sr18/sr20 gearbox

GameOver

sr18/sr20 gearbox

Postby GameOver » April 5th, 2006, 8:25 pm

i know from previous posts sr18 and sr20 gearboxes have different ratios but to what extent does that affect a stock or mildly modded sr20. any pros? .. cons? I been searching for a sr20 gearbox for the last week and a lot of dealers r trying sell me sr18 boxes saying that the difference is negligable.. can any one support this ? Also which is better - hydraulic or cable?
Any advice is welcome

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » April 6th, 2006, 3:17 am

Ok most Primera boxes you get are gonna be sr18 becasue those came manual ...only 5% of all Primera made came with an sr20 manual .....
The sr18 keeps you in high rpms because the gears are shorter .....
Converting a car to hydraulic is alot more work than just going with a cable box but the drivability with racing clutches is much better with the hydraulic

WarriorPoet

Postby WarriorPoet » April 6th, 2006, 4:20 am

does this same thing apply to an auto tranny ?
a lot of people tell me an sr18 tranny will line up
and someone wants to sell me one from a red top SR right now
that isnt hydraulic

will this affect performance / cause damage to an sr20de ?

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » April 6th, 2006, 12:46 pm

So how do u know if your box/car uses a cable or hydraulic gear box or tranny or is it all about buying the rigth gearbox or tranny example hydraulic vs cable.

GameOver

Postby GameOver » April 6th, 2006, 5:08 pm

thanks sr20ve, but i'm still wondering.. should i buy the sr18 gearbox or should i wait/look for the sr20 box. hoping not to run into any probs later down the road (daily driver/weekend warrior)..
also r there any distinct identifying marks on these gearboxes? One dealer told me that he could have just given me a sr18 box and I wouldn't know better. I want to at least know what I am buying..
anyone?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 6th, 2006, 5:22 pm

^^ The thing is they look the same.. The only way you will know you got an SR20 gear box is if you get one from a vehicle that came with and SR20 manual stock from Nissan factory.. But the SR18 gear box is realy nice short and sweet power on tap all the time. The SR20 gear box is realy nice for long trips where you don't want your fifth gear at 4rpm.... :|

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » April 8th, 2006, 12:35 am

If your changing from auto to maual the easier rotue is to go with a cable box ....

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » April 12th, 2006, 10:31 pm

wait wait wait.is there a difference in performance of the sr 18 gearbox to a sr20 gearbox??????i wanna know what is the differnece.that is really a good question

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 12th, 2006, 10:59 pm

go with the 18 box...if u lookin for a better 1/4 mile

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » April 14th, 2006, 10:54 pm

ice you for real what is the big difference????between them

JWT

Postby JWT » April 14th, 2006, 11:42 pm

sr18lsd good for 1/4 mile
bad for long runing cause it keeps ur engine revving high which makes you burn more gas

speed demon

Postby speed demon » April 22nd, 2006, 3:55 am

JWT wrote:sr18lsd good for 1/4 mile
bad for long runing cause it keeps ur engine revving high which makes you burn more gas

true very very true , lard it sweet :D yeah

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 22nd, 2006, 10:52 am

sr18lsd good for 1/4 mile

rubberz like the man said , keeps you in higer rpm so u make the power band faster , but on the down side you you burn more gas for daily driving eg 4000rpm @120kmph in 5th
Last edited by BlueIce on April 23rd, 2006, 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » April 22nd, 2006, 8:26 pm

well i dunno bout the better quater mile with an sr18 ...cause i have a lsd sr18 hydro box and i find is run like crap when compared to my friend's car with a big spline SR20 hydro box ...we both vvl and i does have to play catch up ...it could be my 15" rims cause he running 16's ...i think the gears to short for a quater mile run ..1st and 2nd short 3rd looong 4th ok and well i hardly venture upwards of 4000 in 5th caue i reach 180km in 3rd.What yall think ??

JWT

Postby JWT » April 22nd, 2006, 10:13 pm

i have no complaints with my sr18lsd box
and mated to my VVL still have no complaints
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 22nd, 2006, 11:02 pm

once is a sr box u good to go 0X

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » April 23rd, 2006, 1:57 pm

boy sr20ve yuh dam right bro the frigging 3rd gear is really long.and that does pull yuh out big time.with regards to the higher rpm i beleive that cause i find i does really be revving at a higher rpm

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 23rd, 2006, 2:17 pm

1st and 2nd short 3rd looong 4th ok and well i hardly venture upwards of 4000 in 5th caue i reach 180km in 3rd.What yall think ??

It sounds like you have and SR20 gear box and I don' tthink the LSD SR18 gear boxes came hydraulic. I know madjority of the Hydraulic LSD gear boxes come with the SR20 gear box.

I personaly can tell you The shift from 1st to 2nd to 3rd is quick If your gears are long and you are catching yuh tail to catch yuh boi then is either the car not working properly or he has an SR18 gear box and you have an SR20 gear box. :|

JWT

Postby JWT » April 23rd, 2006, 9:55 pm

i am yet to see an sr20 give you 180km/h on 3rd gear

if anyone car here does that show it to me

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 24th, 2006, 9:39 am

i cyah even pass 175 :x
JWT, with d 18 lsd...ur 1st and 2nd...extremely better pull than 4th and 5th?

JWT

Postby JWT » April 24th, 2006, 10:40 pm

1st and 2nd great
4th and 5th great but too short i would prefer th sr20lsd 4th and 5th
but no complaints with the pull

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » April 24th, 2006, 11:53 pm

sounds like you have and SR20 gear box and I don' tthink the LSD SR18 gear boxes came hydraulic. I know madjority of the Hydraulic LSD gear boxes come with the SR20 gear box

i know its sr18 vlsd because i still have the front half i took it out of :mrgreen:
so no doubt there ..100% sr18

Postby wagonrunner » April 24th, 2006, 11:55 pm

JWT wrote:i am yet to see an sr20 give you 180km/h on 3rd gear

meh GA15DE rev limiter in 3rd is 160km/h :oops:
7500rpm limiter. should really be shiftin at 5700 :oops:
god, i need that tach

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » April 24th, 2006, 11:56 pm

well just so that you guys know i can get you all the sr16ve gearsets for a reasonable price and those have the best ratios for the drag strip

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 26th, 2006, 12:51 am

damn!! but fellas, i reach 160kmph in 3rd gear@7000 rpm. Afta dat the rpm limiter does trip out an i does have to shift to 4th. how u get ur car to reach 180kmph in third? The only way i no is to bypass the rev limter. Did u do dat?
i reach 180km in 3rd

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 27th, 2006, 3:07 pm

SR20ve somthing wrong deh horse if you have a man with an SR20 gear box pulling up on you in 4th gear... I personaly hate it the SR18 lsd meng!! The rpm swnigs so dam fast especially when I hit boost. I want a longer stoke gear box I will trade my SR18 lsd gear box with my Brand new ACT 6 puk no springs clutch with a heavy duty preasure plate and brand new ACT release bearing for a SR20 Lsd gear box cable or hydraulic with a good clutch and preasure plate :|

Omaritech2

Postby Omaritech2 » September 24th, 2008, 11:41 pm

YIPPP. Mine does. Have a SR20VE in my N15 and i knock off 180KM in my 3rd gear with RPM to spare. :lol:

thingcall

Postby thingcall » October 16th, 2008, 8:12 am

I have ar sr18 n/a and cable box in a b13 and let me tell u it run like hell, 1st short but 2nd and 3rd ar losing them 20 men cater for a nice short distance but wacth for the 20 men on 4th and 5th an yes the 18 box will work good with the 20.
sr does take real presure... trust that

QG

Postby QG » October 16th, 2008, 6:17 pm

Omaritech2 wrote:

YIPPP. Mine does. Have a SR20VE in my N15 and i knock off 180KM in my 3rd gear with RPM to spare. :lol:

Well my padna had a SR20VE with Auto LSD Tranny in his B14 and he uses the 1, 2 lever and gets 140KM/H on 2nd gear (lever 2) at 9000rpms....so I think achieving 180KM/H on 3rd gear will be a breeze (well in his car).

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 17th, 2008, 3:17 am

^^ Yeah auto SR20VE's are capable of hitting 140khm easy in third. I highly doubt that guy doing 180khm in 3rd in an SR18 lsd gearbox :lol: :lol: