pinging noise

hjchinw

pinging noise

Postby hjchinw » April 23rd, 2005, 6:14 pm

fellas ah hearing ah pinging noise when the car heat up and when climbing hills.I checked the timing and every thing is ok also i use premium gas.I dont know what to do again.Its a GA 15DE-B14 roro.thks

Rx

Postby Rx » April 23rd, 2005, 6:49 pm

hmmmm.............

are you sure it's a pinging noise and not some belt slipping?

just my 2 cents.....BTW ....I also have a B14

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 23rd, 2005, 7:16 pm

this pinging noise... wat does it sound like!!:?
i know common sense would say it does go ping lol

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » April 23rd, 2005, 7:42 pm

the sound is like you know when you driving those old cars and the points and condenser want changing and the car gets some strain eg going up a hill.also the fan belts were changed and tensioned properly.thks

achillies

Postby achillies » April 24th, 2005, 5:05 pm

how is your distributor timing

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » April 25th, 2005, 6:05 pm

I changed the two seals in the distibuter recently and did a timing light check on it also.

jackal

Postby jackal » April 25th, 2005, 7:55 pm

I getting the same thing, usualy when the sun is hot, I retarded the distributer a degree and it stop but ah feel ah lost some power. I running normal unleaded gas, tried it with the premium was getting the same thing.

ah feel it have a lot to do with the inlet temperature of the air. I had everything checked out, ECU & injectors. Every thing O.K.

hjchinw

Postby hjchinw » April 25th, 2005, 8:06 pm

yeh man i getting the same thing especially during the day and i also retarded the distributor but lost power so anybody with similar problems could you help us out.thks

HYPERFORMANCE

Postby HYPERFORMANCE » April 25th, 2005, 10:28 pm

Me to I getting the same sometimes, I have checked timing and is excellent.
but I have learned that the quality of our Gas is poor, that is very good reason.

jackal

Postby jackal » April 26th, 2005, 2:20 pm

HYPERFORMANCE wrote:Me to I getting the same sometimes, I have checked timing and is excellent.
but I have learned that the quality of our Gas is poor, that is very good reason.

The only other option is to run an octane boost, but ah don't want to go that way. That is additional expense. The next option is to wait for engine to mash-up, then go down on knees and beg wifie to allow me to change out engine and transmission.

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » April 29th, 2005, 10:03 pm

as soon as they start to give we dat bullsh*t gas eh was like ah rattle snake moved under meh hood! but being ah oldschool fella ah running ah 38/38 rachet & all ah did was went up on meh main jets and problem was solved :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 1st, 2005, 12:55 am

is de fleckin gas these days..........and it bunning out bloody fast too :evil:

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » May 1st, 2005, 7:27 pm

I find so too! :shock:

fastredminx

Postby fastredminx » May 1st, 2005, 11:16 pm

what about da knock sensor thingy,don't that retard the ignition when it detects ah "knock"?......

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » May 2nd, 2005, 3:43 pm

yuh need to 1 either swap da engine out :)

or

2 run some octane into it :)