RB20DET Gearbox problem

Posted: January 15th, 2006, 10:10 am
by nilgoat
My padnah have a rb20det in a mark2 and he gets a grating sound when he changes gears too fast. He changed clutch plate, pressure plate and release bearing and still getting the problem. If he changes gears slowly like mash clutch and hold it in neutral for a second and then shift to second gear, it works without grating but from first direct to second it grates. he also has to mash the clutch a few times for it to register in reverse.

Any suggestions?

Posted: January 15th, 2006, 10:20 am
by moses
Well horse i belive if you changed all that its probly the gears. You should change that and then all will work well.

Posted: January 15th, 2006, 6:06 pm
by TeamH2O
the infamous moses knows it all, watch how he thinks with his skillful auto motive brain powered by a GA15DET

Posted: January 15th, 2006, 6:11 pm
by ~Street Sleeper~
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
*~TeamH2O~*,
his skillful auto motive

no boy... ah think the GA15DET waz manual toooo :D

[b]SpOt ThE tUnEr

Posted: January 16th, 2006, 10:33 am
by Bezman
h20 .... *shakes head*

sounds to me like the brass rings, he can use a CA or SR or Rb20 gearbox, just swap bell housings ;)

Posted: January 16th, 2006, 10:40 am
by nilgoat
^^^ where he getting them to buy?...and what price so? i know dem sr gearbox is therapy to find one

so if is the brass rings...that could machine/repair/replace?

Re: RB20DET Gearbox problem

Posted: June 14th, 2010, 6:37 am
by RB~Man
try adjusting the piston in the master cylinder. might solve ur prob bro.

Re: RB20DET Gearbox problem

Posted: June 17th, 2010, 2:21 pm
by Sargeant
boi I had that same problem with my gear box all the brass washers was bad so meh gears used to grate at high rpm better you buy a gear box and pipe out this one pull down the box and see If it have fileings in the oil