RORO Almera n16 - engine stall....

Fred45

RORO Almera n16 - engine stall....

Postby Fred45 » November 20th, 2005, 8:00 pm

hey guys, anybody ever had this problem....

i've got a roro almera qg16,
while driving today on the highway, the engine just quit. kaput! and all the guages on the dash died, no "red lights" whatsoever, i wasn't even speeding, just around 70kmph or so,
so i just coast to the shoulder and stop.

but as soon as the car came to a stop, all the red lights on the dash came back on, so i just tumbled and the car started fine, i drove home like normal.

thing is, when this happened, all electrical in the car died except the deck, it still was working.

the car working fine still, but i'd like to know if it happened to anybody other than me.

oh, one other thing, when i started, the overdive light on the dash kept blinking for about 5 sec to so then it went off.

what you think caused this?

JWT

Postby JWT » November 20th, 2005, 10:44 pm

fuse check ur fuse box or alternator to see if it is charging properly

it cannot be the crank and cam sensors caus ethey still maintain all lights everything

Fred45

Postby Fred45 » November 21st, 2005, 8:05 am

but if it was the alternator, won't just the red lights come on, but the engine should still continue run just from the battery alone?

if it was a main fuse, wouldn't the deck also cut off? this was the only thing still working.

can this be a symtom of a faulty ecu?
if so, how much would one cost?

in the meantime, i'll check the fuse box for a slack fuse......

Postby Dave » November 21st, 2005, 8:26 am

the deck wiring comes from the battery, other accessory stuff comes through the ecu hence why the deck kept on

Rx

Postby Rx » November 22nd, 2005, 7:23 pm

doubt it was the alternator ..............

I bet that experience was scary :?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 22nd, 2005, 7:27 pm

I bet 1k on a blown ecu :cry:

Rx

Postby Rx » November 27th, 2005, 11:18 am

has the problem been solved? :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 27th, 2005, 11:39 am

wont bad groundin cause this?

Fred45

Postby Fred45 » November 27th, 2005, 8:39 pm

well the car's still working, but daily i fear that it'll shut down again...... maybe next time it may not start....

i just want to know what it may be,
a pardner of a pardner also said the camshaft /crankshaft sensors may be faulty, but he said that when they cause that, the "redlight" on the dash usually stay on when the engine dies..... so he's stumped also....

i checked fuses and found nothing wrong....
ground straps look secure......

does anybody know why would the overdive light have blinked for the 5sec period after restarting? is this some kinda fault code?

one question,
when the cam/crank sensors cause something similar, does the engine start back up or it is totally dead until sensors are changed?

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » December 1st, 2005, 12:09 pm

i believe the blinking O/D light is a code that tells what the problem is, you need to take the car to a GOOD electrician who has the diagnostic equipment to read the code and interpret it.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 3rd, 2005, 8:24 am

Check Kunta in Bamboo number 2 he will help yuh out buddy :mrgreen:

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » January 17th, 2008, 11:49 am

Had the same problem some weeks ago and the car continued to run as normal after. Last night, it died for good and couldn't get it started again. The O/D light was also blinking for a few seconds. Any help as to the solution would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. I also have a roro almera with qg16 engine.

Postby RBphoto » January 17th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Check paul in Debe after Bicks.

broger53

Postby broger53 » February 3rd, 2008, 6:17 pm

Fred45, I have done some research and found the reason why your car just cut off...i copied the information from a site so here it is...

VEHICLE SAFETY RECALL R3022 & R302A
PULSAR & X-TRAIL CRANK POSITION SENSORS
Nissan Motor Company (Australia) Pty Ltd has identified a potential safety related issue with Nissan Pulsar Sedan and Hatch and Nissan X-TRAIL.

DESCRIPTION OF PROBLEM.
Nissan have identified that there may be a potential problem with the crank position sensors. This could cause the "malfunction indicator" warning light to come on, create a no start condition, cause reduced engine power or cause the engine to stop running without warning during vehicle operation.

RECOMMENDED ACTION.
Should your vehicle be within the ranges listed below, you should contact your nearest Nissan Dealer to arrange for rectification of your vehicle. This action will be carried out free of charge to you.

Nissan regret the need to conduct this recall, which has been initiated in the interests of ongoing customer satisfaction and continued product reliability.

MODEL ENGINE VIN RANGE

N16 Sedan QG16 JN1CFAN16A0 000004 to JN1CFAN16A0 054064
" " QG18 JN1CBAN16A0 000001 to JN1CBAN16A0 053871
N16 Hatch QG18 SJNFBAN160A 150155 to SJNFBAN160A 362989
T30 X-Trail QR25 JN1TBNT30A0 000006 to JN1TBNT30A0 008143

http://www.nissan.com.au/owningNissan/r ... _index.asp?

I have an almera too, i think i am going to change my engine cuz my wife transports our son with that car..

Almeras are also known as Pulsar Sedans in different countries , i have researched that too.

Roger Bannister

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » February 3rd, 2008, 6:36 pm

^^^ You really have no reason to change the entire engine. All you have to do is change the sensors that are faulty. The fault is not the engine, it's just the sensor which you can purchase at The Motorist for probably around $300.

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » February 4th, 2008, 8:44 pm

O/D light blinking with nissans indicate a problem with the transmission. That would be a good place to start like any. Get a diagnostic check first before u go jus spending money like that..... Once the Engine check light not blinking or ON continuous u shouldn't have to be concerned about ECU wise, and for those who say blown ECU, if it was blown the car wouldn't start....

Snyper

Postby Snyper » February 19th, 2008, 12:09 pm

I had the same problem a few weeks ago where the the rpm was going up with no increase in speed i had the problem check which showed that the solenoid switch which bolts up to the valve in the transmission went bad i had it changed it and works fine you should also check your sensors.

speedster

Re: RORO Almera n16 - engine stall....

Postby speedster » January 5th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Blinking O/D light is caused by a faulty revolution speed sensor its a sensor on the transmission get it checked by someone with a diagnostic machine to be sure.

jose123

Postby jose123 » October 28th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Anyone got a reason/ fix for this?
My Singaporean N16 did this once, but the car works perfectly now.
It just cut off waiting to turn onto the Uria Buttler by Nestle. Started perfectly and did not do it again.
I thought it was something with the fuel, cuse I ran it with the fuel light on for about 50km a morning looking for a station.

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » December 7th, 2011, 2:23 pm

this happened to me twice approx a week apart and never happened again. mines a local 2004 SG-L model. but my engine never died, all electrical just cut for about 2secs and came back on like normal. had to reset all my radio stations.....ARGHHHH!!!

jose123

Postby jose123 » December 8th, 2011, 6:24 am

My problem was the camshaft sensor and intake sensor. Works perfectly now. Gas millage is also much better.

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » December 8th, 2011, 10:58 am

good to kno jose123

for all the almera/sunny/b16/sylphy guys out dere. wat is your gas mileage on your car? how many km do u usually get on a full tank of gas? i hav a 2004 local SG-L (big light). the car never gave any trouble since the day i got her. usual maintenance and on time (oil, filters, brakes etc) and the best i can get at that. but my gas econ dropped recently, i now get about 300km per tank. i serviced my injecters recently and still nothing. wat u guys reccommend?

jose123

Postby jose123 » December 8th, 2011, 7:53 pm

My mileage had dropped to about 250km on 50l super. After servicing I get about 400-450km on a tank of super. Could be an early sign that the sensors starting to go causing a bad mix of fuel/ air. Is your exhaust sent very noticeable?

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » December 9th, 2011, 11:46 am

now that you mention it, when i start on mornings it does smell a bit 'gassy'. never thought anytin of it since my exhaust still spits water.

if it is the sensors going bad, which ones are we talking about? and if you have an average cost, that would really help. i wud just prefer to change all one time and avoid the headache later

jose123

Postby jose123 » December 9th, 2011, 5:05 pm

Intake and cam. Let Master Serv put it on the computer and do a diagnostic.
Would have preferred they do my car, but Lauchlin and De Gannes was closer.
The engine was also in a bad state with carbon build up. U could think of doing a complete service even if u have not reached 100,000 km
There are other garages with the equipment.
Can't rem the cost, but will look fir the bill. Lauchlin replaced with genuine Nissan sensors, so hoping for a next 7 years out of these.

The QG engine is supposed to be a lifer. Read that some N16 were doing over 500,000 km in Argentina at taxis without needing complete overhauls!

deoraj28

Postby deoraj28 » January 8th, 2013, 7:34 pm

sensors at the motorist is 1500 tt.