VQ boys......parts, problems, upgrades, swaps, boost

cacasplat3

VQ boys......parts, problems, upgrades, swaps, boost

Postby cacasplat3 » July 21st, 2006, 6:42 pm

so i was doing some thinking the other day, so i thought i'd find out what u fellas and ladies think.
the cefiro i have has a vq20de, fwd. it produces somewhere around 160hp. the engine is a v6 2.0l non aspirated one. i've seen these engines and the larger model(3.0l) that have been turbo charged, some with as much as 20psi on 3" piping. now what is my problem is, the availability of parts if i want to modify the car. i've never heard of a gearbox that could work, and i almost never come across performance parts for the engine. so what i was thinking was, i could swap in ah sr20det, and do some modifying to that instead. i know my engine has potential, but i'm just looking at options.
i'm not ready to do work on this car, but i just want to find out your opinions. 8-)
Last edited by cacasplat3 on July 21st, 2007, 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 21st, 2006, 6:44 pm

the engine is a v6 2.0l non aspirated one

oh jesus christ boy :lol: :lol:

either non turbo or naturally aspirated.. pick one.. doh merge the 2 :lol: :lol:

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 21st, 2006, 6:46 pm

build it to 30psi an yuh orn

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 21st, 2006, 7:11 pm

with wah pistons? and wah parts? the electronics is not ah problem, is just the stuff that u go need if u wah turbo the car.
either non turbo or naturally aspirated.. pick one.. doh merge the 2

if i keeping the cefiro it will be boosted eventually, either by a swap out, or by turbo charging the v6

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 21st, 2006, 7:39 pm

i gonna turbo charge mine soon.. i also got the vq20DE...

soon to be DET.. no need to swap out...

try that with yuh hamster na?? :lol:

it eh that ez dread... :idea:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 21st, 2006, 7:44 pm

It's either the VQ/VG30 or VQ/VG35 that i've heard endless stories of the rods or pistons (not sure of either one) failing under boost.I don't think i've heard of anyone really passing 15PSI on that engine.Again>im not sure.
Last edited by cdx2k1 on July 21st, 2006, 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 21st, 2006, 7:46 pm

^^ thats with stock internals...

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 21st, 2006, 7:49 pm

^^There are aftermarket internals for the VQ/VG series?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 21st, 2006, 8:16 pm

vg is the 300zx engine vq is the cefiro, 350z and new skyline engine.
i've never heard of the failures, and i read a lot about boosting a vq. Chiney, wah kind ah parts u planning to put? send me ah pm with wah u wah do and ah estimated cost nah, or put it up for all who might consider it too.
the only reason i thinking bout this, is cuz i going diesel soon, and the cefiro will go back to my mom. she eh go mind the turbo and thing, but i just wah see that car go with all or most of its potential. if i will do the mods it will happen within the next 2 years. by then i'm hoping for more aftermarket support.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 21st, 2006, 8:49 pm

^^ i`ll get bak to u on dat.. runnin out now..

PM u with list larerz..

as for the mean time.. once the person knows wat he or she is doin.. u safe.. thing is.. u cyar get happy and push and push and push the boost... screws u up..literally..

really gotta do yuh research..

i believe u got the a33.. i have the a32.. your own is literally heavier than mine.. might be ah bit bigger.. thats y i like the a32 so much..

the engines have ah few different parts.. i believe the trottle body it different as well as ah few other things.. hence u got the newer vq20...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2006, 12:09 am

oh yeh.. and b4 u boost and all.. make sure u UPgrade your brakes eh :!: ...

suspension too..

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 22nd, 2006, 9:32 am

puh een a 100 shot nawz wid 20 psi and change the fuel torque converter to one from a skyline (readily found en deh bambooo) so that the diaphragm in the auto trans go take the licks easy easy and u orn

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2006, 10:28 am

^^^ jed.. back to de hornda forum...ent u have ah sh!tvik now?

:lol: :lol: .. kiXx

dude.. de man talkin bout boost... where u comin up with the other ideas??

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 22nd, 2006, 11:47 am

^^ yeah.. i have a shitvic.. and u have?

so dont hate on my put-pput

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 22nd, 2006, 11:49 am

oh yeh.. and b4 u boost and all.. make sure u UPgrade your brakes eh ...

suspension too..

brakes real expensive, seeing that it already has 4 wheel disc brakes. its one out of 2 options. buy $12000 brembo's for the front, or $1500 300zx/r33 disc brakes for the front, and get twin pistons for the rear. i'll most likely put the 300zx/r33 brakes and upgrade to cross drilled/slotted. for suspension, i'll put an upper front strut bar, and a custom rear strut bar. tein has a coilover set for the car, it will cost around $5000. i eh really want to keep the tranny, chiney, if i'm not mistaken, ent u said u found ah gearbox that would work?hmmmmmmmmmm

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 22nd, 2006, 11:55 am

^^ 300zx brakes area a great upgrade, esp if u get a full setup.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 22nd, 2006, 12:49 pm

^^^^ u mean like calipers and rotors?
if so, i does always see them selling on tuner, i recently see the rear brakes for sale and i had seen front brakes for sale recently.
only problem i have is the installation of them brakes, and do you happen to know if they are abs compatable?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2006, 1:25 pm

tranny... hmm.. wasnt me nah.. :roll:

but i did see ah 5wd a32.. yuh gottaa search for dat one yes...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 22nd, 2006, 3:34 pm

well then is one ah the other cefiro owners here, cuz i remember someone saying that they found one that could work.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2006, 8:57 pm

^^ shed de light :wink:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 23rd, 2006, 5:06 pm

i cyah remember who it was.
doh forget meh on the parts eh. :mrgreen:

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 25th, 2006, 8:55 am

Ok let me clear up a few thing here cause i have also done extensive research on these things.

First the A32 and 33 VQ's ARE different. But the main difference is that the A33 models(2001 +) come with variable Dual intake runners(black upper intake manifold) as opposed to the Single intake runner(silver upper intake manifold). It's called the VIAS system. Look it up.

In the VQ3.0 an up it gives as much as 30hp up top as it only activates at 5000RPM. With regards to the manual for the A33, i don't think they ever came in manual, as in the states they are known as the infiniti I35 and never came with a gearbox. I have done extensive research on it an yet to come across a manual version. The A32 u can get a manual conversion for it.

cacasplat3 i to have a A33 and realise the only options is to go bigger displacement as u will run into problems with engine management. So far yur options are JWT(u will need to get an older ecu and they will have to mod it to work) Technosquare (they upgrade 2001 an up but no-one has proven there theory of increased rev limit) and then there is the proven Greddy e-manage ultimate( u get to increase rev limit, remove speed limiter, adjust timing, a/f ratio an a whole lot of sheit.).

u can boost the engine u have but is real stress an i also have not seen anybody who boosted over 10psi. An i don't think u can get aftermarketparts like pistons an rods, i could be wrong.

With regards to brakes, the 300zx setup is a direct bolt on. u jus have to mill the diamater bout 2-3 millimeters for it to clr the calipers. an u will need to increase the size of yur rims to at least 17's.

Suspension wise, tokico makes a complete shocks and spring setup that lowers the car 1.5 inches in front and 1.3 in the back. also it is 5 way adjustable for only $600US. which is cheaper that the stock setup from N&M.

The A33 is a very heavy car which is y de primera's can do it to us.

U can put in the VQ35 which is the grand master but it's alot of work and literally to much headache as the electronics are different,(uses drive by wire throttle), also u will need to find a way around the stock anti-theft system which is a pain!!!

cdx2k1 - the rods and valve train and head bolts need to be upgraded only if u plannin to hit more that 7200RPM. Only then will it break it. Also the VQ35 rods not a beefy as the VQ30 so most of the times guys use the VQ30 to modify.

I have links to back up all my stuff so pm me if u want to find out more.

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » July 25th, 2006, 9:03 am

^^Send me the links.Info is always good :cool:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 25th, 2006, 9:00 pm

Rodney T, good info, i'll save this thread,
as for the vq3.5 it have ah fwd version? :? i though the closest one was the 3.4 which came in the newest cefiro.
i still preffer the tein coilovers, cuz of the fact that it ajustable, like if u know u wah carry it to dex for ah lil run, u just drop it ah lil extra, i never liked the fixed droping systems, cuz if u were to strip yuh car of the interior u could end up with ah uneven looking ride height.
was wondering if there is any electronic system that you can use that will completely elliminate the need for the original ecu, (i mean like a new aftermarket device which can run the entire system) that would make life easier.
but the more and more i think about this, the less and less i want to do it. i think i'll stick to just staying n/a but with a lot of tuning, cuz the boost part sounding real costly. :cry:

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » July 26th, 2006, 8:17 am

Yes it have a FWD version, but it is to much work to convert IMO. i can send u a link detailing what is necessary to convert to the 3.5L. an u cannot use a 350Z 3.5L. and a FWD transmission would not work.

The tokico shocks i mentioned is adjustable- 5 ways with a screwdriver.
only the springs is fixed. the shocks adjustable.

with regards to stand alone engine management i not sure. seems that the car has a lot of electronics that may not work with a stand alone. remenber our car's transmission is electronically controlled, an i don't mean like dem b14 or almera. we have a separate TCM(transmission control module) to deal with that. Our car uses solenoid valves to change gears. So u would run into problems.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 26th, 2006, 6:49 pm

i know the 350z vq was out ah the question, i remember watching an episode of monster garage where they swapped a vq35de into a 2-door 120y for drifting. the electrician who had all the wiring diagrams, and a lot of experience with top of the line engines took about 2 days to figure out the wiring system, that was pressure for him, so doh talk bout the electricians we have here.
today i do some thinking, 6psi of boost, with all relevant electronics, and suspension/brakes upgrades. should be less work than @10psi, do you think the internals cand hold up to the 6 psi?
another thing
With regards to brakes, the 300zx setup is a direct bolt on. u jus have to mill the diamater bout 2-3 millimeters for it to clr the calipers. an u will need to increase the size of yur rims to at least 17's.

i doh understand why i have to mill the "diameter". which diameter do i have to mill? the rotor? will the calipers from the 300zx bolt up directly to my present stock suspension setup? or do i have to drill some new holes for it to line up?
i have 17's on right now, only thing is, they look really small, and 18's ah lil out ah my reach right now. :cry:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 26th, 2006, 8:06 pm

the cefiro i have has a vq20de, fwd. it produces somewhere around 160hp. the engine is a v6 2.0l non aspirated one

Nissan VQ20DE 2.0L DOHC 24V all alluminium V6 with 148HP/150ps @ 6400rpm
and 18.3kg-m/179.5Nm/132ft-lbs of torque @ 4000rpm (DIN)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 26th, 2006, 9:12 pm

Nissan VQ20DE 2.0L DOHC 24V all alluminium V6 with 148HP/150ps @ 6400rpm
and 18.3kg-m/179.5Nm/132ft-lbs of torque @ 4000rpm (DIN)

hmmmmmmmmmm, well i thought it was more, and the certified copy have 179hp :shock:
the torque reading is good though. :D

but ah lil tuning and modification could make that close to 300hp :mrgreen:

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » July 26th, 2006, 9:49 pm

the american altima SER had a gearbox that can work on the vq20 ... and most of the 350Z mods will mork on this engine

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 27th, 2006, 2:51 am

here is my 2cents:

you have an a33 cefiro and obviously want more power. ofcourse $$$ is needed so what is your budget? how much cash willing to dish out? i assume that you wanna keep your car for quite a long while and have reliable operation even after a swap plus the added benefit of having warranties for the parts correct?

then, maybe rodney could clarify but drop a VQ35DE in and replace the tranny with a Nissan 350Z/Nissan Maxima (USDM)/Nissan Altima SER/Infiniti G35 6-speed manual or get the more powerful 5-speed automatic/manumatic tranny lifted from an Infiniti I35/Infiniti M35/Infiniti G35/Nissan 350Z etc etc

get your parts from JWT like:
S1 Billet cams, valve spring & shim kit, friction plate kit, clutch set, sports flywheel, pop charger, gt40r turbo, ceramic headers

thats 39HP added to stock 300HP if you get your VQ35DE from the 350Z and 6-speed manual tranny. So you have 339HP not including the boost you will get from that turbo. Im sure you will clock 500HP+

you can also add the stillen valve body upgrade for the automatic tranny if you choose.

other stillen parts that u can get are:
hks super fire plugs, stillen performance alluminium radiator (if you choose the 6-speed tranny)

another upgrade is the borla cat-back stainless steel t-304 exhaust with a turbo muffler 2.5" diameter.

and lastly a Brembo sport disc OEM replacement rotors (ventillated and cross drilled) with Ceramicool pads to work on the stock calipers should do fine.

:mrgreen: You can have the baddest Cefiro in T'dad with a very bad price!