2004 Subaru STI..learns a hard lesson in life!!

TRINIOUTLAW

2004 Subaru STI..learns a hard lesson in life!!

Postby TRINIOUTLAW » July 1st, 2006, 12:48 pm

Here we go again...this kid is 18yrs old. This is the same car I installed the FMIC and Turbo XS UTEC in....this past Saturday he told that a friend of his gave him a Nitrous Xpress I/C sprayer kit. He said the installed seemed pretty straight forward and him and his buddies were going to do it he just needed me to re-fill the nitrous bottle. I said bro..I really don't recommend you doing that...the car has the UTEC installed and tuned to a 11.3-11.5 AFR with ZERO knock at 21psi on pump gas. If you want to use the Nos I recommend hitting the dyno and retune the car to accomodate JUICE! He was nah..that's alright he doesn't plan on putting on a big shot..besides that it's going on the I/C not into the motor...I was like alright but don't say I didn't warn you! Sure enough he brought the car in Monday...now the engine smokin and it appears that he spun a connecting rod bearing. I was like WTF happened? all he said was he raced a LS-1 Camaro on spray and lost! He believes he ran to many races that night...and that's what caused the engine to take a sheit! Anyways...he's doing a complete rebuild I started ordering the parts. Here are some of the parts he wanted..I'll post some pics of the parts later!

Cosworth Crankshaft with the Black Bearings
Crower Con Rods
CP Pistons 100mm Bore
OEM Oil Pump
OEM Water Pump
OEM Engine rebuild gasket set
ARP Head Studs
Performance Camshafts (don't know the specs yet)
Exedy Twin Plate Clutch pack
OEM Clutch release bearing
Perrin Up Pipe
Perrin Extractors

and this is not including labor which is another $4K USD!!....the price you pay when yuh HARDEN!

Last edited by TRINIOUTLAW on July 1st, 2006, 1:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 1st, 2006, 1:06 pm

car looks familiar :) is the guy ever in the st pete area :?:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 1st, 2006, 1:34 pm

this car looks slow..... :roll:

kidding

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » July 1st, 2006, 11:40 pm

this kid is 18yrs old.

:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

and this is not including labor which is another $4K USD!!....

:shock: I could get ah wuk sweeping ur floors and turning off the lights after work :?: :P :lol:

Postby Maserati » July 1st, 2006, 11:55 pm

lawd 18years and he rollin wit that

Mini

Re: 2004 Subaru STI..learns a hard lesson in life!!

Postby Mini » July 2nd, 2006, 6:45 am

TRINIOUTLAW wrote:..besides that it's going on the I/C not into the motor...I was like alright but don't say I didn't warn you!

right... isn't that so... it just cools the I/C kinda like I/C water spray

How then can so much damage be caused? Educate us please? I figuring it has to do with the lower air temp (and hence denser air) entering the combustion chamber ... but I not sure why

Postby SR » July 2nd, 2006, 7:27 am

buisness is buisness

talk dun

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 2nd, 2006, 7:33 am

Mini wrote:
TRINIOUTLAW wrote:..besides that it's going on the I/C not into the motor...I was like alright but don't say I didn't warn you!

How then can so much damage be caused? Educate us please?

Was wondering the same thing. TRINIOUTLAW please educate.

Postby wagonrunner » July 2nd, 2006, 11:47 am

Mini wrote:How then can so much damage be caused? Educate us please? I figuring it has to do with the lower air temp (and hence denser air) entering the combustion chamber ... but I not sure why

if a denser charge is entering the chambers, wouldn't that affect the AFR by making it leaner?

TRINIOUTLAW

Postby TRINIOUTLAW » July 2nd, 2006, 12:53 pm

Mini wrote:

How then can so much damage be caused? Educate us please? I figuring it has to do with the lower air temp (and hence denser air) entering the combustion chamber ... but I not sure why

First off...until I tear the engine apart I cannot say for sure what caused the engine failure. I will perform an autopsy this week to determine the exact cause of DEATH!. Remember...although the nitrous was not sprayed directly into the engine the fact that the Nos was sprayed onto the I/C creates a drastic change intake air temp. The cooler charge of air now produces more density (oxygen) thus requiring the need at bear minimum to put the car on the dyno especially in light of the fact that he has the UTEC which is a tunable piggyback system! This way I could make sure that engine was getting the proper fuel and ignition timing. If not..I would then re-tune the maps if there was any sign of detonation or other problems. Don't get me wrong i'm not saying the the nitrous intercooler sprayer blew the engine i'm sure there are other contributing factors as well!

Outlaw

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 2nd, 2006, 4:44 pm

^ yes. depending on how conservative that original tune was, the denser air could have caused a ping.

Rx

Postby Rx » July 2nd, 2006, 5:13 pm

the man hadda pay to learn :evil:

I'm sure you'll have him back on the tracks in no time :!:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 2nd, 2006, 10:21 pm

When ur daddy rich we

3rd_Gear_Pull

Postby 3rd_Gear_Pull » July 2nd, 2006, 10:51 pm

you'd be suprised how many kids my age rollin wit cars like dat...

most is dey drivin daddy's car for the day though...

Postby Cjruckus » July 2nd, 2006, 11:07 pm

Yup thats the scene in most places in the states.. Especially when you go to ameteur drags, the rich kids dominate.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 2nd, 2006, 11:46 pm

how about in trini? not the same?

Postby wagonrunner » July 3rd, 2006, 12:21 am

SM
especially at dex :poke: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 3rd, 2006, 1:09 am

so many things to learn

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 4th, 2006, 12:48 pm

wagonrunner wrote:SM

who at dex does be driving daddy car ? :lol: :lol:

well seeing dat you dominating the hs class i guess dat is Mr. Winchester car yuh driving

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 4th, 2006, 1:55 pm

hmmm, i know he couldnt be a talkin about me.

Postby X2 » July 4th, 2006, 3:06 pm

Gawd.... allyuh haters like to call ''rich boy'' eh.... :roll:

No friggin clue and ya'll yappin.

Although there are the rich kids around.... cars are not as expensive in the states and your average teenager with a full time job can afford to buy a nice ride and even mod it up.

By the age of 18 I already went thru 3 cars... none of them were new... but you go call me rich boy cuz of that ? :roll:

Maybe those kids that could afford to pimp a nice ride should start calling ya'll ''poor losers'' since yuh cya afford to mod ur cars. :roll:

Outlaw... what did that car dyno at 21psi ?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 4th, 2006, 3:55 pm

your average teenager with a full time job can afford to buy a nice ride and even mod it up.

Correct! I witness that with some Evo owners here in NY.. they not rich.. small job and living at home, no overheads= Evo!

And more and more everyday, 2003 Evo's selling for under 19K so real people buying them.

And alot of them finance the new ones for 6 years.. the used for 4 yrs.

Postby wagonrunner » July 4th, 2006, 5:43 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:SM

who at dex does be driving daddy car ? :lol: :lol:
well seeing dat you dominating the hs class i guess dat is Mr. Winchester car yuh driving

but what d cudda munt you doing in my phorqueing bidniss? instead of disbanding that comittee you join it?

:lol: :mrgreen:

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 4th, 2006, 9:27 pm

darn why it cudnt be so easy down here to own ah evo!?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 5th, 2006, 1:42 am

^ it is that easy. just none of u have the balls to save and buy the dam thing

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 5th, 2006, 2:05 am

^buying it is the easy part....its maintaining it.

General

Postby General » July 5th, 2006, 8:44 am

^yehhh jeddd dat iz true, iz to maintain it

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 5th, 2006, 8:58 am

just drive it like u love it. maintenance on an evo isnt that bad. ent duane?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 5th, 2006, 9:06 am

Silvermike wrote:^ it is that easy. just none of u have the balls to save and buy the dam thing

Not always that easy padna... more important stuff always gets in the way.
Silvermike wrote:just drive it like u love it. maintenance on an evo isnt that bad. ent duane?

Biggest bill is gas (and tyres.) Little else to change on a regular basis except oil, filter etc.
What killin' me is the cost of tuning parts... not regular OEM stuff. :roll:
Even Brembo pads not so bad if you know where to buy. :wink:
You don't change them that often either.
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 5th, 2006, 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 5th, 2006, 9:09 am

^ more important u say?

well they just have their priorities wrong, thats all.