T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Dave » December 22nd, 2024, 11:08 pm

Proton I believe.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2024, 11:38 am

Dave wrote:Proton I believe.

That $400 now $300k X90 sells for TT$220K in Malaysia and around TT$210k in South Africa.

I'm sure at 300K ANSA still making a nice profit margin for themselves even accounting for TT MVT, VAT etc.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 1st, 2025, 11:07 pm

Shalom Vanamson wrote:Is it me or are the prices locally for the "2025" Hyundai Tuscon the same as before despite the "2025" version being 1.6 hybrid. Am I wrong to think that it should have been less since its exempted from taxes?

If it is hybrid, I would expect them to charge more despite the exemptions - they could always use the excuse that the hybrid from the manufacturer is more expensive than the gas model.

But are the new facelifted Tucsons Massy bringing really the 1.6L hybrid? If it's even the same price as the top spec pre-facelifted (non-hybrid) models, that will be surprising on their part.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » January 5th, 2025, 7:18 am

dredman1 wrote:
Shalom Vanamson wrote:Is it me or are the prices locally for the "2025" Hyundai Tuscon the same as before despite the "2025" version being 1.6 hybrid. Am I wrong to think that it should have been less since its exempted from taxes?

If it is hybrid, I would expect them to charge more despite the exemptions - they could always use the excuse that the hybrid from the manufacturer is more expensive than the gas model.

But are the new facelifted Tucsons Massy bringing really the 1.6L hybrid? If it's even the same price as the top spec pre-facelifted (non-hybrid) models, that will be surprising on their part.

Turns out they are not.

GAS POWERTRAIN.
Comfort (Base Spec) - 299k
Limited (Mid Spec) - 329k
Platinum (Fully Loaded) - 399k

HYBRID POWERTRAIN.
Comfort (Base Spec) - 279k
Limited (Mid Spec) - 309k
Platinum (Fully Loaded) - 365k

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 5th, 2025, 10:59 pm

Shalom Vanamson wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

Turns out they are not.

GAS POWERTRAIN.

HYBRID POWERTRAIN.

Each gas model trim is cheaper than their respective hybrids? That's surprising - would've thought the pricing be reversed (yes even though the hybrid exempt because... well Massy).

The hybrid Massy bringing has the 1.6L turbo, yes?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2025, 11:41 am

dredman1 wrote:
Shalom Vanamson wrote:
dredman1 wrote:

Turns out they are not.

GAS POWERTRAIN.

HYBRID POWERTRAIN.

Each gas model trim is cheaper than their respective hybrids? That's surprising - would've thought the pricing be reversed (yes even though the hybrid exempt because... well Massy).

The hybrid Massy bringing has the 1.6L turbo, yes?

Yes - 1.6lT and most importantly they have gone back to the 6AT transmission from the DCT.

The features of the top end spec below. The green font are features that model has the models below doesn't.

Capture.JPG

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 11th, 2025, 10:42 pm

Went to check out the Tucson and it's a pretty compelling package.

Still not the biggest fan of the looks, but I much prefer the DRLs and more squared off look of the grill and front bumper in this facelifted model, and they have the new matte colours. The interiors are much nicer too.

They really brought the top spec with most of the features you see in the top spec trim in youtube reviews. One feature that I was disappointed they didn't bring is the smart parking feature.

Anyway $365K might seem like a lot for a hybrid Tucson, but when you consider the top spec gas only model is $399K, it looks like a good alternative given the extra 50-60hp and better fuel consumption. Oh and they are offering 8yrs warranty on the hybrid battery.

This would be my pick for compact SUV in the $300-$350k range. Have to wonder though how long it will stay at that price before going up.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » January 13th, 2025, 7:03 pm

I rem when I was looking around at buying a new car, the Tucson was like 359-369 for the fully loaded 1.6t dct awd combination. Now they bringing in a tax-free? hybrid version for more or less the same price? And now the petrol non hybrid version is close to or around 400k? LMAO When these spirit communicators were selling the 2.0 version for 325 fully loaded men was like not me and a 300+ Hyundai. Now men parting ways with 500 large and more on real disposable sheit and watching yuh in yuh face trying to convince everybody why they didn't buy proper ting to begin with. Buyers remorse syndrome. Let's hear it for the mg, peoton, haval and sangyong owners. One by one they getting the market suckers. For those with the RAV4, CRV, CX5 and Forester in this community. Biggup.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » January 14th, 2025, 10:42 am

dredman1 wrote:Went to check out the Tucson and it's a pretty compelling package.

Still not the biggest fan of the looks, but I much prefer the DRLs and more squared off look of the grill and front bumper in this facelifted model, and they have the new matte colours. The interiors are much nicer too.

They really brought the top spec with most of the features you see in the top spec trim in youtube reviews. One feature that I was disappointed they didn't bring is the smart parking feature.

Anyway $365K might seem like a lot for a hybrid Tucson, but when you consider the top spec gas only model is $399K, it looks like a good alternative given the extra 50-60hp and better fuel consumption. Oh and they are offering 8yrs warranty on the hybrid battery.

This would be my pick for compact SUV in the $300-$350k range. Have to wonder though how long it will stay at that price before going up.

I wonder if SS will offer the Sportage as a HEV now?

Postby j.o.e » January 14th, 2025, 4:52 pm

Tezzadude wrote:I rem when I was looking around at buying a new car, the Tucson was like 359-369 for the fully loaded 1.6t dct awd combination. Now they bringing in a tax-free? hybrid version for more or less the same price? And now the petrol non hybrid version is close to or around 400k? LMAO When these spirit communicators were selling the 2.0 version for 325 fully loaded men was like not me and a 300+ Hyundai. Now men parting ways with 500 large and more on real disposable sheit and watching yuh in yuh face trying to convince everybody why they didn't buy proper ting to begin with. Buyers remorse syndrome. Let's hear it for the mg, peoton, haval and sangyong owners. One by one they getting the market suckers. For those with the RAV4, CRV, CX5 and Forester in this community. Biggup.

Tbf I want an electric that cheap and the KGM might get my money. Willing to gamble on a non brand electric to reduce my fuel bill. Plus it’s a fairly large SUV (Torres EVX)

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 16th, 2025, 10:56 am

j.o.e wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:I rem when I was looking around at buying a new car, the Tucson was like 359-369 for the fully loaded 1.6t dct awd combination. Now they bringing in a tax-free? hybrid version for more or less the same price? And now the petrol non hybrid version is close to or around 400k? LMAO When these spirit communicators were selling the 2.0 version for 325 fully loaded men was like not me and a 300+ Hyundai. Now men parting ways with 500 large and more on real disposable sheit and watching yuh in yuh face trying to convince everybody why they didn't buy proper ting to begin with. Buyers remorse syndrome. Let's hear it for the mg, peoton, haval and sangyong owners. One by one they getting the market suckers. For those with the RAV4, CRV, CX5 and Forester in this community. Biggup.

Tbf I want an electric that cheap and the KGM might get my money. Willing to gamble on a non brand electric to reduce my fuel bill. Plus it’s a fairly large SUV (Torres EVX)

What's the price of the Torres EVX?

Capleton

Postby Capleton » January 16th, 2025, 11:45 am

PapaC wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

What's the price of the Torres EVX?

$375K.....comes pretty well equipped and has a 10 year/1,000,000km warranty on the Lithium Ion Battery. It uses a BYD Blade II Lithium Ion battery.

zando

Postby zando » January 16th, 2025, 5:28 pm

So what happens when the protons and the mg's and the gwms etc start lasting as long as or longer than the Toyotas and the hondas and the Mazdas etc? You do know in the kgm vehicles they source their parts from Toyota and Mercedes right? Also Toyota is partnered with byd, a Chinese brand on their batteries because like it or not the Chinese have the most advanced battery tech.

Also the new Mazda ez-6 is.... Drum roll... A rebadged Chinese vehicle.

Whether you're ready to accept it or not the Chinese are coming in full force and they ain't playing around, all the big manufacturers are worried.

It's precisely because of these opinions that the legacy automakers think they are the best, that will put them in a hard situation, they don't think the Chinese can touch them but if they don't embrace change and new ideas and tech, they'll be left in the dust, look at Nissan, almost bankrupt because they're holding on to the notion that they can't fail, I like legacy automakers also, love Mazda, but anyone who believes the Chinese cars aren't getting good at lightening pace is delusional.

zando

Postby zando » January 16th, 2025, 11:26 pm

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » January 17th, 2025, 3:35 pm

zando wrote:

So what happens when the protons and the mg's and the gwms etc start lasting as long as or longer than the Toyotas and the hondas and the Mazdas etc? You do know in the kgm vehicles they source their parts from Toyota and Mercedes right? Also Toyota is partnered with byd, a Chinese brand on their batteries because like it or not the Chinese have the most advanced battery tech.

Whether you're ready to accept it or not the Chinese are coming in full force and they ain't playing around, all the big manufacturers are worried.

It's precisely because of these opinions that the legacy automakers think they are the best, that will put them in a hard situation, they don't think the Chinese can touch them but if they don't embrace change and new ideas and tech, they'll be left in the dust, look at Nissan, almost bankrupt because they're holding on to the notion that they can't fail, I like legacy automakers also, love Mazda, but anyone who believes the Chinese cars aren't getting good at lightening pace is delusional.

That electric Mazda 6 bit surprised me saw the car launched this week in the European market. A majority of the Toyotaholics need to realise that the brand isnt as realiable as it was the glory days for all these "solid brands" are almost if not already gone.

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2025, 4:07 pm

zando wrote:

Pll who saying chinese vehicles are shyt really are living under a rock
there was a time when ppl used to spit on Korean vehicles and now everybody and their mammy act like Kia / Hyundai is premium ting

zando

Postby zando » January 17th, 2025, 4:46 pm

zando wrote:

there was a time when ppl used to spit on Korean vehicles and now everybody and their mammy act like Kia / Hyundai is premium ting
Incase anyone wants to see a tear down of a 3 year old jolion at 130,000km.

https://youtu.be/d49u56ZQNUA?si=qwKHJvWNXUh8YSTB

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » January 18th, 2025, 4:58 pm

Does your IT department still use laptops and ups purchased in January 2015 for mission critical operational stuff? How many of you all still have a cordless drill, a tablet PC or cell phone that works as intended purchased on or before 2015?

How many Great Wall vans it have on the road still? What about the Chinese trucks that Rex sold over the years. How many of you all still see those and the supposed benz based sangyongs and Protons on the road from the 90s into 2000's?

If the idea was to save the environment then you won't be buying a vehicle. You'll walk or use public transport which will not solve the problem.

If the idea was to save money then spending 375 on a vehicle named tores evs is a bad start to that supposed strategy. Toyota sells a little car. I forgot the name of it but it's smaller than the yaris and it sells for like 135k. The rep I know told me it is actually more fuel efficient than the prius c (acqua) and easier to maintain with cheaper parts.

So if we all cared about our pockets and environment you cannot convince me that sum unknown rubbish brand with Chinese technology is the answer to our problems.

Marketing depts probably love to prey on the stupid and gullible. Imagine you telling people that you just purchased a build your dreams Dolphin or you got the haval great wall ora cat. I saw the MG 4 this afternoon and the tail-lights couldn't even hide the Chinese maker branding as it have SAIC stamped on it. But men be like "I got a mg cause i didn't like the BMW ix3" lol sure....

Yeah to the progressives in here, go buy alluh Chinese vehicles and report back to we nah. Tell us about this "investment" you made into "saving money".

Nothing to think about or I'm serious about anymore. The Chinese reach so go buy it. Don't come online looking for validation. Pull that trigger and TikTok the sheit out of yuh car and collect your 5mins of fame thereafter.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 19th, 2025, 12:19 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Does your IT department still use laptops and ups purchased in January 2015 for mission critical operational stuff? How many of you all still have a cordless drill, a tablet PC or cell phone that works as intended purchased on or before 2015?

How many Great Wall vans it have on the road still? What about the Chinese trucks that Rex sold over the years. How many of you all still see those and the supposed benz based sangyongs and Protons on the road from the 90s into 2000's?

If the idea was to save the environment then you won't be buying a vehicle. You'll walk or use public transport which will not solve the problem.

If the idea was to save money then spending 375 on a vehicle named tores evs is a bad start to that supposed strategy. Toyota sells a little car. I forgot the name of it but it's smaller than the yaris and it sells for like 135k. The rep I know told me it is actually more fuel efficient than the prius c (acqua) and easier to maintain with cheaper parts.

So if we all cared about our pockets and environment you cannot convince me that sum unknown rubbish brand with Chinese technology is the answer to our problems.

Marketing depts probably love to prey on the stupid and gullible. Imagine you telling people that you just purchased a build your dreams Dolphin or you got the haval great wall ora cat. I saw the MG 4 this afternoon and the tail-lights couldn't even hide the Chinese maker branding as it have SAIC stamped on it. But men be like "I got a mg cause i didn't like the BMW ix3" lol sure....

Yeah to the progressives in here, go buy alluh Chinese vehicles and report back to we nah. Tell us about this "investment" you made into "saving money".

Nothing to think about or I'm serious about anymore. The Chinese reach so go buy it. Don't come online looking for validation. Pull that trigger and TikTok the sheit out of yuh car and collect your 5mins of fame thereafter.

We get it man, you get an altezza as a gift 2 decades ago then finally get a loan for a japanese SUV. You care way too much about what other people drive once it isnt one major japanese brands

zando

Postby zando » January 19th, 2025, 8:00 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Does your IT department still use laptops and ups purchased in January 2015 for mission critical operational stuff? How many of you all still have a cordless drill, a tablet PC or cell phone that works as intended purchased on or before 2015?

I didn't even read all that as after the first paragraph I'm sure it was a nonsensical rant.

Firstly yes, I see old ssangyongs driving around, specifically there's a bar I lime at sometimes, there's a guy with a old musso and still has it driving around normal normal, obviously you won't see more because they are a small company and wouldn't have sold much.

Anyway, you do realize the japanese weren't seen as having good vehicles when they started out right? It's only after a while they started to get good, but that took time, you remind me of one of those old fogies in America that used to tell people after WW2 to stop driving that ' jap crap ' while shouting at neighbourhood children to get off your lawn, but here we are.

I'm not saying everyone should go out and buy Chinese vehicles although everyone should buy what they like, honestly people out there actually doing their research about the vehicles and a lot of people like them, what I'm saying is don't sleep on them.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » January 20th, 2025, 10:14 am

zando wrote:

I didn't even read all that as after the first paragraph I'm sure it was a nonsensical rant.

Firstly yes, I see old ssangyongs driving around, specifically there's a bar I lime at sometimes, there's a guy with a old musso and still has it driving around normal normal, obviously you won't see more because they are a small company and wouldn't have sold much.

Anyway, you do realize the japanese weren't seen as having good vehicles when they started out right? It's only after a while they started to get good, but that took time, you remind me of one of those old fogies in America that used to tell people after WW2 to stop driving that ' jap crap ' while shouting at neighbourhood children to get off your lawn, but here we are.

I'm not saying everyone should go out and buy Chinese vehicles although everyone should buy what they like, honestly people out there actually doing their research about the vehicles and a lot of people like them, what I'm saying is don't sleep on them.

I do see SsangYong vehicles on the Road to this day (From when Sterling had the brand). Saw a few Actyon (pick up) and Musso (SUV), they actually look surprisingly good for their age. Not looking beat out or smoking going down the road. For me a good reference point for vehicles is the Australian market. We basically get a lot of the models that Australia gets and there are lots of reviews for models down under.

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2025, 10:28 am

tl;dr
but I use a cordless craftsman impact gun that I bought in 2003

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 22nd, 2025, 6:55 pm

There are shitty chinese brands and then there are good chinese brands.
Just like Daihatsu and Subaru and not in the same League.

The top chinese contenders seems to be BYD and Geely (Volvo, Zeeker, Link&C0)
China is now in the second phase of their development, they have mastered low tech manufacturing and they are well on their way to mastering high tech manufacturing.

Also they are mostly heading down the road of electrics, electrics are far more reliable than traditional cars. less moving parts and therefore less things to go "wong" no pun intended.

this is the first wave ... im waiting for the second wave and then ill really consider buying one.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 22nd, 2025, 6:56 pm

Also Volvo EX30 just hit massy

and its chinese btw, built and designed by geely and made for the world market including the first world.

mr_scotty_buttons

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby mr_scotty_buttons » January 25th, 2025, 9:04 pm

zando wrote:

I hear you on the Chinese thing. They are coming in strong. BYD esp. but the local pricing for BYD is ridiculous.
My other thing with electric is that depreciation gonna be a lot worse than Euros.

Ppl think Kia and Hyundai are premium? lol. They’re better than 10-20 years ago but not there. Yet. Maybe in a next 10-20 years.

Postby j.o.e » January 26th, 2025, 11:17 am

mr_scotty_buttons wrote:
zando wrote:

I hear you on the Chinese thing. They are coming in strong. BYD esp. but the local pricing for BYD is ridiculous.
My other thing with electric is that depreciation gonna be a lot worse than Euros.

Ppl think Kia and Hyundai are premium? lol. They’re better than 10-20 years ago but not there. Yet. Maybe in a next 10-20 years.

Electric depreciation may hit hard now …. But with less fuel costs and maintenance I’m just gonna buy one and drive it until it won’t drive anymore. I also think down the road eventually the depreciation will be less as people are still hesitant now.

death365

Postby death365 » January 27th, 2025, 6:07 am

Thanks for the laugh.... bess I had in a while

The world runs on some very very old equipment... mostly Unix based. Super critical like banking/ wireless transfers transport systems etc etc

Tezzadude wrote:Does your IT department still use laptops and ups purchased in January 2015 for mission critical operational stuff?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 29th, 2025, 7:43 am

death365 wrote:Thanks for the laugh.... bess I had in a while

The world runs on some very very old equipment... mostly Unix based. Super critical like banking/ wireless transfers transport systems etc etc

Tezzadude wrote:Does your IT department still use laptops and ups purchased in January 2015 for mission critical operational stuff?

death365 just confirmed he drives a 30 year old toyota crown

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » January 29th, 2025, 12:52 pm

Some of you all are just virtue signaling the agenda of alternatives to conventional motoring simply because you want to be perceived as progressive and highly accepting to change, you know the social media pips.

One person above claims, he (just assuming gender, so no need for you liberals to go off on gender mischaracterization) intends to save money by possibly purchasing an almost 400k vehicle cause the intent is to save money by "saving" on fuel and maintenance costs.

Then he went on to further state that he'll buy it and drive it "until it won't drive anymore." This is admittance to the fact that this is a disposable vehicle as time goes by.

Hoping to see many hybrid and EV's to get posted here with glowing reviews from the many buyers it supposedly have lined up.

I got to hand it to the Chinese though, when you see the Japanese take on an EV called the Mazda MX-30, Nissan Leaf, Mitsubishi Imiev and the Honda e, I could understand why you would laugh and throw money to BYD instead.

death365

Postby death365 » January 29th, 2025, 1:27 pm

30 year old Datsun 120Y (B310) :D

drchaos wrote:
death365 wrote:Thanks for the laugh.... bess I had in a while

death365 just confirmed he drives a 30 year old toyota crown