Page 1 of 2
All who drag races, what rpm do you launch at?
Posted: January 10th, 2006, 11:10 pm
by URBANRACER
just curious what rpm you guys launch at, please weather you have a det, ve or just a de! and what tires you guys use.
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 8:39 am
by Dave
i know is manual u r asking about, generally on the set up would be between 3-4K rpm
for me with the auto, i stall at 2.4k rpm
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 9:12 am
by BlueIce
2500 exact ....maybe if i feel like it 3000 with a slight wheel spin (stock sr20de) best time 15.4 , avg 15.7
anything more is jus wheel spin (205/40/17)
didnt u put down 13's with ur sr? what rpm do u launch at?
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 9:21 am
by Yeo
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 3:18 pm
by krossbreed
launching can vary from vehicle to vehicle
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 7:24 pm
by URBANRACER
wow 2,500 is real low 2 launch IMO! do you guys ever see a bog after the launch? i used to launch my sr20de with bolt ons at like 7k and just feather it on the street, on street tires. i would just try to keep the power band up.
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 7:41 pm
by BlueIce
after 2500 is wheel spin...d most i ever lauched at was 3000...and i talkin street tyres eh
why would i wanna laucnh harder and lose traction and time?
when u launch at 7K ...u used to get traction (street tyres i talkin)
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 7:45 pm
by URBANRACER
BlueIce wrote:after 2500 is wheel spin...d most i ever lauched at was 3000...and i talkin street tyres eh
why would i wanna laucnh harder and lose traction and time?
when u launch at 7K ...u used to get traction (street tyres i talkin)
No traction when i launch at 7k, but the power is their, no bog! i just feather it like crazy till traction is caught. mph is higher! try it some time. i pulled a 1.8 60ft by doing that, bu i guess thats just the way i drive!
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 7:49 pm
by BlueIce
maybe if we get a fleckin track one day again i go try it yes
btw do a post with all d mods and yuh best time with yuh sr n/a na...ah man tell meh yuh put down 13's!!! well done!
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 7:57 pm
by URBANRACER
BlueIce wrote:maybe if we get a fleckin track one day again i go try it yes
btw do a post with all d mods and yuh best time with yuh sr n/a na...ah man tell meh yuh put down 13's!!! well done!
my fastest time with a all motor sr20de was 14.9, and my fastest time with a sr20ve was 13.2 i'll post a mod list on both cars a in a few..
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 8:15 pm
by TriniGT
4500rpm and hold it there till traction is felt and then mash and movements.
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 8:26 pm
by BlueIce
my fastest time with a all motor sr20de was 14.9, and my fastest time with a sr20ve was 13.2 i'll post a mod list on both cars a in a few..
man i lookin forward to that post! it go give meh hope
was the de stock? what mods?
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 9:58 pm
by URBANRACER
BlueIce wrote:my fastest time with a all motor sr20de was 14.9, and my fastest time with a sr20ve was 13.2 i'll post a mod list on both cars a in a few..
man i lookin forward to that post! it go give meh hope
was the de stock? what mods?
the sr20de had was a lowport with a lightened (stock) flywheel shaved down to 16 lbs, gtir rnn14 exhaust cam, with a highport intake cam. apexi 4-1 race header, 2 1/2 str8 back to muffler, CAI, egr blocked off, advance timing, ecu had a 8k crystal & yes i was reving the motor as stock as it was to 8k on a daily basis! no rocker arm stoppers etc. it was not nothing to talk about. just put together with BS parts laying around. i was suprised when i ran the 14.9 i was just their with a few other shop cars that day at the track, and was bored and decided to run it. it was a daily driver at the time. i might have a pic if i can find it i'll post it.
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 10:03 pm
by URBANRACER
i thaught i had a pic of it on the track, but i cant find it. i know its on thespedlounge.com somewere, but heres another old pic i found of it though,

Posted: January 11th, 2006, 10:33 pm
by belalegosi
^^^and u launched that at 7k?
Posted: January 11th, 2006, 10:39 pm
by Aaron 2NR
dred ure car looks really sweet!!
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 7:39 am
by Yeo
Some pics of Urbanracer's rides
Go through the ENTIRE post
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0
^^^and u launched that at 7k?
9K on a daily basis..
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... t=#1043662
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 7:55 am
by Dave
8k+ rpm with no rocker arm stoppers, i find that really hard to believe

Posted: January 12th, 2006, 2:22 pm
by belalegosi
thats with the ve yeo
i was referin to the de
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 2:30 pm
by Yeo
whoops...my bad.
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 2:42 pm
by belalegosi
^^^dsi

Posted: January 12th, 2006, 3:07 pm
by turbo master
how should i know?there's no tach in my car

Posted: January 12th, 2006, 3:22 pm
by mini me AWD
i usually launch at 3500 rpm
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 4:47 pm
by URBANRACER
Dave wrote:8k+ rpm with no rocker arm stoppers, i find that really hard to believe

i can carless what you believe or not! it was the DE that i use to rev to 8k with no rocker arm stoppers! up to this date i still have 2 customers that do it. what your problem is, along with half the people on the internet. You guys read to much and dont experiment. You can read everthing what the people say on the SRforum and go with that from their. till this day people say on the forum you cant rev a VE pass 8k, because of the 4cw crack and you can use a lightened pulley! after i posted the video everyone got quiet. All i can tell you and everyone else if you dont agree with me, continue reving to 7k and let me be the only one reving pass 8k! Also i have a sr20vet in the work for spring '06 thats going to be reving to 11k! i'll post updated pics and info on that build.
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 4:51 pm
by Dave
breds, thats your preference, i just find it hard to believe, not unbelievable
build away
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 6:17 pm
by belalegosi
Also i have a sr20vet in the work for spring '06 thats going to be reving to 11k! i'll post updated pics and info on that build.
KEEP US UPDATED!!!
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 7:42 pm
by TeamH2O
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 7:46 pm
by TeamH2O
oh, i launch at 2000rpm due to a rock hard unknown cause gas pedal.....launched at 5000rpm with the slicks testing by the garage in curepe, pure traction, front lift off, the mark still on the road
All automatic trans

Posted: January 12th, 2006, 8:39 pm
by belalegosi
Posted: January 12th, 2006, 10:28 pm
by Alpha_2nr
just curious what rpm you guys launch at, please weather you have a det, ve or just a de! and what tires you guys use.
Depends on the car generally. You dont want too low an rpm such that the tires "bog down" on launch, nor do you want too high and rpm that you cause wheelspin.