B14 Instrument Panel Need assistances

YoungJoc335

B14 Instrument Panel Need assistances

Postby YoungJoc335 » August 1st, 2013, 9:09 pm

I bought this Instrument Panel the other day in the bamboo i trace all wires and match everything up but one wire that goes to a screw labeled BATT. Some assistance would be great Thanks. I guessing it is power (12V+) but not sure and doh want to blow my new panel
IMG_1096.JPG
IMG_1094.JPG

Re: B14 Instrument Panel Need assistances

Postby black start » August 1st, 2013, 10:06 pm

I not sure, but just suggesting. Maybe it could be the battery light.

Use a multimeter and check if it continuous with any contact on the "battery light"

YoungJoc335

Postby YoungJoc335 » August 1st, 2013, 10:17 pm

It not for the battery light. i found that light already

ddog

Postby ddog » August 2nd, 2013, 5:27 am

I did this about a month back so I can't remember but I believe it's one of the ignition power (12v). There are a couple of separate ignition sources and grounds on the panel, so not just one power and ground for the entire panel.

This looks like a pulsar panel so the wires should be the same colours depending on the year of the vehicle. Verify of course before you power it on but it should be as simple as joining all the same colour wires.

What you will have to trace individually and match to your original panel are the individual power (yellow) and ground (black).

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » August 2nd, 2013, 9:01 am

It is for a 12v source, if it is a screw most likely it will be for one of the gauges.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 2nd, 2013, 3:16 pm

Thats a constant 12 v supply used for memory

bee_z

Postby bee_z » August 2nd, 2013, 3:21 pm

For the instrument panel with the clock, does the clock part light up when the park light is on? Mine not lighting.

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » August 2nd, 2013, 3:27 pm

I assume so mine in an almera lights up, probably a blown bulb, you can check it.

bee_z

Postby bee_z » August 2nd, 2013, 4:52 pm

so this is a pic of the instrument panel.
The yellow circle on the left is the area where the clock is.I changed the bulb within the same circle but it seems that doesn't affect the clock BTW the bulb is working, tested it out on another socket.

ALSO, the yellow circle on the right is marked 'BELT' but when I removed the panel, that socket was already empty. What is the purpose of that light and should I place one in? I tried a bulb from another socket and turned the key to ON. From behind the panel, I could see the bulb glowing but when i watched the front, nothing is showing up in the space.

Advice anyone......

Apologies for hijackin this post but as we on the topic of instrument panels.....

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » August 3rd, 2013, 11:07 am

The Belt is for seat belt, if the front does not light up, it means that the panel was not intended to have the seat belt light.

As for the clock illumination, you should be able to trace the line on the back of the panel and see if it runs to a separate line on the harness, this line must be connected to the ignition and a suitable diode must be installed in the system.
if your panel don't have the diode then it wasn't meant to illuminate but you can run it yourself, here is the layout,the harness may be different but the kind of wiring is the same.

Look for clock illumination in both below.

untitled.jpg

untitled1.JPG

YoungJoc335

Postby YoungJoc335 » August 3rd, 2013, 9:59 pm

turboconch2 Where u get that diagram

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » August 3rd, 2013, 11:28 pm

I have the service manual for the n15 pulsar which is similar to the b14.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 4th, 2013, 7:18 am

Send a download link na. Or email maybe? I have the n16 manual

YoungJoc335

Postby YoungJoc335 » August 4th, 2013, 8:44 am

Yea allyuh share the n16 and n15 manual links

turboconch2