutch, is this true? It will have to be a quick one while you shift.

This is so cool Very Happy It be nice to add one. Does anyone the price for Evo IX's?

S

there are allot of videos with them being used, some cars (depending on box/clutch set-up - and if you plan to keep the car) you only need it to shift down and you can shift up without the clutch engaged,

IKEYA, HKS, TODA, ORUGA, OS Giken and allot fo others make dogbox's that allow you to use a shifter like this without the clutch engaged cause of the striaght cut gears.

1 Adopted highly accurate and rigid Helical Gear with Dog Clutch to Sequential dog transmission.
Normally, genuine transmission is operated via synchronized mechanism. This mechanism is to synchronize the gear upon upshift and downshift, and this can cause time loss in sports driving.
Therefore, we have decided to adopt the Dog Clutch Helical Gear which has no synchronized mechanism equipped therein.
IMAGE What is synchronization ?
The shifting process is operated by moving the shifter which leads the rod inside transmission case to select slidehowk and slides the sleeve back and force.
Then, the spline on the sleeve pushes the chamfer in the synchronizer. As a result, the synchronization is carried out by the friction torque generated between synchronizer ring and the corn part of gear. After that, the sleeve proceeds further and engaged in the gear.

2 You can feel the ultimate feeling of shifting with sequenced shift which enable you to operate the accurate and quick shifting.
There is a possibility on sports driving that miss-shift would cause time loss, the breakage of mission gear, or mission blow in the worst case.
In order to avoid shifting error, we have attached our product "SEQUEN SHIFTER " (special type), to have sequential shift operation.

3 It's made possible for various parts to be built in the genuine transmission case by increasing its rigidity.
In addition, we have minimized necessity of purchasing specified parts, change of mounting position, or body processing which had been often required for the conventional products, by increasing the rigidity of various parts, such as main shaft, counter gear, main gear. IMAGE
* Strength of gear teeth, durability against worn-out has been increased compared to the conventional product.
(Patent) --- Dog teeth has been designed to have vertical interval on every second teeth to have smooth sliding.
--- Although the gear and select ring is made by the same material, the gear was made to have higher hardness.
Considering the maintenance, we have developed the counter gear shaft to be full spline, so that it helps change the gear ratio and replace gear unit quickly which improves the workability upon over haul. Also, it realized the large reduction of the cost, since you can use genuine transmission case.

nuh ah WHOLE second
but yea it might better some ET's,
but doesnt work out well for ALL cases...
for example...
rugrat.. dale myers,,,1st gen rx7,,,13B...
he HAD normal g.box...ET = 10.8 - 11.0
with sq box.... ( or something like it...) 11.3 - 11.8

sooo not ALLL cases...

hmmm, thats probably cause the gearing he used was different, a peoper working sequential shifter will shift in much less time that a reagular gearbox and foot clutch can.

i see tam have one and workin good on the skyline. I me self been trying to find out who does sell them or bring them, i want one for my car

tam using a HKS sequential gearbox & shifter or something (sure it came with the car - popular JDM skyline modification, esp by tuner shops), it costs about 10,000 USD ~ good luck getting/affording one water boy.[/quote]

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 5th, 2007, 12:21 pm

Greddy
6 speed dog box
£4135

6 speed sequential box
£7335

OS Giken
6 speed sequential gearbox
£5500

them dogbox does'nt sound nice for everyday driving. Pricey, better i go with the supra getrag 6fwd as they are around 2500-3000$ U.S

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 7th, 2007, 10:54 am

waterboy, may i ask WHY????

Postby Maserati » February 7th, 2007, 12:41 pm

lol why u ask? to race of course :lol: but wait there is not track hmmms

it costs about 10,000 USD

fork :shock: tink i culd buy an R32 or a pulsar gtir here in canada with that kinda cash

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 7th, 2007, 2:12 pm

well in his post he does suggest its for 'everday driving' so... what making that kinda power that would need that kind of expense on a gearbox?

and that 2500-3000 ud, is without the clutch ~ another 2000 USD for a tripple plate to work with it, and the correct gearing, etc..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 7th, 2007, 2:58 pm

actually, its 2000 without clutch and stuff, 3500 will be with the a complete setup including the diff from the mk4 that came 6fwd. Been digging up a while no on these things lol. Any questions on Reasons why i asked and need a superior box will not be answered :wink:

Postby Maserati » February 8th, 2007, 1:05 am

now watchin a video of tam R33 dat damn ting wuking yes

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » February 8th, 2007, 1:25 am

WAIT ALLYA NOW KNO BOUT THIS?
PEOPLE BEEN USING THESE FOR A WHILE NOW IN THE US
ITS PRETTY NICE IMO

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2007, 10:10 am

WAIT ALLYA NOW KNO BOUT THIS?

uhh no...

Ikeya Formula make them for many popular JDM models for years now.

http://www.ikeya-f.co.jp/en/index.html

StangSai

Postby StangSai » February 8th, 2007, 4:27 pm

they're nice for quicker shift times and more secure shifts, but i don't think they'll be too practical on the steets. you have to go through each gear every time you go up or down.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 8th, 2007, 8:20 pm

yea thats true lol.

Might look into the pftizner gearbox, nice box for drifting, strong and proper ratios