Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

Re: Alignment issue U14 Bluebird

Postby Ted_v2 » September 9th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Press out old bearing? 0.0

Postby skylinechild » September 10th, 2015, 7:42 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Press out old bearing? 0.0

thought about that...but the cost factor didnt make sense.

new bearing about $300 or so...each - bearing center in montrose.
press out and press in $100
mechanic fees remove hub from car and reinstall hub and readjust hand brake and swap out shocks as well.$400

total $1100. ( replacing both L+R bearing one time)

if i was to buy the hub with bearing f used about $250 or so. if i buy new from bobby (555 brand) is about $350 or so. motorist $1700 without discount.....lol

disc brake cost $1200 or so.

it looks like sense to replace the bearing but it is wasting money since i plan on goin up to disc brake soon. so i might as well make the jump now and done and save the $800.

good news is looking at the part diagram, the bearing from the disc brake easier to replace than the drum one and there is a part # where you can order replacement bearings if needed for the disc brake assembly.

so disc brake for it yes.... 8-)

Postby skylinechild » April 3rd, 2016, 4:29 pm

So long i haven't updated this thread...issa shame.....but its time i get down to serious business.
alot of things have happened....both good and bad....(and we all know in life you gotta take the good with the bad ) - from since the time of my last posting....to now....

soo the below is just for reader reference...and to follow along on my build.

where the car is at as now opposed as to where it should be....is not bad...but i could have done better but .i have other commitments as well - but Rome wasnt built in a day and the race isnt for the swiftest...nor for those who only hav a SR....lol

I'm happy with the work done thus far and proceeding along. quite nicely now....
i'll give info on tuners who i did check to have work done for those who interested and such.

lets go !!!

UPDATE -10-10-2015

so i bought my rear wheel disc brake assembly - everyone was callin 2k for it. got mine for 1500 in really really good condition. so i bought it.

rotor condition

rust youre seeing there is just surface rust...by the time i drove home....that was gone...lol.

work was done by my dads mech robby.
did it free for me and took 1/2 day.
i was happy..brakes felt awesome...lol.

now for pics !!!

REMOVAL OF DRUM BRAKES

CAR WITHOUT ANY BRAKES

COMPARING DRUM TO DISC - SWAPPING OVER PARTS

we had to swap over the studs as my drum brake studs were longer and the calipers and brackets were removed and worked on by the wire wheel to remove rusting and such.
then reinstalled onto the banjo.
so the work was completed...and brakes felt good.
disc pads were OEM nissan (hitachi)

so now the entire car has disc brakes...it feels good but i find the brake bias is abit too much in the front.
i may need to get the correct proportioning valve..to put on the firewall.

if any tuners out there willing to assist - i need to get the chassis # for a genuine U14 bluebird that came with the disc brake from factory - NOT installed outside as how i did it..

using the chassis # i can get the correct proportioning valve and import it to install.

but for now...it is done.

definitely going for steel braided lines in the future...but most likely when the pads need to change...i'll install those one time..

the old drum brakes are for sale on tuner...
if you know anyone who wants it let me know. only issue is the bearings are bad. everything else is perfect...ABS sensor...drum shoes...hub....wheel cylinder...100% perfect.

see link - yes pics are there !!!

link >>> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=645815

Postby skylinechild » April 3rd, 2016, 5:36 pm

UPDATE 1-11-2015

So i took the car to service as it was costing me roughly $200 week from pos to central....without AC.
the car was drinking gas.... desperately needed servicing.

went down to ryotech performance who usually does it.
charge was normal for the full EFI tune up.

so he does his thing...also replaced plugs and fuel filter.

ryan says i deserve a award for the WORST plugs ever pulled from an engine.
you be the judge....lol.

SPARK PLUG PULLED FROM ENGINE.

all 4 plug were in more or less the same condition...so no need to load pics of 4 plugs.
needless to say gas consumption is alot better now.

Those who would like to have their vehicles professionally serviced can check him out.

his thread >>> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=362859

time to go now the car feels like it had no power....gear not changing and it lazy...
felt as though something wrong. i already left so i called him back and said something wrong..
he said to bring it back one time.

brought it back to him 2-3 mins after
ryan checked all connections hoses etc..everything secure.
started car...revved up engine making the power....put it in gear....no power whatsoever.

he went for his scan tool and he immediately found the cause.
shift solenoid B on the valve body went bad.
apparently it was giving the code -over drive light blinking 16 times - but i never did anything about it
i bought the car like that with the OD light blinking and never bothered to scan to see what was wrong.

this is no way ryans fault as he didnt cause the failure.

He tried to reset the code but whenever the car was put into Drive gear it immediately went back into fail safe..

went for a test drive to perform additional diagnostics on the transmission and no other issues found..
just the solenoid bad.

so he explained the function of the solenoids and my options. even more bad news is i cant buy just one defective solenoid.it comes as a kit with all 5.

i can either :-
1. buy a f used solenoid pack and install it...but they dont last long.
2. buy a f used transmission complete and install it but thats like cat in bag.
3. buy a new solenoid kit and that it. problem is its gonna hurt (my wallet)

so i went off to google to take a look at what the part does...and get an estimated price.

the part # for the solenoid kit is 31940N
the full part # is 31940-3AX0A
Price is ........ USD 223.36

things to note is that theres a different solenoid kit for each type of transmission and even within family models. therefore this will ONLY work for my model of transmission and specifically on that model of valve body.

my transmission valve body is RE4FO3B so i had to ensure i get the correct part.

to get the correct part # i needed to check it with the nissan fast software.
thanks to the motorist in couva for doing it.

so i decided to buy a new solenoid kit....and fix the issue for once and for all.

Postby black start » April 3rd, 2016, 7:34 pm

big brakes time!!!

Postby skylinechild » April 3rd, 2016, 7:44 pm

black start wrote:big brakes time!!!

oh goar dan...lemme get there nuh... :lol: :lol:
.what u think..i go tell d story inno....and it go hav a end..but lemme tell it nuh..why u so for... :lol:

your part go be comin up soon...lol... :twisted:

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2016, 7:50 pm

Coulda put a box one time

Postby skylinechild » April 3rd, 2016, 7:57 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Coulda put a box one time

Ted.....this is me..tellin u....HYMC.... :lol: :lol: ted...HYMC..... :lol: :lol:

nah hoss...u kno is POS i workin...traffic is epically epic....i only now get a ease up since school close but come nex week monday....on the 11th...back to sitting in 2+ hrs traffic on afternoons to get home. FML

Postby Ted_v2 » April 3rd, 2016, 9:04 pm

Well that's no fun with traffic.

Postby skylinechild » April 4th, 2016, 9:04 pm

UPDATE December 2015

this is the last update for the year 2015.
remember all this work was already done......so feel free to give comments and i'll explain why i went this route..

after deliberating my options i decided to buy the new solenoid kit as a f used trans is like cat in bag thing...
so i placed the order for the new solenoid kit.

the part # for the solenoid kit is 31940N
the full part # is 31940-3AX0A

the solenoid kit cost was - get ready for it - $3720TT
extremely expensive....now i see why places in the bamboo make a killing sellling f used parts.

so i placed the order and prepared my wallet for the massive hemorrhage leak it was goin to do..to fix the trans...

after speaking with fellow tuner back2studio he also recommended i get a shift kit to install onto the valve body as well. the shift kit corrects certain faults inherent on the valve body. ti also improves shifts from gears and gives a firmer gear change.

so the hunt was on - but not for too long..as the shift kit was found online.

the brand of shift kit is transgo- the (only) leading manufacturer of shift kits for automatics.

my shift kit : http://www.transgo.com/products.php?prd ... ntview=Yes

i'll update as we go along....next update is stuff that took place in Jan 2016

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » April 5th, 2016, 7:12 am

Power to d people....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 5th, 2016, 5:25 pm

not really

speedist

Postby speedist » April 5th, 2016, 7:49 pm

Mods are practical, not too obvious. Pretty much what I was aiming for. :thumbup:

Postby black start » April 5th, 2016, 8:09 pm

nice work bai....car working bess.....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 6th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Stock sr20 Transmision eating that qg normel normel.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 1st, 2016, 6:40 pm

Sooooo U gonna tell them about AC issues and shocks and springs etc? #threadupdatetime

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Back2Studio wrote:Sooooo U gonna tell them about AC issues and shocks and springs etc? #threadupdatetime

tired no MC here boi..u kno how it is after yuh done work shift....
anyway onto the updates.

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 9:35 pm

UPDATE 21st JAN 2016
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL !!!!

(so continuing with the updates - remember all this already took place)

So i finally got my solenoid kit in hand.... the cost price was reworked and my final price was...get ready for it....2k - cash.

pics of solenoid kit !!!

Special thanks to the motorist in couva for the link on the parts and the price.
if you need genuine OEM nissan parts u can call them at 636-3208 - be sure to have your chassis # handy !!!!
Last edited by skylinechild on June 6th, 2016, 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 9:57 pm

UPDATE 14th FEB 2016
happy valentines day

so after having my front lower sway bar bought and put down and not in use...i decided to get it powder coated - as the black had the bar looking old and it was starting to rust up....ALOT

BAR BEFORE - - this was bought f used. -this is how it used to look. - the end links were not bought

BAR AFTER
shown in the pic is my megan racing rear upper strut tower bar - i took it to the guy to get the closest color match -

a bit closer pic of the color
Bar looks awesome.

A power seller did this job for me and i am 100% satisfied.
tuners who are looking to get this done can check out ninecast AKA regan - right here on tuner.
his thread >>> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=555712&hilit=ninecast

contact info >>>
NINE CAST Engineering Services
Regan 370-9666 or 718-7575

Last edited by skylinechild on June 6th, 2016, 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 10:27 pm

UPDATE FEB 2016
after sourcing the shift kit online.... it was more than a task of getting it here as most everyone thinks automatics dont carry a "shift kit"

checked out a few places but no one had a clue to what i was asking --- another tuner - cant remember who it was - recommended Teknet performance to me......so i paid him a visit.

This guy knew exactly what i was talking about...and was more than able to source the item..and have it delivered within TWO WEEKS.... :shock: (was supposed to be one week but i didnt get time to go and make a downpayment for it :oops: )

so the shift kit was bought for my transmission....and this is what it looks like...

Gerrard is one of the nicest down to earth guys you could ever meet. you'd hardly expect him to be a drag racer. and yes folks his motto is really "how fast you want to go". :lol:

My first impression of this guy was like -..he's very knowledgeable thorough, ensures everything is done accurately...precise.....

special thanks go out to Teknet performance AKA Gerrard for supplying my shift kit.
tuners who are looking for the unique part that other performance shops cant supply or to simply get a few OEM upholstery clips...... please feel free to contact / visit him.

Gerrard has a wide supply of Genuine OEM and aftermarket parts for alot of subaru and lancers.
hi well stocked shelves will leave you astounded. :lol:

contact Teknet performance via their Fb page
>>> https://www.facebook.com/teknetperformance/
address >>> #8 French Street, Woodbrook, Port-Of-Spain,
opening Hours Mon-Fri: 8:00 am - 4:00 am
phone >> 1-868-625-TNET (8638)

and yes parking is available !!!!

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 10:45 pm

UPDATE FEB 17TH 2016

so after informing my tech that i had the solenoid kit in hand, we were discussing the actual procedure of going about replacing the solenoid kit.
after looking on the diagrams theres a sump pan gasket that seals off the pan and a pickup strainer which sucks back the oil from in the sump to be pumped back through the transmission.

i was unsure of exactly how the old solenoid kit failed and not wanting to take any chances with the new kit i decided to buy a new sump pan gasket and a new pickup strainer.

special thanks to the motorist couva for supplying the correct part numbers - unfortunately they had none in stock and special order would take 3 mths from japan.

the part numbers were as follows.

sump pan gasket 31397 -31X02

pick up strainer 31728 -31X01

went down to Teknet performance again and Gerrard was ready willing and able to assist.
within a two week time frame i had my gasket and pickup strainer.

SUMP PAN GASKET

PICK UP STRAINER

All OEM goodies !!!!

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 11:26 pm

UPDATE MARCH 23Rd 2016

so after consulting with my tuner buddy back2studio he highly recommended i get a B&M transmission cooler to cool down the transmission. consulting with my own tech he also recommended if i cud afford it i can do it.

i decided to visit Teknet performance to see what he had in stock. Gerrard also deals in mishimoto coolers and has coolers in stock for a wide variety of uses from radiators to transmission coolers etc. unfortunately no B&M cooler.

so i decided this is one i can do on my own.
went online on B&M website and browsed through their catalog.
B&M Cataog >>> http://www.bmracing.com/products/catego ... %20Coolers

so after searching and consulting with my tech i selected this unit - its a universal type - ie no specifying of "inlet / outlet" ports. just connect the hoses and go.

Its a medium sized super cooler able to dissipate 13000 BTU of heat :shock:
the cooler >> http://www.bmracing.com/products/70268- ... &smd=&eng=

checks on the ever helpful amazon showed the cooler price as $75 USD..and it was bought.

PICS !!!!

new B&M oil cooler all ready to go in !!!!

Postby skylinechild » June 6th, 2016, 11:53 pm

UPDATE 29th March 2016

FINALLY i have all my parts assembled and ready to repair my transmission.

my parts list is as follows

1.solenoid kit
2. pick up strainer
3.sump pan gasket
4 oil cooler
* the shift kit was not used as my tech said he didnt feel comfortable making the modifications to the valve body therefore it was not used.

my straightener andy did the cooler install onto the car a day before - that was simple and straightfwd so no need to explain alot on it.

ALL PARTS READY TO GO IN !!!

The tech who did the transmission repair was Ryan Ramdeen aka ryotech performance.
i delivered the car on the 29th of march and the repair was complete on the 30th by 9am !!!
he also rescannedthe car and test drove it to ensure no errors came up on the system.

Ryan also supplied the gulf fully synthetic ATF fluid. and hooked up the cooler hoses onto the transmission.

cost for everything was $1100. money well spent in my opinion.

Car feels like new and shifts smoothly..no more jerky gear changes and no more stuck in 3rd gear....

please feel free to comment on anything done.

Now back to our regularly scheduled programme of fixing the alignment issue.

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2016, 12:26 am

UPDATE 05TH APRIL 2016

So in march while searching tuner...i came across a set of R32 brakes for sale. contacted the tuner and he wanted $2500. i was only offering $1800. the tuner needed the cash so he decided to sell for $1800.

so here we are..my purchase of R32 front disc brakes.

Notice the sumitomo stamp on the last pic.

The units came complete with R32 spindles which i'm not using so theyre for sale. pm if interested.asking small $$$

from my research all i need to do is redrill to 4X114 and bolt it in. - yes i'm aware i'll need 17 inch rims. - already working on it.
my plan is to sand blast and powder coat the caliper and also rebuild with new seals before installation.
the rotor will be skimmed to get rid of the surface rust and also slotted. new brake pads in stock by Teknet performance

also going for steel braided lines in the front one shot. Thanks to tuner Ted V2 for the info on the brake line manufacturing.

special thanks to tuner black start who went with me to verify the product and purchase.

whats a good color for the caliper.??
whats a good color for the "NISSAN" writing.????

Also thaks to 2DMax auto for the alignment job. i went to align the same day i bought these brakes.
the tech fit me in first thing in the morning as he had a long day with two other cars..

when i got the car fixed mth end in march i noticed the car steering wasnt too straight- the tech corrected the issue and gave the best possible alignment. he also indicated i should take a look at the rack as it has some issues - which could be why the car always walks to the left.... :?

will look into either a new rack or a f used rack and some lower cradles...

if youre having steering / suspension issues check out 2D Max auto in chase village
the tech there knows alot and takes his time to ensure it gets done properly and precisely.

2DMax auto thread >>>> viewtopic.php?f=6&t=504200

Postby Dave » June 7th, 2016, 4:43 am

Nice stuff. The reprogram kit is the kit made for more horsepower whereas the shift kit is made to correct inherent issues with the nissan transmission. Haven't read through the entire thread to know where u r going or what u r doing but do consider if building horsepower. Either kits isn't that hard to work in the valve body by experienced transmission men. Good luck!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 7th, 2016, 7:07 am

You don't need 17 rims to clear 4 pistons Dan. I have 16's and 15's does the job.

Offset of rim is most important than size. Whoever giving you advice. Smh

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2016, 9:41 am

Dave wrote:Nice stuff. The reprogram kit is the kit made for more horsepower whereas the shift kit is made to correct inherent issues with the nissan transmission. Haven't read through the entire thread to know where u r going or what u r doing but do consider if building horsepower. Either kits isn't that hard to work in the valve body by experienced transmission men. Good luck!

correct is right Dave. the shift kit is designed to correct inherent faults in the VB.
reason why it wasnt used is i am yet to find a competent "transmission specialist" who wont screw up the VB.

i checked two big name transmission places and they said outright they dont give warranty.

this is how i think:----
if i am supplying a WORKING valve body and a NEW shift kit.
that means the "transmission shop" is providing expertise & labour.
if youre not providing warranty then it says to me that you- the transmission shop - dont know what the hell youre doing and just taking ppl $$$

if you can recommend anyone who knows what theyre doing and can provide warranty on their work let me know.

when the solenoid kit went bad i checked a couple of places...they said they used Foreign used solenoid kits to replace your defective unit -what even more robbery was the price - $2100. :shock: a F used solenoid kit in the bamboo is like $350 -$400

the aim of this build is not soo much horsepower (After all i'm just QG) but just to have a " lil pep" on the streets. to make the car function as good as it can be..and look good while doing it.

suspension , braking and handing is where it's at for me... SR20 is nice but having your head hit the dashboard is not a nice feeling.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 10th, 2016, 12:50 am

coulda keep the qg and slap in a bockss.

Postby skylinechild » June 10th, 2016, 5:16 am

Ted_v2 wrote:coulda keep the qg and slap in a bockss.

thought abt it....but ppl want too much $$$ for a gbox...ppl figure that is gold....let them keep it..
plus the only way i puttin in a box is if i get a LSD box...which is damn near impossible to find....plus..remember...POS traffic again....*sigh....

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 10th, 2016, 6:48 am

speed ent cheap dan! want box, spend the money.

how expensive is expensive? $800 in the bamboo and i gave away one free last week!

smh