NAVARA POWER LOSS.

playzcircle

NAVARA POWER LOSS.

Postby playzcircle » December 3rd, 2013, 11:18 am

I recently started having this issue with my navara some time the vehicle will jus lose power no matter how much u mash out it not Goin any where and when u switch off and start back it wrkin normally again. Any one ever experienced this problem?

playzcircle

Delete

Postby playzcircle » December 3rd, 2013, 11:20 am

Bump....
Last edited by playzcircle on May 18th, 2014, 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

abbow

Re: NAVARA POWER LOSS.

Postby abbow » December 3rd, 2013, 12:53 pm

prob the intercooler hose closing up.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » December 15th, 2013, 9:16 am

what about the fuel filter?

deivid

Postby deivid » December 25th, 2013, 12:39 pm

do a diagnostic first......probably a lean condition

Totes

Postby Totes » December 26th, 2013, 7:01 pm

Yes, the hose collapsing, usually when you mash down hard on it (pedal). when you switch out, releases the tight suction and that's why air can flow again and power is returned to the engine. Mine has stopped this problem.

krazy krew member

Postby krazy krew member » April 25th, 2014, 4:25 pm

I know im a bit late on this reply but I just saw it and I thought I can share some light. This exact problem happened to my navara when it was like a month old. when I carried it back to the dealership and they did the diagnostic it was found to be a "bad fuel" code which causes the transmission to engage into safe mode (no power at all...flooring the accelerator and going about 40km). They cleared the code and it never happened again.

Totes

Postby Totes » May 10th, 2014, 10:07 am

This has happened to mins several times. It does not happen anymore, but now i have an even bigger problem ! It is surging if i am not driving fast it rev and slows and continues this, there is a louder than usual knock coming from the engine, the pump is also noisy. I had it tested (computer) and was told that the Pressure sensor is bad and Massy sells it with the entire pressure rail (with sensor) abt $6500 plus. Any suggestions or links please let me know

errandboi

Postby errandboi » May 21st, 2014, 10:20 pm

Totes wrote:This has happened to mins several times. It does not happen anymore, but now i have an even bigger problem ! It is surging if i am not driving fast it rev and slows and continues this, there is a louder than usual knock coming from the engine, the pump is also noisy. I had it tested (computer) and was told that the Pressure sensor is bad and Massy sells it with the entire pressure rail (with sensor) abt $6500 plus. Any suggestions or links please let me know

Try posting in the navara specific thread under trucks and pick ups

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 15th, 2015, 1:46 pm

anybody got this issue resolved?
have a pardna with one doing this intermittently. hot side turbo hose changed to aluminum piping... problem still persists. told me it happened 3 times today. he reset ecu and slackened the gas cap cover as mentioned on some forums but anybody have a permanent resolve?

Postby Team Loco » May 15th, 2015, 2:07 pm

I am not saying that this will resolve problem but its worth a shot. The navara has a vn turbo. Sometime the vn system sticks open due to making contact with exhaust side of turbo. Check and make sure this isnt happening. Make sure actuator is movung when he revs.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 15th, 2015, 4:45 pm

Will tell him try that option Team Loco.

Nick, you really think that hose is the issue? He just needs to change the intake side as the other side changed already.
Will still give him the info.

Who's a crackshot navara mechanic that can identify and resolve this issue? I see it's a relatively common issue so I'm sure someone pinpoint the problem already.

msg1

Postby msg1 » May 15th, 2015, 5:54 pm

I got this a few times too. They were the few times I used np diesel. You mashing and for nothing you passing 30. Switch off and start back and you good. Changed to unipet right thru and not more has the problem come up. A padna workin massy says the vehicle goes in failsafe mode when u get bad gas, which means you hadda do a diagnostic to clear the code...
Long story short, don't use np...I remember the sales girl really said try by all means to use only unipet when it was bought.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 15th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Ahhh Nick, that sounds like a serious possibility. yup will let him know.

Msg1, that also is a major possibility. he has been advised over and over to stay away from NP and use Unipet. he actually said his last fill up was at NP and since then the issue has manifested itself more frequently.
will update over the weekend on any progress.

thanks people.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 17th, 2015, 10:21 pm

turned out to be NP Diesel.
filters were changed on saturday (both fuel filters) and since then no issue. drained out the NP, refilled with Unipet, amsol cetane boost in the filters and since then ran about 25kms and running smoother in boost no power loss.
thanks a lot for the ideas people.

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » May 20th, 2015, 10:17 am

i had a similar power loss problem, and i did this .... http://www.nissan-navara.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=10647

seemed to work for me!

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 20th, 2015, 10:31 am

^^^^the pedal reset sequence works as well. just have to be accurate when counting the seconds....too fast or too slow and it wont work.

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » May 20th, 2015, 12:42 pm

i tried the pedal reset a couple times but it didnt work

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 20th, 2015, 1:56 pm

Seen seen.
Have any of you changed the intercooler piping to aluminum as well?
can't understand for the life of me how Nissan could use that flimsy ass hose for the hot side of an intercooler.... just doesn't make sense.

Totes

Re: NAVARA POWER LOSS plus

Postby Totes » May 27th, 2015, 5:30 am

Hi everyone,
I have a new problem was hearing a slight noise on the front left hand side sounding like a shock. this only occured when place is dry if there is rain or water the sound stops (while driving in rough terrain). So the mechanic decided to do a underwash and i believe shock oil it.

My worries start here. everytime i am driving i am hearing front to back a loud crack noise now. if i go down a short sudden decline or over a bump you hear it from front and behind. Does any one know about this...? any suggestions...

Keyser Soze

Re: NAVARA POWER LOSS plus

Postby Keyser Soze » May 27th, 2015, 9:15 am

Totes wrote:Hi everyone,
I have a new problem was hearing a slight noise on the front left hand side sounding like a shock. this only occured when place is dry if there is rain or water the sound stops (while driving in rough terrain). So the mechanic decided to do a underwash and i believe shock oil it.

My worries start here. everytime i am driving i am hearing front to back a loud crack noise now. if i go down a short sudden decline or over a bump you hear it from front and behind. Does any one know about this...? any suggestions...

i recently got my Navara so can't advise with any surety, but did you check the cabin mounts/bushings?

Totes

Postby Totes » June 1st, 2015, 4:47 pm

thanks for d info will check on it.

E.