Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

Re: Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

Postby black start » December 19th, 2014, 8:30 pm

JesuEric wrote:Yooooo who has those bulbssss for our instrumental panel where u got them?

Lol...i guess readin is beyond you!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 19th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Lol

Postby skylinechild » December 19th, 2014, 9:20 pm

how allyuh men so evil so boi.....oh gosh man....the man probably skipped over it... :lol:

the syndicate when we doin your cluster.??? yours will look real nice how the lens is already green..(speedo tach and illumination lights)just some green LEDS..and red..and such..and it will look besss.

my next DIY project is the Ac controls....swap out the filament bulbs to LEDS.
still tryin to think how to take it out...from the car...

JesuEric

Postby JesuEric » December 20th, 2014, 3:34 am

black start wrote:
JesuEric wrote:Yooooo who has those bulbssss for our instrumental panel where u got them?

Lol...i guess readin is beyond you!

On my phone I dont see updated posts till I refresh. ...n din kno it was more than 1 extra post....buh I guess typing that whole line easier than sayin brotherhood ....

Looks good btw

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 20th, 2014, 5:43 am

As soon as u get time to remove it. Have more pressing issues ATM. Like tuning and aftermarket ECM.

Postby black start » December 20th, 2014, 8:54 am

Tuner get real flaccid..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 22nd, 2014, 6:08 am

One bad ingredient does spoil the whole drink..

Postby skylinechild » January 31st, 2015, 9:05 pm

HAPPY new Year to all my thread followers- the Syndicate...Ted..and others..

this year I aim to focus on suspension.... so out with the old and in with the new.
my intention is dropping the car but not sacrificing performance and comfort. to this end I will be installing lowering springs - and sport shocks - brand of both items intentionally withheld - for now...when they're purchased - I'll throw up pics.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 31st, 2015, 9:30 pm

Werd..

Postby Ted_v2 » February 1st, 2015, 6:58 am

okk. awesome

MotoRex26

Postby MotoRex26 » March 25th, 2015, 2:24 am

nice work so far skyline child!! got more aftermarket suspension mods on my P11 though. hit me up if you need to source any 8-)

Postby skylinechild » March 25th, 2015, 4:26 am

MotoRex26 wrote:nice work so far skyline child!! got more aftermarket suspension mods on my P11 though. hit me up if you need to source any 8-)

hey thanks man... been saving up some $$$ to buy some stuff.....pm sent

lawyer22

Postby lawyer22 » May 23rd, 2015, 5:59 pm

where u get that bumper bro

Postby skylinechild » May 24th, 2015, 7:29 am

lawyer22 wrote:where u get that bumper bro

bought a nose cut and thats the sport bumper i got...along with the grille and sport head lights an such. 8-)

if you want a bumper like this check in the bamboo or pm tuner anil sooknanan....he cud hook u up.

Postby skylinechild » July 24th, 2015, 9:50 pm

UPDATE 24th JULY 2015

So i decided to re tint the car - to that extent i didn't want anyone damaging the rear defroster as almost everyone i went to cant guarantee this - but only know how to buss price on the re-tint job using cheap film.

so i decided to remove the tint myself with some advice from fellow tuner - le nervewrecker.
to this extent i decided to gut the interior of the car to do the removal of the tint.
after removing almost everything in the car - rear seats - rear dashboard -rear speakers and seat belts i came upon the seat reinforcement.

this was in a really bad state so i decided to do a DIY fix for it.
This DIY job actually took me like 3 weeks as i only worked on it on my off days.i was in no hurry

so now onto the pics.

this is the seat reinforcement - notice the amount of rust on it.
removal was easy - first remove the 4 10 mm bolts holding the crossbar in place then remove the 15 10 mm bolts and one 12 mm nut from the stud and the entire reinforcement comes out.

once removed it was placed on the work bench for proper inspection and cleaning.
my attention first was the crossbar. from the above pic you can see the condition.

As we can all clearly see yep everything was in a bad shape. a quick run to the local hardware and i bought three sheets of sand paper - coarse fine and super fine - sorry i dont know what grades - (it was 3M wet and dry sand paper for those DIY geeks out there) and a pair of work gloves and two brass wire wheels for the drill and i was ready to begin.

after a few hours of manual labour we have the finished product.
*drumroll please

cleaned bar

the pic was taken at night so sorry for the kinda low quality of the pic - yes there is a little rust between the nuts in the pic- that was taken care of afterwards.

After the bar was cleaned and put aside i focused my attention on the seat reinforcement itself. i honestly have no idea how it got like this. theories welcomed.
brought it up on the workbench for a better look

close up of the rusty top

close up of the rusty side apron

after some hours later a few swear words and a missing glove tip - this was the result.
seat reinforcement sanded clean

clean top

clean side apron

so after cleaning i needed to paint.
I'm not an expert painter so i did some research on google youtube and of course tuner to determine how to proceed. i found the duplicolor range of products however i was unsure how they worked or the process / procedure involved in using them.

special thanks here goes out to 2D max auto in chase village and andrea (lady behind the counter) who assisted me by explaining the different processes and procedures and the product ranges as i was unsure which product i actually needed.

2D max auto thread >>> viewtopic.php?f=12&t=558336
duplicolor website >>> http://www.duplicolor.com/

after a quick visit to 2d max auto and a quick purchase i was armed with my weapon of choice -engine enamel primer - able to withstand up to 500 degree F of heat

next thing was to prep my high tech spray paint booth. nothing too fancy - just newspapers taped to the workbench and wall for over spray - ( yes i took the pic after i applied the primer)

now for the good stuff youve been waiting to see.

the cross bar was done first- looks good and slightly glossy when wet. the sanding down to bare metal gave the primer a good surface to adhere to.

Next up on the booth was the seat reinforcement.
this was a little tricky to paint as i'm left handed- nevertheless it turned out excellent.

completed seat reinforcement primed

close up of primed top reinforcement

close up of primed side apron

Reverse side of reinforcement

after applying the primer and letting it dry - i could have reinstalled it however i wanted a bit of color. another visit to 2D max and i got the color of my choice - BLUE - yes again engine enamel paint

lets paint....i did both the cross bar and the seat reinforcement at the same time.
pics !!

seat reinforcement painted - front

seat reinforcement painted - top

seat reinforcement painted - side apron

seat reinforcement painted - reverse

lastly the cross bar

all done...now its just to reinstall.

Q&A segment.- for those who have questions
any question not covered here please feel free to ask i'll try my best to respond.

Q>> why use engine enamel primer?
A>> its the cheapest they have plus i was planing on sanding down to bare metal so an etching & sanding primer was not required. in addition i wanted something that cud withstand scratching - this could resist 500 degree F heat and a harsh engine environment so it should be able to take some scratches and so was naturally a good choice.

Q. why blue engine enamel paint?
A. again its the cheapest and well i already used enamel primer..might as well use enamel paint.- plus the car is blue.

Q. how much did you use and the cost?
A. one can of primer and one can of paint - $65 each total $130. i bought an additional can of primer however it was not needed or even used- so its just there...there was also the additional cost of the wire wheels -- not shown that was like $60 for both...gloves $10 sand paper $24....so add em up and thats my running total.

Q. why sand down to bare metal?
A. the better the prep work the better the end result is.from the pics posted i think it did a damn good job

Q. are you going to use clear coat to give it a glossy finish?
A. no - this is behind the rear seat - no ones EVER going to see it (unless someone steals my rear seats). only reason why it was primed and painted was strictly for rust prevention.

Q. are you truly left handed
A. HYMC- and no it doesn't stand for have yourself a merry Christmas

Q. why only work on it on your off days?
A. i work 6 days..and its shift..so i'm tired -i do what i can when i can

Q. why does it look like you sprayed the paper more than the primed parts?
A. the wind was the cause. the wind was strong at times the mist was going all over the place.i could have waited till the wind calmed down in the evening however i wanted to have it done.

Q. it looks like crap - did you even go on youtube and watch some vids on how to paint using aerosol paints?
A. no to the youtube vids and also see my response to the left handed question

Q. i see some run spots where you pointed the aerosol paint can in one area for too long- what happened there??
A. it was actually the primer that i accidentally did it with - not the paint - i did not correct this as i didnt feel the need to as it would involve more work by sanding down that area and re priming.
again not going for car show quality - just above average

Q. i see in the pics the primer went on perfectly and the paint looks like crap what happened?
A. i'm not an expert and i did my best also the painted pics were taken when the part was just sprayed as opposed to perfectly dry.

Q. will there be more pics?
A. i may put up one or two showing how the install looks in the car.

Q. did you have any regrets?
A. yes - two actually - one is that i didnt purchase / use the can holder they had for sale.
it holds the can and give you a more precise trigger and control
second regret the car is STILL not tinted as yet. :lol:

Q. is this your only paint project?- if so can i have the extra tin of primer??
A. yep i think so - if u want the primer..just pay me the $65 and its yours

Q. any more future updates ?
A yes quite alot is happening. i'd recommend you keep on checking my thread for more developments. things are happening.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 24th, 2015, 9:58 pm

When u puttin the sr

Postby skylinechild » July 24th, 2015, 10:17 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:When u puttin the sr

NO SR..i happy with the QG...it fas enough for me...u kno my speed....80kms
IF i do ever decide to go SR. you'll be the 2nd person to know. :lol:

Postby black start » July 24th, 2015, 10:23 pm

looking good man...

I woulda just cho way da thing thing and tell everybody is weight reducshun.....buh daz just me...

Postby skylinechild » July 24th, 2015, 10:27 pm

black start wrote:looking good man...

I woulda just cho way da thing thing and tell everybody is weight reducshun.....buh daz just me...

:lol: i actually considered it too eah..doh get tie up... but nah...cant do away with it...it holds the back rest firm- without it ppl go sink straight thru into the trunk... :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » July 25th, 2015, 3:22 am

This man interview himself :lol:

Good going man. Will be undertaking some projects myself witj Duplicolor

:lol: :lol: @ weight reduction

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2015, 6:29 am

Who would be the Foss to know when you going Sr?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 25th, 2015, 7:08 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Who would be the Foss to know when you going Sr?

Good question

Postby skylinechild » July 25th, 2015, 10:22 am

BrotherHood wrote:This man interview himself :lol:

Good going man. Will be undertaking some projects myself witj Duplicolor

:lol: :lol: @ weight reduction

:lol: not really a interview question nah more like a simple Q&A.
I had to put a Q &A section. whenever I do stuff tuners have questions to ask.
last time a man ask where I got the led bulbs from to do the cluster...other tuners deal with him :lol:

weight reduction is still weight reduction..no matter what you throw out... :lol:

Ted_v2 wrote:Who would be the Foss to know when you going Sr?

well the "foss" to know would be me
the second to know would be the syndicate
third to know would be the two mechanics
forth- everyone else.

I considered the cost once
the break down was like this - all prices are approx. - I don't run down bamboo ole parts

complete SR20VET engine,LSD gearbox ECU and harness - $10k

engine tear down and inspection $1k (mechanic time)

ordering of new parts- my goal would be a respectable 300-350WHP- some parts can be new - others used (new pistons, rings, connecting rods, bearings, gaskets, piping turbocharger fuel pump AF gauge etc nismo water pump and oil pump aftermarket valve springs and camshafts aftermarket ECU) roughly 10K or more

used exhaust system brake and clutch pedal assembly and other ancillary odds and ends - new filters new oil new plugs roughly 3k

disassembly of gearbox and changing of ALL internal seals-where applicable- also changing of damaged gears - if found (highly unlikely though) - new Pressure plate and clutch release bearing. rebuild kit for the slave cylinder as well

mechanic fees - rebuilding of engine using parts rebuilding of gearbox using new parts
(if applicable) installation of everything into the car -then tuning on the ECU roughly 3k

dyno time -1k if ever so much

body work - mostly to the bumper to remove the front fins and mount the intercooler properly and securely - then wire mesh in black to hide the intercooler have to make the car look as normal and plain as possible. roughly $1500

so yea....that's like ALOT of $$ I don't have.....

so QG for it...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 25th, 2015, 11:35 am

1/4 ur cost. Sr 20 normel normel

Postby Ted_v2 » July 25th, 2015, 12:16 pm

Vet alone is nearly twice what you estimated.

Get a regular de and trans. Costing less than 10k installed everything

Postby black start » July 25th, 2015, 1:16 pm

1)sell nissan taxi
2)buy Honda
3)tap awl them dead ass Datsuns
4)f*ck bishes
5)die happy

Postby skylinechild » July 25th, 2015, 4:42 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:1/4 ur cost. Sr 20 normel normel

nah...is either you do things the proper way or else it make no sense doin it in the first place.
also if you look at the mods i listed one mod support another

if you leave out one critical thing like a good fuel pump you know what kinda trouble you will get with fuel pressure later on in turbo charging applications - you should know first hand about that..

Ted_v2 wrote:Vet alone is nearly twice what you estimated.

Get a regular de and trans. Costing less than 10k installed everything

see above reply.. if going SR..i unleashing the demon one time - full works.
if a VET is twice the price..imagine the price if u find a GOOD one in the bamboo complete without any cut up harness...??

Postby skylinechild » August 27th, 2015, 7:49 am

appointment made to have the AC repaired on sat 29th.
repair to be completed at K wilson auto tech....

UPDATE: 29th August 2015

the ac system was serviced by k wilson and it works once more.
they found the leaks (multiple leaks) despite other "techs" claiming there was none.
leaks repaired and system pressure tested and it was good.

Ac filter was also replaced along with the blower motor resistor.
both items supplied by me.

system is 100% fully functional - on all speeds.

highly recommended. 8-)
cost was $1276

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 31st, 2015, 9:47 pm

Werd

Postby skylinechild » September 9th, 2015, 7:51 am

UPDATE 09-09-2015

i have a bad rear wheel bearing and a pair of bad rear shocks

my option are as follows

1. press out old bearing from hub and press in new one
2 buy and install a F used Hub and work it.
3. upgrade to disc brake

i decided to go with option 3 one time...and install a pair of new shocks with thicker springs.
will post pics once i get the disc brake assembly.