Old Model Lancer advice please

Darthwars

Old Model Lancer advice please

Postby Darthwars » December 7th, 2006, 6:33 pm

Still looking for a Car to buy and i keep coming back to the fact i LUV how the old model lancers look.

Their was a black on black on the forusm for sale and i luv it but cant out out the 33 he asking rite off the bat so.

Im thinking ill buy 1 for around 11 12 and gradually fix it up.

Wat are some of the mods i can do to it. Price isnt a issue i can spend about 5k eveyr month on it for however long it takes to make it look real bess.

Im most conserned about looks and reliability. not speed.

I want to buy a good fuel injected engine in it and a automatic transmission in it.

Also im going with the black on black as well.

I want to change the interior. paint. egine. and add a bodykit ( eg lights and the whole package. Black Tint as well

Some advice as to wat i can make this car into.

infared

Postby infared » December 7th, 2006, 10:01 pm

hoss i in de same boat as u except i wanted to put ah evo engine in it but think i will runn into probs and i dont wanna cross breath as in SR iT.

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » December 7th, 2006, 10:02 pm

Take a loan and buy the one for $33k. IT must be in top shape to be asking that much. But I guarantee you, you cannot buy a lancer for 12k and fix it up over time without spending way more than that 33k total in the long run. Not to mention the endless headache you will have chasing down parts all over Trinidad.

Darthwars

Postby Darthwars » December 7th, 2006, 10:32 pm

i dont wanan take such a big loan. small loans ok but not 40k. i dont mind spending 33k over the long haul, it will be like a pet project.

First thing i wanna do is paint it over and fix the body.

speedy007

Postby speedy007 » December 7th, 2006, 10:55 pm

buy mine for $20

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 8th, 2006, 12:16 am

Inshan wrote:Take a loan and buy the one for $33k. IT must be in top shape to be asking that much. But I guarantee you, you cannot buy a lancer for 12k and fix it up over time without spending way more than that 33k total in the long run. Not to mention the endless headache you will have chasing down parts all over Trinidad.

Ditto, but you should have one nice car after if done correctly. It's just a mater of personal taste if you want to go through the trouble.

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2006, 1:42 am

My first car was one of these. Nice car still

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 8th, 2006, 4:50 am

Inshan wrote:Take a loan and buy the one for $33k. IT must be in top shape to be asking that much. But I guarantee you, you cannot buy a lancer for 12k and fix it up over time without spending way more than that 33k total in the long run. Not to mention the endless headache you will have chasing down parts all over Trinidad.

Great advice! Just check it properly first. Then negotiate... :wink:
infared wrote:hoss i in de same boat as u except i wanted to put ah evo engine in it but think i will runn into probs and i dont wanna cross breath as in SR iT.

Few problems if you use an earlier US Eclipse (Gen 1 or Gen 2) or Evo 1-3 head.
Eclipse option is cheapest. Its been done many times before.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » December 8th, 2006, 7:00 am

I have two box lancer

1800 Sirus Turbo GSR
Full GSR Flare Kit
All Wheel Disc Brakes
BRAND NEW GSR INTERIOR
LSD Diff

It painting now .. start saving :twisted:

Darthwars

Postby Darthwars » December 9th, 2006, 8:25 am

so no one has a lead on anything nice body wise i can do to the car

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 9th, 2006, 8:12 pm

You could keep it original, they always look best original. Take into consideration the shape of the car befor any modification is done, try to work with the same angles etc. i have seen many with rounded off modern body kits and other rounded mods, does not go with the angular nature of the car nor the era it came from.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » December 10th, 2006, 7:11 am

I have a GSR flare kit.. made to enlighten dem angles :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » December 10th, 2006, 8:51 pm

zodiaque wrote:You could keep it original, they always look best original. Take into consideration the shape of the car befor any modification is done, try to work with the same angles etc. i have seen many with rounded off modern body kits and other rounded mods, does not go with the angular nature of the car nor the era it came from.

this is real good info

maybe you could do a tribute to this beauty

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/corpor ... ex2000.htm

I know I would give only the chance and the $$$

djaggs

Postby djaggs » December 13th, 2006, 3:40 pm

If you want info on modifying it, check Jason Chen, he used to race one and was a Mitsubishi fanatic, in fact, he still modifying them today except theyre EVOs. He know everything you want to know about them, if I were you I would look for an old GSR since the ordinary Sedans had a major problem with corrosion in the door pillars and around the windscreen. The GSRs came with a better built body.

My bro sold a really good non GSR one for 17K, it was in excellent condition, and was black.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 13th, 2006, 11:25 pm

venum wrote:
zodiaque wrote:You could keep it original, they always look best original. Take into consideration the shape of the car befor any modification is done, try to work with the same angles etc. i have seen many with rounded off modern body kits and other rounded mods, does not go with the angular nature of the car nor the era it came from.

this is real good info

maybe you could do a tribute to this beauty

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com/corpor ... ex2000.htm

I know I would give only the chance and the $$$

Me too, its a nice project to start once the dough is there to back it up 8-)

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 13th, 2006, 11:26 pm

djaggs wrote: ...since the ordinary Sedans had a major problem with corrosion in the door pillars and around the windscreen.

I know what you mean :cry: