T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

zando

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby zando » August 13th, 2023, 3:09 pm

Registered User wrote:
zando wrote:New Kia Cerato, might come next year, not sure how I feel about this design though , looks high off the ground which I guess could be a good thing for our roads, but a bad thing for looks, most likely will come with the same 1.6 as they're staying engine options are carry overs. PXL_20230810_161924546~2.jpgPXL_20230810_161915363~2.jpg

Looks like this K3 is actually a replacement for the Rio, with the cerato series being renamed to K4 in the future. Now it's a wait and see for what actually ends up in our market and and how well specified vs its price we end up with.
I was thinking the same thing because of the proportions, but the article stated the k3 is the Cerato/forte in other regions.

zando

Postby zando » August 14th, 2023, 1:14 pm

Registered User wrote:
zando wrote:New Kia Cerato, might come next year, not sure how I feel about this design though , looks high off the ground which I guess could be a good thing for our roads, but a bad thing for looks, most likely will come with the same 1.6 as they're staying engine options are carry overs. PXL_20230810_161924546~2.jpgPXL_20230810_161915363~2.jpg

Looks like this K3 is actually a replacement for the Rio, with the cerato series being renamed to K4 in the future. Now it's a wait and see for what actually ends up in our market and and how well specified vs its price we end up with.
Did some more research, looks like this is based on the new accent platform, or Verna as they call it in other markets, it's 6 inches or so longer than the Rio but 3 inches shorter than the Cerato, the article stated it may be a replacement for both vehicles, this seems to be more of a wait and see kind of thing.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » August 16th, 2023, 8:04 pm

X trail price from Massy. 375K for the Advanced model and 399k for the Exclusive.

Postby Dave » August 16th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Fully loaded Qashqai is high 300k?

Capleton

Postby Capleton » August 17th, 2023, 8:30 am

Dave wrote:Fully loaded Qashqai is high 300k?

last pricing I saw from Massy was:
- $305K - Advance
- $355K - Sense
- $365K - Exclusive

Postby Dave » August 17th, 2023, 10:21 am

Thanks so about 10k separating the two.
Does anyone have feedback on the new Qashqai?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 17th, 2023, 10:57 am

My aunt bought one. Base spec, pretty decent I find. I only did a short drive in it other than that was passenger riding. Sits nice, feels safe and easy to drive. No faults from what I could see or feel, car play standard with the lcd in the middle of the tach, led headlights. No squeaky plastic noises

Postby Dave » August 17th, 2023, 11:22 am

Might be an odd question..but was it a wavy ride?

Capleton

Postby Capleton » August 17th, 2023, 11:47 am

So my wife wanted a new vehicle and liked the new Grand Vitara, so we got one in GLX AWD trim. I took the customary borrow for all of last week and here is my first hand feedback:

- Did north/south run. Mostly Hway driving, but city runs were also made during the week. On average I got 18kmpl. Ran the car til the gas light came on and got 700km. It took 40 litres of gas to full the tank, which meant it had a fuel reserve of 5 litres since the fuel tank capacity is 45l. If I really pushed it with the gas light on, it would make closer to 750km - 800km on a tank of super. In city driving conditions, I got close to 14kmpl. Personally I am pleased considering that it is a mild hybrid. What I like about the mild hybrid system is that if/when the battery pack fails the car can still drive, just minus the fuel savings from the ISG motor and the engine stop/start system.

- Engine performance was ok. Not the quickest thing. But then again we did not buy this vehicle for out right speed nor acceleration. Trini Driver did a review and basically said that the engine was completely dead, but for me the car drove much better than what he showed. You do have to mash down if you want it to respond, but for the most part the car does respond when needed. What I found though, is that the transmission goes into a higher gear when cruising, so you do have to mash a little for it to respond. But I think the gearing was designed like this to help with fuel economy.

- Ride comfort is really good and the ride height is pretty descent to negotiate the mine fields that we call roads in this country. Seats are really nice and comfy. Vehicle also has rear A/C vents and chargers. I also like the interior with the LED ambient lighting.

- Tech is cool, come with wireless Android Auto/Apple Carplay works well with zero connectivity issues. Also has a wireless charger, so no need for any cable at all once your phone has the feature. I really like the 360 camera, and the different views that you can select, especially for tight parking. It also comes with a heads up display, which at first I thought it was just some novelty/gimmick, but when actually driving the car, it is pretty cool (try it before you knock it I guess).

- Safety was a primary concern for us since we have a little one and the Grand Vitara delivers on this. 6 Airbags, ISOFIX anchorages, Brake Assist, Electronic Brake Distribution and ESP are all standard. But for me the deal maker was the AWD system. Always love having the added safety net of the AWD system working for you in the back ground, especially on wet roads. The cool thing with Suzuki's all grip is that it has a diff lock which gives you a 50/50 front and rear split, which can come in pretty handy if needed.

For $270K I think it offers a lot of value, more so since a 3 year/45,000km service package is also included in the price, along with the 5 year/100,000km warranty.

We were considering the Subaru XV, but that thought went out the door since the 1.6L is no longer available. All in all the Grand Vitara is an excellent family vehicle for the price point.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 17th, 2023, 10:09 pm

Dave wrote:Might be an odd question..but was it a wavy ride?

I know what u talking bout, not so much of a body roll but more like the front shocks not matching the rear on the rebound like a boat going over a swell ent..

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » August 19th, 2023, 1:24 pm

About this..... it wont be the actual replacement for the Cerato. Kia is poised to bring out the replacement pretty soon and it would not be called K3 but rather K4 as the genuine successor to the Cerato/Forte. It looks a bit bigger than current gen so I'm guessing a growth spurt is in order just like what Hyundai did to the Elantra and the side profile is reminiscent of the new gen K5 or what we call Optima which we dont get anymore locally.

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » August 19th, 2023, 1:31 pm

Capleton wrote:So my wife wanted a new vehicle and liked the new Grand Vitara, so we got one in GLX AWD trim. I took the customary borrow for all of last week and here is my first hand feedback:

- Did north/south run. Mostly Hway driving, but city runs were also made during the week. On average I got 18kmpl. Ran the car til the gas light came on and got 700km. It took 40 litres of gas to full the tank, which meant it had a fuel reserve of 5 litres since the fuel tank capacity is 45l. If I really pushed it with the gas light on, it would make closer to 750km - 800km on a tank of super. In city driving conditions, I got close to 14kmpl. Personally I am pleased considering that it is a mild hybrid. What I like about the mild hybrid system is that if/when the battery pack fails the car can still drive, just minus the fuel savings from the ISG motor and the engine stop/start system.

- Engine performance was ok. Not the quickest thing. But then again we did not buy this vehicle for out right speed nor acceleration. Trini Driver did a review and basically said that the engine was completely dead, but for me the car drove much better than what he showed. You do have to mash down if you want it to respond, but for the most part the car does respond when needed. What I found though, is that the transmission goes into a higher gear when cruising, so you do have to mash a little for it to respond. But I think the gearing was designed like this to help with fuel economy.

- Ride comfort is really good and the ride height is pretty descent to negotiate the mine fields that we call roads in this country. Seats are really nice and comfy. Vehicle also has rear A/C vents and chargers. I also like the interior with the LED ambient lighting.

- Tech is cool, come with wireless Android Auto/Apple Carplay works well with zero connectivity issues. Also has a wireless charger, so no need for any cable at all once your phone has the feature. I really like the 360 camera, and the different views that you can select, especially for tight parking. It also comes with a heads up display, which at first I thought it was just some novelty/gimmick, but when actually driving the car, it is pretty cool (try it before you knock it I guess).

- Safety was a primary concern for us since we have a little one and the Grand Vitara delivers on this. 6 Airbags, ISOFIX anchorages, Brake Assist, Electronic Brake Distribution and ESP are all standard. But for me the deal maker was the AWD system. Always love having the added safety net of the AWD system working for you in the back ground, especially on wet roads. The cool thing with Suzuki's all grip is that it has a diff lock which gives you a 50/50 front and rear split, which can come in pretty handy if needed.

For $270K I think it offers a lot of value, more so since a 3 year/45,000km service package is also included in the price, along with the 5 year/100,000km warranty.

We were considering the Subaru XV, but that thought went out the door since the 1.6L is no longer available. All in all the Grand Vitara is an excellent family vehicle for the price point.

Thanks for your comprehensive review on this vehicle really appreciate it. Its beginning to grow on me. Yesterday I drove behind a navy blue with the black roof and then to come across another one on the opposite side of traffic which was a white with the black roof and admired how premium it looked compared to the previous gen. My sister saw it and said it reminded her of a Velar and Evoque from the back. The service package and warranty are especially good at that price point.

death365

Postby death365 » August 19th, 2023, 4:44 pm

Old price was 305 for the mid ... know some one who bought 1. Full moonroof, fabric seats , comes with continental ecocontact tyres along with a full spare all the fancy driving aides but

It made in britan so the euro setup exists... indicator/wider switches are switched. A reanult/Mitsubishi battery the back matting is really poor quality.
Capleton wrote:
Dave wrote:Fully loaded Qashqai is high 300k?

last pricing I saw from Massy was:
- $305K - Advance
- $355K - Sense
- $365K - Exclusive

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » August 19th, 2023, 4:51 pm

Toyota
Last edited by Tezzadude on April 11th, 2024, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 19th, 2023, 6:53 pm

Tezzadude wrote:I don’t feel sorry for people taking 8-10 year loans to own some disposable pos when it have 10 brand new Toyota SUVs to choose from locally. Cheapest starts @ 200 and most expensive crests at 1.7!

Them Suzuki and Subaru awd systems are sheit next to a proper 4x4 system found in a Fortuner or Prado. Doh let dem sales reps fool you into thinking awd is a safety feature. My 2 decade old car never gave me any traction issues even on the wettest roads in this country. Some of you all can get fooled pretty easily boy :lol:

Lemme guess you own a Toyota and feeling special? Don’t brown nose too hard bro.

death365

Postby death365 » August 19th, 2023, 9:01 pm

Most likely ah iphone user too . ..
nick639v2 wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:I don’t feel sorry for people taking 8-10 year loans to own some disposable pos when it have 10 brand new Toyota SUVs to choose from locally. Cheapest starts @ 200 and most expensive crests at 1.7!

Them Suzuki and Subaru awd systems are sheit next to a proper 4x4 system found in a Fortuner or Prado. Doh let dem sales reps fool you into thinking awd is a safety feature. My 2 decade old car never gave me any traction issues even on the wettest roads in this country. Some of you all can get fooled pretty easily boy

Lemme guess you own a Toyota and feeling special? Don’t brown nose too hard bro.

david12

Postby david12 » August 19th, 2023, 9:07 pm

Subie awd is rubbish?
The maths not mathsing

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » August 19th, 2023, 9:09 pm

Them Suzuki and Subaru awd systems are sheit next to a proper 4x4 system found in a Fortuner or Prado. Doh let dem sales reps fool you into thinking awd is a safety feature. My 2 decade old car never gave me any traction issues even on the wettest roads in this country. Some of you all can get fooled pretty easily boy :lol:

You okay there buddy :?. Its because of competition from Automakers like the ones you listed there, Toyota is stepping their game up when it comes to features and affordability hence them having SUVs that start @ 200k.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 19th, 2023, 9:15 pm

Them Suzuki and Subaru awd systems are sheit next to a proper 4x4 system found in a Fortuner or Prado. Doh let dem sales reps fool you into thinking awd is a safety feature. My 2 decade old car never gave me any traction issues even on the wettest roads in this country. Some of you all can get fooled pretty easily boy

Irony of the new grand Vitara is that it is platform shared with a Toyota and built at a Toyota factory iirc

AWD is not a safety feature.

Mitsubishi super select 4wd system is the only system that allows running 4wd on the road. Every other system will be damaged if you try it.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 20th, 2023, 2:13 am

What's the cost of them Suzuki and Subaru compared to a Fortuner or Prado? How can that ever be a fair comparison? Some people buy a vehicle because they just like it. Never found Toyota to be an attractive brand. Less features and more hard plastic than most.

Postby aaron17 » August 20th, 2023, 7:47 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

What's the cost of them Suzuki and Subaru compared to a Fortuner or Prado? How can that ever be a fair comparison? Some people buy a vehicle because they just like it. Never found Toyota to be an attractive brand. Less features and more hard plastic than most.
But is toyota here more reliable?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 20th, 2023, 11:10 am

Not in my experience.. it’s the same as everything else when they’re all treated the same wrt maintenance

Postby A172 » August 20th, 2023, 12:41 pm

your 20yo piece of sh1t is still a piece of sh1t

might as well put yourself in a new one

Postby nemisis » August 20th, 2023, 3:12 pm

IMG_3564.JPG

Anyone has informtion on the pricing for these?

zando

Postby zando » August 20th, 2023, 7:30 pm

Tell us you don't know anything about Subaru without telling us you don't know anything about Subaru, seems to me the only fool here is you.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » August 20th, 2023, 7:40 pm

[img]
timeline-1658931182.png
[/img]

20% stake in Subaru, with some Toyota vehicles being manufactured at Subaru plants...
Bad news guy, yuh might hadda make sure yuh ask TTTL where dem making d cars just in case.
:D
timeline-1658931182.png

Postby aaron17 » August 21st, 2023, 6:56 am

LOLOLOL

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 21st, 2023, 10:18 am

Subaru AWD is sheit next to toyota systems?

HA... Miss me with that bull.

Man probably trying to get a discount from Toyota on his fortuner he ordered in with some PR work.

death365

Postby death365 » August 21st, 2023, 10:28 am

man come in ... pelt one Toyota big stone ... buss out and gone yes !!!!

maybe does watch too much scotty on youtube

drchaos wrote:

Subaru AWD is sheit next to toyota systems?

HA... Miss me with that bull.

Man probably trying to get a discount from Toyota on his fortuner he ordered in with some PR work.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » August 21st, 2023, 11:00 am

Toyota
Last edited by Tezzadude on April 11th, 2024, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.