turboing Sr20de and Sr18

Cipher

turboing Sr20de and Sr18

Postby Cipher » August 1st, 2005, 9:07 pm

I have a partner who wants to know how much boost you can safely run on a stock sr18????? Maintaining engine longevity is EXTREMELY important as his last engine blew up. :shock:

3 lbs boost?

JWT

Postby JWT » August 1st, 2005, 10:33 pm

7psi max

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 2nd, 2005, 5:14 pm

Nah but once doing it over he should change them internal parts for sure to avoid damageing the engine again and also he will get more performance out of it

NiSmO-R

Re: turboing Sr20de and Sr18

Postby NiSmO-R » August 2nd, 2005, 7:22 pm

Cipher wrote:I have a partner who wants to know how much boost you can safely run on a stock sr18????? Maintaining engine longevity is EXTREMELY important as his last engine blew up. :shock:

3 lbs boost?

If he blew the 18 chuck it and buy a 20 I've seen up to 9psi run safely with intercooler

If he wants extra precaution look into a MSD6BTM

demented

Postby demented » August 3rd, 2005, 11:14 am

MSD6BTM
clarify :? :?

how did he blow ah sr18?

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » August 3rd, 2005, 11:58 am

demented wrote:
MSD6BTM
clarify :? :?

how did he blow ah sr18?

The MSD6 with Boost Timing Master retards and advances ignition timing with and increase or decrease in boost pressure i.e less chance of detonation and the ability to run higher boost safely.

This description is from a racing website that sells it.

MSD 6 BTM Racing Ignition

If you have a turbo or supercharger, the 6BTM is the ignition for you. You get MSD's multiple sparks and capacitive discharge power, and a built-in boost retard circuit to prevent detonation. The MSD-6BTM prevents detonation by automatically retarding the spark timing as the boost pressure increases. By electronically controlling the spark advance, a supercharged engine can operate on the threshold of detonation for maximum engine power and efficiency. The MSD-6BTM's spark timing retard can be adjusted from 1 degree per pound of boost to 3 degrees, with a maximum retard of 15 degrees. A convenient dash mounted control knob allows you to make adjustments while driving to compensate for changes in altitude, air temperature and fuel octane levels. The spark timing retard is activated by a boost pressure sensor located on the side of the unit, and also features a built in rev control.

demented

Postby demented » August 3rd, 2005, 12:28 pm

^^^ oh thanks meng :oops:

msttn4

Postby msttn4 » September 7th, 2005, 2:15 am

i am turbo charging my SR20 with 5 pounds boost, ive been told that will run nicely. i have to mount 2 new injectors for more fuel because of the oxygen sensor, any idea where abouts to mount the injectors and at what angles?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » September 15th, 2005, 3:17 pm

easier just to get 4 bigger injectors and run some fuel mgt like a safc and a btm. running 6 injectors is tricky at best.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 15th, 2005, 3:49 pm

i have to mount 2 new injectors for more fuel because of the oxygen sensor, any idea where abouts to mount the injectors and at what angles?

Who held a gun to your head and told you that yuh have to run 6 injectors :lol: :lol: :lol:

Listen boss you only need 4 injectors.. running six is cheap but tricky... do it the right way get 4 bigger injectors :mrgreen:

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » September 18th, 2005, 1:11 pm

A B13 runnin 10PSI on a GA16. I know the car personally... No problems. Stock Internals/injectors etc

msttn4

Postby msttn4 » October 18th, 2005, 7:10 am

the turbo im going to run on my SR20DE is off a turbo bluebird and has water inlet and outlet feeds for cooling, can i run it without these? ive been told to do so

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » October 18th, 2005, 8:37 am

So internal work would include (for the very basics): new pistons and connecting rods right?

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » October 18th, 2005, 10:01 pm

easier just to get 4 bigger injectors and run some fuel mgt like a safc and a btm. running 6 injectors is tricky at best.

I agree.. could think about uprading to the 370cc injectors... :idea:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 18th, 2005, 11:07 pm

Dis man cant realy still be on adding another injector you looking for problems jed simple way is to take everyone advice...

Postby Dave » October 19th, 2005, 8:29 am

ah shame with all of u guys, can't just run bigger injectors and expect a whole heap of extra fuel, what determines how much fuel they now spray, ahhh ECU
u will need some thingamajingy to pulse them longer like a remapped ecu or a safc
stock injectors can safely run a 85% duty cycle before they really start to overwork and eventually fail

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 19th, 2005, 10:19 am

Increase fuel pressure?

demented

Postby demented » October 22nd, 2005, 2:07 am

Stixer7 wrote:A B13 runnin 10PSI on a GA16. I know the car personally... No problems. Stock Internals/injectors etc

:shock: WTF I don't believe that'll last very long. That is 1st degree murder of the engine (slowly). What size turbo he used?Intercooler and what system mods??????

skyline_01

Postby skyline_01 » November 1st, 2005, 6:10 pm

is he talkin about turboing with stock pistons and suff from a sr20de :?:

nilgoat

Postby nilgoat » February 15th, 2006, 8:06 am

cdx2k1 wrote:So internal work would include (for the very basics): new pistons and connecting rods right?
:?: :?:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 15th, 2006, 10:10 am

Internal work - yaw, or as they say, lower compression pistons, i think internals can mean many other things like sleaving the block, and if possible i think i am wrong with this one or not, opening the cylinders more to fit bigger pistons(increase displacement?)