info on engine swap-rb26dett in silvia s15 ??
Posted: July 4th, 2006, 8:47 pm
by tamran ball
it possible seeing that the silvia is rear wheel and the rb26 is awd ???
i could get a silvia s15 spec S...that has a auto sr20de....also could get a
front cut from a r33 gtr .....thinking of doing the swap..or that sounding to fast and furious-ish ??? looking to spend for the most 160 ....advice ????
Posted: July 4th, 2006, 8:53 pm
by 15devils
you........is ah mad ass. i done tell yuh what to do !!! buy the blasted car that dreamcarz put up or look for evo 7 or something.....anyway you want wallerfield bussiness ....so yuh give up wit the sr20det in yuh almera ????
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 9:58 am
by BlueIce
tamran ball, it can be done , and i'd say go for it once u have the money
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 10:18 am
by BlueIce
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 11:26 am
by Gool
of course it can be done! i've seen s13 silvias with rb26dett installed!! and modded on top of that!!
you may need to do away with stock brakes and suspensionand go for aftermarket tho...
i want ah lil spin in it when u done!
have fun bro!

Posted: July 5th, 2006, 12:03 pm
by zer0xp
Now i'm no nissan man... So sorry if my information is correct..
However, i THINK, if you want to put the RB26DETT in the S15, not only are you gonig to need a S15 and a RB26, but you're going to need a RB25 gearbox, since that is RWD..
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 12:23 pm
by TeamH2O
^^Not really, the real way is to use the rb26 box but condem the front drive system. I'll see if i get the info from a friend. But yaw, the rb25 box is the easiest way to go about it, but quicker breakage if u modifying anyything.
If theres 2jzgte's in s13's, s14's and s15's, even rb26's in s13's, s14's and s15's and then its no problem really. You'll need bigger brakes for sure tho
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 4:45 pm
by southside crew
I belive he wants to go AWD..
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 7:05 pm
by tamran ball
scene ...thanks for the info...was doing a lil reserch on it and i seem to get the drift!
get it ??? "the drift" ??? anyway .....s15 silvia landing in 6 weeks with the rb26dett
so the question to you guys is .......i need someone who experience to handle it...any recomendations ??? Prentice ??? Leagal import ???? who could bring in a sweet body kit for the silvia ???
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 7:09 pm
by 15devils
awright couz....i could bring it down...what you looking for ??? veilside,chargespeed ???? soundgodmodshop could bring in for you to......
Posted: July 5th, 2006, 7:24 pm
by Maserati
lol legal imports?

Posted: July 6th, 2006, 1:46 am
by turbo master
agrees w most^^
to condemn the FW system..its not as hard as it seems.i'd say go by bird..he's the boss when it comes to 26..fixes presley's n aaron's sky..if u interested..pm n i'll give u his #
Posted: July 6th, 2006, 10:19 am
by Bezman
^^Not really, the real way is to use the rb26 box but condem the front drive system. I'll see if i get the info from a friend. But yaw, the rb25 box is the easiest way to go about it, but quicker breakage if u modifying anyything.
NO!!!!
use the RB25DET R33 or R33 gearbox, custom driveshaft, you'll need a custom crossmember (there are manufactured ones by the aftermarket)
using the RB26DETT awd gearbox will f things up, its heavier, and un-needed, the oilpan and tranny pan are bigger and different.
this swap has been done many times and a simple google search will reveal
to do a full AWD conversion is allot fo custom blackets, mounts, wider fenders for the wider track of the awd/gtr or custom driveshafts, gtr/custom front swaybars/tension rods and cradle arms..
here is some info i had gotten when looking to do a RB25DET swap in my Silvia, its basically the same thing except for the eigne, the guide is using a RB25DET and the car had a KA24, but it should give you a good idea of whats needed:
[quote]
RB25DET SWAP
’93 240SX
Installation Components:
RB25DET motor, transmission, ecu, maf
McKinney Motorsports engine and transmission mounts
McKinney Motorsports drive shaft
FMIC and piping
Electric dual 12â€
Posted: July 6th, 2006, 10:36 am
by Bezman
http://www.mckinneymotorsports.com/
for the needed motor mounts etc, you'll see how this project will quickly cost as much as the S15

Posted: July 6th, 2006, 10:43 am
by Bezman
man the more and mroe i read is the more i would try and convince you not to do it,
the money, the unbalancing of the car, the fact that you'll need to proactically have everything custom made and cut up a nice car.
spend the same money on the SR20DE or even buy a S15/S14DET and modify it and you'll get MUCH better satisfaction IMHO, you can build a 600+whp monster for the same money using a SR20..
also RB26DETT parts are EXPENSIVE< cehck out the link i posted for replacement parts farless swap parts.
Posted: July 8th, 2006, 1:54 pm
by cacasplat3
so why not do all the work on a swapped in sr20det, like stroker kit and whatever else, as the man say 600whp, it possibe, plus the 6 culinder thing is kind ah costly. doh get meh wrong ah 26 in ah s15 is like magic(it impresses) but for more and more power and to keep the car mostly original i'd stay sr.
Posted: July 8th, 2006, 3:51 pm
by turbo master
agrees w rs^^
doesnt make sense...if u gettin a silvia s15..u gettin a good sr..one of the most powerful..so stick with that..worse yet if u not accustomed to speed..dont mod yet.get accustomed to the car then bit by bit upgrade..cuz launch is nice n stuff..but top end is scary..
there are simple things u could do easily that wont take a lot of work/downtime on yr car
e.g. IC,Boost controller,upgraded brain,this n that..
changing turbo n pistons n nos n all that..u dont need to do that yet.
Posted: July 11th, 2006, 2:40 am
by sr20ve
i know someone in trini with an rb26 powered s13 ...and i know mechs familiar with the swap....Go for it man ......
Posted: July 11th, 2006, 10:02 am
by TeamH2O
if you never experienced a good 4-5 months of 250-300HP, please dont do it. TRUST ME! Especially if you never driven a boosted car. The outcome after some weeks IS NOT GOOD