Page 1 of 6
SR20DE inside
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 1:07 pm
by dbesson
Here is a little update of my swap for those interested.
As you can see the motor is mounted and just the axles and harness to hook up, one minor prob the distributor i got with the motor is not matching the harness. I need a two port distributor.
my tein basic coil overs.
more updates later
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 1:29 pm
by Dave
not bad at all
2 port dist? that low port requires an internal coil type
you got aftermkt headers on it or u installed that
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 1:30 pm
by Picasso
^^ Hmm nice your engine looks nice. Question: What vehicle are you putting this in? and how much did you pay for the tein coilovers?
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 1:51 pm
by dbesson
Dave2 port dist? that low port requires an internal coil type
you got aftermkt headers on it or u installed that
I got the headers from my mechanic, he had a padna that had them for sale. I now talk to him there about the distributor, he overlooked a part of the harness and just realised that it should work.*crosses fingers*
PicassoWhat vehicle are you putting this in? and how much did you pay for the tein coilovers?
A B14 1997. i got the tein for $4000, I know
OUCH!!! my stock suspension was shot too shiatt and I had the money so i got em, A friend of my from the sr20forum bought them for me. I got lucky with the shipping into Trini.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 1:53 pm
by Picasso
hmmm those tein is exactly what I need.. just drill over the top and presto I am on

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:05 pm
by dbesson
have you concidered the avenir suspension Just a thought, don't know much about wagon suspension.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:25 pm
by URBANRACER
are you using the factory wire harness? if you say you need a 2 port distributor then you must have a obd2 harness, were 1 cip is for the internal coil.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:26 pm
by imperial
Not to crack up your engine dbesson, but isn't this one of the new model SR's. And isn't the old model rumoured to be more powerful?Does anyboby know what are the upgrades/advantages that this version have over the older version, if any?
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:29 pm
by Dave
more parts for older than newer
basically what the intake robbed in this one, the slicker valve train picked up the slack so at the end of the day kinda all was the same
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:42 pm
by BlueIce
nice swap man , meh padna doing the identical swap into his b14 and i swear ur guys engine bay looks identical except for those extractors.
auto or manual? how much did u get the engine and box/tranny for? jus to educate tuners with projects in mind.
And isn't the old model rumoured to be more powerful?
from what i've hear the older model (highport) has a better low end
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:51 pm
by dbesson
URBANRACER wrote:are you using the factory wire harness? if you say you need a 2 port distributor then you must have a obd2 harness, were 1 cip is for the internal coil.
yea its the factory harness, I hope to have this sorted out this weekend.
imperial wroteNot to crack up your engine dbesson, but isn't this one of the new model SR's. And isn't the old model rumoured to be more powerful?Does anyboby know what are the upgrades/advantages that this version have over the older version, if any?
thanks dave for the input, well just like you said "rumoured" but the thing is that both models have the same HP stock. Most people will tell you that the high port motors have more power, but I've done a lot of research and have come to find that the high port motor 91-93 has a more aggressive intake cam and this gives the High port motor the feeling of more power or torgue. from 95+ nissan changes a few things, mainly for emissions, one of them being the intake cam and several other things as dave said
"basically what the intake robbed in this one, the slicker valve train picked up the slack so at the end of the day kinda all was the same"

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 2:55 pm
by imperial
Okay taking that into consideration, someone wrote on this website that the older engines outpower the newer engines by about 20hp. And i could remember it being someone with a little more knowledge than average about these engines.
But if its not so, then cool scene.

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:01 pm
by dbesson
BlueIce wrote:nice swap man , meh padna doing the identical swap into his b14 and i swear ur guys engine bay looks identical except for those extractors.
auto or manual? how much did u get the engine and box/tranny for? jus to educate tuners with projects in mind.
And isn't the old model rumoured to be more powerful?
from what i've hear the older model (highport) has a better low end
thanks, I appreciate the compliment, but it should go to my mechanic, he's the one doing all the work, I lack the knowledge to do it myself... but I will learn through this process. It's a manual 5fwd I got the engine and tranny for $5000, I had to get some brackets fabricated, which took a lil longer than expected. I'm just glad to see it in and the project is moving along.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:04 pm
by imperial
SRinnaB14... Jus now that would be as popular as R&R (roti and a red solo!!!)
Welcome to the club bro... you WILL enjoy your stay!

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:06 pm
by Bezman
hmmm those tein is exactly what I need.. just drill over the top and presto I am on
no they are not, rememerb what i was telling you about spring.damper/rebound rates set by TEIN for the application teh coilovers were made for, your wagon may eb too heavy for B14 coilovers, they may be too short resulting in bottoming out and destroying the valvs in the shock,
you need to find the correct ones, i posted link, my bro gave you links, c;mon meng, stop looking for an easy way out that you will regret.
noddy the car looks specs. ask mouse to take off the valve cover for you this weekend and let me paint it for ya.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:07 pm
by Dave
I had to get some brackets fabricated

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:09 pm
by Bezman
I had to get some brackets fabricated
not a big deal, i had my gearbox cross memeber made by teh same guy.. and mine aint breaking anytime soon.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:15 pm
by dbesson
imperial wrote:Okay taking that into consideration, someone wrote on this website that the older engines outpower the newer engines by about 20hp. And i could remember it being someone with a little more knowledge than average about these engines.
But if its not so, then cool scene.

I hear what your saying, I do have a plan though for this, supposed less horse power.
CAMS!. but that wont happen till the engine is running and we get it working good, then I'll start to head in that direction. but for now headers & intake.
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:22 pm
by dbesson
CA19 wrote:noddy the car looks specs. ask mouse to take off the valve cover for you this weekend and let me paint it for ya.
for real, I knew you of all people would say something, I hadda check him later, I'll call you when i going to check him, if not paint just sand it down and clean it.. keep the original look Silver
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:31 pm
by Dave
sand down and clean would yield a polished look
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:49 pm
by dbesson
I could always paint it black and put a NEO VVL sticker on it..... lol
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 3:50 pm
by BlueIce
It's a manual 5fwd I got the engine and tranny for $5000,
thats an good price!
hope to see you soon at wallers representing the sr camp
btw did you do any brake upgrade? rear discs? bigger front discs?
and plz dont paint it black and put vvl sticka , you go sheit up d look of it man!
think of it this way...when u beat a vvl man u'll feel more proud popping ur hood and showin off ur old silver top

Posted: February 17th, 2006, 4:03 pm
by dbesson
I could always paint it black and put a NEO VVL sticker on it..... lol
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 4:20 pm
by dbesson
BlueIce wrote:It's a manual 5fwd I got the engine and tranny for $5000,
thats an good price!
hope to see you soon at wallers representing the sr camp

btw did you do any brake upgrade? rear discs? bigger front discs?
and plz dont paint it black and put vvl sticka , you go sheit up d look of it man!
think of it this way...when u beat a vvl man u'll feel more proud popping ur hood and showin off ur old silver top

sorry about the repost, Nah bro i just kidding about the Black paint and VVL sticker.
I got the car with all wheel disc, I'm looking for the AD22 or AD18 brake upgrade. I saw a post the other day about a pulsar front cut selling off parts. but the man want $1200 for the calipers and rotors, that not including the brake booster. so the search continues. if you know anyone who has any of these brake let me know.
and yes I will be coming wallers up to have some fun with you guys!
Posted: February 17th, 2006, 6:44 pm
by GA16
yup that's the low port, roller rocker engine, it is rated the same hp. as the older sr's, but it is a much improved engine also, the older sr's had bearing failures, this was realised and sorted out in this newer model also the valve train is much better than the older ones also, piston and ring design is much improved also, all in all a much better engine, the bottom end of this engine is the same as the ve's so if you were to find a ve head lying around by a rumshop somewhere .......well you on like boil corn.
Posted: February 18th, 2006, 7:57 am
by Aaron 2NR
CA19,who can u recommend that can make a crossmember an it wud last rel long
Posted: February 18th, 2006, 9:04 am
by cdx2k1
General Question: The B14 has a dependant rear suspension right? *In the house right now so I can't check*
Posted: February 18th, 2006, 9:18 am
by Dave
yes, solid rear bar featuring the scott/russel linkage found in all sedan solid rear beams in late model nissans.
Posted: February 18th, 2006, 7:31 pm
by cacasplat3
i have ah padna with ah sr like that, auto in ah b12 with coil overs on the front.
Posted: February 19th, 2006, 9:06 pm
by BlueIce
dbesson, the project done yet ?
updates bro