Letter to TTASA from Sheldon Bissessar & PTRT - UPDATE!

Somewhere where to run?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2008, 1:00 am

cacasplat3 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, do u have any press releases by G. Hunt concerning a track since he was appointed minister of sport?
i would like to see what it contains if there is such a document.......

no, I don't have any such press releases -

I am sure it is the sentiment of the Minister that, like any other sport in T&T that he has to deal with, the governing ASN (which is TTASA) needs to have the full support of all the involved clubs, members and associations of that sport before any concrete plans can get moving by the Ministry in terms of support. That is a natural and logical foundation from which to start. There is currently a lot of building and restructuring within the executive ranks of all motorsport clubs and associations in T&T that needs to take place to create this foundation; granted, alot of which TTASA has made better efforts toward achieving taht goal - however this is a process, and in all fairness, is not an easy job given the current situation.

It is probably not new news that the Government has had no plans for motorsport at all, really Gary may be the only person in Cabinet who thinks motorsport is worth a proper facility, or even a place at all - that is the reality of it. Even our local media thinks racing is a dangerous and irresponsible activity and should be outlawed - without even trying to understand it.

The minister does have a passion for motorsport, however given his newly acquired portfolio of ALL sport in T&T, would not have the ability to nurse motorsport back to its feet. It would be ludicrous to expect that. It is also ludicrous to expect that the Gov't will just build a facilty for some ppl who want to race without any proper and well supported governing body - they cant just build a million dallar complex and hand it to some fellas and say "heh, enjoy yuhself".

It is really up to those currently involved at the ASN, club and competitor level, to get this proper foundation for motorsport ready so that the minister will have a valuable product to take to cabinet for funding of a proper, world class race facility.

With that in mind I think it is all of our responsibility to get proactive toward the sport we love.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » February 2nd, 2008, 1:28 am

^^^^if it could ah fit in meh sig it would ah be there :lol: ........well said.......

does Gary still race? i know he had the circuit civic.....havent heard about that in a while....and i remember him racing in karting........

i just hope that all the bodies can put their problems aside and try to get things going........thats a long and bumpy road to put it mildly, but hopefully things will turn out favorably.

Postby SR » February 2nd, 2008, 7:08 am

but duane
ent they still building stadium

with no one to use it.........................................

Dawg

Postby Dawg » February 2nd, 2008, 10:58 am

I'm glad to see that the Party Time rail guys are returning to Trinidad when we need the support the most.

They / WE have all come a long way from the days of High Revving Escorts, and plenty Torque Mini's racing side by side . :|

I truly hope that the ENTIRE sport can grow from ANY decisions taking regarding the track. The high powered cars count for a VERY small portion of race entrants. The support is for he "lime" more than the fan support. This is from Statistical analysis of the crowd market share "ususally" found at drags.

Good to have the return of the team though..... And please let's ALL not forget WHERE WE ALL CAME FROM with this drag racing. :wink:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2008, 11:24 am

SR wrote:but duane
ent they still building stadium

with no one to use it.........................................

yes they are - but that is not because of the cricket system.

I am also sure that if motorsport can produce a racer to become a national hero, then the gov't and corporations will give great support - but in order to do that the competitors and their respective clubs need to have everything proper on paper while working alongside a unified ASN with it's proper FIA affilition, so that when the competitors go abroad to compete on an international level and WIN or break records, their efforts go for more than a small article in the press and a few praises.

ziig

Postby ziig » February 2nd, 2008, 1:36 pm

fanastic job Shelodon has done over the years, BUt that does not relate to this situation.....Beleive me he is NOT the only person that made recomendations...the problem still remains that this is a TEMPORARY strip, and spending 40,000 dollars to prepare a track that will hopefully be abandoned in a year or so is not so fruggle is it?
Now i know the need for some preparation, therefore I do believe we need to at leas have the launch pad preped, but the whole track might be a waste of money we can use on the new future track.
I think Sheldon can probably share his advice when that time comes or , offer new advice on ways we can make this one safer and beter without long term expense.

AND a very important note made earlier on in thhis thread....will the authorities even allow track preparation to their run ways?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2008, 2:00 pm

ziig wrote:spending 40,000 dollars to prepare a track that will hopefully be abandoned in a year or so is not so fruggle is it?

look ma its a fruggle! :lol: - sorry couldnt help it!

ziig wrote:Now i know the need for some preparation, therefore I do believe we need to at leas have the launch pad preped, but the whole track might be a waste of money we can use on the new future track.

the TT$40K plan is not for the entire track but only the burnout, launch and 60' area. Check it here:

Area 1 – 50 feet x 10 feet from starting line backwards. This will ensure proper burnout area and transfer of rubber to launch pad.
    Area 2 – 75 feet x 12 feet from starting line going forward.
    Area 3 – An additional 75 foot x 16 foot wide area.

ziig wrote:AND a very important note made earlier on in thhis thread....will the authorities even allow track preparation to their run ways?

this is why a 8'x8' area was done to show the results to the authorities to make a decision.

link

Postby link » February 2nd, 2008, 5:39 pm

we need somebody to convince the 'authorities' that a 40mph landing on this preppd surface is safe
those fellas (in charge) don't know squat about the materials used...& like old school, don't want to hear about 'dem kinda ting'.......
on a NEGATIVE NOTE........[/b]
[b]Camden officials complained to me yesterday that people are just driving into the facility & unto the runway.........not even stopping when motioned to do so........

fellas........if allyuh want ah problem in Camden...keep that sheit up.... :fist:
for the genuine guys who are carrying out bonafide work there...please ensure u stop at the building & identify yourselves........
& for the entity who got the gate closed on him...u cud have fallen into the drain when squeezing past the side of the gate.........
PLEASE SHOW DUE RESPECT....
if u can't...,be reminded that Camden airfield remains out of bounds to ALL the general public......
if the Party Time Racing crew is conducting tests at Camden....NOBODY ELSE is allowed to 'inspect' what they are doing save for approved personnel......
:x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2008, 9:44 pm

^ care to fill us in on what happened?

link

Postby link » February 2nd, 2008, 10:00 pm

people are just driving into the facility & unto the runway.........not even stopping when motioned to do so........

exactly that.....
..I mean..I maintain a close liason with Camden auths and I DON'T pass the building & go straight unto the runway area.......I always identify myself first
if u don't have legitimate business there......don't go in.....
:x :roll:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2008, 10:13 pm

^ yeah I agree with you on that - no unauthorised persons allowed - it is an active airstrip so that should be a given.

I was really talking about this:
& for the entity who got the gate closed on him...u cud have fallen into the drain when squeezing past the side of the gate.........

care to give us the details on what happened there?

link

Postby link » February 3rd, 2008, 2:16 am

save to say he ignored the security person at Camden who wanted to secure the premises & got the gate locked on him.............
I will persue all details & let u know why this developed.....
rgds

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2008, 7:31 am

too bad we can get pics of the said individuals and post them up for the rest to see

as much as i dont like the idea of camden bottom line is its all we've got and some are gonna spoil it for all especially when things are soo much in limbo with regards to motorsport

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 3rd, 2008, 7:40 am

i was up at camden yesterday afternoon with sheldon,mint and flambeau when dey were testing the compound etc....i didnt see any briko officials there or security personelle and the entire facility was just open. but carryin on the compound made a great difference with traction. we even tested it with my car and on the outside of the compound my tires were just spinning and on the compound it was hook and go...even with some moisture on it...i didnt have my camera with me to document what was done...
sheldon wants to see how best he can convince briko and the civil aviation authority that the airstrip is safe for aircraft to land with the compound laid down...and wat they can do to secure the strip for a longer period of time....there is a lot of work still to be done before we can get those high powered cars running down here but the track is in really good condition compared to wallerfield...

link

Postby link » February 3rd, 2008, 8:15 am

Briko observes the goings-on from INSIDE their building......
the Caroni employees on 'our' side, oversee the general security of the airfield....
as a matter of courtesy..........please stop at the building & notify whoever is on duty that you are here...& u may have to remind them of what u are doing re: the 'racetrack'.........
these guys are supporting our initiative here....but they also have their job committments....
so when Briko fones across by the tower & blasts then for people on the runway...AND THEY CAN'T SAY WHO THOSE PEOPLE ARE...
it fall back on us bonafide motor sport enthusiasts......
rgds

ziig

Postby ziig » February 4th, 2008, 2:29 pm

Ohh yea just like us to start gettingall fresh and spoil a agood thing....

Maybe someone will blame TTASA if we loose this our onnly place to vent our need for speed

Oh and I fully understand the whole sqaure footage deal and the cost, but that doesnt change the fact that it is the Camden officials that make the last say.......

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » February 11th, 2008, 10:13 am

The test piece held up well this weekend and some of the racers were impressed. TTASA was encouraged to give permission for a longer test piece on both lanes. I think they did. we may see some changes for TTASAs meeting.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 11th, 2008, 10:39 am

Good News there Zaxxon .... so does that mean the rails might represent for next weekends racing by Speed Promotions seeing that it got rained out yesterday ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 11th, 2008, 10:52 am

^ I don't think they will be able to prepare the track for this weekend, but there is a very good chance that it will be ready for the March 2nd event -

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 11th, 2008, 10:58 am

^ Thought so, but was still hoping ... Anyway ... Thanks ... :)

link

Postby link » February 11th, 2008, 11:02 am

The test piece did it's job very effectively & TTASA (through Comp.Chmn Nizam Mohammed) will be having discussions with Sheldon today on this subject.
rgds

Postby wagon r » February 11th, 2008, 11:04 am

hhhhmmmmm.....the sound of the 8s....i might just have to make a trek to couva...

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 11th, 2008, 11:09 am

hhhhmmmmm.....the sound of the 8s....

hhhhmmmmm I like that rumbling sound ..... :twisted:

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » February 11th, 2008, 11:51 am

I am working on both rail this week and I doubt they will be ready for this weekend. We set the TTASA meet as our goal. Some other things are also in the mix and may be revealed closer to race day.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » February 11th, 2008, 1:42 pm

I am working on both rail this week and I doubt they will be ready for this weekend. We set the TTASA meet as our goal.

Cool

Some other things are also in the mix and may be revealed closer to race day.

Nice ... always a surprise from the PTRT .... :P :P

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » February 11th, 2008, 4:06 pm

Just heard from Sheldon. He had discussions with Nizam and permission was given to start preparation of the track for racing as suggested. This includes the blowing of the complete track (all paved areas) so as not to have loose material around to get back on the track surface after preparation. The track will be rolled , the epoxy surface applied and track bite and rubber applied. Also the verification of distances. The surface would be cleaned (blown) on race day or the day before accordingly. Sheldon and his team including other drivers have discussed with Nizam the possibility of TTASA acquiring a timing system for the upcoming racing season. There is also a possibility that this system could also include a lap timer for circuit and other disciplines.Lets all hope everything goes according to plan and supported by all racing enthusiasts.

Just an addition to this, this is only the first stage of the project. This project is scheduled to start in about a week or so. All the materials and logistics have to be put in place. Sheldon and some of the other drivers have pledged up to $15,000 (which would reduce the amount that TTASA has to put out on this project)to the project as well as man power. Help will be needed monetary and labour wise.

On the long term side of the project, removable barriers and other safety items will be implemented.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 11th, 2008, 9:29 pm

are you all leaving a groove for the radial tyres?

Postby wagon r » February 12th, 2008, 8:03 am

^good point but it doesn't seem so....time to get some slicks,and dare i say, spare axels...

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » February 12th, 2008, 10:27 am

dragaholic wrote:are you all leaving a groove for the radial tyres?

There are some issues here. Because of the width of the track at Candem (approx 40'across) this is a little tricky. They will be trying to leave a groove on each lane for this purpose but are still trying to keep it safe. Sheldon was also suggesting that if the guys want to try the radials on the TB surface they can look at the effects it will have and how hard it is to repair and so on. The problem is not with the radials on the TB but the slicks. If you don't have enough power to break loose the traction (lower powered cars) then you stand the chance of breaking axles, diffs etc. If your parts are strong then this may not happen. The problem with the radials on the TB is the damage the radials might do to the prepared surface.

Postby wagon r » February 12th, 2008, 10:59 am

...this may sound harsh but why not ask the street guys to start upgradin to slicks...

..smart drivers may do a roll out start to avoid the busting of parts....

but then again...i just want to hear katanga roar to life... :P :P :P :P

Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”