Shalom Vanamson wrote:Capleton wrote:NR8 wrote:Capleton wrote:zando wrote:It's basically a better baleno on stilts with the jimny drive train lolwing wrote:Is it a case of " you get what you pay for?"adnj wrote:Yet another WTF head scratch courtesy of the Indian auto industry.
Quite right, it is based on the Baleno's platform, but with the Grand Vitara (2WD) drive train, same engine and tranny. It should be at least 150-200kg lighter than the Grand Vitara, so the drive should be a lil more peppy with the better power to weight ratio.
Suzuki is basically gonna use the same engine set up (1.5L with ISG) on most of their model range.
Is this the same hybrid system that initially came on the RORO Swift hybrid?
I have no idea, would depend on what the RORO Swift came with (mild or strong hybrid).
Saw MG launched the the new MG4 EV :
- 2WD - $249K
- AWD - $285K
The dual motor AWD supposedly puts out over 400hp. Price is nice, bet the vehicle is nice as well. Only issue I have is the Chinese reliability factor.
Have been seeing various Sales reps putting up the ad I just refuse to believe its the 435hp version of that car they selling for 285k because that thing is rapid at road legal speeds.
Video of it drag racing an older R35 and Lambo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yF9ksaXfUGg&t=47s
Capleton wrote:Shalom Vanamson wrote:Capleton wrote:NR8 wrote:Capleton wrote:zando wrote:It's basically a better baleno on stilts with the jimny drive train lolwing wrote:Is it a case of " you get what you pay for?"adnj wrote:Yet another WTF head scratch courtesy of the Indian auto industry.
Quite right, it is based on the Baleno's platform, but with the Grand Vitara (2WD) drive train, same engine and tranny. It should be at least 150-200kg lighter than the Grand Vitara, so the drive should be a lil more peppy with the better power to weight ratio.
Suzuki is basically gonna use the same engine set up (1.5L with ISG) on most of their model range.
Is this the same hybrid system that initially came on the RORO Swift hybrid?
I have no idea, would depend on what the RORO Swift came with (mild or strong hybrid).
Saw MG launched the the new MG4 EV :
- 2WD - $249K
- AWD - $285K
The dual motor AWD supposedly puts out over 400hp. Price is nice, bet the vehicle is nice as well. Only issue I have is the Chinese reliability factor.
Have been seeing various Sales reps putting up the ad I just refuse to believe its the 435hp version of that car they selling for 285k because that thing is rapid at road legal speeds.
Video of it drag racing an older R35 and Lambo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yF9ksaXfUGg&t=47s
Update, the 400hp figure is erroneous. The reps got it wrong in their FB posts. The dual motor HP is something like 200hp while the estimated range is over 400km.
It's wise to invest in your own fire extinguisher.ProtonPowder wrote:Our fire service cant even put out a small house fire. I waiting for some scholar to do a bess sound system wuk on an electric car with exposed wiring and too small wire gauge.
That will shut down the highways for nearly a day when that fire happens.
drchaos wrote:Has ansa been reduced to just selling low end third world Honda and mitsubishi models?
Except for the CRV ....
telfer wrote:drchaos wrote:Has ansa been reduced to just selling low end third world Honda and mitsubishi models?
Except for the CRV ....
Please elaborate
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
Capleton wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
Think Toyota will be launching it soon, some reps have teaser images on their FB pages.
I don't believe for one second that massy ' tests ' any vehicles, these are billion dollar companies that pour billions into r&d to design and produce these vehicles for multiple markets, how is massy so called ' testing ' better?Xander_25 wrote:Good Day Everyone,
I'm looking at purchasing a new vehicle in the next 2 to 3 months and I was wondering whether any advice could be given. I'm looking at an SUV type vehicle (to accomodate wife and children) and after much searching, reading, etc., I'm leaning towards either of the following:
1. Suzuki Grand Vitara:
I was able to sit in one that belongs to a close friend of mine who recently bought his. It's very comfortable (important for me as I have minor back issues from a fall sustained while at work), the height is good and it is quite spacious. I'm approxiomately 6ft. 1 and there is a lot of headroom throughout, as well as the trunk space is sufficient. The features are cool and all (he showed me the 360 camera, HUD, etc.), but my main takeaway is the interior space and comfort especially if seated for long periods at a time.
2. Subaru Forester (RORO):
I have another close friend who has one (older model circa 2010) which I've ridden and drove in numerous times, and am also leaning towards this option; for the recent models I was considering the E-Boxer Hybrid versions (given the rising cost in fuel, etc.). I was looking at the 2021/2022 models as the 2023 has now integrated all functions into a singular touch interface which I dislike. However, in discussion with an associate who works with Massy Motors, he advised stongly against purchasing the Hybrid version, stating that Massy imports and tests these before comitting to selling them locally. He further stated that once the vehicle does not stand up to the tests, that they do not import them, hence the reason why they have no local hybrid versions to date.
Can anyone say for sure if what was stated RE: Massy is correct? If it is, then would now be safe to say that the more reasonable purchase would be the Vitara? I honestly would prefer the Forester as it has more cargo capacity, but I am also concerned about repairability/parts availability. The only other option I may consider would be the Mazda CX5, but are there any other SUVs that I should consider?I hope I've made sense; thanks in advance for any replies/advice given.
zando wrote:I don't believe for one second that massy ' tests ' any vehicles, these are billion dollar companies that pour billions into r&d to design and produce these vehicles for multiple markets, how is massy so called ' testing ' better?Xander_25 wrote:Good Day Everyone,
I'm looking at purchasing a new vehicle in the next 2 to 3 months and I was wondering whether any advice could be given. I'm looking at an SUV type vehicle (to accomodate wife and children) and after much searching, reading, etc., I'm leaning towards either of the following:
1. Suzuki Grand Vitara:
I was able to sit in one that belongs to a close friend of mine who recently bought his. It's very comfortable (important for me as I have minor back issues from a fall sustained while at work), the height is good and it is quite spacious. I'm approxiomately 6ft. 1 and there is a lot of headroom throughout, as well as the trunk space is sufficient. The features are cool and all (he showed me the 360 camera, HUD, etc.), but my main takeaway is the interior space and comfort especially if seated for long periods at a time.
I have another close friend who has one (older model circa 2010) which I've ridden and drove in numerous times, and am also leaning towards this option; for the recent models I was considering the E-Boxer Hybrid versions (given the rising cost in fuel, etc.). I was looking at the 2021/2022 models as the 2023 has now integrated all functions into a singular touch interface which I dislike. However, in discussion with an associate who works with Massy Motors, he advised stongly against purchasing the Hybrid version, stating that Massy imports and tests these before comitting to selling them locally. He further stated that once the vehicle does not stand up to the tests, that they do not import them, hence the reason why they have no local hybrid versions to date.
Can anyone say for sure if what was stated RE: Massy is correct? If it is, then would now be safe to say that the more reasonable purchase would be the Vitara? I honestly would prefer the Forester as it has more cargo capacity, but I am also concerned about repairability/parts availability. The only other option I may consider would be the Mazda CX5, but are there any other SUVs that I should consider?I hope I've made sense; thanks in advance for any replies/advice given..
Also the new Crosstrek massy is bringing, btw which is very over priced, has the e-boxer badge, Subaru e-boxer is hybrid, so why bring that in and not the Forester? I don't even think the current Forester comes in hybrid form.
Also you should probably drive that grand Vitara, the engine isn't very powerful so once loaded up it may struggle especially if you're heading places maracas etc.
I'd say check out the new vezel from a foreign used dealer.
Xander_25 wrote:Good Day Everyone,
1. Suzuki Grand Vitara:
Can anyone say for sure if what was stated RE: Massy is correct? If it is, then would now be safe to say that the more reasonable purchase would be the Vitara? I honestly would prefer the Forester as it has more cargo capacity, but I am also concerned about repairability/parts availability. The only other option I may consider would be the Mazda CX5, but are there any other SUVs that I should consider?I hope I've made sense; thanks in advance for any replies/advice given.
Goes on sale next week; basic G model, fabric interior $250k.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
SLVR1 wrote:telfer wrote:drchaos wrote:Has ansa been reduced to just selling low end third world Honda and mitsubishi models?
Except for the CRV ....
Please elaborate
To some point maybe with the City and BRV. HRV is not too bad but still watered down. You still have the Civic. I am sure the new Accord will be introduced shortly. They are catering for differing segments. Cannot comment on Mitsubishi too much save and except for the Eclipse Cross.
A172 wrote:Goes on sale next week; basic G model, fabric interior $250k.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
The Yaris Cross being sold by TTTL is the Daihatsu platform Indonesia/Taiwan made model for "developing markets".
It is not a replacement for the Japan/European made Yaris Cross which is a different model for Japan/Euro markets. That would explain why the Daihatsu YC has the Raize interior.
Japan YC - 18" rims, half leather interior, 360 degree cameras, powered seats, ambient lighting, powered tailgate, audible parking aids, seat heatersjamesblunt1 wrote:A172 wrote:Goes on sale next week; basic G model, fabric interior $250k.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
The Yaris Cross being sold by TTTL is the Daihatsu platform Indonesia/Taiwan made model for "developing markets".
It is not a replacement for the Japan/European made Yaris Cross which is a different model for Japan/Euro markets. That would explain why the Daihatsu YC has the Raize interior.
What’s the difference with the two models besides the engine?
Xander_25 wrote:zando wrote:I don't believe for one second that massy ' tests ' any vehicles, these are billion dollar companies that pour billions into r&d to design and produce these vehicles for multiple markets, how is massy so called ' testing ' better?Xander_25 wrote:Good Day Everyone,
1. Suzuki Grand Vitara:
Can anyone say for sure if what was stated RE: Massy is correct? If it is, then would now be safe to say that the more reasonable purchase would be the Vitara? I honestly would prefer the Forester as it has more cargo capacity, but I am also concerned about repairability/parts availability. The only other option I may consider would be the Mazda CX5, but are there any other SUVs that I should consider?I hope I've made sense; thanks in advance for any replies/advice given..
Also the new Crosstrek massy is bringing, btw which is very over priced, has the e-boxer badge, Subaru e-boxer is hybrid, so why bring that in and not the Forester? I don't even think the current Forester comes in hybrid form.
Also you should probably drive that grand Vitara, the engine isn't very powerful so once loaded up it may struggle especially if you're heading places maracas etc.
Thanks for the insight. I'm actually from Tobago, so we have more hilly terrain here, so I'm wondering about how it would cope with that under a full load; my friend lives on flatter terrain so it may not be that much of a challenge for him. I did see the reviews about the engine's power output, so it's one of the reasons I wasn't too sold on it, but the physical interaction gave me a bit of hope so to speak.
I didn't know that the new Crosstrek is hybrid. Tbh, I wasn't sold on his explanation as Massy is historically (in my book) a say one thing and do another type of company. My first vehicle was an Elantra (2016) and I had numerous issues with the steering 2 years after buying which they denied existed till the warranty expired. I had to write to the chairman of Massy and ended up getting it replaced for free, so I have no intention of even setting foot in their showroom.
I'd have to see and sit in a Vezel for myself as it looks pretty small from my viewpoint, but again I've never interacted with one so I don't know for sure how it really feels. I should be coming to Trinidad sometime closer to the end of the month so I'll see about getting a test run at one of the RORO dealers. I can't say if any of the dealers here in Tobago have any but I'll check around and see as well.
jamesblunt1 wrote:A172 wrote:Goes on sale next week; basic G model, fabric interior $250k.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can anyone say if we would be seeing the 2024 yaris cross on our shores?
What’s the difference with the two models besides the engine?
A172 wrote:fu dealers have access to the japan/euro spec only
A172 wrote:more features, less $, better interior, a more modern look & japan built is a no-brainer for me
the daihatsu product would obv be cheapy hence the raize interior, less features etc. but it would appeal to those who can't afford a Rav4 but want the Rav4 look
both vehicles would appeal to 2 different customer bases
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A172 wrote:more features, less $, better interior, a more modern look & japan built is a no-brainer for me
the daihatsu product would obv be cheapy hence the raize interior, less features etc. but it would appeal to those who can't afford a Rav4 but want the Rav4 look
Moms looking for a retirement vehicle to roll around and carry out lil errands. She used a yaris for the last 8 years and with regular maintenance it was an exceptional vehicle.
It was a toss up between this
Vezel(almost everybody have it)
Xtrail
But would prefer to stick with toyota. Thanks for the assistance
drchaos wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A172 wrote:more features, less $, better interior, a more modern look & japan built is a no-brainer for me
Moms looking for a retirement vehicle to roll around and carry out lil errands. She used a yaris for the last 8 years and with regular maintenance it was an exceptional vehicle.
It was a toss up between this
Vezel(almost everybody have it)
Xtrail
But would prefer to stick with toyota. Thanks for the assistance
Whats your definition of exceptional???
Or do you just mean reliable?
Being underpowered is relative and to be honest I would safely say that any vehicle on the road could take the hilly terrain of Maracas and even Tobago.Xander_25 wrote:zando wrote:I don't believe for one second that massy ' tests ' any vehicles, these are billion dollar companies that pour billions into r&d to design and produce these vehicles for multiple markets, how is massy so called ' testing ' better?Xander_25 wrote:Good Day Everyone,
1. Suzuki Grand Vitara:
Thanks for the insight. I'm actually from Tobago, so we have more hilly terrain here, so I'm wondering about how it would cope with that under a full load; my friend lives on flatter terrain so it may not be that much of a challenge for him. I did see the reviews about the engine's power output, so it's one of the reasons I wasn't too sold on it, but the physical interaction gave me a bit of hope so to speak.
I didn't know that the new Crosstrek is hybrid. Tbh, I wasn't sold on his explanation as Massy is historically (in my book) a say one thing and do another type of company. My first vehicle was an Elantra (2016) and I had numerous issues with the steering 2 years after buying which they denied existed till the warranty expired. I had to write to the chairman of Massy and ended up getting it replaced for free, so I have no intention of even setting foot in their showroom.
I'd have to see and sit in a Vezel for myself as it looks pretty small from my viewpoint, but again I've never interacted with one so I don't know for sure how it really feels. I should be coming to Trinidad sometime closer to the end of the month so I'll see about getting a test run at one of the RORO dealers. I can't say if any of the dealers here in Tobago have any but I'll check around and see as well.