WTK:any good RB mechs.RB cutting off in traffic
Posted: September 25th, 2013, 5:28 pm
by themusician
i have an S1 RB25DE motor.thing is there is a miss in the idle when the car gets hot.i checked the coilpacks and they seem to be fine.i did a tune up recently too.i took out the idle unit and cleaned it as well.when the A/C is off and the car is left to idle it sometimes cuts off.i did a diagnostic and all the sensors are good.other than that,the car drives just fine.can anyone provide me with some feedback on this problem??
Re: WTK:any good RB mechs.RB cutting off in traffic
Posted: September 25th, 2013, 6:24 pm
by XP50
1.) clean your air flow sensor.
2.) make sure all vaccum lines are in tact, no leaks
3.) make sure you don't have a faulty plug
4.) make sure that the safety pins for the injector harness are properly intact.
Posted: September 28th, 2013, 12:14 am
by GA16
Change yuh plugs
Posted: September 28th, 2013, 7:07 pm
by Ted_v2
if you need a tech, call this guy. He helps me alot 341-3662
Posted: September 30th, 2013, 10:30 am
by skylinechild
a couple of things to try
1. start car- let it idle up to operating temperature and start to "miss"
start unpluging and pluging back in coilpack wires one at a time to see if there any difference in engine RPM or sound
2. do the same for the injectors- unjack one from the harness- and plug it back in- listen for any change in RPM and sound..
if there is a difference on engine sound it means that the specific combustion chamber( cylinder) is functional - ie fuel and spark are present and power being generated - youre looking for the one when unplugged makes no sound difference
essentially youre looking to determine which one isnt firing properly by removing fuel- and ignition source.
if all 6 are firing properly - both fuel and ignition source- you need to check your vacuum lines / hoses etc.
another thing you can try
again bring engine up to operating temperate normally, until it starts to miss
get a spray trigger bottle and fill it with water.
youre going to spray the coil packs make sure its wet properly - youre not going to engine wash it -...do each one one at a time....and listen for engine RPM change.
still no change??
now target the intake manifold - where it bots onto the engine - do one part at a time- if theres a change when you spray on the intake manifold it means that the intake manifold gasket is bad...
ie its not sealing off properly - it's letting in air that wasnt accounted for by the air flow sensor - thereby upsetting the air fuel mixture causing the engine to miss.
i'm a bit intrigued with the problem though...you said when the A/c is off and left to idle it sometimes cuts off... you sure all your sensors are fully functional???