K20A vs 2JZGTE~N/A vs Boost(UPDATE PG.4)

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 23rd, 2007, 3:15 pm

^who gives?

definitely not me :lol:

if you all believe so much in civics and N/A, then build them...that's what I've been trying to say all along.
and bring them out to race.

I love the evo's... ..but you would never hear me enter a battle about drag racing saying that it can outperform a supra or a skyline.I know for a fact that for a drag racing car..i would pick a supra or a skyline..not an evo...
I know my limits buddy..

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 23rd, 2007, 4:18 pm

^^ the man make some sense there eh,

but some ppl build cars for street and some for tracks...
remember joe's GTTT?

they timed the car at the track it performed better on the road..
it just wasnt performing as well on the tracks...
o well....

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 8:08 am

but some ppl build cars for street and some for tracks

Exactly.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » January 24th, 2007, 8:37 am

^^leave dem nuh..
e.g. on cross..its more abt launch than on top end..
but anyway..we all know a supra can beat a civic anyday.full stop
that one wasnt workin n the vid seems too staged to be true.

like i said..the fastest 2jz can beat the fastest k20
where the no replacement for displacement men?

vipers n vettes are teh real thing
viper-8.5TT :) my dream car...

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 24th, 2007, 10:54 am

HUTRINI wrote:yall need to get outta that old attitude- find real ppl in trini stuck in that mentality that if it not boosted it cant be fast...NO TOBO NO FASS ENT?
Ent! Juss cause a car boosted don't mean it fast either! Some engines juss need a little help to get going! :oops:

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 11:17 am

Hutrini, you have to remember that most cars in trinidad have very small engines. Trinis are not exposed to the big block supercars of Europe and America, and this has been so for a very long time. To make quick and big power on the type of cars we have here, boost is usually the easiest option.

Truth be told, I think some of the fastest "stock" cars out there are N/A, just that Trinidad is not exposed to a lot of them.

The majority of fast stock cars in Trinidad would be boosted, such as Evos, Skylines etc, due to their small engine size (and hence much lower cost to import and register). How many ppl do you think would choose to bring in a very costly 350Z over a small engine Evo with similar performance and cheaper price tag.

The only way to get out of this culture is to simply look outside the country and see what ppl are doing on the international scene. Hell we don't even get the Corolla XRS down here. :(

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 24th, 2007, 11:30 am

people in trinidad only know BOOST

everything is turbo this and turbo that

how much boost u runnin ect.

they dunno sheit about vtec.
most of them never ride in vtec and does be talkin assness

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 24th, 2007, 11:33 am

stephanweaver wrote:they dunno sheit about vtec.
most of them never ride in vtec and does be talkin assness

I never ride in vtec.... been in a Prelude ah couple of times...but never in vtec. :(

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 11:41 am

even in VTEC Preludes are still slow :lol: :oops:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 24th, 2007, 11:42 am

slow as a race car
not slow for a street car.
daz where people does get tie up.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 24th, 2007, 11:51 am

stephanweaver wrote:slow as a race car
not slow for a street car.
daz where people does get tie up.

Excellent point!
I have a street car that I carry (or used to carry) to the track to race and have fun with. There are many ppl who laugh at my 323 wagon and how slow it is, I'm cool with that. I know what I put into it to get it where it is today and I'm happy with the performance so far.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 24th, 2007, 11:53 am

it have plenty defination for slow cars and fast cars.
my car might be slow, but it also might be quick.
depends on what you talking about really.

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 11:54 am

Na it was slow all around, trust me :lol:

All I could beat up on the top end were 20Valve Corollas, Auto SiRs, and those 1.8 T A4s :lol:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 24th, 2007, 11:54 am

a manual prelude is quick

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 24th, 2007, 11:55 am

Val wrote:Na it was slow all around, trust me :lol:

All I could beat up on the top end were 20Valve Corollas, Auto SiRs, and those 1.8 T A4s :lol:

Really now? :P

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2007, 11:55 am

Yea that is a different ball game. But as you said, it's all about perspective.

And yes Strauss, never had a Levin, but had many a 20 V Marino for lunch (I told u it was slow lol)
Last edited by Val on January 24th, 2007, 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 24th, 2007, 11:56 am

if u acustom driving a 1.1 march or sunny.

and drive a automatic prelude.

thats a world of difference.

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » January 24th, 2007, 7:04 pm

Val wrote:Hutrini, you have to remember that most cars in trinidad have very small engines. Trinis are not exposed to the big block supercars of Europe and America, and this has been so for a very long time. To make quick and big power on the type of cars we have here, boost is usually the easiest option.

Truth be told, I think some of the fastest "stock" cars out there are N/A, just that Trinidad is not exposed to a lot of them.

The majority of fast stock cars in Trinidad would be boosted, such as Evos, Skylines etc, due to their small engine size (and hence much lower cost to import and register). How many ppl do you think would choose to bring in a very costly 350Z over a small engine Evo with similar performance and cheaper price tag.

The only way to get out of this culture is to simply look outside the country and see what ppl are doing on the international scene. Hell we don't even get the Corolla XRS down here. :(

good point

Val wrote:

you talking auto 20 valve?

Val

Postby Val » January 25th, 2007, 12:09 pm

yea auto.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » January 25th, 2007, 5:03 pm

first time i saw a 20v (manual silver top) at the track in a rolla was for new yrs or boxing day
he was doin 17's...met him after and he said his best was 16.9

whats the best time ne n/a 20v did at the track?

Postby RASC » January 25th, 2007, 5:09 pm

STUEPS...yall comparing some weak a$$ auto n/a cars to boosted cars? of course the performance would be laughable...*sigh* i see we have a way to go still in the N/A world of tuning...Jamaica and P.R. miles ahead of us...one day i suppose one day :|

Postby cinco » January 25th, 2007, 5:30 pm

believe me VAL d corolla XRS aint nuttin so great
pretty overhyped and over priced IMO

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 26th, 2007, 6:44 am

Val wrote:Yea that is a different ball game. But as you said, it's all about perspective.

And yes Strauss, never had a Levin, but had many a 20 V Marino for lunch (I told u it was slow lol)

You mean the automatic silver top marinos? Or the 6 speed manual 20valve blacktops? Which? The auto silvertops really lazy.

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » January 26th, 2007, 7:41 am

BlueIce wrote:first time i saw a 20v (manual silver top) at the track in a rolla was for new yrs or boxing day
he was doin 17's...met him after and he said his best was 16.9

whats the best time ne n/a 20v did at the track?

the blue corolla which use to run on the cross was a stock 20v silver top
he did like 15.5 seconds not sure of his best though
but his car real wokkin

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 26th, 2007, 9:30 am

^ the blue what i used to mash up?

Val

Postby Val » January 26th, 2007, 9:37 am

Strauss wrote:
Val wrote:Yea that is a different ball game. But as you said, it's all about perspective.

You mean the automatic silver top marinos? Or the 6 speed manual 20valve blacktops? Which? The auto silvertops really lazy.

auto marino, dunno if it's silvertop. Also the BZ-R Touring Corolla.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 26th, 2007, 9:58 am

The BZ-R Touring wagons move good to me. On the strip they might be slower. But that 6-fwd version on the streets on top is really wicked... handles well for a wagon.

Postby gt4tified » January 26th, 2007, 11:14 am

Just commenting on the original vid.....can any of the honda boyz tell me what is the pwr to weight on the civic? Cuz even if that supra was pushing 400hp (which is slow by most modded supra standards) a 2JZ supra weighs around 3800lbs.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » January 26th, 2007, 12:09 pm

^ i agree with you buddy

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » January 29th, 2007, 4:27 pm

I know a fella wit a stock 4efte engine (100hp & 127ftlb on d dyno) in a Tercel and he does do 14.6 sec on d quartermile wit Street Tyres and a non lsd gbox. Stephanweaver i tink u know d man. I hear u comin out turbocharged 2 deal wit 3051 & lucinoren. Blueice u run him already in waller. I see dat car beat a few new model Integra type R's already how could dat be aint dem car suppose 2 be FAST. Dat iz d same reason d civic beat d supra power 2 weight.