[BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Somewhere where to run?

Re: [BLOG]: Anil Roberts visits Wallerfield Racetrack

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2010, 5:18 pm

christophersimpson wrote:i dont mind paying money to be a spectator/participate in racing once they not trying dig out my eye like camden

if they build a proper facility, the price at the gate will be considerably more than what was charged at Camden. That is expected and totally understandable.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 3rd, 2010, 5:28 pm

See where problems lie, people like nice thing and don't like to pay for it. If a state of the art facility is built you can't expect to pay pennies to enter, there will be costs for the facility to be maintained and for staffing.

I wonder how much of these "enthusiasts" who can't wait to race have cars that are "race ready"

Postby X2 » June 3rd, 2010, 5:55 pm

Mr Gear wrote: I think that people are getting tied up between the stage personality and the intelligence of this Minister. This man is sharp.

It will take a lot more than being sharp and a rapier wit to ensure success here. A significant investment (albiet badly planned and not well managed) has been made in the (IMHO) joke of a technology park. So we will be competing with silcon valley and India huh ? :drinking:

If the current goverment can actually sort through all the bobol tied up in there, we may have a chance, but as said, the plans need to be PROPERLY laid. Safety needs to be in check, enviromental issues may be brought up, notwithstanding sound pollution. The Eteck technology park has a 'green policy' or so they say. Many many factors need to be addressed... we shouldn't rush into it... fools rush in... ask patos.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 5:58 pm

Quick question - do you all think this can have a negative side effect ? eg. increase illegal drags on the nations roads?

Postby X2 » June 3rd, 2010, 6:00 pm

christophersimpson wrote:i dont mind paying money to be a spectator/participate in racing once they not trying dig out my eye like camden

if they build a proper facility, the price at the gate will be considerably more than what was charged at Camden. That is expected and totally understandable.

Duane... much is always said about price, etc... but I really think it's all a set of talk until something happens. Look at Movietowne. Some people scoffed at the idea... now they wish they had invested in it.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 6:19 pm

^^very true - everyone thought it was a huge mistake at first but it was a huge success

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2010, 8:31 pm

X2 wrote:

Duane... much is always said about price, etc... but I really think it's all a set of talk until something happens. Look at Movietowne. Some people scoffed at the idea... now they wish they had invested in it.

ammm - i was agreeing that the price should be higher :|

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 3rd, 2010, 8:43 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I wonder how much of these "enthusiasts" who can't wait to race have cars that are "race ready"

My car has been mostly down for the past eight months. I am not in any hurry to get it "race ready" as you put it. I will wait and see how this develops.

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » June 3rd, 2010, 9:01 pm

I SEE ALOT DIFFERENT OF OPINIONS ABT THE USE OF WALLERFIELD...AS FOR ME I HAVE OVER 100K TIED UP ON A CAR AND I DONT HAVE ANYWHERE TO RACE LOCALLY, SO I WELCOME THE OPPORTUNITY TO GET BACK WALLERFIELD.I DONT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE GOVERNMENT ASSISTING US TO BUILD A TRACK BUT I BELIEVE THAT 'HALF THE PROCEEDS SHOULD BE RETURNED TO THEM AFTER EVERY MAJOR RACING EVENT' AND THE PROMOTERS GET THE OTHER HALF THUS MAKING THEIR INVESTIMENT WORTH IT.I ALSO THINK THIS WILL HELP TO CURB SOME OF THE BOBOL THAT DIS BE GOING ON WITH CERTAIN RACING ORGANIZATIONS!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 3rd, 2010, 9:42 pm

@RASC simple answer why a racing facility was never materialized??

EMA - the EMA has shut down every private effort (eg Tobago) and they were also a big part in the denial of allot of private applications were denied before the land could even be acquired (i know skf lancer - garcias - tried with a very well put together business plan)

the best land to build these tracks and the space needed are almost always owned by the state/govt and you need their permissions/blessings to build the facility

what should happen is the wallerfield area to be used for the race track be leased and privately developed. but the main thing is that the govt subsidized the land used and could be a stakeholder to ensure stability.

sitting behind your computer in compton or where you are and yapping all this crap is good, but for us living in the tiny islands of trinbago where land scarce and god not giving away anymore, we NEED the govt blessing and some handouts ;)

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 3rd, 2010, 9:59 pm

Postby Rooki3 » June 3rd, 2010, 10:19 pm

sitting behind your computer in compton or where you are and yapping all this crap

christophersimpson

Postby christophersimpson » June 4th, 2010, 1:58 am

why??

link

Postby link » June 4th, 2010, 6:16 am

The new Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Anil Roberts along with the Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education, Fazal Karim, Member of Parliament for Talparo, Jairam Seemungual and Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, Stacy Roopnarine all met with a group of motorsport executives, drivers and other invited individuals to tour the "e Teck Tamana Intech Park" to see what was left of the old Wallerfield Racetracks.

The meeting and walk around was designed to take a look at the feasibility of returning motorsport to Wallerfield. Minister Roberts addressed the crowd before we entered the facility and stated that he wants to keep his promise of returning motorsport to Wallerfield..............

THANK YOU , MINISTER ANIL ROBERTS

for your positive, proactive and un-biased approach to righting the wrongs perpetrated upon motor racing in T&T

:D :D :!:

W2J

Postby W2J » June 4th, 2010, 10:27 am

aye link quick question how Jameer fitting in all this besides his political ties? I taught Nizam Mohammed is still the president of TTASA.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 4th, 2010, 12:02 pm

money men again *sighs*

Postby X2 » June 4th, 2010, 12:25 pm

ya.. duane... I supporting your higher price stance meng.

ziig

Postby ziig » June 4th, 2010, 5:30 pm

Socialism on paper is great.....in practice however it sucks....
As much as i am happy to see a place for us to race again.....I am a bit worried about the manner in which it is being done........rushed and with announcments of F1 in 5 yrs...as much as i like the idea I am not convinced that will materialize that simply....and wallerz will not be the place for it...the number of hotels and other acccomadations needed to make that a success is taking countries like Bados yrs to complete
it is a sad thing that PNM took soo long to do studies etc...that nothing came of it...since i am a firm believer that if something is done it should be done right the first time...this wallerfield thing is good as a fix, but will not succeed as a long term plan....

Ohh and funny how TTASA is in the forefront of pushing for a track inspte of how much you guys bad talk them...they have been talking to Anil way before election day since they had the foresight to see he would be the likely Min of sport if they won....and now they are the ones that have kept him up to speed and advising on the way forward.......

Postby wagonrunner » June 4th, 2010, 6:02 pm

yuh see that list line there ziig............................ we have five years, and nothing more to lose.

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » June 4th, 2010, 11:39 pm

I ENT HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH TTASA AS LONG AS THEY DONT TRY TO CONTROLL THE DRAGS AND RIDE IT LIKE A CASH CAMEL BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW WHERE D MONEY IS, IF YOU GO TO A CIRCUIT EVENT THERE IS MABY 150-300 SPECTATORS IN THE STANDS COMPARED TO WHEN U GO TO A DRAG EVENT THERE IS A COUPLE THOUSAND PPL THERE.THIS WHY I TOTALLY SUPPORT 'MATT' AND LEWE GET RID OF TTASA AND DEM OLDER HEADS THAT HOLDING BACK D SPORT IN ORDER TO FULL DEY POCKETS!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 5th, 2010, 12:11 am

christophersimpson wrote:

why??

because a proper facility will cost more to build and maintain :idea:

link

Postby link » June 5th, 2010, 8:01 am

gt-foure wrote:I ENT HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH TTASA AS LONG AS THEY DONT TRY TO CONTROLL THE DRAGS AND RIDE IT LIKE A CASH CAMEL BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW WHERE D MONEY IS, IF YOU GO TO A CIRCUIT EVENT THERE IS MABY 150-300 SPECTATORS IN THE STANDS COMPARED TO WHEN U GO TO A DRAG EVENT THERE IS A COUPLE THOUSAND PPL THERE.THIS WHY I TOTALLY SUPPORT 'MATT' AND LEWE GET RID OF TTASA AND DEM OLDER HEADS THAT HOLDING BACK D SPORT IN ORDER TO FULL DEY POCKETS!!!

Firstly - drag racing is just a motor sport discipline like the 8 or 10 others existing in T&T

Secondly - Govt will NOT fund motor sports - rather, ASSISTANCE WILL BE GIVEN. It is clear that the motor racing fraternity (& organisations) will have to provide the impetus to carry on that development.

Thirdly - I personally agree with the policy that each of the recognised motor sport disciplines (bodies) organise, conduct & finance it's own activities, under the managing framework of an entity like MATT.

Fourthly - TTASA MUST take steps to become the ADMINISTRATIVE BODY THAT IS THE NSO & FIA ASN. Thus, having a proper 'operating body' (MATT) and an efficient administrative body (TTASA) ensures implementation of correct sporting policy, rules & regulations. It also eliminates conflict of interest issues.
This is nothing new & the framework that paves the way for this evolution has been in place BEFORE Ministry of Sports 'created' what is now called 'National Sporting Policy'.(this is before Minister Robert's time, mind you)....it's just not yet implemented.

Postby X2 » June 5th, 2010, 12:23 pm

link wrote:
gt-foure wrote:I ENT HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH TTASA AS LONG AS THEY DONT TRY TO CONTROLL THE DRAGS AND RIDE IT LIKE A CASH CAMEL BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW WHERE D MONEY IS, IF YOU GO TO A CIRCUIT EVENT THERE IS MABY 150-300 SPECTATORS IN THE STANDS COMPARED TO WHEN U GO TO A DRAG EVENT THERE IS A COUPLE THOUSAND PPL THERE.THIS WHY I TOTALLY SUPPORT 'MATT' AND LEWE GET RID OF TTASA AND DEM OLDER HEADS THAT HOLDING BACK D SPORT IN ORDER TO FULL DEY POCKETS!!!

Firstly - drag racing is just a motor sport discipline like the 8 or 10 others existing in T&T

Drag racing is by and large the most lucrative portion of motorsport in Trinidad.

Link wrote:Secondly - Govt will NOT fund motor sports - rather, ASSISTANCE WILL BE GIVEN. It is clear that the motor racing fraternity (& organisations) will have to provide the impetus to carry on that development.

Assistance can be loans, land, concessions... this claim is BROAD like a heavy T bumper and honestly, is a promise to a fool. Decades of different goverments and the same NSO heads with literally nothing done to support infrastructure of the cash cow of motorsport...which is the only way to grow motorsport as you so clearly indicated... SELF funding.

If in YEARS upon years of availability of a track, no significant wealth was accumulated in the name of motorsport, then just as the goverment was asked to move aside for new, fresh perspectives and ideas, will the same opportunity be afforded the current NSO ?

Link wrote:TTASA MUST take steps to become the ADMINISTRATIVE BODY THAT IS THE NSO & FIA ASN. Thus, having a proper 'operating body' (MATT) and an efficient administrative body (TTASA) ensures implementation of correct sporting policy, rules & regulations. It also eliminates conflict of interest issues.

Don't get all puffy that a new shiny goverment in place and all wounds will be healed, all wrong be righted. Back biting, internal wars and personal vendettas is what has wasted all these years in the past. We have NOTHING now, so what guarantees have been put into place by TTASA that they are actually working towards a viable plan and solution.

The coalition goverment has a 120 day plan to kick off their 5 year shot at making a difference... where is TTASA's ? This opportunity has been in the planning for years, not so ?

Link wrote:This is nothing new & the framework that paves the way for this evolution has been in place BEFORE Ministry of Sports 'created' what is now called 'National Sporting Policy'.(this is before Minister Robert's time, mind you)....it's just not yet implemented.

SO I'd serious ask the question again... what now ? Another secret plan that deflects support from any organisations or individuals outside of TTASA ? The racing community has access to businessmen, investors, engineers, architects, contractors. All this bobol about waiting for Ministers and goverments who apparently have no tangible assistance to give... I am hopeful for the new goverment, but as usual, as an outsider and a businessman, have serious doubts about the joy-joy feelings and rainbow wishes of having made a site visit to Eteck/Wallerfield. We all know millions have already been spent in infrastructure, but Eteck still exists last I checked and the existance of 'special purpose' companies as under the previous administration is also under question.

A temporary use of the facility may well be possible, but long term... please tell us there is a plan and not a pipe dream.

X2 (Tires of the same ole 'wait and see')
Last edited by X2 on June 5th, 2010, 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sparky

Postby sparky » June 5th, 2010, 12:25 pm

ttasa must go. they are a car load of thief. a new body is needed that reflect all of the disciplines
in the sport. then we will rise.

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » June 5th, 2010, 6:58 pm

[quote="sparky"]ttasa must go. they are a car load of thief. a new body is needed that reflect all of the disciplines
in the sport. then we will rise
MOST PPL DIDNT KNOW THAT TTASA ACCEPTED A STTELMENT SUM OF $500K TO LEAVE WALLERFIELD AFTER A LONG COURT BATTLE, NOW THEY PLAYING CONCERNED ABT GETTING BACK WALLERFIELD,IN CAMDEN ROGER BOYNES GAVE TTASA $250K TO HOST THE FIRST DRAG EVENT IN ADDITION TO THE PROFIT FROM THE GATE WHICH WAS JUST BEFORE THE 2008 ELECTIONS.I COULD GO ON AND ON ABT THE MEMBERS OF TTASA BUT WE NEED TO MOVE FOWARD.I SUGGEST THAT MATT AND TTASA RESOLVE THEIR DIFFERENCES AND ORGANISE SOME KIND OF INFASTRUCTURE FOR MOVING MOTOR SPORT FOWARD IN THIS COUNTRY AND IF THEY SHOULD LET THIS OPPORTUNITY SLIP WHEN THEY ARE GETTING ASSISTANCE FROM THE GOVERNMENT THEN WE REALLY DONT DESERVE ANYTHING!!!!

lockheed1o4

Postby lockheed1o4 » June 5th, 2010, 8:15 pm

ttasa puts pain on spectators pocket !!!

W2J

Postby W2J » June 5th, 2010, 9:32 pm

took these today

link

Postby link » June 5th, 2010, 11:57 pm

gt-foure wrote:
sparky wrote:ttasa must go. they are a car load of thief. a new body is needed that reflect all of the disciplines
in the sport. then we will rise
MOST PPL DIDNT KNOW THAT TTASA ACCEPTED A STTELMENT SUM OF $500K TO LEAVE WALLERFIELD AFTER A LONG COURT BATTLE, NOW THEY PLAYING CONCERNED ABT GETTING BACK WALLERFIELD,IN CAMDEN ROGER BOYNES GAVE TTASA $250K TO HOST THE FIRST DRAG EVENT IN ADDITION TO THE PROFIT FROM THE GATE WHICH WAS JUST BEFORE THE 2008 ELECTIONS.I COULD GO ON AND ON ABT THE MEMBERS OF TTASA BUT WE NEED TO MOVE FOWARD.I SUGGEST THAT MATT AND TTASA RESOLVE THEIR DIFFERENCES AND ORGANISE SOME KIND OF INFASTRUCTURE FOR MOVING MOTOR SPORT FOWARD IN THIS COUNTRY AND IF THEY SHOULD LET THIS OPPORTUNITY SLIP WHEN THEY ARE GETTING ASSISTANCE FROM THE GOVERNMENT THEN WE REALLY DONT DESERVE ANYTHING!!!!

What a load of bs from someone who didn't even bother to attend one court sitting........ :fist:

I POSTED JUSTICE BEREAUX'S JUDGEMENT STATING THAT , IN HIS OPINION, THE GREATER INJUSTICE WAS TO LET MOTOR RACING REMAIN IN WALLERFIELD RATHER THAN ALLOW ETECK TO BUILD THAT MONSTROSITY............

WHERE U APPEAR FROM SAYING TTASA GOT PAID OFF :?: :fist:

link

Postby link » June 5th, 2010, 11:59 pm

THIS will quickly get out of hand.....
besides.....the 'various' points have been exhaustively deliberated in other threads.
I am glad the wipeout that PNM tried (by referring the the area only as 'Tamana something something') and deliberately foregoing any mention of WALLERFIELD RACETRACK was reversed by this minister
:lol: :D :D

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » June 6th, 2010, 3:56 am

Thank You Minister Anil Roberts.
Your efforts ARE greatly appreciated among the present and future racers,
Move Ahead Strong and Remain Positive in your Challenging Endeavour.

All who have projects, start to fastrack them, but do it with safety in mind.

Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”