A/C talk

Posted: October 10th, 2016, 11:37 am
by mindy25
Would this idea cause problems to your ac system
20161007_100110.jpg
wrapping your line with heat resistant material ?

Re: A/C talk

Posted: October 10th, 2016, 8:18 pm
by ramishrrr
If it was necessary, or if it improved the performance of the system, then Nissan would have done so.
Peace.
RR.

Posted: October 12th, 2016, 5:18 pm
by krack korn
It helps a little because the refrigerant is cooler entering the compressor, the condensor has a lil less work to do. It can however be dangerous if the expansion valve is not properly adjusted and/or if the AC individual overcharged the system, liquid will return to the compressor suction and compressor will drown.

It could have been done a bit neater than that, all them million tye wrap ent necessary. put contact cement on the facing edges and put on the foam, it looks and works better.

Mainly if any rubber hose is not insulated it helps to protect it from engine and/or exhaust heat, keeps the hose from becoming hard and hence failing. Most newer cars will come with it or some type of heat guard on the rubber hoses, both AC and powersteering.

In our high humidity climate it would reduce condensate formation on the line, reduce corrosion and possibly prevent water getting where u don't want it(very slight chance but possible depending on routing of line).

If you look at home/commercial/industrial AC and refrigeration systems the lines are insulated between the condenser and evaporator units.

Re: RE: Re: A/C talk

Posted: October 15th, 2016, 6:22 pm
by mindy25
krack korn wrote:It helps a little because the refrigerant is cooler entering the compressor, the condensor has a lil less work to do. It can however be dangerous if the expansion valve is not properly adjusted and/or if the AC individual overcharged the system, liquid will return to the compressor suction and compressor will drown.

It could have been done a bit neater than that, all them million tye wrap ent necessary. put contact cement on the facing edges and put on the foam, it looks and works better.

Mainly if any rubber hose is not insulated it helps to protect it from engine and/or exhaust heat, keeps the hose from becoming hard and hence failing. Most newer cars will come with it or some type of heat guard on the rubber hoses, both AC and powersteering.

In our high humidity climate it would reduce condensate formation on the line, reduce corrosion and possibly prevent water getting where u don't want it(very slight chance but possible depending on routing of line).

If you look at home/commercial/industrial AC and refrigeration systems the lines are insulated between the condenser and evaporator units.

OK OK I understand you but the reason for the straps is because was doing a test run to see what happens iam still testing and getting information . Thanks for the input

Posted: October 16th, 2016, 10:18 am
by Ted_v2
Personally I won't do it. Home ac units are copper lines.