GA 15 question...distributor probs

Posted: June 23rd, 2005, 4:02 pm
by demented
any body ever change the O-ring seals in their GA 15 distributor?....i have one in a Wingroad and I getting an oil leak. The mechanic say is the seal..but he cant change it, he say the electrician has to do it..[madness...daz d mechanic job ent?]. i need to know the correct sizes so i can buy them before hand.

Posted: June 23rd, 2005, 11:37 pm
by fastredminx
hoss ent is jus to "mark the spot" take of the two 12mm bolts,yank out the mf and change the O-ring? ah feel yuh better change yuh mechanic!
and when yuh done all that still check yuh timing with the light, and ah believe the distributor could only go in one way......can't remember right now.

Posted: June 24th, 2005, 1:24 am
by hjchinw
ent it easy like squeezy..

Posted: June 26th, 2005, 8:17 pm
by Rx
easy fuh so ...................

but ah feel it isn't the o ring seal .................. my B14 had the same problem - GA15 engine - the mechanic said it was a seal that was furthur past the o ring seal... :shock: BTW ....he worked at N& M , so he knows his stuff !

Doh worry too much..........I sold my B14 with that oil leak and I'm sure the new owner still did not fix it............... but that annoying oil leak can be very unsightly too :evil:

Posted: June 29th, 2005, 7:52 pm
by Dave
breds that seal real cheap from the firm, just mark the position the distributer came out from and replace the seal with a light film of oil and reinstall the distributer, very common nissan distributer problem

Posted: June 30th, 2005, 11:31 pm
by fastredminx
jus so 8)