For VVL owners

URBANRACER

For VVL owners

Postby URBANRACER » March 2nd, 2006, 10:34 pm

The GReddy MMS is a nice product, but if you want simplicty which IMO is all you need, lol this product is as simple for controling & installing as you can get!
MSD Digital RPM Window Switch
Look no further – MSD's new Digital RPM Window Switch will do it all! This new Switch will accept an input rpm signal from a coil negative terminal (for stock ignitions), a tach output from an ignition control, an ECU tach output or even a 5 volt tach signal. Another great feature is that no rpm modules are needed! The rpm activation points are programmed by simply scrolling through the LED display to your desired rpm amounts. The switch has two outputs; one normally open, the other is normally closed. It can be programmed from 200 rpm to 15,000 rpm in 100 rpm increments. It can be used with an input voltage of 9 - 18 volts.
Features

Activate a circuit's On and Off point at your desired rpm.
Program the rpm and cylinder selection through the bright LED display.
Accepts an rpm signal from a 5 volt tach signal, coil negative, tach output of an ignition or through an ECU.
Ideal to control a shot of nitrous on nearly any engine combination.

URBANRACER

Postby URBANRACER » March 2nd, 2006, 10:39 pm

Or you can get the digital one, which does the same thing!
MSD Digital RPM Window Switch
Look no further – MSD's new Digital RPM Window Switch will do it all! This new Switch will accept an input rpm signal from a coil negative terminal (for stock ignitions), a tach output from an ignition control, an ECU tach output or even a 5 volt tach signal. Another great feature is that no rpm modules are needed! The rpm activation points are programmed by simply scrolling through the LED display to your desired rpm amounts. The switch has two outputs; one normally open, the other is normally closed. It can be programmed from 200 rpm to 15,000 rpm in 100 rpm increments. It can be used with an input voltage of 9 - 18 volts.
Features

Activate a circuit's On and Off point at your desired rpm.
Program the rpm and cylinder selection through the bright LED display.
Accepts an rpm signal from a 5 volt tach signal, coil negative, tach output of an ignition or through an ECU.
Ideal to control a shot of nitrous on nearly any engine combination.

URBANRACER

Postby URBANRACER » March 2nd, 2006, 10:47 pm

Aaron 2NR, i don't know who told you a transmission/gear box has anything to do with the vvl. its has absolutly nothing to do with it. As for you transmission/gear box question. I told this to alot of people on here but they just dont want to understand. ALL SR20 ENGINES, CAN USE ALL SR20 TRANSMISSIONS, FWD of course. if anyone begs to differ, lets make a bet! & i mean from sr16ve/sr16veN1/sr20ve/sr20de/sr18de/sr20det,u12,u13,w11,rnn14,etc they will all bolt up. with no modifications needed! if usings a awd rnn14 pular trannsmission you would need to use the clutch/flywheel from that motor which would bolt to any sr20 motor.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2006, 11:01 pm

i was doin some readin on this site an the person said that the flywheel on the sr20ve has to be replaced wit one from the de

http://www.digitaltrading.co.uk/sr20ve/install.htm

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 2nd, 2006, 11:31 pm

^ Aaron ah cyar believe u fall for that. the only ve's that came with flywheels are the SR16VE's and the new model SR20VE (20V). The SR20VE '97-'01 all came automatic (CVT M6) and had Flex plates attached, so of course he had to take off the flex plate and put on the flywheel how else he going to bolt the PP and clutch and use a gearbox?

urbanracer, the flywheel off the RNN14 (GTi-R) has bigger bolt holes than all the other SR20's and although it will bolt up to the other cranks it should not be done 'just so' either special bolts or sleeves on the normal bolts should be used else there will be excessive clearance issues and this can lead to shearing of the bolts in extreme usage.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2006, 11:37 pm

well horse sorry nah...on the site dey said flywheel so i was jus quotin wat dey said...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2006, 11:38 pm

hmmm so its easy to remove the flex plate an put up a flywheel if i goin manual rite...cools...

all im really concerned wit is gettin the vvl to engage..thats my main concern wit puttin in a vvl

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 3rd, 2006, 2:08 am

^^^u have a ve?
wha u puttin it in?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 3rd, 2006, 6:37 am

^nah im thinkin about a lil project but jus makin sure if i put in a vvl i want to make sure it wud be workin...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 3rd, 2006, 6:45 am

URBANRACER, what i was talkin bout wit the gearbox/tranmission ting is that i no wen u remove the cvt tranny an replace it with a gearbox the vvl doesnt engage so u wud need to use an electronic device to fool the ecu into tinking that the cvt tranny is still there...

so which is easier,cheaper and better to use? the msd system or the greddy mms?

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2006, 8:01 am

msd system is cheaper then the mss and easier to use
the summit racing boxes is even cheaper

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » March 3rd, 2006, 9:28 am

So the SR20DE box bolts up to the VE right?

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2006, 9:38 am

all sr fwd trannys bolt to all the different fwd engines

URBANRACER

Postby URBANRACER » March 3rd, 2006, 12:36 pm

Dave wrote:all sr fwd trannys bolt to all the different fwd engines

I vote you for presedent! :)

URBANRACER

Postby URBANRACER » March 3rd, 2006, 12:37 pm

Dave wrote:msd system is cheaper then the mss and easier to use
the summit racing boxes is even cheaper

thats correct, its your option to get whcih ever one you want. they all do the same thing. I use the digital msd box. and have been using it for 2 years now. & have had no problems with it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 3rd, 2006, 3:54 pm

cool...thanx...so its easy to install as well rite??

URBANRACER

Postby URBANRACER » March 3rd, 2006, 4:56 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:cool...thanx...so its easy to install as well rite??

VERY!

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » March 3rd, 2006, 9:39 pm

URBANRACER wrote:
Dave wrote:all sr fwd trannys bolt to all the different fwd engines

I vote you for presedent! :)

:stalk:

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 9th, 2006, 6:45 am

hOW MUCH DOES THE msd SYSTEM COST AND WAT HAS TO BE DONE TO INSTALL IT?

Postby Dave » March 9th, 2006, 7:44 am

which one, rpm pill box or electronic type

Kasey

Could i give me quotations on both?

Postby Kasey » March 12th, 2006, 9:30 pm

Could u give me quotations on both?