GOV'T GRANTS MOTORSPORT FACILITES TO TTASA

Somewhere where to run?

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » October 13th, 2007, 9:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ and the structure to the south west of the map is the building leading to the temple by the sea - so residence plus place of worship.

thats not orange valley bay?

2.2 Diesel

Drag Racing in my Back Yard

Postby 2.2 Diesel » October 13th, 2007, 9:59 pm

I must say congrats to the people responsible for securing the venue for the racing events. I am very happy because its like it will be taking place in my back yard.

E@rthSh@ker

Postby E@rthSh@ker » October 13th, 2007, 10:02 pm

SUZUKI SPORTsman wrote:Pics from this morning. Went and spoke to the guard.

I cannot See that this facility will be used for drag racing by the 28th Oct.

Reason:
1. The Camden airstrip is still in use by Briko Air Services. They use the strip to train pilots. Also, the airstrip is designated for emergency aircraft landing.

2. Safety. Where there is Aircraft-fuel, it is dangerous for motor-racing to take place. For instance, if a car crashes into one of the fuel tanks. Plainly stating, Aircraft and Drag racing DO NOT MIX.

so therefore we cannot race there

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2007, 10:58 pm

Terran wrote:
Granted, yes. So, who is building this facility? The government? According to whose designs?

according to the letter the new facility will be financed and built by the gov't and according to the ministry it will be maintained by SCOTT, the sporting company of trinidad & tobago

according to the designs that TTASA gets approved in 2 months by the necessary bodies and cabinet

all of that is in the first post in this thread

bullet

Postby bullet » October 14th, 2007, 3:51 pm

I just so glad it so close

ziig

Postby ziig » October 15th, 2007, 8:09 am

the person with the post of pics up here, nice pics, but dude you really need to understand what you read!!!!

1 ok the government has issued use of this land...wont that mean that BIKO will have to chill on that day? (you think) (duh)
2 where the furl tank is is the start of the race....another DUH crahses of any serious nature may take place a little further down.........
3 emergency landing still takes longer than a car runs down a drag strip.....so we have enough time to stop a race for a emergency.....DUH...(think more constructive to find soultions)

further more I race on an airport strip in ohio and we have no problems, flight plans are kept of this day and the tower and ground race crew are in constant contact.........
maybe you know this but planes do make preflight plans so a day can be skipped

AnDrEw

Postby AnDrEw » October 15th, 2007, 8:53 am

can I cut in and ask one question! would there be a time trial on saturday? cost to enter vehicle and can I pay in advance? :evil:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2007, 9:15 am

AnDrEw wrote:can I cut in and ask one question! would there be a time trial on saturday? cost to enter vehicle and can I pay in advance? :evil:

So far there is no time trial on Saturday - though one may be planned
The planned cost to enter to race is $250. That includes free passes for two technicians. Extra crew passes are available, but limited to another two - so 5 passes maximum per team/race car.

The pit area is very small so access will be very limited.

General admission will be $40 per person and kids under 12 are free.

Briefing meeting is planned for Monday 22nd October 2007 at a location to be announced. I believe entries will be registered and paid for at this briefing; I know for a fact that entries are limited!

ziig

Postby ziig » October 15th, 2007, 10:44 am

so yea about the track....I wonder if they willing to accept peoples own designs as ideas toward the final plan?

I htink it is a great idea if they let everyone contribute in some way......

UNLESS thinga go AS I WAS TOLD IT MIGHT GO AND FIA HELPS WITH THE DESIGN..... how sweet that will be if we get international feedback for atrack we can invite worlwide trafiic.....BUT you dint hear that from me..LOL :roll:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » October 15th, 2007, 12:36 pm

has any work started on the track as yet?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 15th, 2007, 3:09 pm

This is great news... I even like the look of the track design, I think it needs an extra bend at the end of the north straight, and something to let the world know they are racing at "Waterloo", something unique like the corkscrew at Laguna Seca :)

I look foward to running on this track one day :P

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » October 16th, 2007, 8:53 am

ok so the 28th is next week so wha we doing ?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » October 16th, 2007, 8:59 am

what is this now i hear that BRIKO air services has filed an injunction so no one can use the air strip....... please some info on this please!!! :cry: :cry:

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 16th, 2007, 9:21 am

yeah because of what happened they are now filing an injunction preventing the use of the airstrip, we might not have any event on the 28th

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2007, 9:23 am

hmm this is some rel messed up sheit...so why isnt it being made public...

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » October 16th, 2007, 9:27 am

boy ah eh know, buh we go see wuh go on.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 16th, 2007, 9:31 am

The Original HondaHo wrote:yeah because of what happened they are now filing an injunction preventing the use of the airstrip, we might not have any event on the 28th

its not because of what happen its because Briko was not consulated in the talks and seeing they have a 20 year lease discussion to use the area was not mutal.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » October 16th, 2007, 9:40 am

W2J wrote:
The Original HondaHo wrote:yeah because of what happened they are now filing an injunction preventing the use of the airstrip, we might not have any event on the 28th

its not because of what happen its because Briko was not consulated in the talks and seeing they have a 20 year lease discussion to use the area was not mutal.

Granted
but sundays events couldnt not have helped the situation

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » October 16th, 2007, 10:35 am

Jameer ali say bring yuh cars, we racing...

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=40

Triumph

Postby Triumph » October 16th, 2007, 11:38 am

Traction Compound

how do you put traction compound on an opperating airfield
after we leave planes still have to use there
even if its only at the begining of the strip.

would traction compound have any effects on the aircraft landing and taking off there...

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 16th, 2007, 11:41 am

good question

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » October 16th, 2007, 11:45 am

nope. remember aircrafts are not wheel driven so i dont think it will be a problem

Cerviche

Postby Cerviche » October 16th, 2007, 11:47 am

they still need wheels to take off and land... dont they :?:

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » October 16th, 2007, 11:50 am

once it en have no pot hole the plane and them could land

Postby Maserati » October 16th, 2007, 11:54 am

I still dont think pilots would be impressed to having such a substance on their run way

Cerviche

Postby Cerviche » October 16th, 2007, 11:54 am

scene... a pot hole or oil spill could be baddd...

link

Postby link » October 16th, 2007, 11:57 am

traction compound DOES raise some very relevant concerns.......TTASA is addressing this issue & will advise at the briefing meeting what applies.
so guys......
if at the briefing it is announced that use of 'trakbite' is not an issue then we :onfire:
if the use IS a safety issue for subsequent aircraft operations then may I suggest a mixture of clorox & water in the wet box ? :shock:
rgds

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 16th, 2007, 12:08 pm

was now going to ask....

is there any way that TrackBite can be removed from the track after use?

probly by powerwashing or?

:)

link

Postby link » October 16th, 2007, 12:17 pm

Dragsta wrote:was now going to ask....

is there any way that TrackBite can be removed from the track after use?

probly by powerwashing or?

:)

burn off with torch & vaccum up
need a team to do that IMMEDIATELY after drags is declared closed :!:

Postby SR » October 16th, 2007, 12:26 pm

link wrote:traction compound DOES raise some very relevant concerns.......TTASA is addressing this issue & will advise at the briefing meeting what applies.
so guys......
if at the briefing it is announced that use of 'trakbite' is not an issue then we :onfire:
if the use IS a safety issue for subsequent aircraft operations then may I suggest a mixture of clorox & water in the wet box ? :shock:
rgds

i guess you dont drag race..............

Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”