T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Capleton

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Capleton » February 21st, 2020, 9:35 am

nick639v2 wrote:So my d40 navara is going next week most likely.

Vehicle budget right now is 220 give or take max sadly.. part of me telling me just go back with a pick-up, but I'm curious. What else is there available with decent ground clearance and good suspension??? I do regular matelot trips etc so
I'm curious of what's y'all views with dealership offerings??

Dip in the grey market suv?
Local used pickup? (This scares me with the way individuals maintain their diesels)
Or just hold a strain until I can get back a new van?

Vehicle must have that 8-10 year longevity too.

Advise the I man.

Right now you can get a Colorado LT for $240K. It may be a lil over your budget, but it's a proper 4x4.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 21st, 2020, 9:36 am

Capleton wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:So my d40 navara is going next week most likely.

Vehicle budget right now is 220 give or take max sadly.. part of me telling me just go back with a pick-up, but I'm curious. What else is there available with decent ground clearance and good suspension??? I do regular matelot trips etc so
I'm curious of what's y'all views with dealership offerings??

Dip in the grey market suv?
Local used pickup? (This scares me with the way individuals maintain their diesels)
Or just hold a strain until I can get back a new van?

Vehicle must have that 8-10 year longevity too.

Advise the I man.

Right now you can get a Colorado LT for $240K. It may be a lil over your budget, but it's a proper 4x4.
Serious, I honestly forgot about that!. I will definitely check that out

Postby rspann » February 21st, 2020, 2:09 pm

You could drive manual? I selling my Ranger cheap. The bad white one. TDT ... ,
24000 km , ask big son to send u pics.

agent007

T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » February 21st, 2020, 2:17 pm

Nick:
So from what I gather, you had the d40 navara but don’t mind upgrading to another van while also exploring possibilities with:
1. Good ground clearance
2. Good suspension
3. To handle frequent Matelot trips

So, I have no idea what particular grade of navara you drive but with $220k you can get a NP300 Frontier SE 2WD with the double cab and 6MT transmission for $191k thereabouts. You would have extra cash to add some accessories and upgrade wheels.

You can also get a similarly equipped Mazda BT-50 or Isuzu D-Max. Frankly, either way you go would not be a bad choice but again, it depends on which Navara you had.

If it were me, I would give diesel a rest and get something easier on my spine, less noisy and generally superior in terms of braking, handling dynamics etc.

So, $220k can land you a Suzuki Vitara GL+ which has a 1.6 engine mated to a 6AT transmission. You get a towering 5 year warranty with this vehicle. Standard power and safety features as well as 17” rims, 185mm ground clearance and all wheel disc brakes add up to a good overall package for $200k. If you are serious, you can act quickly and pay the same $200k for the upgraded GLX model (priced at $228k) which someone won recently but wishes to sell. It never left the showroom!

If you leaning more on ground clearance, there is the Subaru XV Crosstrek 1.6 AWD with 220mm ground clearance (best in class). With standard 7 airbags, smart phone integration, the worlds best awd system, all disc brakes, fog lights and the usual compliment of power features, you can’t go wrong especially for $229k. Prepare to wait though as Subaru’s flying off Massy’s showroom and storage lots like we preparing for some apocalypse. You putting out money in this case, exactly $9k additional but it well worth it. It will conquer that road all the way to Matelot and beyond.

If you want to go a little more soft core, you can get a Hyundai Creta or Venue or even a Chevy Trax. The latter gives you leather seats, sunroof, 18” rims and a peppy 1.4T engine mated to a 6AT transmission.

Lastly, you have the ubiquitous Rush. Same ground clearance as the Subaru, genuine RWD body on frame based chassis, 6 airbags and legendary Toyota reliability and resale value. The third row would be ideal for your kids or your mother in law. Simply perfect!
Opt for the top trim and you pay $225k.

Opt for the Subaru, that’s what we did.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 21st, 2020, 11:14 pm

agent007 wrote:Nick:
So from what I gather, you had the d40 navara but don’t mind upgrading to another van while also exploring possibilities with:
1. Good ground clearance
2. Good suspension
3. To handle frequent Matelot trips

So, I have no idea what particular grade of navara you drive but with $220k you can get a NP300 Frontier SE 2WD with the double cab and 6MT transmission for $191k thereabouts. You would have extra cash to add some accessories and upgrade wheels.

You can also get a similarly equipped Mazda BT-50 or Isuzu D-Max. Frankly, either way you go would not be a bad choice but again, it depends on which Navara you had.

If it were me, I would give diesel a rest and get something easier on my spine, less noisy and generally superior in terms of braking, handling dynamics etc.

So, $220k can land you a Suzuki Vitara GL+ which has a 1.6 engine mated to a 6AT transmission. You get a towering 5 year warranty with this vehicle. Standard power and safety features as well as 17” rims, 185mm ground clearance and all wheel disc brakes add up to a good overall package for $200k. If you are serious, you can act quickly and pay the same $200k for the upgraded GLX model (priced at $228k) which someone won recently but wishes to sell. It never left the showroom!

If you leaning more on ground clearance, there is the Subaru XV Crosstrek 1.6 AWD with 220mm ground clearance (best in class). With standard 7 airbags, smart phone integration, the worlds best awd system, all disc brakes, fog lights and the usual compliment of power features, you can’t go wrong especially for $229k. Prepare to wait though as Subaru’s flying off Massy’s showroom and storage lots like we preparing for some apocalypse. You putting out money in this case, exactly $9k additional but it well worth it. It will conquer that road all the way to Matelot and beyond.

If you want to go a little more soft core, you can get a Hyundai Creta or Venue or even a Chevy Trax. The latter gives you leather seats, sunroof, 18” rims and a peppy 1.4T engine mated to a 6AT transmission.

Lastly, you have the ubiquitous Rush. Same ground clearance as the Subaru, genuine RWD body on frame based chassis, 6 airbags and legendary Toyota reliability and resale value. The third row would be ideal for your kids or your mother in law. Simply perfect!
Opt for the top trim and you pay $225k.

Opt for the Subaru, that’s what we did.

D40 4x2 LE manual , got it as my personal after 250k kms of thorough hard work with the family business.

From the last 3 years of owning it personally (and having the new FL bt50 at home at my disposal as well) I can safely say 4x4 isn't a need, the 4x2 was enough for my adventures. which is why I'm open and very appreciative of all the suggestions put forward.

Let's dive in to your reply just for those who are following and may ever be in my position.

I have no issues with the manual, but with increasing traffic and my daily is basically Freeport to POS to C3 combined or at least one run each day, That's why the more comfortable crossovers etc are luring me in and im favoring the auto route than dead basic pickup boxes.

I hear you loud and clear with the diesel statement also, for a youngling like myself let's face it, keeping your diesel in prime order takes more out of pocket, and if one disagrees then your the reason I fear the local used market.

Went and checked the rush, it isn't for me, I despise the skinny legs look of it. Hyundai, Chevy Trax softcore sector didn't get me excited at all.

Lastly..LOVE the Subaru recommendation! Saw it on the road and it gave me the fizz.

@rspann I actually have that in my first couple choices but tell young son ease up on he right foot na, doh be revvin up meh possibilities so.
Last edited by nick639v2 on February 21st, 2020, 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 21st, 2020, 11:51 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Is there anyone here either bought or knows someone who bought a Honda with the 1.5 turbo engine? Interested in hearing if anyone locally has had the oil dilution issue?

Mine running strong, Nil oil dilution issues thus far. I change the oil every 6 months with an average of 7-8K Kms anyway so I doubt there is time for Oil dilution to take place.

No overfilled oil pan close to service, No gassy smell from the dipstick
so evidence thus far.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 22nd, 2020, 8:16 am

drchaos wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Is there anyone here either bought or knows someone who bought a Honda with the 1.5 turbo engine? Interested in hearing if anyone locally has had the oil dilution issue?

Mine running strong, Nil oil dilution issues thus far. I change the oil every 6 months with an average of 7-8K Kms anyway so I doubt there is time for Oil dilution to take place.

so no evidence thus far.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2020, 9:33 am

Drchaos, nice to see that you're back. I miss your contributions. I think your Civic is a year older than our CRV which is doing 35k kms. Went in for the service a few days ago and they did a complete health check. 0 issues found. No signs of oil dilution on this end either, infact, all other CRV owners that we asked mentioned that their vehicle is running smoothly. Some owners never knew there was an oil dilution issue in the US market. So I am to assume maybe these Thailand sourced units are maybe superior to the USDM built ones?

Nick, here is a short list of crossovers that have awd locally (non premium marques):

Suzuki Vitara GLX+ Allgrip 1.6
Subaru XV Crosstrek 1.6 and 2.0
Subaru Forester 2.0
Honda CRV 1.5T
Nissan Qashqai 2.0
Nissan Xtrail 2.0
Nissan Pathfinder 3.5
Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0T 4Motion
Hyundai Tucson htrac 1.6T
Hyundai Santa Fe htrac 2.4
Kia Sportage 2.0T CRDi
Kia Sorento 2.2T CRDi

True SUVs:
Suzuki Jimny 1.5
Toyota Fortuner SRV 2.8T D4D
Toyota Land Cruiser Prado VX 2.8 D4D
Chevrolet Trailblazer LTZ 2.8T Duramax
Ford Everest 2.2TDCi and 3.2TDCi
Isuzu MUX 3.0TD* (not sure if SS still imports this)
Jeep Wrangler Sahara and Rubicon

You would observe that there is a noticeable price gap between the crossovers and SUVs obviously due to engine size. So it leaves most of us who want the assurance of awd to choose a capable crossover. That said, what Subaru offers with the XV and Forester having permanent awd with X-mode and best in class ground clearance is sufficient for many to take the plunge.

CarQuestion also tested the CRV awd and it did okay as well but there is something about those new Subarus that are buttery smooth, maybe because of the longitudinal layout of the drivetrain or the boxer engine itself, but you dont feel any vibrations at all. You truly have a task ahead of making a choice. Goodluck.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2020, 3:47 pm

How do people use or take advantage of awd locally? What does awd assurance mean.

mantis

Postby mantis » February 22nd, 2020, 5:01 pm

Has anyone buy the 2020 ford ranger wildtrak is it any good I hear it's very very good for flood 800m depths

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 22nd, 2020, 6:09 pm

Kamakazi, very good question.

Awd means very little for day-to-day activities eg. Going to work, grocery, place of worship, visiting relatives etc

But awd comes in handy when you're going over a lot of bad roads, undulating surfaces, dirt roads, steep slippery inclines and for those who go to resorts and recreational areas where roads arent paved. Some people have land that is driven on where they have private facilities etc. Perhaps you want a strategic spot in manzanilla or mayaro or even tyrico or you going on dirt trails because as a nature seeker you may want a good spot to take photos or to throw a line. We have to consider areas that flood a lot, having that extra ground clearance with awd can come in handy. So many permutations and combinations to actually utilize 4wd/awd in this island republic.

Subaru actually markets their SUVs to be a vehicle of choice to embrace an outdoors lifestyle. I guess when you have a true 4x4 SUV or pickup and or an awd crossover, it's like you now have legitimate excuse to use it.

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2020, 8:09 am

also very helpful with a car like the sti where u can dump the clutch all day and the box won't break

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 10:48 am

A172, how you feel about this 1:

Its $800k. The most capable 4wd true SUV in T&T stock and straight out the showroom.
20200217_124107.jpeg

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2020, 1:22 pm

junk
i bought a Type S Sti btw

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 1:56 pm

Wow nice, only 1 in t&t I'm sure...

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2020, 2:11 pm

yeah only 1
only 500 made in japan also
it's also the only EJ20 sti other than the RA and RA-R that has more hp & tq than the EJ25 sti

other things like the suspension, wheels, brakes, body etc are upgraded compared to the Massy model

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 3:59 pm

Bro, you have me intrigued. Cant wait to see this with local plates. Well done..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 23rd, 2020, 5:49 pm

Agent what model XV you got?? Obviously the 1.6 will be in my range but I saw there is 3 trims of it.

I
I-S
I-S eyesight

The I-S has sunroof and all the whistles except for the Eyesight safety system?

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 6:11 pm

Agent does bring real good info and data. Good job.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 7:23 pm

Much thanks Mr Spann!

Nick see below:

The i:
17" rims, 4 vented disc brakes, 7 airbags, 6.5" touch screen with smart phone integration, abs/ebd/eba/tcs/vdc/hsa/hdc, fabric seats, multi-reflector halogen fog lights, multi-reflector halogen headlamps, partial LED tail lights, electronic parking brake with auto vehicle hold, spoiler, cargo cover, spare tyre, full suite of typical power features like windows, mirrors and locks, key-in-hole ignition with keyless entry and immobilizer. Massy installs an OEM reverse camera as well.
Cost: $229k 1.6, $333k 2.0

The i-S
Everything from the above plus leather seats with powered drivers side function, sunroof, bi-LED projector for low and high beam, steering responsive headlamps, headlamp washers, LED DRL's, 8" touch screen with smart phone integration and WiFi, coloured multi information display screen showing multiple functions and menus including a visual on which external lights are on and pitch angle etc, roof rack, proximity key with push button start, chrome door handles, smart cruise control,
Cost: $269k 1.6, $369k 2.0

The i-S EyeSight
Everything from the above plus 18" rims, auto dimming mirror, lane departure warning, lane keep assist, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, forward collision mitigation and alert, adaptive cruise control, auto high beams, manual mode transmission with paddle shifters, mud guards, rear parking sensors, heated seats, auto lights and auto wipers.
Cost: $299k 1.6, $384k 2.0

NB: still check them in person to verify
Last edited by agent007 on February 23rd, 2020, 7:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 7:42 pm

I uploaded some pics and tried adding some more but it giving problems so I'll add some on this reply:
i-S
20191219_131239.jpeg
20191219_131127.jpeg

i
FB_IMG_1582504739985.jpg
FB_IMG_1582504719994.jpg
FB_IMG_1582504761789.jpg
Last edited by agent007 on February 23rd, 2020, 8:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 23rd, 2020, 8:21 pm

Sweet. But that price tho. Will have to sell my kidneys to afford that.

This'll easily roll over any STI out there, not to mention go places the latter wouldn't dream of being able to reach.

agent007 wrote:A172, how you feel about this 1:

Its $800k. The most capable 4wd true SUV in T&T stock and straight out the showroom.
20200217_124107.jpeg

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » February 23rd, 2020, 10:30 pm

Really love some of those features on the i sight. IS is pretty good too.

rebound

Postby rebound » February 24th, 2020, 7:01 pm

Interesting red...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 24th, 2020, 7:43 pm

agent007 wrote:A172, how you feel about this 1:

20200217_124107.jpeg

Yet to explore this
2019-12-17 10.03.08.png

Postby Country_Bookie » February 24th, 2020, 8:21 pm

drchaos wrote:

so evidence thus far.
Thanks for the feedback.... both yourself and agent007.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 25th, 2020, 9:29 am

Np bro.

Shakes, come nah man, give we the scores on that monster!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2020, 11:28 am

agent007 wrote:Np bro.

Shakes, come nah man, give we the scores on that monster!!

Tbh, we have not tested this to its limit yet...Still only has 3200km on the odo...It is hardly ever driven, took a while to get the front to look how we wanted(bumper, winch, grill, lights etc)....looking to get those fender flares now...saw a polyurethene set being made in the US...may take a try...

We bought that in Mia(according to the Chrysler people, it was for export only and designed for the horrible diesel in India and Indonesia.) We told the guy it was coming to the Caribbean, he was like "diesel in the caribbean is horrible, so you have nothing to worry about with this jk"...shrugs shoulders..

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 25th, 2020, 12:11 pm

Lovely bro! Honestly if I had the paper, that Wrangler would have been in my garage. I see it as money well spent over the likes of the Pathfinder, Fortuner and Prado.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Its actually a lot cheaper to buy them in MIA and have it shipped as opposed to buying it here...several right hand drive vehicles there...right after we closed the deal, a few grand cherokees rolled...blasted mofos