VQ boys......parts, problems, upgrades, swaps, boost

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » August 18th, 2008, 12:02 am

Start here: http://www.b15sentra.net/forums/showthread.php?t=131200

And that's his 3rd swap.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 25th, 2008, 8:37 am

well the obvious question......fuel to use?

taken from manual d/l for the usdm 3.5l v6 cefiro/maxima

Precautions for Fuel (Unleaded Premium Gasoline Recommended) EAS001H9
Use unleaded regular gasoline with an octane rating of at least 87 AKI (Anti-Knock Index) number (Research
octane number 91).

For improved vehicle performance, NISSAN/INFINITI recommend the use of unleaded premium gasoline with
an octane rating of at least 91 AKI number (Research octane number 96).

super'll do just fine then....

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » September 25th, 2008, 11:34 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:well the obvious question......fuel to use?

Use unleaded regular gasoline with an octane rating of at least 87 AKI (Anti-Knock Index) number (Research
octane number 91).

For improved vehicle performance, NISSAN/INFINITI recommend the use of unleaded premium gasoline with

Plannin 2 do jus that when my car back on the road......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 25th, 2008, 9:14 pm

^^^wham with the car?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » September 26th, 2008, 8:31 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:^^^wham with the car?

Tranny gone... Was usin the VQ20 tranny but that gone now. The VQ35 tranny neva worked so i send that 1 2 fix. Still waiting 2 find out wha wrong wid it.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 4th, 2008, 6:51 pm

waz fellahs.. long time i eh pass in....

rodney....wat u do to yuh tranny dread????

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 4th, 2008, 9:55 pm

Chiney wrote:waz fellahs.. long time i eh pass in....

rodney....wat u do to yuh tranny dread????

Nuttin dread... De VQ20 tranny always had a slip in it since i mate it with the VQ35. Don't understand y since it was workin flawless when i had the VQ20. Guess even though it looks the same internals very much different, which was confirmed by the tranny guy. He say "he neva saw a tranny so strong"

Should get it back nex week...

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 14th, 2008, 12:28 pm

Got back the car this morning...... She feels like a refined beyotch!!! Gears running out real real smooth an the car feels like it lackin power as before but i feel thats not the case, it's jus not as brutal as before. It changing like a New car and like the ratios longer cause gears holding longer than before.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 14th, 2008, 12:29 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:well the obvious question......fuel to use?

octane number 91).

I running super an it running normal......

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 14th, 2008, 5:11 pm

i on premium, not going to risk saving $40 on full up over killing it over the long run.......
however i do choose which station i fill up at quite wisely, and peakes is a no no.

anyways over the weekend i rebuilt both rear calipers with new seals and installed the Hawk brake pads, next time i'm changing rear pads i'll have to change the rotors too cuz they running a slight bit below the 8mm mark after i resurfaced them.
i still have the front pads to install, and will install them when they run low......
got them from W2J
part numbers i'll post later when i find it.
they work like WOW! and its just the back...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 15th, 2008, 10:11 pm

A33_VQ35 wrote:I running super an it running normal......

nice but was just wondering about what this member came across

norstar2k wrote:CUSTOMER SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT

NISSAN MODEL / RON (91 - Super / 95 - Premium)

Almera - 91
Tiida - 95
Sylphy - 91
Cefiro 2.0 - 91
Cefiro 2.3 - 91
Cefiro 3.5 - 95
Teana 2.0 - 91
Teana 2.5 - 91
Teana 3.5 - 95
X-Trail Classic - 91
X-Trail 2.5 - 95
Quashqai - 91

Just wondering.......I using super on mine in the interim and the motor seems just fine........

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 16th, 2008, 7:22 am

whats the compression ratio's for all the FWD VQ's?

i think in the 2.0's its 10, and in the 3.0's its 9.5

that isnt very high, but it is still high compared o some other engines.

np will never consistently sell the advertised octane ratings........so i just put the best they selling and then throw in some red line now and then.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 16th, 2008, 7:48 am

oh year the part numbers for the Hawk brake pads for the A33 2.0l
front: HB-268 F.665
rear: HB-421 F.622

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 16th, 2008, 2:25 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:whats the compression ratio's for all the FWD VQ's?

that isnt very high, but it is still high compared o some other engines.

np will never consistently sell the advertised octane ratings........so i just put the best they selling and then throw in some red line now and then.

Actually it's the other way around according 2 wiki : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_VQ_engine

So i'm the 1 that should be worried. I sorry but i not adding another $60. to my gas bill and getting the same mileage.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 16th, 2008, 4:18 pm

^^^^yea my bad, i just checked the service manual

however i cant find the compression ratio of the 3.5l

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 18th, 2008, 12:25 am

the vq35 de has a compression ratio of 10.3:1

vq23de is 9.8:1

vq20de ranges from 9.5:1 to 10:1....probably because of the neo technology implemented in some of the vq20's....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 18th, 2008, 12:18 pm

^^^thanks..... :P

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 18th, 2008, 9:34 pm

no scene.........but this damn J31 so flkn low......my latest "scraping off the bitumen" ended up breaking off the front air deflector shield, which is some shield that is bolted behind the lower transmission mount and connects with the exhaust.......so now I'm getting an annoying resonance at 1500 rpm and over 2500 rpm which is felt through the steering wheel........had to order the part from japan.......

And ah nearly cry when I saw the condition of my front cradles.......so scraped up.......man I gonna have to go with 17's and ah 60 profile tyre yes...55 for the lowest.....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 18th, 2008, 11:10 pm

i never really thought of it, but those cars really are quite low......
why not just go 18?
17 lost on those cars........18 or 19........dont some of them come with 17's?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 20th, 2008, 9:03 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:no scene.........but this damn J31 so flkn low......my latest "scraping off the bitumen" ended up breaking off the front air deflector shield, which is some shield that is bolted behind the lower transmission mount and connects with the exhaust.......so now I'm getting an annoying resonance at 1500 rpm and over 2500 rpm which is felt through the steering wheel........had to order the part from japan.......

And ah nearly cry when I saw the condition of my front cradles.......so scraped up.......man I gonna have to go with 17's and ah 60 profile tyre yes...55 for the lowest.....

Same thing happens 2 my partner own. What size rims and tires u have on it???

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 20th, 2008, 11:17 pm

^^^right now is 16's steelies with 205/65 profile.....but the tyres nearly done so I lorse about 1/2 inch.......don't really want to go 18's because I'd have to go with less rubber on the road.......the roads on my side sux arse and with the price of shocks man is better I keep it chunky.......and a 55 or 60 on 18's/19's go look doltish plus it may touch fender.......that's why I say 17's

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 21st, 2008, 8:56 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:

the vq35 de has a compression ratio of 10.3:1

vq23de is 9.8:1

vq20de ranges from 9.5:1 to 10:1....probably because of the neo technology implemented in some of the vq20's....

OK I said earlier that i using super, but like the effects now starting 2 kick in. I feelin like the ECU pulling timing because it probably pinging. Reason i say that is
1) the car doesn't pull as strong as before
2)There would be instances where when accelerating, i would get a strong pull and then it would die off(like timing being adjusted)

I thinking bout switching back but i eh know cause it will cost me alot in gas 4 the week.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 21st, 2008, 10:12 pm

better pay the money in fuel now than having to replace/repair that beast of a motor!!!!!!!! or use yuh super but avoid WOT kinda driving.... my car safely could use super but I does pet it still.......

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 22nd, 2008, 8:10 am

Yeah i switchin back after the gas i have now finish. :(

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 24th, 2008, 7:38 am

^^^^what exactly happened to your tranny?
cuz thins morning i thinking about what u said.....u running 255hp through the VQ20's tranny right??????

thats more than a 60% increase in power , and about 60% more torque through that tranny.....i would only expect the clutches to burn out and the oil to heat up.....were u using and external oil cooler?.....

it just amazes me at how much power u put through that without shredding it to pieces. :P

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 24th, 2008, 8:57 am

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^what exactly happened to your tranny?
cuz thins morning i thinking about what u said.....u running 255hp through the VQ20's tranny right??????

thats more than a 60% increase in power , and about 60% more torque through that tranny.....i would only expect the clutches to burn out and the oil to heat up.....were u using and external oil cooler?.....

it just amazes me at how much power u put through that without shredding it to pieces. :P

No i didn't have a external oil cooler, and it did hold up longer than i thought it would. Lets jus say by the time i made it home that faithful day only third gear was working. I feel it had more 2 do with fail-safe than anything. Reverse an neutral was giving me forward motion, and when i put it in first it felt like i floored it with my foot on the brakes :(

I didn't bother 2 even find out what wrong with it. I jus left it by the guy.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 24th, 2008, 12:30 pm

^^^^^fix eeeeeettttttttt :lol:

so u on the 35's tranny now?

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 25th, 2008, 10:53 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:^^^^^fix eeeeeettttttttt :lol:

so u on the 35's tranny now?

Nah horse i eh have another 9K to spend nah!!!!!!! haul he arse we....

yeah i on de 35 tranny now.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 26th, 2008, 8:13 pm

^^^^ :lol:
i hear yuh

difference in acceleration or top speed?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 26th, 2008, 10:32 pm

^^^ditto the question....